Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Forever Green, Inc.

Phone: (815) 636-0610 Fax: (815) 316-3027 4661 Byron Drive, Loves Park, IL 61111 http://www.forevergreenil.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Forever Green, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Forever Green, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Forever Green, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 1995 Business started: 03/01/1994 in IL Business started locally: 03/01/1994 Business incorporated 03/02/1994 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Agriculture
100 W Randolph St, Ste 10-700, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.agr.state.il.us
Phone Number: (800) 582-0468

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey D. Ponder, President Ms. Laurie Gilligan, Assistant to the President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Laurie Gilligan, Assistant to the President
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey D. Ponder, President
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Fertilizers Pest Control Services Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)


Additional Locations

  • 4661 Byron Drive

    Loves Park, IL 61111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the past 2 years I have used the lawn service of Forever Green, Inc. During that time, I had always pre-paid for my services, per an advertisement received from Forever Green in early spring/late winter. This year I chose to go with a different company, once again, for my lawn services. On May 19, 2016 I received an invoice (Customer #******) from Forever Green for $111.62, for what they are saying was a "Lawn Application #1". Since I never requested this service, or received any notification that this service was even completed, I called Forever Green on May 20, 2016 to discuss. At that time I was told that contained within the invoice, in fine print, is this "For your convenience, service automatically renews from season to season. For a change in service please contact us". My response to that was, the "alleged service" (once again, I have no proof anything was even done) was already completed, so the aforementioned fine print "clause" they provided on the invoice, was after the fact. Forever Green's position is they can discontinue my services (that I never requested) moving forward, but I owe the $111.62 because I never contacted them to discontinue my services. I completely disagree with this position, for the following reasons: 1) I never requested these services, I was not aware of any clause that required me to contact Forever Green to discontinue their services. The very fine print they included on the invoice speaking to this "clause", is borderline deception. I made the decision to not retain Forever Greens services for 2016, wouldn't a prudent person assume that if they didn't pay for the services, or respond to any advertisement flyers, it would end there? 2) Not that I even requested the services, there is no proof they even performed the alleged Application. In the past, when I used Forever Green, my lawn was flagged off after any application, along with paperwork put in my door, neither of which happened.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $111.62 bill I just received rescinded. I did not chose to have these services performed, if they were even actually performed. Moreover, I feel for present/future customers, the practice they have in place regarding "service automatically renews" needs to be agreed to by the customer, or better communicated, versus "sneaking" it into an invoice in very small font.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint, Forever Green states the following:  This customer has had our services for (3) seasons, 2013, 2014, and 2015.  It is standard practice with most companies in this business that accounts are automatically renew from season to season.  All invoices that are sent out have the same language that "for your convenience, service automatically renews from season to season.  For a change in service please contact us".  This is not a "very fine print" and is by no means "borderline deception".  We do not base renewals on prepayment as that is not required.  Bottom line, the charge was written off the day the customer called and said that he would not pay for it.  

Thank You

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Forever Green, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)