BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lease Finance Group

Phone: (800) 683-5433 ext 8320Fax: (800) 342-7172

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

489 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 125 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues53
Billing / Collection Issues172
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service262
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints489

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (489)
07/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 30, 2014 Lease Finance Group LLC withdrew 43.95 from my account for lease XXXXXXXA without my permission for withdrawal or ACH set up. Prior to this happening I cancelled the lease with the company, since the lease was fulfilled, and made final payment with a check, numbered 1140, and returned the equipment to them to their ** address. Written on the check front and back was written "final payment for lease number XXXXXXXA". They cashed the check knowing very well it was to be the final payment. Now, they have taken that information and illegally made a withdrawal, and quite possibly illegally set up an ACH, from my checking account, and I am afraid they will continue to do so even though the equipment is in their possession, I am no longer in business and I cancelled the lease.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that Lease Finance Group LLC return the unauthorized and illegally obtained funds, $43.95, from my checking account in the form of a check sent to me.
Lease Finance Group LLC recognize the payment from my check 1140 as the final payment for lease XXXXXXXA as implied by their cashing of the check with the noted final payment notice.
No further attempts to withdraw money from my checking account or attempts for collection of payment will be made.
Lease XXXXXXXA is cancelled and no longer in effect or valid. The lease is settled in full with check number 1140.
I want a declaration in writing from Lease Fiance Group LLC that lease XXXXXXXA is cancelled and no longer in effect and no further attempts for payment will be made.

06/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services were terminated with this company around 2008. The equipment was sent back and all appeared to be resolved. Received a letter dated 1-9-2014 that LFG would file suit if the payment amount of 1498.45 was not submitted and reported to the credit bureaus. No other form of contact has ever been tried to reach us to resolve this problem. Skeptical, we searched the company online and noticed several complaints. This company is also flagged as an alert in the BBB system. Our business was sold in 2011 and have never been contacted once about this.

Desired Settlement
A letter resolving the issue claiming that no other pursuant of this issue will take place in the future.

04/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In Feb.2006, I signed a lease for a credit card processing machine and in a month or so , a Debit card authorization machine. In Oct. 2006 I leased a ATM machine. The contract for the ATM has a "SCHEDULE OF PAYMENTS" box which states "BASE MONTHLY PAYMENT OF $229 for 60 MONTHS". The payment amount and the total number of months is hand written by the sales person. The contract also states "NON-CANCELLABLE LEASE. THIS LEASE CANNOT BE CANCELLED BY LEASEE DURING THE TERM HEREOF." When I contracted the company and wanted to cancel the leases I have been told over and over I can not cancel because the lease is "NON-CANCELLABLE". As of DEC. 2013 I have paid $25,811.36 in payments to this company for the leases. I contacted the company and was told I could do one of two things. One, keep leasing the ATM or Two, buy it at full replacement value, IE: a new ATM. I was told that after having the ATM since 2006, I can now pay $5,000.00 for it. This sounds more like a postponed purchase plan than a lease. When I asked where to return the ATM I was told "We don't take things back".It seems that once you sign a lease with this company you must lease the ATM forever or pay full price for a 60 month old machine.
Product_Or_Service: ATM

Desired Settlement
I just want this over. I am tired of their letters and threats. I want to know what to do with their equipment. Do I now own it or not. The ATM is somewhat out of date but I can't replace it. I do not want nor can I pay for two ATM machines.

Business Response
see attached

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on march 22, 2012 ********** came in and sold us a credit card machine which he said would cost us $350 total made in payment of $35 month until we had that amount paid. Later find out he lied to us and actually the lease states its for 60 months total, and the equipment name isnt even on the contract! He also had where it says non-cancellable Lease covered up by his arm. Now we are being threated and abused by a collections department and they have put a chargeoff or collection account on my personal credit reports until this is paid and have are threating a civil action.

Desired Settlement
To just pay them the $350 minus what we have paid for 8 months already for the machine. $280 was paid already from april 2012 until nov 2012

Business Response
RE: Case number: XXXXXXXX
Complainant: ***** A. **********
Lease Number: XXXXXXX
Lessee: *********/***** A. **********

Dear *******:

Please consider this our formal response to above-referenced complaint.

LFG does not have employees who directly solicit merchants such as the complainant to do business with our company. We rely on outside vendors and prospective lessees to negotiate and agree-upon the terms of the contract. We also reasonably assume prospective lessees are astute business people who would read and comprehend the contract in its entirety prior to signing it and thereby obligating their persons and business to its terms.

The sales representative who presented the contract to the complainant is not and has never been an employee of LFG. Therefore any promises and representations they made contradictory to the terms and conditions of the lease agreement cannot be held against LFG and its enforcement of said contract against lessee.

On March 21, 2012, Lessee entered into a 60-month non-cancelable lease agreement. According to the lease agreement, Lessee has agreed to a repayment schedule which includes a base monthly payment of $35.00 plus sales tax and Loss & Destruction waiver fee. The Schedule of Lease Payments section of the agreement outlines total payments due from Lessee to us.

By executing under the Lease Acceptance portion of the contract, the complainant acknowledged reading all terms and conditions of the lease agreement and that all blank terms on Page 1 were filled in at the time of signing.

On March 28, 2012, a Welcome Packet was sent to the Lessee, which included a copy of the mutually-executed lease agreement for their reference and review. Our Quality Control Department
also successfully verified on April 3, 2012 that equipment has been delivered, properly installed, in good working order and is being used as intended.

On and after the inception of the lease agreement, it does not provide for unilateral termination by Lessee, and in fact expressly sets forth the absolute and unconditional obligation of Lessee to make all payments due under the lease agreement no matter the circumstances.

The return of equipment on January 30, 2013 does not effectively terminate the lease. The remaining balance also needs to be satisfied.

The Lessee made 14 payments, with the last one being received on *** 9, 2013. Due to its severe delinquency, the account was charged off on November 26, 2013 and subsequently placed with our attorney's office for escalated collection efforts, including possible legal action against the Lessee and Personal Guarantor.

It is imperative the complainant contact ***** ******** from our Legal Department at
(XXX) XXX-XXXX ext. 8476 for immediate assistance, including possible payment and/or settlement arrangements.

While we trust that the information we are offering herein should bring this to a close, if we may be of further assistance, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, extension *****

Very truly yours,


**** *******
Director, Customer Service
Lease Finance Group LLC

02/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Leased equipment,I was scammed into leasing equiptment for my credit card through this company called LFG. After 3 years and lots of money per month later, called and was told that lease would be up in 3 months and that there was nothing that they could do because I signed a lease agreement and that in the lease it states that I would have to pay the remaining balance in order to cancel the lease. Or call back the month the lease is up. Called them to end the lease since I was moving 2 weeks before the lease was up, just like the girl said. At that time the girl I spoke with reffered me to someone else and said that I would have to have but it in writting 30 days before the lease was up. There was nothing that they could do I now have another 3 year lease and had to pay it. After a long battle I wrote letter after letter to obtain the address that I needed to return my equiptment. After months and still paying the lease after sending back the equiptment a gentleman told me that I owed them money and to pay off the lease in advance and that would fix everything... So I did. Money order mailed the machine back had to pay for that too and still have all of the information that took place in a folder packed in a box since that business was sold 5 years ago. Well today, years later out of the blue, got a letter that they are iniatiating a civil action against me in the amount of $2,212.74 This is out of control and must stop now I am will to do what ever I have to do to stop this from happening to other people.
Lease # XXXXXXXA And I will over the weekend obtain all the information that I have and put it all together.

Desired Settlement
Upon contacting a lawyer I will let you know what I am entitled to.

Business Response
Re: Case number: XXXXXXXX
Complainant: ***** ******
Lease Number: XXXXXXXA or XXX-XXXXXXX-XXX
Lessee: **************/***** ******

Dear Ms. *******

Please consider this our formal response to above-referenced complaint.

Please be advised above-referenced account has been duly terminated. LFG thereby release, remise and forever discharge ***** ****** (Personal Guarantor) and ************** (Lessee) from any and all lease obligations under Lease No. XXXXXXXA or XXX-XXXXXXX-XXX.

Kindly extend our sincere apologies to the complainant. The Lessee properly exercised their buyout option of returning the equipment and paying the balance to terminate the contract.

While we trust that the information we are offering herein should bring this to a close, if we may be of further assistance, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, extension *****


Very truly yours,


**** *******
Director, Customer Service
Lease Finance Group LLC

Page 1 of 23
01/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The representative for LFG, LLC had me sign a contract for a term of 48 months that would give me access to their credit card machine; he stated that all equipment leasing fees would be included with the processing charges. After signing the contract, I then received an official copy via mail which did not match to the original version I signed in the office. After noticing the differences in contract I contacted LFG, only to be put into an answering service. After, several more attempts to contact them I was finally put through to ***** in the contract department. She stated that she would have to pull a copy of my contract and would get back to me next business day, however; that did not take place. I then attempted to contact her again, and was continuously put into her voicemail with no call back. After several more attempts to get the matter resolved, no one including the manager or the representative who I signed up with would return my calls. It was only then that the business decided to close the checking account that the automated payments were coming from to ensure that no additional payments could be withdrawn. After our checking account was closed it was only then that the company started to contact us, however; anytime I mentioned sending over a copy of the contract they would state that a copy was not necessary and demand payment. I recently received a letter stating that my credit report would be compromised if payment was not received; it was only then that I submitted payment to avoid any issues with credit report. I have recently submitted a request to put a hold on the payment I made to LFG

Desired Settlement
The return of $2200.00 for settlement amount and for the contract to be null and void. Because of the changes that were made after signing.

Business Response
Re: Case number: XXXXXXXX
Complainant: ***** ****
Lease Number XXXXXXX
Lessee: ********* **** & ***** Service/***** ****

Dear Ms. *******

Please consider this our reply to above-referenced complaint.

Please note ******** ********** Company ***** has assigned the agreement to LFG. LFG therefore has all the rights afforded *** as original Lessor but none of its obligations under the lease pursuant to Section 8 titled Assignment of the lease agreement.

Enclosed please find a copy of the mutually-executed lease agreement for complainant's reference and review.

This account has been closed as of November 17, 2013, with a settlement payment remitted to LFG by the Lessee via a credit card payment. LFG has thereby released, remised and forever discharged ********* **** & ***** Service (Lessee) and ***** **** (Personal Guarantor) from any and all lease obligations under Lease No. XXXXXXX.

While we trust that the information we are offering herein should bring this to a close, if we may be of further assistance, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, extension *****

Very truly yours,


**** *******
Director, Customer Service
Lease Finance Group, LLC


A copy of the contract is being e-mailed to your attention. Thank you.


Consumer Response
I do not accept the response from LFG, nor do I agree with the contract they have provided. I was unable to attach a copy of the contract to this response, so I emailed a copy to Ms. ******* You will see on the first page of the contract that no amount was ever filled in next to the terms of the agreement, along with other information. I have attempted several times to fax a copy to LFG but they are unwilling to accept such information. Please let me know if there is any other information required and I do not consider the matter closed at this point. Thank you in advance for your assistance.


Consumer Response
I do not accept the response from LFG regarding the matter at hand. I also do not accept the contract they provided as it is the altered version of the originally signed in my office. I have emailed a copy of my contract to Ms. ****** because I was unable to attached a copy to this response. Please not that any time I tried contacting LFG in regards to the matter no one got back to us, it was only when payment was ceased that a representative reached out to us, when the contract dispute was brought froth LFG was unwilling to accept a copy of our contract. I do not consider the matter resolved and or closed at this point. Ms. Gracia I appreciate your time and assistance in the matter.

Thank you,
***** ****

Business Manager
********* **** & ***** Service,LLC

06/11/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 8
09/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To Whom It May Concern:In September of 2013, I received a letter from ********* Merchant Services informing me that I would need to replace my credit card terminal as it was "obsolete". It was signed by my "rep" ****** ******* When \ called for more information regarding this, I was referred to a Mr. ***** ************ as Mr. ****** was "unavailable". I expressed an interest in having a smartphone reader instead of the regular terminal. Mr. *********** kind of danced around that, saying that I could, but I really needed a land line terminal as a "backup". I was sent an obviously reconditioned terminal and a smartphone reader. The terminal did not work, and neither did the smartphone reader. I was told that it was incompatible with my model of smartphone. My phone is a ****** ****** which has been available for quite some time. So I was told to send them back and I would be provided with another landline terminal. The second one came with the same result. In the meantime I am having to key in all credit card transactions on the app loaded on my phone, with the resulting higher processing fees. By the third time, Mr. *********** assured me the terminal would work for sure. It did not, and I sent the third terminal back. Nobody ever called me after that. I tried on at least 4 occasions to call Mr. *********** to resolve this situation. I reached his voicemail each time and my messages were never answered. My intent was to try to get a wireless machine to see if that would work,but it never got that far.On the 5th attempt I made to get in touch with Mr. ************* reached a different person at his extension number. I was told that Mr. *********** did not work for ********* any longer. I tried to explain my situation to this person,and I was put on hold for a very long time. When she came back on the line she told me in a very terse manner that someone would have to get back with me. Each time I called after that I was told the same thing..."someone will have to get back with you,ma'am".By October,I still had no communication and no terminal. Of course, the $115 monthly lease payment was still being drawn from my checking account. It was still being drawn 7 months later with no equipment, when I consulted my attorney. He advised me that I was being defrauded and that I should close that account. My bank advised me to do the same.In my understanding of the definition of a lease, one person pays another for the use of property or equipment for a certain amount of time. I do not have possession of any equipment,so I feel that I am being defrauded by ********* and LFG. This lease was breached by *********,not me.When "June" from Lease Finance Group (hereafter called LFG) called me to collect, she rudely informed me that the lease was between LFG and me. She refused to listen to my side of the story, and told me directly that any disagreement I had with ********* was my problem, not LFG's. I told her that it is beyond my control that I cannot get ********* to communicate with me, and that I am not paying for equipment I don't have. I further tried to tell her that my attorney had possession of the ***** paperwork, lease,and other documentation, and tried to give her his phone number. She was very rude and then told me he would have to fax them a letter. I asked for a physical address,which she would not give me. My attorney stated to me later that he tried to call LFG regarding this matter and that they hung up on him.I have been a customer of ********* for at least 15 years. I have never had a problem with them before. My payments were always made, and I was always cooperative with the frequent "equipment upgrades".However,I refuse to be defrauded and victimized by one or both of these companies.

Desired Settlement
see Attached document

Business Response


09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 2007 ****** ***** entered into business with ********* payment systems through a rep. *********, who worked for ********* payment systems.Promising free equipment and great customer service.After 2 years of fighting with ********* payment systems ****** ***** signed up for another payment processor *******, rep. *****.After sending all equipment back, in the provided boxes,********* directed us to put all equipment in the prepackaged boxes and call the number for pick-up.We thought that was the end of it. things, until recently the bookkeeper noticed a lease payment the has been on our bill since 2007, he thought after that long if it was a lease to own we should check into it,checking into it we realized it was a charge being debited from our bank account for the sum of $112.00 a month since March 2007,going to LFG. ***** called the company LFG after we changed our bank acct. number, and then they started billing us by U.S. Mail.***** the owner called them numerous times, the gentleman on the phone told her that we would have to continue to pay,she told him they are taking advantage of 2 senior citizens and she would see a lawyer, The lawyer suggested trying the BBB, because getting a lawyer would not be cost effective.so the company is continuing to bill us.We would appreciate any assistance you could give us in this matter.The lease number is XXXXXXXA and the account #XXXXXXXXXXXXX.Thank you ****** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX.Manager

Desired Settlement
We would like for the company to stop harrassing the owners with the bills and to refund all the $6,720.00 that they debited from the ****** ***** Bank account without permission

Business Response


09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I leased their equipment from 1997 until Fall 2011.

On 10/31/11, I returned the equipment via *** to the instructed address.

in 2012, I was asked to provide verification that I had sent equipment. I contacted *** and the verification, including a copy showing who had signed for it, was sent. I was told by LFG that everything was fine and I owed them nothing.

On July 17th, 2014, I received a letter stating that they had not received the equipment and that I owed over $1,000 and that if I did not pay immediately they would take me to court.

*** does not keep records for more than 2 years so the only documentation that they can provide now is an email showing that it was shipped but they no longer have the copy of the signature on file.

LFG says that this is not sufficient.

Desired Settlement
I want LFG to acknowledge that equipment was returned and that I owe them nothing and am in no way contractually obligated to them.

Business Response
see attached

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not feel that I owe this company any money! I mailed the equipment back on October 31st 2011. I have a tracking number from *** and I simply cannot believe that *** doesn't keep records of signature more than 18 months. If you look at all of the complaints against this company, I feel that this is a scam. It is now the mere principal of the matter. Why on earth would I pay almost $500 of my money when I am not guilty?

Final Business Response
Please find our response attached originally sent 9/3/2014. Thank You.

09/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company has collected well over $6000 for a cc machine lease agreement by
withdrawing from a business savings account and will not release us from the lease agreement that expired in 2010 unless we pay a additional $470 or return the machine (original was sent back to company, replacement sent - they will not accept the replacement - has to be the orginal machine) After several attempts contacting this company and trying to "reason" with them that $6000 already paid to them for a "outdated" credit card machine (not used in 4 years) should be enough of a payment. No Luck. All of them responded the same way with programmed answers - we cant help you. In other words...you will pay for the rest of your life for this cc machine...it riduculous. I warn every business out there do not do business with these company. I see that there are other business who continue to be charged for some cc machine from over 10 years ago. I hope karma gets this company big time!

Desired Settlement
I want them to dismiss the lease for a cc machine that we do not have any more because they leased a faulty machine to us and it was sent back and nobody at the leasing company took record of the exchange in serial numbers on the cc machines. So the one we have that we can ship back isnt on their paperwork. So after spending over $6000 for this cc machine they want a additional $470 to buy the machine else they will continue to withdrawl $98 a month for ever. I want them to dismiss this buyback and stop charging us. I hope the attorney general comes down hard on this company!!

Business Response


08/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I believe that our company signed a contract with this company some time in 2008 for a credit card processing machine. In reviewing our bank records, this company has debited our bank account $108.53, without invoicing us, every month for several years. When I reached out to them to ask how our contract could still be active after eight years, I was merely transferred to their asset management department, who told me to return the equipment, which we have already sent back to them. He immediately and very forcefully told me that we had not sent the machine back, without possibly having taken any time to review our records, and he told me that there would be a penalty for "losing" the machine, and he would not speak with me about the recurring charges continuing outside of the contract period or provide me with a copy of the contract. I told the representative that they no longer had permission to debit our account, and he told me that they would not stop. He transferred me to customer service and the call was dropped by their company. All attempts to call them back since have resulted in us being left on hold indefinitely, and the charges continue to be debited from our account each month.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking the refund of all unauthorized debited charges to our bank account.

Business Response
Please view attachment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have spoken with a representative of Lease Finance Group who has looked up our company's account and spoken with me about it. Our lease number is XXXXXXX. Our company information on file with Lease Finance Group is as follows:

*** **********
**** ********* Road
********* ** XXXXX
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Our bank account was charged again today by Lease Finance Group, as copied from our bank account below.

07/24/2014 LEASE FINANCE GR LEASE PYMT XXXXXXXA:0724 108.53

Final Business Response
see attached

Page 1 of 62
01/09/2015Problems with Product / Service
01/09/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues
09/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Leasing Service, Financial Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.