BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2009

Green T Lawncare

(630) 231-0007View Additional Phone Numbers1600 Mountain St, AuroraIL 60505-2447 Send email to Green T Lawncare

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2009

BBB has determined that Green T Lawncare meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Green T Lawncare's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Green T Lawncare

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had terrible service from Green T. I started expressing my dissatisfaction on the invoice I sent with my payment in the comment section. Nothing was done. I then did not pay for the last service as I was dissatisfied and no one would return my phone call to rectify the situation. I was asking to have a manager come out to see the terrible condition our lawn was in and to prove that if the technician was doing his job properly how would it get in such terrible shape? They suspended our service for non-payment. I called to explain, as I know they have free follow up service which is what I was requesting. I agreed to pay for the one service I owed and he agreed to rectify the condition our lawn was in. I sent the check immediately and it was cashed promptly. They sent someone out and billed me. I did not pay as I was under the impression the lawn would be taken care of as per my discussion with the manager and in agreement due to the guarantee free "retreatments". They continued to send someone out and bill me each time. I sent a letter explaining I was not paying as that was the agreement and now I am getting notices threatening collection. I only owed $59 for one treatment when they suspended my service for non pay. And I only held payment as no one would return my calls. Why did they continue to provide service up to almost $200 in charges when I did not pay the first one. They suspended service the first time for one missed payment. Our lawn never improved and on one occasion we were home when the technician came. My husband walked through our entire front and back yards to point things out, then left, which the tech saw him leave. I was looking out the window to see what he was doing. He then proceeded to apply the application only to half of our back yard and none of the front and then put the bill on the door and left. That basically is fraudulent to charge someone for services not rendered. We believe, after now seeing the technician not apply the application but charge us, that that was what was happening all along or why would we have had crabgrass and weeds overtaking our entire lawn while we were supposedly having regular weed control and fertilizer applications? We have considered getting an attorney for a refund of all services but would settle to just have the billing/collection threats stop. I first thought perhaps their billing system could only print out an invoice showing what was done with a money charge. When it kept happening and I then received the collection notice I realized they expected me to pay. I am not paying for services that were not performed as promised and did not measure up to their advertising. On a side note the person who referred me never got the $20 they advertise they give for referrals. I got no response on that either. Terrible lawn service and worse customer service. Thank you!

Desired Settlement
To stop billing me, and to make no collection or negative impact on my credit.

Business Response
Case #XXXXXXXX
1 message
*** @ ***** T <***@greentservices.com>Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 8:44 AM
To: *******@chicago.bbb.org, *********@chicago.bbb.org
Good Morning,

***** ******* has been a customer of ours through the 2012 and 2013 season. After her first few services, her account had a recurring balance. As a privately owned company we do all billing first hand. We do ask all customers remit balance within 30 days, and Mrs. *******'s account was consistently at 60-90 days past due. Once a customer has reached a certain credit limit, we stop all services until payment is rendered.

When Mrs. ******* contacted our office, in response to calls and to state she was seeing weeds, we agreed we would resume service and accept a payment at that time. She made a partial payment, and we continued to provide services for their residence. They accepted two more services and contacted our office to cancel service.

We would be willing to meet Mrs. ******* in the middle and split the past due payment of $176.00 in half. Once the final payment was made, we would clear the remaining balance.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any further assistance.


*** *********
Green T Services


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not feel that the problem was addressed at all. Yes, I did carry a balance but that is because the service was unsatisfactory and I advised of this on every payment I remitted. No one contacted me to even discuss the matter. When I asked about this when I called to advise of why payment was not made I was told they do not look at the back of the remittance which is where it asks for comments. Then why is it there. If the job was performed properly we would have had no constant problem with weeds, crab grass, creeping charlie, etc. as that is the reason you hire a lawn care service. They advertize on WGN radio that they care about every customer blah blah blah. Then why would no manager come out to look at the shape of our lawn when I asked. They just send the technician who was not doing the job properly to begin with. Do they not understand that if a job is not performed satisfactorily they have no reason to expect payment. Who pays for something and gets nothing. Also, I did not remit a partial payment and expect them to reinstate my service. That doesn't even make sense. Would the owner of that company pay for a brake job and have the brakes still not work? I don't think so. At one point I even asked for a different technician (via the payment remittance form) and got no response. I would like a reason as to why the job was not performed as they advertise and a reason as to why my complaints were never answered and of course why payment should be made for service not rendered. Thank you!

Final Business Response
case #XXXXXXXX
1 message
*** @ Green T <***@greentservices.com>Tue, May 20, 2014 at 2:42 PM
To: *******@chicago.bbb.org, *********@chicago.bbb.org
As a local business, we always investigate any issue that arises and put the pieces together with information found. After reviewing the customer call logs we retain, each instance that the Mrs. made contact we responded to whichever concern.

At this point am including a copy of our call log information along with a statement of the account balance. This is reflective of what was stated previously.

As far as Mrs. *******'s statement paying for services that you are not happy with. I will say, when you take your car for a brake job there are two factors you haven't considered. 1) You have to pay for the service, before you get your car back to determine whether or not its to your liking and 2) Doing a brake job isn't conducive to the weather.

With that said, the only alternative for Mrs. ******* seems to be free from her past due balance. I have included an updated statement which reflects the accounts zero balance.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any further assistance.

*** *********
Green T Services

2 attachments
~OTE9Y4I001F.PDF
500K
~OT0Y29I001F.PDF
1163K

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I thankfully accept this resolution. It is unfortunate that we are so far apart as to what actually happened in this situation. Our lawn was in terrible shape, I could not get a member of management to look at it and I would not commit to continue to pay for something that was not working. My biggest frustration is the advertising on WGN saying how every client is important, blah, blah, blah. The looks of my lawn and the fact that one of their employees did not treat our entire lawn but then left a bill on our door, after we had complained and my husband walked through the yard with the technician, is appalling. I am truly appreciative of this resolution.

Thank you,
***** *******

12/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/09/2013Business started: 03/01/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2009, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Underhill (Manager)
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Green Tee Lawncare

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Green T Lawncare

1600 Mountain St

Aurora, IL 60505-2447

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1600 Mountain St 

    Aurora, IL 60505-2447(630) 231-0007
    (847) 695-7777

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Green T Lawncare is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (847) 695-7777
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.