Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lawn Doctor Of McHenry County

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 728-0600 Fax: (815) 425-7761 5113 Richmond Rd, Ringwood, IL 60072 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lawndoctormchenrycounty.com/ View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lawn Doctor Of McHenry County meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Lawn Doctor Of McHenry County include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lawn Doctor Of McHenry County
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1992 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 10/28/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Agriculture
100 W Randolph St, Ste 10-700, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.agr.state.il.us
Phone Number: (800) 582-0468

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Odalys Berrens, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Odalys Berrens, Owner
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Alternate Business Names
The Berrens Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 5113 Richmond Rd

    Ringwood, IL 60072

  • PO Box 1233

    McHenry, IL 60051 (815) 728-0600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 28th, 2015 Lawn Doctor came out to our property without notifying us and treated our lawn with a fertilizer treatment and left a bill on our front door. We did not authorize or request this service. We had already had our lawn treated by another company. I called the office on April 28th, 2015 and spoke with a receptionist and told her we did not authorize service and I was concerned that our lawn had just previously been treated by another company. She said she would take care of it and I did not receive any further communication until I received another bill in the mail. I called again and explained the situation and asked for a call-back and no one got back to us again. My husband tried calling again after another bill came and no one spoke to us about once again. Next, we received a notice from ********** Systems collection agency. I tried calling them several times about this and there is no way to speak to a person or leave a message. The phone number provided is just a message that automatically hangs up on you. We tried calling Lawn Doctor once more and they said it was out of their hands that the collection agency was dealing with it.

Desired Settlement: We request that Lawn Doctor cancel the charge of $58.00 and remove our bill from collections.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/03) */ The customer was sent three letters before the start of season to confirm that they are on an auto-renewing program, and if they wish to cancel service to please contact the office via email/mail/phone or online portal. Our company did not receive any correspondence and the services were then renewed for the 2015 season. The first service was performed on April 28th, 2015 and an invoice was left for the customer, the customer was also sent email confirmation of the first service. On April 29th, 2015 our Customer Service received a phone call from the customer to cancel services, at which time the account was cancelled and a confirmation letter and email were sent to the customer. The customer was advised at that time that the first service was performed and that there is a balance on the account. Statements are sent the first of every month, the customer was sent one on May 1st, 2015/ June 1st, 2015/ July 1st, 2015. On July 28th, 2915 our Customer Service received a phone call from the customer stating that they refuse to pay, to which our Customer Service advised that the balance was reaching a collections status and offered to settle on half. The customer again refused to pay. On August 1st, 2015 and August 16th, 2015 the customer received a notice that the account was reaching a collections status and must remit payment soon or contact our office to pursue other options. After a month of no communication from the customer, the account was then turned over to our collection agency for profit recovery. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, I would like to start from the beginning. My husband agreed to lawn treatment for the summer of 2014. I believe it was for approximately 6 treatments and a total amount due was agreed upon. We NEVER agreed to a monthly contract and the sales person that we worked with also NEVER mentioned continued service the following year. This was a set contract for a certain amount of treatments at a set price. No further lawn care was ever discussed or agreed upon. Second, Lawn Doctor's response that: "customer was sent three letters before the start of season" that Lawn Doctor is referring to were ADVERTISEMENTS! These were not letters to inform us that service was going to continue. If it was written somewhere on those ADVERTISEMENTS, it was in very small print and not the subject of the flyers. Third, as I said earlier, we agreed upon a set negotiated price for our lawn care. When Lawn Dr. came and treated our lawn in April 2015, they set their own rate monthly rate without notifying us of that rate or notifying us of a service date. We had no intention of using Lawn Doctor again this year, as we had already started a contract with another service. My last complaint is regarding our communication attempts with Lawn Doctor over this current bill. During my first phone call in April, I was told it was taken care of. You can't just tell someone on the phone that is all taken care of and then turn around and continue to bill them and then send them to collections. We made several attempts to rectify this bill. During my second phone call, after we received our second bill from Lawn Doctor, I asked for a call back because no management was available to speak to me and no one got back to us. Instead, we continued to receive bills and collections notices. When my husband called most recently, he was told that it was out of their hands and in collections. We tried to contact the "collections company" that Lawn Doctor is apparently working with, Transworld Systems, and they don't accept calls or emails. When you try call TransWorld Systems, the automated response that answers the phone just hangs up on you after their automated voice message. It appears as if it is a huge fraud! These are terrible business practices. Our neighbors, who also had a similar service contract with Lawn Doctor of McHenry County during the summer of 2014, are going through the same thing. We are also aware of other people having similar complaints. We plan on bringing light to this issue if it is not resolved. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/11) */ Please note that the letters that were sent out during the winter months could not be mistaken for advertisements as they have written on the outside of the envelopes-"RENEWAL CONTRACT ENCLOSED" and within the letter explains the renewed services along with the following statement "Remember that our services are continuous from year to year, unless we receive written notification of discontinued services" This same statement is written on all of our Invoices (which are left after each service) and Statements that are sent out on the 1st and 15th of every month. We give our customers ample opportunity to cancel services or make changes to their accounts. We have also tried to work with the customer, as all our calls are monitored for quality assurance. We received one phone call on 4/29/15 in which the customer cancelled the service. We then received another phone call on 7/28/15 in which the customer refused to pay the bill. No other correspondence was received by our company. In good faith, we have removed the customer from Collections. However, the charges will remain on the account for future reference. We understand that the customer feels that they have been part of a fraud, however we assure you that every attempt was made to contact the customer before the start of the season, as well as settle the debt that is owed. Our management takes great strides in working with our customers, to reach amicable terms . We also ask that the consumer stop submitting multiple complaints under another's name, as this would be considered fraudulent activity.

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lawn Doctor of McHenry came out after the services we paid for had ended, without us requesting. We had signed up for specific services and nothing more. They claimed that they continue service, regardless of whether the client requests it or not. I asked for something that we had signed stating that we agreed to this, and that this policy had been explained to us, and Lawn Doctor could provide nothing. We would like this charge removed and taken off our credit report

Desired Settlement: We want this charge removed and the negative account taken off our credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/08) */ This customer was with our company at their first address from 2012-2014, cancelling at this address on 3/18/2014 and after receiving their 2014 Season Renewal Letters they called to advise they are cancelling their service due to moving into their new house. The customer then called in August of 2014 to advise they would like to start up service again at their new address. The customer again received 3 Renewal Letters over the winter months advising of their 2015 Season Services, and if they would like to make changes or cancel to contact us before March 31st, 2015. We did not receive correspondence requesting change or cancellation from the customer, and the services were then renewed. On April 16th, 2015 the customer received their first application and at the bottom of the invoice the following statement "For your convenience service continues from season to season. For a change in service, please call our office" to which we did not receive any notification from the customer to do so. The customer then received 4 statements advising of the past due amount of $41.00, along with 3 Collections letters advising that we would like to try and settle the balance with the customer. Our company never received any correspondence from the customer, and one once the balance reached over 120 days, the account was then sent to Collections. The customer knew of the policy to which we continue season to season since they have been a previous customer for 3 years, our company has given them ample opportunity to settle this debt and we have not received a response from the customer until now. We would be more than happy to settle this debt with the customer at any time.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lawn Doctor Of McHenry County
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)