Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Desert Rain, Inc.

Phone: (815) 464-4112 View Additional Phone Numbers 7410 Ridgefield Ln, Tinley Park, IL 60487


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Desert Rain, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Desert Rain, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2010 Business started: 12/11/1998 Business started locally: 12/11/1998 Business incorporated 12/11/1998 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Brinker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Brinker, President
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Underground Sprinkler Lawn Sprinkler Parts Irrigation Consultants Irrigation Systems & Equipment Lawn Maintenance Plumbing and Heating Equipment and Supplies (Hydronics) Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423720)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7410 Ridgefield Ln

    Tinley Park, IL 60487 (815) 464-4112 (815) 735-0055 (815) 464-4966

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2 separate occasions an employee was negligent and left the sprinkler boxes open on my unit. One happened over the winter when I broke my femur and was recovering in the living room. I kept hearing banging noises (causing me much stress) from outside but could not check it out due to my condition. In the spring I then found out someone left both doors open and the inside box was water logged. ****** time was later in the summer where someone left the box open again but now with the keys in it! There were no vehicles around so I put the keys on my front porch so someone would not take the keys from the open box and possibly vandalize the system. Now Desert Rain has the nerve to charge the townehome association $112.50, because of their negligence! And in return, the association is billing me! Why am I being charged for an employee's negligence? Desert Rain should have made a simple phone call to the management ***ice but probably didn't because the employee was at fault and didn't want to admit guilt. I was also home the entire day and NO ONE came to my door or called me! They are clearly trying to hide their negligence. Additionally, if their service call is $50, why are they charging $112.50?

Desired Settlement: Desert Rain reimburse me the charges for negligence on their employee's actions.

Business Response:

Ok first why didn't you call the management company or the association about the banging that caused you such stress? Hello! ****** Desert Rain took over the account in Spring of 2015 so we could not have done anything to the box last winter. In regards to the keys being left in the box this summer, well let me tell you you must be BLIND! there was a WHITE 1999 **** **** with lettering all over the side *** the van that is AT LEAST 12" and full color with pictures that you could see from at least 1000 feet or more sitting directly at the end of your unit and driveway. You and your neighbors would have to go around it to leave. I was in the process of testing and repairing your zones walking the property when you so diligently looked to see if anyone was around working. I can tell you exactly where i was when you took the keys and locked the box, behind the x presidents house across the street from you. There was a sprinkler head that was hidden and we were looking for it, i returned to the clock to reset the zone and wallah no keys and box was locked. There were no keys around because I looked and also asked your neighbor to the east who was washing his car and just finished if he saw anyone or had the keys. I knocked on your door and rang the bell but no answer. I SPENT THE NEXT HOUR AND A HALF WALKING THE PROPERTY LOOKING TO SEE IF I HAD POSSIBLY DROPPED THE KEYS THAT I WAS SURE I DID NOT REMOVE FROM THE BOX. I LEAVE THE KEYS IN THERE JUST FOR THAT REASON. WHEN I FINISH I REMOVE THE KEYS AND THEY GO ON MY ****** BELT LOOP ON MY RIGHT SIDE. FROM THERE TO A SPECIAL CLIP ON THE DASHBOARD. HAVEN'T EVER LOST OR HAD A PROBLEM VISITING OVER 10'000 ACCOUNTS UNTIL YOUR PLACE. I ALSO VISITED THE BOARD MEMBER THAT STORES THE RPZ'S TO SEE IF HE HAD THEM, I EXPLAINED WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND HE AND ANOTHER PERSON TRIED TO CALL YOUR HOUSE. SO NOW THAT I COULD NOT FINISH THE JOB BECAUSE I COULD NO LONGER OPERATE THE CLOCK I HAD TO RETURN AT A LATER DATE AFTER THE KEYS WERE LOCATED. ****** THANKS TO YOUR EFFORTS I ALSO HAD ANOTHER ACCOUNT THAT I WAS SCHEDULED TO GO TO LATER THAT DAY WITH MY PLUMBER THAT I HAD TO RESCHEDULE AND MY PLUMBER HAD TO RESCHEDULE HIS ACTIVITIES AROUND ME. Because the contract pricing  your association has with Desert RAIN INC does not cover return trips or time spent looking for keys I had to charge them A MINIMUM FEE OF 1.5 HOURS @$75.00 HR. THAT IS JUST THE TIME I SPENT WHEN I RETURNED AND FINISHED THE JOB. I SHOULD HAVE CHARGED FOR THE EXTRA TIME I SPENT LOOKING FOR THE KEYS, MY DRIVE TIME BACK AND FORTH FROM YOUR ACCOUNT TO FINISH, DRIVE TIME TO COME GET THE KEYS FROM THE PRESIDENT, AND THE WASTED TIME FOR MY PLUMBER AND THE AGGRAVATION!!! I was so ****** *** that I almost fired your association and wished to no longer service the account. I work very hard to keep my prices low and can proudly say I do a damn good job! I was recruited due to the fact that your last sprinkler company wanted to charge the association almost $700 for a $125.00 repair that I was asked to take care of. And since I'm on my soap box, I was the one that worked with the ********* Township to locate a missing shut *** valve for you sprinkler system that was causing constant repair, all for free and also helped to get the township to not charge for their work.

 Sure would have been nice to leave a note on the box saying you had the keys!!!! Sure would have been great it maybe you called the number on the truck!!! OH that's right the truck was invisible at that time. As you can tell i am still angry at the whole thing and yes, if I do not get to service your account next year at the wishes of the association and the Management company i'm fine with it.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            So the reason YOUR ASSOCIATION IS BILLING YOU SHOULD BE CLEAR!       

 

 

 

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that the contractor's aggressive behavior towards me and "quick to blame" attitude and accusations is enough to close this complaint.  We apparently have different views of what transpired and I was open to hearing the contractor's side.  Instead of simply and professionally explaining his side of the story he is quick to call me blind, a liar (at no point did ANYONE call me - must had a wrong number!) and in not so many words - "ignorant."  I no longer wish to expend my precious time on someone who obviously has much hatred.  Thank you for your sincere, complimentary explanation and much blessings to you in 2016.

Sincerely,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Desert Rain, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)