Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Green T Lawncare

Phone: (630) 231-0007 View Additional Phone Numbers 1600 Mountain St, Aurora, IL 60505 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green T Lawncare meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green T Lawncare
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 2013 Business started: 03/01/2002 in IL Business started locally: 03/01/2002 Business incorporated 12/19/2006 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Underhill, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Underhill, Manager
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Alternate Business Names
Green Tee Lawncare, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1600 Mountain St

    Aurora, IL 60505 (847) 695-7777 (630) 231-0007


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: T Green has been spraying my lawn for a year,fall of 2015 they sprayed to close to one of my bushes and it started to die , I called them and told them my bush was looking strest l took photos and sent then, they sent a worker out to look at it they gave the bush fertilizer and said let's wait till spring ,Spring is here and it's not making it. They said replacement bush would be $500 but they get it for cost and I would pay $200, I an not paying $200 !!! Please help unhappy customer... ***...

Desired Settlement: New Lilac Bush

Business Response:

Mrs. *** ***** had first contacted us 10/8/2015 regarding her concern about the bush in question. We sent a senior technician out 10/12/2015 to inspect the bush. The technician noted and spoke with the customer that the bush did not have damage from weed control and seemed to be competing for nutrients with the pine that was nearby, since the leaves showed no signs of weed control damage (curling and browning). Out of good faith we did deep root fertilization for the customer at no cost to attempt to help her with the issues that the plant seemed to be having.

The bush in question is directly next to another bush, and after seeing pictures of the bush we have had several technicians and managers discuss with Mrs ***** how it could not be weed control affecting the plant, specifically because weed control is not selective, it would have damaged the plant directly next to it as well if that was the case.

We did offer, once again out of good faith, to replace the bush for $190 (Retail $600). She refused the offer 5/17/2016 on the phone with one of the managers.   

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


*** *****

 In October of 2015 I contacted T Green with the fact that their technician had 

killed my Lilac  shrub while chemically treating my lawn for weeds .i was told I 

would have a replacement shrub in the spring of 2016 with no mention of me having to incur an expense of $200.00 or $600.00.

There are 4 other Lilac shrubs which are closer to the pine tree that have NOT competed for nutrients that are NOT dead.the only shrub that IS dead , is the shrub that was sprayed by T Green while chemically treating my lawn for weeds.

I would like what I was promised ,a new replacement Lilac shrub with no out of pocked expense incurred by me.


Thank you,

*** *****





Business Response:

In response to the rejection of our offer:

We do not believe the bush was damaged by weed control. As stated previously, we sent out a manager immediately, once the issue with the bush began, to inspect and see if it was weed control causing the issue. After inspection it was determined that the type of stress the bush was showing is not what would be caused by weed control. 

Out of good faith we did a free deep root fertilization of the bush to attempt to help the customer with the issue, and went as far as to offer to replace the bush at cost, $190, instead of the full price of $6000 to remove the old bush and replace with a brand new one. 

We do not feel we should replace the bush at no cost, since we acted quickly, and it was determined the issues with the bush were not a direct affect of our product, and have given a free service and offered a replacement bush at the cost to the company out of good faith. 

We are still willing to honor the replacement of the bush at the cost of $190. 

4/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We employed Green T Lawn for several years and always had issues with the quality of the service they provided. In late August 2015 the company representative named **** called and offered aeration and reseeding service. He assured if we sign up early, the service would be done in early- mid October, the best time for seed germination and aeration. We signed up for the service, were sent the bill and paid $90.00 promptly on 9/13/15; the check was cashed by Green T on Sep 17 2015.. As of October 27 the aeration was not done, so I I emailed the company and requested to let me know when the service was going to be done. In several days we received a voice mail from Green T that the service was going to be done within a week. It was not. I called the company on November 10 and spoke to the manager. He explained that they did not do the service because our property was not on their service route. I requested $90 to be returned since in November it was already too late to do the service. The manager informed that processing the refund could take up to two weeks. The refund has not been received as of today, March 27 2016. The company has not made any attempts to contact us and explain the delay in refund. We demand $90 for the service promised but not provided to be returned at the earliest.

Desired Settlement: Receive money back

Business Response: I have reviewed the complaint and account associated with ******** *********. After looking into the account I do see the notes, and that the refund process was started, however; there was glitch in our internal system causing it to sit in limbo. We will be correcting the mistake and a refund check will be sent this week, no later than 3/31/16, in the total of $90. That is the amount that was paid for the aeration and seeding service that was not completed. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******** *********

2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled the service on 11/6/2015 and told I would be receiving a refund check. I have called 5 times since early December and have not yet received my check. I spoke with ****, ****, ****, and ****. They all tell me it's being taken care of and that the check is on its way, and I have not yet received it. It is going to be 2 months on 1/6/16 since I canceled.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund check for the canceled services, as was promised.

Business Response: Regarding the complaint sent on 12/30/15, that issue was resolved on Green T Lawncare's end as of 1/4/16. Refund check number 10114 in the amount of $82.80 was sent to ********* *******' residence listed in the complaint, as requested. 

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: -I called the company due to the fact that we had weeds . I spoke to Noel, who was efficient in assuring me that they are equipped to take care of any weeds and specifically the crab grass. I told him that initially and to see if anything improved I wanted to commit to one application, and then we would see. To that Noel, once again reassured me that you pay as you go, and that we could schedule one application at a time . He asked for my address and determined a price. That price quickly changed once I called back to schedule, however because he seemed sincere I agreed to pay a little more. -Noel never told me that they have a 5 or 6 application program, and that since I signed in July they were already on step 3 of the process. -He did not send anyone to the property to determine the issue. he merely did a calculation on his computer. -The application was done on July 3rd. -After one week since we did not see any improvements or changes we contacted them again, only to find out that's a 6 steps process and that they don't spray for the crab grass until August, which I was never told.. -After many phone calls, with Noel who admitted many times that he is new and that he did not disclose the actual process and commitments, they refused to come back and reapply as it's part of the service follow up after 10 days.and as I was promised by Noel and Mark,( a supervisor.) feel strongly that the company does not disclose important details. -I am very disappointed in the company, in Noel, and in their management. - They could have taken steps to improve my experience and perhaps retain my business in the log run, given the fact that I was misinformed, by someone who was new. I feel that they use these practices, to gain the customer's acceptance, and then issues start. Because of all of the above reasons, I would like to be reimbursed for the $180.00 payment that I promptly sent in. The fact that they applied fertilizer made the crab grass issue even worse. Thank you, I hope to hear back from you soon.

Desired Settlement: minimum reimbursement of $180.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: Office Manager Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****@greentservices I wanted to say i was sorry to hear Mrs Lina ****** was so unhappy. We do have a 7 round treatment. You need all 7 to see a huge result. One application will not not do much at all for a customer that had service for a few years let alone a new customer. We do offer fee service calls in between the applications free of charge. Noel has been a valid employees for a few years and is very good at explaining in detail how our products work. Lina ****** had a call back from the office manager Mark and he talked to her'1 - 07/17/2015 04:16 PM - ML - NOTE: Spoke with customer in great length she is not willing to sign up for the year and is upset however when I asked if she would like to use us for the rest of the year and we would be able to help with her concerns she said why would I do that when you came out and treated my property with the first treatment and I see no results. I explained that expectations with lawn care it is a process and through our process we can make an improvement however she only signed for one application I would be more than happy to work with her if she wanted to pay for the year than at any time she has an issue we can initiate a SC at no charge to her and if she decided to cancel we would refund her the difference. Customer kept saying the mistake was Noel and she shouldn't have to pay for that mistake. I told her if it was a mis communication I understand and I would like to do whatever I could to help her. She said give me a SC for the last treatment. I then said I would be happy to do that if she wanted to pay for the year we could help her. She did not understand and even admitted she only wanted one application. I then explained we do not initiate SC for a one application basis. She did not understand and said we were ripping her off and she is not happy." If she would like us to go out and do the free service we will do that. We have been around for several years and do the best we can on customer service as well as the lawns we treat. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) -As I stated, I was totally misinformed by Noel.He admitted along with his manager that he gave me incorrect information.My decision to proceed was based on what he told me, which was not truthful. The "one application" request is incorrect also, I wanted to see if the first application made any improvements and then proceed with additional ones. They refuse to follow up with a service call, which is something that they offer to everyone with or without commitment for a full year. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2015/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It seems that the real issues it's not being addressed. I WAS MISINFORMED when I called IN AND PROCEEDED based on what I was told and yes I would like to either get reimbursed or for a free service call that addressed crab grass. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/08/11) */ Contact Name and Title: Lisa Office manager Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ******* We stand by our work as we stated we would do a FREE service call to go back. He have stated one application out of seven will not show a huge difference. We are really sorry Mrs. Lina was not happy with the outcome of one application that is why we have 7 rounds because for a first time customer your lawn needs to have all the applications to really see a difference. we have no contract, so nothing is owed except for the work that was done the one treatment Lina had. She requested a service and we went out to treat the lawn. We will go out for a service call if Mrs. would like that because inbetween the 7 rounds we do go out for a free service call.

4/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green T has made improper representation. They provided service that I did not request and billed me. In a phone call, their rep, ** (he would not provide his last name) stated that if a customer requests service one year they are automatically "signed up" for service until the customer calls to cancel the service. I never signed a contract, requested service in the subsequent year, or responded to their current year mailer. In addition, ** was just plain rude.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Not applicable Remove my info from their customer database.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/08) */ As a local business, customer satisfaction is, as it has always been, our number one priority. Mr. ****** has been one of our valued customers, since 2012. Throughout his service record, we have done the auto renew process annually. Since we do not have written contracts, all we ever ask is that if a customer is dissatisfied with our services, for any reason, they give us an opportunity to resolve that issue. If we are unable to meet their specific request or expectations, and they wish to end service, they just simply let us know. Mr. ******'s call on the third of April, was the first time we were aware that he wanted to discontinue service since he began with us. We had continued our program, as we have done previously. We do apologize for the any inconvenience and will gladly remove the $44.00 charge, in hopes that a future relationship would be considered.

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had terrible service from Green T. I started expressing my dissatisfaction on the invoice I sent with my payment in the comment section. Nothing was done. I then did not pay for the last service as I was dissatisfied and no one would return my phone call to rectify the situation. I was asking to have a manager come out to see the terrible condition our lawn was in and to prove that if the technician was doing his job properly how would it get in such terrible shape? They suspended our service for non-payment. I called to explain, as I know they have free follow up service which is what I was requesting. I agreed to pay for the one service I owed and he agreed to rectify the condition our lawn was in. I sent the check immediately and it was cashed promptly. They sent someone out and billed me. I did not pay as I was under the impression the lawn would be taken care of as per my discussion with the manager and in agreement due to the guarantee free "retreatments". They continued to send someone out and bill me each time. I sent a letter explaining I was not paying as that was the agreement and now I am getting notices threatening collection. I only owed $59 for one treatment when they suspended my service for non pay. And I only held payment as no one would return my calls. Why did they continue to provide service up to almost $200 in charges when I did not pay the first one. They suspended service the first time for one missed payment. Our lawn never improved and on one occasion we were home when the technician came. My husband walked through our entire front and back yards to point things out, then left, which the tech saw him leave. I was looking out the window to see what he was doing. He then proceeded to apply the application only to half of our back yard and none of the front and then put the bill on the door and left. That basically is fraudulent to charge someone for services not rendered. We believe, after now seeing the technician not apply the application but charge us, that that was what was happening all along or why would we have had crabgrass and weeds overtaking our entire lawn while we were supposedly having regular weed control and fertilizer applications? We have considered getting an attorney for a refund of all services but would settle to just have the billing/collection threats stop. I first thought perhaps their billing system could only print out an invoice showing what was done with a money charge. When it kept happening and I then received the collection notice I realized they expected me to pay. I am not paying for services that were not performed as promised and did not measure up to their advertising. On a side note the person who referred me never got the $20 they advertise they give for referrals. I got no response on that either. Terrible lawn service and worse customer service. Thank you!

Desired Settlement: To stop billing me, and to make no collection or negative impact on my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/04/22) */ Case #XXXXXXXX 1 message *** @ ***** T <***> Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 8:44 AM To: *******, ********* Good Morning, ***** ******* has been a customer of ours through the 2012 and 2013 season. After her first few services, her account had a recurring balance. As a privately owned company we do all billing first hand. We do ask all customers remit balance within 30 days, and Mrs. *******'s account was consistently at 60-90 days past due. Once a customer has reached a certain credit limit, we stop all services until payment is rendered. When Mrs. ******* contacted our office, in response to calls and to state she was seeing weeds, we agreed we would resume service and accept a payment at that time. She made a partial payment, and we continued to provide services for their residence. They accepted two more services and contacted our office to cancel service. We would be willing to meet Mrs. ******* in the middle and split the past due payment of $176.00 in half. Once the final payment was made, we would clear the remaining balance. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any further assistance. *** ********* Green T Services Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not feel that the problem was addressed at all. Yes, I did carry a balance but that is because the service was unsatisfactory and I advised of this on every payment I remitted. No one contacted me to even discuss the matter. When I asked about this when I called to advise of why payment was not made I was told they do not look at the back of the remittance which is where it asks for comments. Then why is it there. If the job was performed properly we would have had no constant problem with weeds, crab grass, creeping charlie, etc. as that is the reason you hire a lawn care service. They advertize on WGN radio that they care about every customer blah blah blah. Then why would no manager come out to look at the shape of our lawn when I asked. They just send the technician who was not doing the job properly to begin with. Do they not understand that if a job is not performed satisfactorily they have no reason to expect payment. Who pays for something and gets nothing. Also, I did not remit a partial payment and expect them to reinstate my service. That doesn't even make sense. Would the owner of that company pay for a brake job and have the brakes still not work? I don't think so. At one point I even asked for a different technician (via the payment remittance form) and got no response. I would like a reason as to why the job was not performed as they advertise and a reason as to why my complaints were never answered and of course why payment should be made for service not rendered. Thank you! Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/05/21) */ case #XXXXXXXX 1 message *** @ Green T <***> Tue, May 20, 2014 at 2:42 PM To: *******, ********* As a local business, we always investigate any issue that arises and put the pieces together with information found. After reviewing the customer call logs we retain, each instance that the Mrs. made contact we responded to whichever concern. At this point am including a copy of our call log information along with a statement of the account balance. This is reflective of what was stated previously. As far as Mrs. *******'s statement paying for services that you are not happy with. I will say, when you take your car for a brake job there are two factors you haven't considered. 1) You have to pay for the service, before you get your car back to determine whether or not its to your liking and 2) Doing a brake job isn't conducive to the weather. With that said, the only alternative for Mrs. ******* seems to be free from her past due balance. I have included an updated statement which reflects the accounts zero balance. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any further assistance. *** ********* Green T Services 2 attachments ~OTE9Y4I001F.PDF 500K ~OT0Y29I001F.PDF 1163K Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2014/05/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I thankfully accept this resolution. It is unfortunate that we are so far apart as to what actually happened in this situation. Our lawn was in terrible shape, I could not get a member of management to look at it and I would not commit to continue to pay for something that was not working. My biggest frustration is the advertising on WGN saying how every client is important, blah, blah, blah. The looks of my lawn and the fact that one of their employees did not treat our entire lawn but then left a bill on our door, after we had complained and my husband walked through the yard with the technician, is appalling. I am truly appreciative of this resolution. Thank you, ***** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Green T Lawncare
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)