This business is not BBB accredited.

Mac's Lawn Care

Additional Locations

Phone: (630) 501-1976 298 N. Westwood Ave., Lombard, IL 60148 http://www.macslawncare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mac's Lawn Care include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Mac's Lawn Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mac's Lawn Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/21/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John McCarthy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John McCarthy, President
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Gutter Cleaning Sealing - Pavement Fertilizers Mulches Snow Removal Service Seal Coating Seeding Landscape & Yard Clean-Up Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Alternate Business Names
Goose Juice Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    298 N. Westwood Ave.

    Lombard, IL 60148

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1152

    Lombard, IL 60148 (630) 501-1976

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 28, 2013, Mac's Lawn Care provided snow plowing services to our neighbor's driveway. During their service, their snow plow truck slid off the neighbor's driveway and onto our front lawn. There is a drainage ditch that they got stuck in. For over an hour, they proceeded to spin their wheels and use shovels to dig out the truck to no avail. Finally, another neighbor was able to pull them out with a tow rope. We complained to the driver about the damage his truck made. He gave us a card and told us to call the company. We called the next day and spoke with John McCarthy - the owner. He was very apologetic and told us that he would take care of everything and to call him in the spring when the snow had melted and the ground defrosted. We called him in early April. He came out to the property, assessed the damage and assured us he would be back out the following week to do the repair. He has not showed up. We have called him repeatedly and he and his assistant keep telling us that he will come out. We expressed our concerns several times that the huge, deep ruts his truck created are affecting the flow from the drainage ditch. They are causing water to pool in parts of our lawn and killing off the grass. Not to mention how ugly they are. Whenever we call, he gives us the runaround. He tells us he'll be out that week or that he is just waiting for the weather to improve or some other excuse.

Desired Settlement: We would like this company to come out to our property and repair all damage they caused to our front lawn. This includes flattening any ruts and restoring the grass.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/07/15) */ This is an unfortunate instance of being very busy and forgetting to return to correct the issue. The damage done by the truck was not as extensive as lead to believe and the couple times I returned to the property to repair the spot the weather didn't cooperate. The damage is in a culvert that directs rain water. I was lead to believe that ruts would be deep and extensive. If fact the damaged area was a small ruts approximately 12" wide and 18" long. The area was very wet on both occasions I returned to fix. Unfortunately for this neighbor my company got very busy and this issue slipped my mind. I will return and repair the damage caused by our truck. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 24, 2014/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this business' proposed resolution for the following reasons: First, I do not believe them. If they returned to our property they would have rang the bell or left a business card. I work from home and am in residence on most days and have seen no sign of Mac's Lawn Care. Second, regardless of the size of the ruts, they were large enough and numerous enough to redirect water in the culvert to healthy lawn and also exposed the pipe underneath the drainage ditch. The lawn has since had to be repaired and replaced by a reputable lawn company before it got worse. After all this time (7 months - seriously?), we are now expected to believe that Mac's Lawn Care will return? Judging from their code of ethics, it's a good bet we will never see them again. It also speaks volumes that Mac's Lawn Care is so "busy" they cannot repair damage that they caused to an innocent bystander. I'm sure they are very busy causing damage to numerous other people. Not sure if this business is still under contract to our neighbor but we hope never to see Mac's Lawn Care again or any of their trucks in our neighborhood. And, as consumers, we will do everything in our power to make sure that none of our neighbors are harmed by this company. They have left a black mark in our neighborhood and have no place doing business as a reputable lawn care company. It is ironic that this all started from their snowplowing services which clearly lave something to be desired as well - such as competent drivers.