Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

K & R Landscaping Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 436-5000 11952 S Spaulding School Dr, Plainfield, IL 60585 http://krlandscapinginc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K & R Landscaping Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K & R Landscaping Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K & R Landscaping Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 10/30/1990 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Manning, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Manning, President
Business Category

Landscape Maintenance Paving Contractors Snow Removal Service Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Landscape Contractors Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)


Additional Locations

  • 11952 S Spaulding School Dr

    Plainfield, IL 60585 (815) 436-5000

  • 201 Heritage Dr

    Plainfield, IL 60544

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The lawn care company smashed their riding mower into my air conditioner unit on 7/19/16. They knocked it over on it's side and damaged the rails that it sits on. It is obviously damaged and the connection to the residence is damaged. There is oil that has leaked out of the unit and caused irreversible damage to interior components. They also cut my gutter and damaged my neighbor's air conditioner by denting the unit. They also knocked their basement window cover off. The neighbor witnessed it all happen. The lawn care company has never ridden mowers in this tight spot between the houses in the past because there isn't enough room. I have picture documentation of the damage. My air conditioner is not functioning properly, it is having trouble keeping my residence cool, it has dripped a bunch of oil and is internally damaged because it was struck by the mower and was on while it was on its side. Due to the downspout being directly adjacent to the a/c unit and having blade marks in it, that leads me to believe that the mower did indeed strike and knock my unit over. The unit is also making an extremely loud noise that is not normal. It sounds like it is on its last leg. Upon contacting the company, the company simply advised that I have no proof that they damaged the air conditioner and were unwilling to replace it.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of air conditioner.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

I have been in constant contact with ******* and the management company about this homeowners complaint.  The day I received the complaint via management company, I immediately sent a supervisor to review the AC unit and then later that afternoon I inspected the AC unit myself.  Neither the AC unit or brackets show any signs that it was hit by a 400 pound lawn mower:  no dents, scratches or paint transfer.  The unit is not bolted down to the brackets, it was just sitting on the brackets.  The unit in question is approximately 16 years old (according the *******) leading me to believe it vibrated off the brackets.  The unit is still working at this time.  I do not believe that my lawn mowing team hit this AC unit.  With all that being said, I offered to have the unit serviced.  ******* refused to have me service the unit stating that he only wanted it replaced.   I don't feel I should have to replace a AC unit that is working and shows no signs of being hit.  I feel that ******* is just looking to have a 16 year old AC unit replaced at my expense.  

 

The following day after the complaint, I had a supervisor inventory all 52 units at Marquette Landing.  Approximately 20% of the AC units on this property are not level or falling of the brackets.  Many of which are nowhere near the grass.

 

I take this matter very seriously as I care deeply about my companies and my own reputation.  Hence why I have always responded to ******* and also responded to the BBB quickly.  I even reached out to BBB prior to the complaint (Spoke with ****) as I felt that I was not in the wrong.  Please let me know how I should proceed.

 

Thank you,

 

**** *******

K&R Landscaping, Inc.

Business Response:

BBB,

 

******* does not have a witness that saw a member of my company hit his AC unit.  Along with the unit showing no signs of being struck, I strongly feel that this unit vibrated off the brackets.  Especially because this portion of the yard is heavily sloped.  This theory is supported by the fact that 20% of all other AC units are leaning off the brackets on the property.  See attached picture the illustrates the poorly installed and maintained AC units on this property.  This was clearly wasn't hit by a mower given how far away it is from the lawn.

From the beginning, all ******* wanted was a new AC unit.  He was never interested in my offer of having his inspected.   With him, its always been a new AC unit or else he was going to report me to the BBB, bash me on **** and sue me in small claims court.  All of this while the AC unit is still working.  

Regardless of feeling falsely blamed for a 16 y/o AC not sitting straight, I'm still willing to have this unit inspected.  I've reached out to the company that services the units at my office and they can inspect on Monday between 12-4pm.  Someone needs to be home so we can turn the unit on and off.  If this doesn't work then I don't know what else I can do.  Please let me know if someone can be home.  

 

Regards,

 

**** *******

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not even have a **** account so false accusations are not appreciated. I told **** if we could not get the issue resolved I would reach out to the BBB for assistance and if the issue still cannot get resolved I would have to move on to small claims court. Based on ****'s "all or nothing" Monday inspection, I cannot accept due to my work schedule. It appears that **** is not willing to work with me as far as scheduling goes so I guess my only next option is small claims court. 
   
Sincerely,

******* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on K & R Landscaping Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)