BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1973

TruGreen Limited Partnership-Lake Forest

Find a Location

Phone: (847) 680-8088Fax: (847) 680-8089View Additional Phone Numbers28557 Ballard Dr, Lake ForestIL 60045-4512 Send email to TruGreen Limited Partnership-Lake Forest

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1973

BBB has determined that TruGreen Limited Partnership-Lake Forest meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised TruGreen Limited Partnership-Lake Forest's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on TruGreen Limited Partnership-Lake Forest

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
09/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

For Account number **********. On or about July 21, 20015, I contacted TruGreen customer service. At that time the CSR helped me cancel the overseed/aeration service in the amount of 229 dollars, as I could not afford it. A Civil Service disability retiree, I am on a fixed income and paid only once a month. I had not received a welcome package that described how the payments were made, at the time I agreed to service with sales rep, he had me sign a paper for 59.00 a month. The CSR was very helpful and assured me 3 times on that call the service was cancelled,would not be charged, and the service was in fact cancelled no worries. She further assisted me being on a fixed income to lower the last 2 services to 47 dollars a month.
I went out of town from August 12 and returned Monday, Aug, 17th at between 5 and 6 p.m. and found a service notice from TruGreen conducted the aeration/overseeding I had cancelled. I immediately checked my bank account, saw the charge, and called TruGreen approximately 6 - 630 p.m. The CSR said she saw nothing of a cancellation, I said she better check again because they assured me 3 times it was set. She saw the transactions, but stated they were having rolling blackouts and something must have happened that it didn't go through. She assured me she would talk to her supervisor personally at 8 a.m. in the morning and call me on Tuesday morning, she contacted me approximately 10 a.m., told me the supervisor approved it and she was processing it as we speak.She stated it would take 3 - 5 days to process but could take up to 10 days because of my bank She assured me it was processed. On Thursday, Aug, 20, I went and spoke with my bank representative, asked why it would take my bank 10 days to process that my bills would bounce. She showed me TruGreen had direct access to my checking account, and if they processed it, it will hit immediately within 3 - 5 days. I called TruGreen CSR again. At this time, I found out that TruGreen did not even have my name correct on my account, it was Clara. My name is Susan. But they had a correct address so I should have received the mail so it's not their problem. I told them that was wrong it was NOT my name it was my daughters name who moved out in January, so all mail in her name would be forwarded to her not to me, and she would not know it was an error, she wouldn't know I was with them. I asked why when I sign the agreement in my name, how the hell they got my daughter's name. She said I was right, apologized, and updated my name, quickly apologized again, said that she did see the refund was in the pending file, and she too said it was probably my bank. I told her I just got back from the bank and explained to her the process. She stated yes it was processed Tuesday, and is pending that I could call back, she couldn't make it go any faster, and that I could contact the manager and show him the late fees and overdrafts and request them to pay, due to the error. I told her I would call back once the refund was applied and would have to cancel any and all further services due to the financial devastation.
I called Trugreen again, Monday, August 24, 2015, about 10 a.m. The CSR stated yes the refund is pending, but it looks like they missed a step and she would have to process it now, which means I would have to wait another 3 - 5 days for a refund. She said based on my bank. Told her I had been to the bank, already, she said I'm sorry it will still take 3 - 5 days to process. I said, you mean I contacted TruGreen on 3 separate occasions and you're telling me each one of them neglected to follow through? She said yes apologized profusely & said she'd have manager call as I broke to tears having no money for food. No one called. I need assistance to get this resolved as I am devastated cannot buy food to make it through the end of the month due to TruGreen issues & neglect in follow through.

Desired Settlement
Refund of 229.00 for service charge that was not authorized. Payment of any late charges or bank service charges I am unable to rectify in my bank account on a returned automatic withdrawal, if I am unable to resolve it once the refund is processed. Once the refund is completed, ENSURE Complete and 100% follow through on cancelling any further services offered by this company as discussed with CSR and remove my bank account from their system immediately.

Business Response
Thank you for your feedback. TruGreen appreciates the time taken to provide us with your concerns. TruGreen apologizes for the concerns you described and any discomfort or offense you experienced. That is not the level of customer service TruGreen and our customers expect.

TruGreen issued the refund August 25, 2015 and the account is cancelled.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have worked with my bank to reverser the over draft fee, but have not been able to reverse the late fee from St. Anastasia, which is what the 229 was to be available for. If I am unable to get this late fee of $30.00 corrected how will Trugreen reimburse me for this. What steps would I take to have this resolved.

Final Business Response
TruGreen would ususally request documentation showing the overdraft was caused by TruGreen; however, TruGreen will reimburse the $30.00 overdraft fee without the documentation.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do have documentation clearly identifying the results. I appreciate TruGreen following through, and correcting the wrong. Thank you.

08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We prepaid a year of Tru ***** service in November 2012 for year 2013 (7 treatments). We received a 10% discount to prepay. We were told we could cancel at anytime and receive our full unused funds back.

We had 3 service treatments this year (April, May, June) with 4 remaining. The cost of the treatment is $47 per application -10% discount. We paid $296.10 in November for 7 treatments ($42.3 each). They owed us 4 treatment costs back ($42.30 * 4 = $169.20). They sent us a check for $136.30. I think they are trying to remove the 10% discount because we cancelled; however, this is against the verbal agreement we had at the time of signing.

Desired Settlement
They owe us the remaining $32.90.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** - Office Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********

We have issued a refund for $32.90 on 8/21/13 by check and will be sent to the service address **********************************************. An earlier refund for $136.30 was sent 8/9/13 but because of discounts that were applied to the account, the original amount of the refund was not calculated correctly.
I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We have received the check for $32.90. Thank you.

06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

There was a problem with them coming without my ordering the treatment last year. I called, complained, and ultimately paid their bill and cancelled any further treatments. This year they came again without my ordering it. I was out of town. I called and complained. They said they couldn't find a cancellation order, while admitting they did nothing more here for the season. I told them I was inclined not to pay and the girl immediately said they would take me to collection. Now as the lawn greens up I am seeing their treatment was ineffectual. It looks like only half the lawn was treated. I called again and they informed me they wouldn't retreat it because I had cancelled and if I didn't pay they would take me to collection. There was absolutely no effort to work this out.

Desired Settlement
If I am going to have to pay, I would like a treatment that does what they say it will.

Business Response
Upon review of the account, TruGreen would like to work with the customer to address the issues in the lawn. TruGreen will come back out to redo the application with the customer's agreement.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When they told me they would not retreat my lawn, I made other arrangements. As we are putting the house on the market, I felt getting the lawn treated quickly was a priority. I would like a credit to my account. Thank you.

Final Business Response
TruGreen issued a credit to the account in the amount $98.80. The account is cancelled and has a zero balance. TruGreen apologizes for any frustration or inconvenience.

04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues
06/17/2013Delivery Issues
02/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1976Business started: 01/01/1976
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shalenia Williams James Fitzgibbon (CRM)Mrs. Nancy Harris (Office Manager)Mr. Dave Snellman (Branch Manager) Courtney Wright (Customer Rentention Director)
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance

Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TruGreen Limited Partnership-Lake Forest

28557 Ballard Dr

Lake Forest, IL 60045-4512

To | From


2 Locations

  • 28557 Ballard Dr 

    Lake Forest, IL 60045-4512

  • PO Box 7460 

    Libertyville, IL 60048-7460

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TruGreen Limited Partnership-Lake Forest is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 934-8088

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.