This business is not BBB accredited.

Aerate-1 Landscaping & Ponds, Inc.

Phone: (630) 759-8005 Fax: (630) 759-2605 1429 Sage Dr, Bolingbrook, IL 60490 http://www.aerate1landscaping.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aerate-1 Landscaping & Ponds, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aerate-1 Landscaping & Ponds, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Business Management
Mr. Hector Martinez, President Ms. Beronica Avila, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hector Martinez, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Tree Service - Transplant Weed Control Service Outdoor Kitchens Walkway Design Hardscapes Patio Design Brick Pavers Property Maintenance Fertilizers Organic Soil Fertilizer Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Mulches Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Lawn & Garden Pond Dealers & Supplies Landscape Lighting Exterior Designers Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Stone Setting Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Lawn Installation Service Stump Removal & Grinding Contractors - Retaining Wall Landscape Architectural Services (NAICS: 541320)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1429 Sage Dr

    Bolingbrook, IL 60490 (630) 759-8005

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aerate-1 has been doing my spring pond clean-up for the past 2 years. Since I've been happy with their services, I asked them to replace 4 lights in my pond this summer. I'm not a lighting expert, so was relying on them to guide me with the right product and was expecting the same quality work that I'd received in the past. ****** ******** with Aerate-1 provided me with 2 options: a 1-watt or 3-watt fixture. I opted for the 1-watt. On 7/18/2014, ****** and his crew came out to do the work. I paid him $550.00 (ck #9090) for the 4 lights and installation. Since it was daylight, I wasn't able to see the result at the completion of the job. When it got dark, I immediately saw that both the product and the installation were not satisfactory. The lights are LED and don't match the rest of the landscape lights in our yard (they are harsh and glaring). Moreover, they are not positioned correctly (there's just a big ball of light in the middle of the pond and the waterfall is completely dark). I emailed ****** on 7/24/2014 to let him know that I was not satisfied with either the product or the installation and asked him to resolve. I expected that my issue would be resolved to my satisfaction since Aerate-1's advertising states, "Aerate-1 Landscaping & Ponds will ensure that you will receive the highest level of landscaping quality and customer service. We take pride in our work, our customers, and our commitment to quality." After several follow-ups, ****** finally responded on 8/11/2014 with "Found 1 distributer that has access to a new 3 light kit, each light is 20 watt hex light, non led.it goes for 129.99 plus tax, plus installation.no warranty due to last set available." As for the installation issue, ****** replied, "At night try moving them around to get the effect u like, there's extra cord for this." (Note, the only way to accomplish this is to actually get into the pond, pick up the boulders that conceal the lights and move the cords around). On 8/19/2014, my wife emailed him and let him know that we were willing to pay for any cost difference with the new lights, but would not pay for installation again since it wasn't even done right the first time. On 8/22/2014, ****** told us that the lights he had found were no longer available, that he didn't have any other lighting options and that we should go out and purchase lights on our own and he would have them installed. When I asked him how the refund would work for the original lights, he replied "I cannot return opened lights back to the distributor." Basically, I was out the money. In summary, I spent $550 for nothing and am now back to square one with my lighting project. I trusted Aerate-1's claims regarding 'commitment to quality' and feel that I've been duped with their false advertising and shoddy workmanship.

Desired Settlement: Since Hector is unwilling to provide us with an alternative lighting option, I am requesting the refund of my $550.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aerate-1 Landscaping & Ponds, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)