BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2012

Pete's Lawn Care, Inc.

Phone: (708) 423-8201Fax: (708) 423-84039117 S Kenton Ave, Oak LawnIL 60453-1925 Send email to Pete's Lawn Care, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2012

BBB has determined that Pete's Lawn Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pete's Lawn Care, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pete's Lawn Care, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last April we contracted with Pete's Lawn Care to sod our back yard at **** W. **** St. Chicago. We paid $3500.00 for the service. We did everything necessary to properly maintain the lawn over the summer and fall. This spring, the lawn did not green up. After paying that much money for sod, we expected it to last longer than one summer. I and my wife have made several calls to the business over the past several weeks requesting for help in diagnosing and resolving the problem. The phone call always goes to voice mail. We leave messages, but our calls have not been returned.

Desired Settlement
We would like the business to replace the sod that has died.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@sbcglobal.net
**** called and meet with Mrs. ******* on 5-28-14. Going to get more information from Mr. ******* and see what we can do. Work is in progress and no resolution yet. Still working on it with customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not accepting the response not because what **** has stated is untrue, but because the problem has not yet been resolved. Yes, he has met with Mrs. *******, but has not yet spoken to Mr. *******. We are supposed to meet with him on Saturday, June 7 to get an estimate and to see if we can reach a compromise that will be fair to both of us.

Final Business Response
I meet with Mr. ******* and worked out a solution for the problem. We both meet in the middle and are both ok with it. Thank you.
****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We worked out an agreement that we feel was fair to both of us. The problem has been resolved to our satisfaction. Thank you for your assistance.

06/08/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Lawn Installation Service, Mulches, Fertilizers, Tree Service, Sod & Sodding Service, Landscape Designers, Landscape Contractors - Commercial, Landscape Maintenance, Seeding, Landscape Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/17/2008Business started: 12/08/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1997, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pete Lonosky (Owner)
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Lawn Installation Service, Mulches, Fertilizers, Tree Service, Sod & Sodding Service, Landscape Designers, Landscape Contractors - Commercial, Landscape Maintenance, Seeding, Landscape Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pete's Lawn Care, Inc.

9117 S Kenton Ave

Oak Lawn, IL 60453-1925

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9117 S Kenton Ave 

    Oak Lawn, IL 60453-1925

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pete's Lawn Care, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.