This business is not BBB accredited.

Prairies Hardscape & Design

Phone: (630) 466-8344 View Additional Phone Numbers 1921 Annette Cir, Sugar Grove, IL 60554 http://www.prairieshardscape.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Prairies Hardscape & Design include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Prairies Hardscape & Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2005 Business started locally: 04/01/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Robert W Hopkins, Owner Moses D. Arenas, Business Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Moses D. Arenas, Business Manager
Principal: Robert W Hopkins, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Designers Landscape Architectural Services (NAICS: 541320)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1921 Annette Cir

    Sugar Grove, IL 60554

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had contracted with Prairies hardscape and designs inc to build a waterfall into our swimming pool in may of 2013. This contract includes a 2 year warranty on craftsmanship and settling. Right now after just under 2 years the whole back half of the waterfall is slipping away, glue is separating from the rocks, basically the overall structural stability is compromised. We have left several messages asking for someone to contact us with no response back to our messages. This is still within the contracted 2 year warranty period.

Desired Settlement: We would like the water fall to be fixed properly or rebuilt properly to fix this issue and avoid this problem in the future.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business completed a brick paver patio in 04/11 where a 5 yr warranty guarantee on workmanship was signed. As of 04/14 the patio has developed some settling issues and needs to be repaired under this warranty guarantee. Attempts to make contact with the business via phone have gone unanswered and calls not returned. Voicemails have been left on 04/03, 04/09, 04/16 and a voicemail left on the business owner's personal cell phone on 04/24. An email was sent to business through their online website. Business was found on Facebook and message was sent. Business has failed to respond to any of these contacts, therefore, not honoring the warranty coverage as agreed to in 04/11.

Desired Settlement: I want my patio repaired and if business continues to fail to respond then civil litigation will follow.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Prairie Hardscape in April, 2013 to remove our existing bluestone walkway and after removing all tree roots, etc. reinstall the bluestone with new paver grout(not sure what it is actually called). The stoop was also repaired and cleaned. We hired them because of their (apparent) quality workmanship, but also because of the 5 year warranty. When doing the work, they damaged one of our sprinkler heads. It took several phone calls and many missed appointments to get this fixed, but finally it was done. Last fall, I noticed that some of the grout was cracking/missing and this was causing a stone to move. I called a few times (always having to leave a message because no one answered the phone) and was assured that someone would be out to repair the problem before the weather got bad. Finally the snow came and it was not possible to fix the sidewalk so I did not contact them until March, 2014. Now there was more cracked or missing grout and more stones had begun to shift. Besides my phone messages, I left an email for *** ******* (who was the person we had dealt with). He emailed me on March 17th and promised that someone would be out at the beginning of April. By mid April I was again calling and emailing when no one came out . March 17th was the last time I received any response to my calls/emails. I have attempted to contact them every few weeks by either calling or emailing. I even left them a message on their website. All to no avail. ------------------------------------------------- 7/14/14 info from consumer: We have received no response from the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the repairs completed. In addition, if the company is going to be unresponsive to my calls/emails, I would like some kind of reimbursement so that I may have the work completed by another company.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our pond, pavers and landscaping were all finished last summer, with guarantees on everything. Our pump in the pond is not working, and we have a tree (possibly more than one) that is dead. I have been trying to reach them through texts, emails and voice messages since Nov, 2013, and cannot get any response.

Desired Settlement: I just would like them to make good on their guarantees.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Prairies Hardscape & Design
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)