Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AJ's Landscaping Contractors

Phone: (708) 258-3439 Fax: (708) 258-0634 29812 S Egyptian Trl, Peotone, IL 60468

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


AJ's Landscaping Contractors is a landscaping contractor for residential and commercial customers. This business is located in Peotone, IL, and serves the south Chicago suburbs including Monee, University Park, Crete, Chicago Heights, Goodenow, Eagle Lake, Frankfort, New Lenox, Ingalls Park, Joliet, Andres, Wilton, Wilton Center, Manhattan, Beecher, Polk, Sollitt, Grant Park, Manteno, St. George, Momence, Bourbonnais, Bradly, and Symerton. This company offers landscaping, lawn care, sprinkler systems, landscape lighting, and snow removal.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AJ's Landscaping Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AJ's Landscaping Contractors include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AJ's Landscaping Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 04/01/1997 Business started locally: 04/01/1997
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Adam Marcukaitis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Marcukaitis, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Snow Removal Service Landscape Architectural Services (NAICS: 541320)

Additional Locations

  • 29812 S Egyptian Trl

    Peotone, IL 60468 (708) 258-3439


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 27, 2016, **** from AJ's Landscaping completed a contracted landscaping job, including but not limited to complete demolition and replacement of approx 300 sq ft of walkway pavers and steps at a cost of $12,106.49 . Contract includes a 1 yr guarantee on pavers and steps from settling. After less than one month, I noticed that the front top step began settling creating a gap and trip hazard. I contacted **** right away and sent pictures of the problem on June 30th. He responded that he would come out to assess the issue the week following the July 4th holiday, and to repair the steps. Since then, **** has been a no show on several appointments to repair the steps. It has now been 7 weeks since he was informed of the issue, and he continues to ignore calls and texts, or simply schedules appointments to repair and never shows up nor reschedules. As fall and winter quickly approaches, weather will soon prohibit him from fixing the problem. I spoke to him on the phone today, 8/19/16 and he confirmed that he would reinforce the steps by pouring concrete to reduce the chance of future settling problems, but again he did not show up or call.

Desired Settlement: I need AJ's Landscaping owner **** to fix the steps and honor the warranty on the contract. His cell phone # is ************. I expect AJ's landscaping to repair the steps right away and before weather prohibits landscaping work, using poured concrete to reinforce. If **** is unable to complete the repairs, I expect him to refund the cost for another company to repair the steps.

Business Response: We have done all repairs needed to fix problem and gave additional warranty

11/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/29/2015 I wrote **** (owner) a check for half of the estimate to buy supplies and to get started on my landscaping project. **** agreed that he would have the project completed within four days(weather pending), definitely before our daughters birthday party on 07/18/2015. On 07/03/2015, **** came to me and advised that he was hoping I could help him out by paying the balance in full (with a discount of $250), prior to him beginning the job, so he could have the funds he needed to finish a large job he was working on, he even showed me the other customers work order to prove why he needed the monies. Since I had used him in the past, and liked **** as a person, I agreed to pay him up font in good faith that he would complete the job, and prior to my daughters birthday party. After paying **** in full, he took up the old sod, and began to dig for the drain tile. Unfortunately there was some rain, so four days did not happen. On 07/16/2015 **** asked me to look at the grade before he laid the sod. When I got home from work, the grading was completed in the back yard; however, not in the front. When I advised **** of this, he said, oh, they forgot. After the conversation on 07/16/2015 I did not hear from **** again until 07/20/2015 2:22PM CST. Despite multiple texts and voice mails, **** did not reply. When I heard back from him he advised that he was in ******* on a family emergency. He advised that once he was back in town, they would finish up the job right away. 07/27/2015 **** advised he got back in town last night, and would be back in the next couple of days to finish up. 07/28/2015 He did not come or call, when I texted him he said it was too hot to lay sod, whey I asked about completing the retaining walls, he did not reply. 07/29/2015 He did not come or call. When I reached out to him, he said he would lay the sod and finish the retaining walls before I got home that night. 07/30/2015 He did not come or call. When I reached out to him, he advised he was at Menard's picking up supplies, leading me to believe he was on his way. I texted him 5 more times that day to see if he was coming, he never came or communicated that he wasn't coming. 08/02/2015 I texted **** and asked about the brown sod, if I should keep watering or if it was beyond repair. The Sod was brown before I got home the day he installed it. He replied, water a lot, it needs to be mushy. I have not heard back from him since the last text on 08/02/2015. **** continues to dodge my calls and texts, and has failed to complete what he agreed to, within the time frames agreed upon. I have been patient, even with the family emergency, but there have been several days now where he could have completed the job but hasn't. I would like the job to be completed; however, if he cannot timely, he needs to reimburse me for whatever the next landscaper charges me to finish what he did not. **** has terrible communication skills, and I should have seen this coming. He has taken advantage of my kindness, and has lied to me multiple times. Currently **** is not returning my calls or texts, even after I advised I would be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I gave him all day today (08/06/2015) to reach out to me about this issue, he refuses to.

Desired Settlement: **** needs to complete the job within the next week, or refund me whatever the next landscaper charges me to finish the job he started.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: **************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ Job has been completed and customer approved job was happy with completion. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While the job was completed, I am still unsatisified because the agreed upon timeframes were not met, and I had to call in a complaint to the Better Business Bureau to get resolution. For days I could not get a response, then the day I filed the complaint I heard back from him. I believe his response is misleading as to the joy I feel about the completion of the job. Now the owner is trying to charge me for services that he did not render. I feel like he is retaliating against me for filing a complaint against him with the Better Business Bureau. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/19) */ I have completed job with Mr ***** agreed on all final payments He approved all work and payments

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hardly ever returns calls. Constantly lies to me about replacement plants. Gave 1 year guarantee on plants. 6 hostas that won't grow. He promised to replace. Told me to pick out new flowers and I never heard from him again. He won't return calls. Terrible customer service. Makes me sick already. I am on disability and I don't appreciate being scammed like this.

Desired Settlement: I want money back for 6 hostas and money to hire someone else to plant 6 new plants for me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/29) */ This was resolved I returned and replanted some different flowers and even planted extra 2 for customer Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/10/06) */ 10/3/14 Finally got replacement flowers. Not satisfied at all with service.

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/26/14,I entered into a written agreement with AJ's to remove plants/shrubs in front and sides of my house-transplant some to rear and plant new ones in front and sides. Payment $2000 day 1, $2000 day 3, balance upon completion. Worked 7/14/14, was paid $2000 and never returned to finish. Plants in front/sides of house removed with my $2000. I want him to either finish work or return $2000.

Desired Settlement: Complete work as agreed to within next 10 days or return the $2000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/18) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ This complaint has been resolved was lack of communication and resolved it with homeowner

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AJ's Landscaping Contractors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)