Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Meadowbrook Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 464-3090 View Additional Phone Numbers 165 Industry Ave, Frankfort, IL 60423 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Meadowbrook Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Meadowbrook Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Meadowbrook Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 2006 Business started: 10/01/1992 in IL Business started locally: 10/01/1992 Business incorporated 07/28/2006 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Smith, President
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Fountains - Garden, Display Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Snow Removal Service Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape & Yard Clean-Up Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)


Additional Locations

  • 165 Industry Ave

    Frankfort, IL 60423

  • 18839 S. Wolf Rd.
    Unit 3

    Mokena, IL 60448 (708) 478-4677 (815) 464-3090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/12/2014 a serviceman from Meadowbrook came out to shut down my system and blow out the water lines. He left me a written invoice that was paid in full with a note that said there was a leak in the system that should be repaired in the spring of 2015. On 5/14/2015, a different Meadowbrook technician named ******, a young guy, came out to turn on the system. He tested the system and checked all the sprinkler heads and verbably told me there was no leak, but he wrote on the invoice there was a possible leak. The invoice was paid in full. Since he told me there was no leak, I thought that was the end of it. A few weeks later, I received a call from Meadowbrook asking me when did I want the service men to come out and fix the leak. I was confused, since ****** had told me there was no leak and I really hadn't noticed that he had wrote on the invoice there was a possible leak. I said ok, send someone out. Two older service men came out and checked the system and declared there was no leak and wrote that on the invoice. I asked them, "am I going to be billed for this service call? because you guys are the ones who said there was a leak in the first place last year and now you say there is no leak". Sure enough I get a bill for $95. I called Meadowbrook and talked at length to a person in the billing dept. I explained that this whole leak issue was initiated by the Meadowbrook technicians who later said there was no leak. She said I should pay the bill because they came out at my request. Then a few weeks later she sent me a second invoice requesting $95. I refuse to pay this phony bill and I want Meadowbrook to give me a invoice that shows a balance of Zero. This is a deceptive practice they are using to get me to pay a phony bill. Then, after all this, they sent me a letter asking when do I want them to come out and shut down the system and blow out the lines. I will never use these ****** again.

Desired Settlement: All I want Meadowbrook to do is send me an invoice that shows a zero balance, that I do not owe them for a service call.

Business Response:

   Sorry for the delay in responding, but at this time of year we were very busy focusing on our customers to get them all winterized.

  In regards to this issue with the invoice, yes on May 14, 2015 we went out for the start up which he did pay for in full, the tech did report a possible leak or just a possible low spot in the ground-but due to the rainy, wet weather we were having at that time, it was difficult to determine. The tech did tell Mr. ******** that there could be a leak or a low spot in the ground and we will have to come back to check because it was too wet at the time to verify. The tech also wrote that on the start up sheet that Mr. ******** signed and he did receive a copy of it at the time. We did send the tech back to his home June 24, 2015 on company time to check again but Mr. ******** had the water off to the sprinkler system and the tech could not tell because the water was off to the system. We took the time to pay our tech to go out there and check and that was a no charge to Mr. ********, it was considered a courtesy call. After that we did call Mr. ******** several to see if he wants us to come out a 3rd time to check, because of his concern of a leak and a low spot. He agreed for us to check again-which we sent 2 techs out to check- the 2 techs went through the whole entire system and could not find a leak, there was just a low spot in the ground, we did charge for a service call and time spent out there with the 2 techs of $95.00. And we did not charge for the second time we went out there in June after we started the system in May. Mr. ******** did not have to have us come out the 3rd time but we only asked because of his concern with it. If Mr. ******** would have said no then there would have been no invoice. But considering the weather was in the upper nineties Mr. ******** would have been using his system, and we went out at the end of July and it would have been wet and mushy area and the rest of yard would have been normal. The only thing we received was a phone call from Mr. ******** stating he would not pay for the invoice. I contacted him back and he did not call back. We sent him a shut down sheet for winterization and we were going to send the owner of the company out to winterize it and hopefully resolve his concern but instead we got a message from the BBB about this issue. Plus at start up Mr. ******** brought the tech to the area where he stated it was always wet there. Plus at the time of start up he had the tech help him move lawn furniture around which was done on company time. We don't mind doing extra above and beyond but we feel that Mr. ******** took advantage of the time we were there and we feel that  $95.00 is very reasonable for the all the times spent there this season.

Business Response:

Mr. ********,

In response to your disappointment we are sorry to hear you feel that way. But in the service industry when you agree to have someone come out to your home for service it is only fair that you pay for those services. We only came out to help resolve your issue and we did it with very little cost to you. Everything was all discounted or at no charge. And if being on a fixed income was the issue we could have worked something out but that issue was not brought up until your last response, we have other customers who also have fixed incomes and we have worked with them on payment plans if they have needed help with getting stuff done on their systems.  We understand that you are on a fixed income and are going to waive the invoice for you, but at the same time you just moved into a $350K plus subdivision while in your 70's.

We wish you the best of luck with your new lawn sprinkler service company.

Take care,

Yours Truly

*** *****

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I've already responded to this in detail, so this will be a short response. The sprinkler service company is still trying to throw the blame on me. For some reason they refuse to understand or accept the fact that THEIR COMPANY TECHNICIANS PLANTED THE SUGGESTION TO ME THAT THERE WAS A LEAK IN MY SYSTEM. I DID NOT ORIGINATE THIS IDEA. After they planted the idea, the Company called to have me schedule a service call so they could come out and check for the leak that they suggested was there.  So they come out and check and declare "THERE IS NO LEAK", but you owe us $95 for YOUR service call. THIS IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE. THIS IS JUST PLAIN WRONG.  It has nothing to do with me being a 74 year old senior citizen on fixed income. I really have nothing more to say about this. Thank you BBB. This has been a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

****** ********

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: meadowbrrok was out to open our irrigation system. according to the recept system was opened up adjusted and all the zones work. i try to turn the system on to water and nothing works. not one of the 7 zones work that they stated worked when they opened the system. i call to complain and was told someone will cal back. no one did so i called and left another message and then someone called back. i was then told that by their rules they cant come back to check on what had happened until july 15. correct me if i am wrong but its a service that they just performed that isnt working. i can understand if i was a new customer and had to wait due to them taking care of their current clients but i am an existing customer that just paid they for work to be done and it either wasnt or they have no clue what they are doing. i got upset with meadowbrook on the phone and said it was bullshit that i had to wait over a month. in the mean time if i was to wait would meadowbrook pay for all the damages done to my grass and landscaping since they would be getting watered the way they are suppose to be. i mean it is summer, plants need water to survive. after she kept repeating that thats the rules i said i wanted to speak with a manager or the owner and i was hung up on. i will not stand for this at all. i work in the auto industry and we strive on customer satisfaction with everyone. if i was to tell someone on their car that was just fixed by me and still wasnt working, please come back on a month. i would be embarrassed. that is not right at all.

Desired Settlement: like i said the receipt read turned on sprinkler system. checked all 7 zones and it was working. yt the next day we go to turn on and nothing is working. not even 1 of the seven zones is working.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/07/21) */ Contact Name and Title: *****-office manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX In regards to Mr. ***** and his complaint, Mr. ***** had his start up of his lawn sprinklers on May 15, 2014, which it was working at that time and someone did sign off on it and Mrs. ***** paid it in full as well. It looks like according to Mr. *****'s statement that he is saying we turned it on around June 8, 2014?? Because it states "he went to turn it on the next day". But in reality it was May 15, 2014 when we were at his home. Yes, Mr. ***** did call in to say his system wasn't working on June 9, 2014. The girl in office called him back June 10 to tell him it would be on July 15 was the next day available and if we could we would get out sooner. He was very unhappy with that and we understood that but the routes were really backed up at that time just like many other companies in the industry due to the late start of the season due to weather. He did swear at the girl and she asked him not to talk to her that way and he said he was going to contact the BBB and hung up. The girl that first initially talked to him would have been able to handle the situation but she felt uncomfortable talking to him because of how he talked to her on June 10 so it was better that I called him back when I returned. I was not in the office when he called and he did call back again as well as his mom demanding her money back on June 12. I did return his call on June 16 when I was back in the office and explained to him that he called about 3 weeks after his start up and anything could have happened in that time period because it was 3 weeks after the fact and it was working at the time on May 15, 2014. I did offer to have the owner come out within the next few days and Mr. ***** said "no, he pulled someone who was working down the street and had them take care of it. He said that the other person-company said the pump was shut off"? Our tech did not leave anything in the off position because the purpose of a start up is to get the system started up and turned on and running which we did. We have no notes from the service tech that the system wasn't working properly because it was. It would have mentioned at the time. We went out and did the work and like I said I offered to have the owner go out and check the problem within the next few days and Mr. ***** said "no". I have attached a copy of his start up with the signature dated May 15, 2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2014/07/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Hello There, we have received a response from the business saying that we will not get reimbursed for them not even doing their job because I had signed their sheet when they were done. I know NOTHING about turning on a sprinkler system, if I did I would have not hired them and done it myself. When I had hired them to come out, they came out and upon "completion" ****** came to ring the doorbell and I had answered and he said, "Sprinklers are all set and turned on, I just need a signature and its $75.00" I signed but how exactly am I suppose know they werent turned on? He had marked everything was "OK" when really it wasn't! As I went to go turn them on a few days later, NOTHING worked, water wouldnt even turn on. So I called the company back again, and they were extremely RUDE and told me well they can't come out to take another look at it until middle of JULY, which is absolutely ridiculous because summer is half way over by then and I would need new landscaping by the time they decided to come out again. SO with many phone calls to meadowbrook and them having such poor and rude customer service, I went on to call D&H irrigation to come check out our sprinklers thinking maybe it was the pump they had replaced for us a year ago. They came out IMMEDIATELY and looked at everything and the guy told me our sprinklers aren't turned on. I looked at him like, "Are you joking? Meadowbrook came out and turned them on and CHARGED us for a spring start up" He walked me thru the process on the key pad of turning them on and told me when you turn the on you have to turn on the MAIN VALVE. without that on, NOTHING will work. He then began to show me it was still on its "OFF" mode and he switched it over for us and everything miraculously started working. He told us he doesnt know how meadowbrook turned them on or what they even did but then explained that NOTHING was even turned on and to call them back and complain and ask for our check back. SO I called meadowbrook AGAIN and once again they didn't care, they had no time for anyone on the phone, and told us we will not be getting reimbursed back and the receptionist who was a lady hung up on me. So IF i had another company come out to do MEADOWBROOK'S JOB that we hired them to do and PAID them for it, and nothing was completed, I dont understand why i dont get reimbursed back after I had to pay another company $86.00 to come and DO MEADOWBROOK'S JOB (the right way). If meadowbrook would have NOT "OK-ed" everything on their form I would NOT have paid them. BUT when you come to a person's door and tell them everything is good to go, naturally the customer will sign. It IS NOT THE CUSTOMERS responsibility to go back AND RE-CHECK their work. I hired them because I trusted them so I feel like I shouldnt have to CHECK meadowbrooks completion of a job. That is why they are supposedly a "Professional" company, however they are VERY RUDE and UNHELPFUL. don't know another business that hangs up on clients and is so helpless to a situation that is 100% the BUSINESS"S FAULT! Please get me my check back for $75.00 that meadowbrook should not even be keeping! I would like a resolution to this ASAP! thank you! Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/08/02) */ Like I mentioned when I talked to him on June 16, I was going to have the owner come out within a few days and even at a no cost and Mr. ***** said "No he had pulled someone who was working down the street and had them take care of it" He never said he called another company to come out. Also when I talked to him on June 16 he did not ask to be reimbursed. He said "ok" with my explanation of it being 3 weeks since he called in for the first time. And again at the time of the start up on May 15, we would not have been able to go through and start the system if the water was not on to the system and we did not go back into the house and shut off the handle to the water supply to the lawn sprinklers that day. And looking at our records we have been servicing his system since 2008 and as far as our knowledge we have have not had any issues with this homeowner. But after 7 yrs of service he now says we don't know how to turn a system on? We also had no knowledge he also had another company come out and do work on the system in 2013 by his statement? That is news to us, he never informed us of any of this. Also by what his complaint is saying is that he answered the door and he signed the start up sheet but if you look at it it was signed by a Kristen ***** and the check was signed by a ******* *****. So the person who was there and signed was Kristen *****, so why would he say he signed it and he was there in someone else's name, we do have his signature on file from work done there in the past so we know that's not his signature? It looks like in his complaint his story is going from one thing to another. It sounds like possibly someone in that house may have accidentally turned the water off to the system and is now blaming us for it because he implied we turned the water off to the sprinkler system but we didn't go back inside the house and Mr. ***** states that himself that "Justin rang the doorbell to have him sign". Again the system was turned on on May 15 and he called in for the first time on June 9 stating "nothing was working" Now during that time anything could have happened. It could have been a number of things during that 3 week time period. I did try to rectify the problem with him on June 16 and if he would have been patient the owner would have been out there right away and taken care of the problem for him at no cost. But again Mr. ***** said "no". By looking at the BBB complaint it looks like he filed a complaint on June 10 right after he swore at the other girl in the office and hung up and did not even allow for us to rectify the situation, he didn't even mention to me that he filed it already when I called him on June 16 or on June 12 when he called. I mentioned to him that I was out of town and that is why the delay in the phone call and because he was swearing at the other girl in the office, which she did ask him politely "to not to speak to her like that" it was better that a manager called him back to handle the problem. As soon as I came back into town I did get a hold of him right away to resolve the situation. I feel that the money should not be reimbursed because we did go out there and perform the service properly and we did leave the house with the water on to the system and someone did sign the sheet and pay for it and we did try to rectify his situation right away when I found out. We would not have left the home turning the water off or the sprinklers in a non-working position. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2014/08/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, the next date you gave us to come out was a MONTH LATER. YOUR RUDE, poorly customer service, and girl you had answering the phone said, "WE CANNOT COME OUT UNTIL WE FINISH THE PEOPLE WE HAVE IN OUR BOOKS FIRST WITH APPTS." I DO NOT know another company with such TERRIBLE service after so many years of LOYAL service from us and many others that you would actually make a PAYING customer who has already PAID wait a WHOLE MONTH to come back out and re-check it! By the time we waited until you guys decided was a good time AFTER you already cashed the $75 check we would have had all dead landscaping waiting for you to decide to come around you FIX YOUR PROBLEM THAT WAS NOT DONE RIGHT IN THE FIRST PLACE! how Justin and whoever else came with him that day checked our zones without the main valve being turned out is beyond me and the other company that came out and did it CORRECTLY had NO clue either. I think your getting to all the worthless piddly **** to try and defend why you shouldnt reimburse us back for a job that was not completed by YOUR company! my brother **** does not live here however he schedules all of our stuff, but its NOT your business to know all that! Also, ******** (correct spelling KRISTIN) whom you speak of, I LIVE here and yes that was my signiture. Did I babysit your employees while they did their job? No, I didnt know I was suppose to, nor do you PAY ME to make sure your employees COMPLETE their job, remember we are paying YOU and your should make sure your employees know exactly what they are doing! Maybe you need to train them better because clearly these 2 had no clue what they were doing. I have my own 2 year old to watch, i dont need to be babysitting your employees when we ARE PAYING YOU! AND NO WE DID NOT TURN THE WATER OFF IN OUR HOUSE! Why would we hire your company then? makes no sense at all! Very nice try though. seems like you are trying to find every excuse in the world on why you shouldn't return our money, for a job that was NOT COMPLETED! And also, you claimed system was on MAY 15, with the rain we didnt use it and we were out of town so therefore that is WHY we did not call you. AGAIN, INFORMATION THAT YOU DO NOT NEED TO KNOW and IS NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS AT ALL....BUT I APOLIGIZE AGAIN for not checking YOUR EMPLOYEES WORK. I did not know I had to do that with Your PROFESSIONAL business! YOU SHOULD refund us our money back because, I'm Sorry you did NOT perform the service properly. If you did we would not have had this issue, had been told by your lovely rude worker who answer the phone next date it a MONTH OUT, and we would not have had to hire another company to come out and do the job correctly as your company failed to do so. The man who came over to turn them on properly showed me on the keypad in the garage that the main valve was never even turned on. He then showed me how he fixed it and responded with, "I'm sorry I dont know how meadowbrook marked the sprinklers all "ok" when the water wasn't even turn on from the main valve" Now would KRISTIN (I) know how to do that and be messing with it it? NO, but thank you for trying to blame a women who lives here and saying "anything could have happened" Again, your job was not completed, not just from what we saw when we tried to use our sprinklers, but what from the other very nice, exceptional service the other professional company looking at your work and even telling us it was not done properly. Since your job was not completed by JUSTIN and whoever came with him, I feel you need to reimburse us our money back! I don't even know how you feel OK with keeping it, gosh I would FEEL AWFUL knowing a customer was furious and my employees and company failed at their job with a paying customer. However, it very well shows what kind of person and business you TRULY are by not wanting to refund us the $75. UNREAL! Please return our check for $75, as you have NO RIGHT in keeping it.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Meadowbrook Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)