Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Acres Group is a landscape contractor which provides lawn design and maintenance to residential and commercial customersServices available from this company include snow removal and ice prevention, tree care, landscaping, turf and plant health care, irrigation, aquatic maintenance, aeration, and installation of playground equipment and site amenities.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acres Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acres Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 2006 Business started: 08/01/1983 in IL Business started locally: 08/01/1983 Business incorporated 08/24/1983 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Sherman Fields, VP, Sales and Marketing Mr. Jeff Dumas, Vice President Mr. James Schwantz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sherman Fields, VP, Sales and Marketing
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape & Yard Clean-Up Landscape Contractors - Commercial Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Tree Service - Transplant Weed Control Service Drainage Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Walkway Design Hardscapes Patio Design Brick Pavers Property Maintenance Building Maintenance Fertilizers Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Mulches Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Landscape Lighting Christmas Lights & Decorations Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Lake & Pond Management Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Insecticides Stone Setting Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers Lawn Installation Service Stump Removal & Grinding Landscape Architectural Services (NAICS: 541320)

Alternate Business Names
Acres Enterprises Inc Advantage Decorative Painting Walsh Landscape Construction

Additional Locations

  • 23940 W Andrew Rd

    Plainfield, IL 60585 (815) 439-2022 (815) 609-2420

  • 250 N Garden Ave

    Roselle, IL 60172 (630) 351-4336

  • 610 W Liberty St

    Wauconda, IL 60084 (847) 526-4554 (888) 231-1300


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over 3 months ago, the landscapers damaged my new home's siding with their weed whacker in 5 different places, spanning about 50 feet. After numerous discussions with customer service representative ******, and the Vice President **** *****, I am still waiting to resolve the issue. After ****** dragged her feet and only argued with me about what can or cannot be done the first 6 weeks, I spoke with Vice President Mr. ***** who agreed that my idea to place stone along the home- as the builder did on the other sides- so the grass is at least a foot away from the siding was the best solution to prevent this damage from ever happening again. I asked for $200.00 to help cover the costs of materials. This is when ****** (who rarely returns numerous calls from me) argued more about what she can do. She then wanted an estimate of the siding repair which came to $398.00. I kept the same original amount of $200.00 as compensation and now I continue to get the run around that the check has been sent, as their books had to be closed for the physical year a week ago. My association's management company has been involved stating other issues with Acres Group are still not resolved.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Send me my $200.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/17) */ We (Acres) agreed with Mr. ****** regarding his request to be reinbursed $200 for damages. ****** ***** spoke with Mrs. ****** on Friday 12/12/14 to let her know that a $200 check has been issued. Check # XXXXXXXXXX. The check was mailed on Monday 12/15/14. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope that this meets with Mr. ******'s satisfaction.

10/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Acres Group has been contacted four times during 2014 regarding quality of workmanship. We have kindly requested that landscapers do not damage grass by tires and/or cutting equipment, to mind the edges by not removing large sections completely bare of grass, and to not damage new patches of grass/sod that was placed due to damage caused during previous jobs. Unfortunately, these requests have been ignored and yet again, large sections of our grass has been completely damaged. The attached photos show the damage that is being done week after week. I have repaired large sections of grass by placing new soil, sod, and seed that were caused by Acres' landscapers. Yet again, these new sections have been destroyed. The quality of work done to our landscape is completely unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: We ask that the damaged areas be fixed by placing new sod, new seed, or other method. Our yard must be restored to the very good condition it was prior to the damage. All bare spots, uneven/bare edges to be repaired as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/01) */ An Acres Account Manager met with Mr. ****** on 9/30/14. Mr. ****** shared that he had expressed concerns about his turf to an Acres crew member. Unfortunately, that information was not communicated to a Production or Account Manager. In addition, Property Managemnt was not notified. Normally, any questions, concerns, requests, or complaints go to the Property Management Company to be documented and resolved. All that said, the Acres Account Manager let Mr. ****** know that we will sod the area in question and correct the damage. Mr. ****** stated that he was satisfied with that reslution.

3/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acres Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)