Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Refacing Pros, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 520-9763 Fax: (847) 947-9927 View Additional Phone Numbers 140 Shepard Ave  Unit A, Wheeling, IL 60090 http://www.refacingpros.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Kitchen Refacing, countertops, sinks, all kitchen accessories, New cabinets, design help.  We only sell the highest quality cabinet doors and hinges. We have a 10 year warranty on all our products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Refacing Pros, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Refacing Pros, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Refacing Pros, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 02, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Casden, Owner Mr. Barry Ruby, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Casden, Owner
Business Category

Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Contractors - General Bathroom Remodeling Kitchen Cabinet Refacing Cabinet Refacing Countertops Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Products & Services

Refacing Pros, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Blum, Rev a Shelf,

Method(s) of Payment
We accept checks, Visa, Mastercard, Discover Card and cash.
Alternate Business Names
Refacing Pros Inc

Additional Locations

  • 140 Shepard Ave

    Wheeling, IL 60090 (847) 520-9763 (847) 973-5012

  • 140 Shepard Ave
    Unit A

    Wheeling, IL 60090 (847) 520-9763 (847) 973-5012

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installation of our cabinets started week of Jan 13, 2014. Completion with additional items completed and paid in full on Feb 10, XXXXX. On May 22, 2014, wine cabinet that Refacing Pros intstalled, came off the wall crashing with wine bottles breaking all over countertop, lower cabinets and wood floor. I was able to salvage the lower cabinets, but walls were splattered with wine, chipped countertop and newly finished floors were damaged. Noticed that the wine rack was held up with 2 sided tape and no screws.Took pictures of the damage and sent to ***** ****** of Refacing Pros, salesman who sold us the cabinets and service. He did not respond until following week, Monday, May 26, 2014. They, ***** ****** and *****, co-owner, did not come out to see damage, but sent out various people. An installer of theirs, who said the job was not done correctly and my floor needed to be redone. Did not hear back from either **** or *****. Kept leaving messages for someone to call back and advise on next step. This went on through July. Finally in August, ***** and ***** came out to see the damage. ***** fixed my chipped countertop and ***** ordered a new wine rack while at our home. I asked ***** for his insurance company's name to file a claim, and he said the deductible would be more than the cost of them, Refacing Pros paying for up. *****, while in my home in this August, agreed to redo my floors. I asked ***** to email me dates that his flooring company would come out so that we can agree on a date to redo my floors. ***** gave me a flooring companies name, ****** Flooring. I called them and they came out for an estimate. No email came from ***** with dates. I called and left several messages since our last meeting in August. With no response. Finally in the first week of November 2014, I got a hold of ***** on phone. He said that he was waiting for me to call him...? Told him to email me name and dates of flooring company. The last email and any communication I have had with Refacing Pros was on Nov 7, 2014: Email from *****: ****: We have a flooring company you can call, our contact is ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX. At this point we are not getting involved in this. Thanks, *****. So, I call ******, who refers me to ****** flooring. I call ****** Flooring who asks me "Who will be paying me for the job?" I stated "Refacing Pros." He said OK, and said he'd get back to me. On Nov 10th, I call ****** Flooring to get confirmation of when they'll be working on my floors and he, ******, said that Refacing Pros is not going to be responsible for payment of the floors getting redone. I in turn call Refacing Pros, Nov 10th, and every week since to get an answer as to why they have not kept their agreement to redo my floors that their badly installed cabinets have damaged. (Not to mention the loss of valuable wine, which we are not even asking money for!) My floors are damaged, my walls have to repainted and again, loss of valuable wine. Not asking for anything else but to fix my floors as promised by ***** ****** and *****. They do have insurance, but will not give me the insurance company's name.

Desired Settlement: Would like for Refacing Pros to redo my newly finished wood floors as they promised in August 2014. Their improper, unprofessional work on my cabinets that fell off the wall, caused damaged to my newly finished floors. They have insurance for these types of things and will not provide that information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/19) */ We had reface her kitchen and added a wine rack which she had overloaded with bottles and fell on the floor. We had responded to her by replacing the damaged wine rack and touch up the granite countertop. The damage to her floor was only some minor scratches in one small area. We had our floor co. go out and look at it. They said she did not like the job her flooring co.did in staining the entire house apx. 3000 sq ft. she hired just 3 weeks before. She want the whole floors in the house refinished! We responded that we are only responsible for the area that was damaged. We will not pay to have her whole floor redone. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our wine rack was not overloaded with wine. The rack holds 11 bottles. There were 11 bottles in the rack. If the rack could not support 11 bottles, why did they sell me and install that product? The brackets that hold up the rack were not properly supported/finished with screws, as per ***** and ***** said when they came to look at the damage. They said that double stick, command strips, are used to keep the rack in line and then properly screwed in. They said obviously, ****, the guy who did our cabinet job, did not screw in the wine rack. No screws were in the brackets. They apologized and then told us that **** was fired. Reasons why were not disclosed. (As a note, ***** sent over to our home to take a look at the damage, an employee who confirmed that the wine rack was not supported properly.) While at our home, ***** corrected the chip on my counter top. Both ***** and **** apologized for the way the wine rack was incorrectly installed, and offered to fix my damaged floors. Speaking of which, my home is 2900 square feet, total, upstairs and downstairs. The wine rack is on the first floor, which is approximately 2000 square feet. The agreement was to only do the kitchen floors, where the major damage is, dining room, entry way, connecting hall, and family room, which all flow from kitchen. Rooms that had a "break" in the flooring was not agreed upon to do, which is the office, powder room, and master bedroom. (Have no response to us stating that we didnt like our original floor guy. Don't understand relevance.) As per email ***** sent me, that is included in original BBB complaint, he sent me a floor guy's contact info and that they were not going to be responsible for the floor. The flooring company, confirmed that Refacing Pros was not going to be responsible for payment after they came out to access the damage. I left several messages at Refacing Pros trying to get resolution, but no response. The only response I received was a text from **** telling me not to contact them since the BBB complaint has been made. Summation: We are not asking for whole house or "3000" sq feet to be done. Only agreed upon; kitchen, family room, dining room, connecting entry and hallways, approximately XXXX-XXXX sq feet. ( Disparity could be +/- XXX-XXX sq ft). Floors were damaged from their incorrectly installed products and they should be responsible for the damage to my floors. They agreed to fix my floors in question. I expect them to keep their word to fix our floors, as they expected payment from us. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/01/23) */ We had never said we would refinish her kitchen, family room and dining room floors. The small scratch in the floor was only in front of the cabinet where the wine bottles fell. What she is asking us to do is refinish all her floors because she did not like the job her flooring guys did. Until she agrees to be reasonable about her complaint we are not going to do any repairs. We had already gone there to replace the wine rack and the countertops, so we had responded to her as soon as it happened and did the repairs in a timely manor. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2015/02/03) */ It is truly unfortunate that the BBB could not help our case. Refacing Pros are extremely unprofessional and do not conduct business with any ethics. I am very disappointed that the BBB endorses Refacing Pros. Not sure why this case closed when we had until today, Feb 3rd, which day is not over, to respond. Unbelievable....

10/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New kitchen cabinet/refacing/wall tile work done week of 8/5/14 - 8/13/14. The limestone wall (backsplash) tiles in the mosaic pattern accent bar absorbed the grout color which dramatically changed its original appearance. This happened because the installer, ***** neglected to properly seal them prior to grouting. Prior to the tile work I had asked the owner, ****, if **** has experience installing tiles. He told me **** has a lot of experience, as he does all their tile work. **** himself, also told me he has a lot of experience. Another problem occurred during this job. Thursday, Aug. 7th after **** left for the day, I discovered one of my ceramic floor tiles was cracked which wasn't terribly noticeable at the time. This incident, however, brought to my attention that no protection, such as a dropcloth or tarp was ever placed on our tile floor during the first few days of work. Therefore, when **** returned Friday morning, 8/8/14, my husband asked him to please protect our floor with a dropcloth or tarp before continuing his work. He even offered **** our own dropcloth to use, but **** said he has his own. Consequently, **** never placed that dropcloth & at the end of the workday we found a second cracked floor tile next to the other one & a third adjacent tile was chipped. We were very upset at this point, so I had no choice but to call/inform ***** (the co-owner who sold us the job) that evening on his cell phone & told him what had happened. He told me he'd come over Monday morning 8/11/14 & it will be taken care of. After some argumentative discussion which included accusing our floor installers of doing poor work, ***** reluctantly agreed to repair the damaged floor tiles. I gave **** three new floor tiles to replace the damaged ones with. We followed ******* instructions to allow the floor tile grout to dry for a few days, & when we removed the protective cover we discovered that these tiles were not installed properly. They are not level with the rest of the floor. We made several attempts (left phone messages) to reach the owners to try to resolve the above issues but they never returned our calls. Call from Refacing Pros 1 message **********@aol.com <**********@aol.com> Mon, Sep 29, 2014 at 10:23 AM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org Good Morning I received a call from ***** **** (co-owner), telling me that I'm wrong and "there's no way in ****" they're going to redo the work. I understand that they did not respond to the first notice & a second (final) notice was sent out. What is the next step if there's still no response? Thank you ****** ******* case # XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: We would like the mosaic tile accent bar to be replaced (redone). We also would like the floor tiles to be replaced (redone).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/29) */ In Responce> The client Mrs. ******* had bought the tile, it was already sealed from the factory. We did our job to install it correctly. The floor tile she is complaining about had nothing to do with us. She wanted someone to blame for the bad job someone else did. We only fix it to complete the job and get our money, WE DID NOT BREAK ANY TILE. She paid us in full for the job, and was very happy with the work. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company's response is unsatisfactory. The tile installer said the reason for the change in tile color was because grout residue remained on the surface. He recommended cleaning/wiping off the residue which should restore the original color. If I had known then that this wasn't the real reason for the tile color change & that the cleaning process wasn't going to work, I would have considered withholding all or partial payment. Five tile experts (with whom I consulted) said that even though the stone tiles may come sealed from the factory, any tile installer, especially with experience, would know that sealing prior to grouting is necessary because they're porous. Our ceramic floor tiles were professionally installed several years ago. NONE of the tiles had any cracks or chips prior to Refacing Pros'work. Refacing Pros did not want to accept responsibility for the damage THEY caused while on the job. Instead, they are trying to blame the floor installers. Though Refacing Pros reluctantly agreed to install three new floor tiles, unfortunately they were not installed properly: they are not level with the floor and need to be redone. Refacing Pros apparently doesn't care about their employee's work enough to return to our home & see for themselves what the problems are. (Seeing is believing) The business response says because we paid in full we were happy with their work, when in fact, we left multiple messages informing them otherwise. All of these messages were ignored; our calls were never returned. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/10/15) */ ***** ****** <************@sbcglobal.net> Wed, Oct 15, 2014 at 10:06 AM Reply-To: ***** ****** <************@sbcglobal.net> To: ********* *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> In response to complaint The wall tile was bought by the client, any complaints should be taken by the manufacturer of the tile she bought. We did not do any damage to her floor, any issues should be with the people who originally installed it. (They did not install it properly) The repair work we did on the floor was approved by Mrs.******* and we were paid in full. ***** ****** Refacing Pros

6/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: INSTALLED CABINET DOORS ON 4/25/2014 AND PAID $2000 BY CHECK. TWO DAYS LATER, CALLED AND INFORMED COMPANY OF A MARK ON A DOOR AND WAS TOLD THEY WOULD COME OUT OT LOOK AT.NO ONE SHOULD U

Desired Settlement: wANT COMPANY TO REPAIR CABINET DOOR

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ Mrs. ****** order ten upper cabinets door in a oak natural wood finish to try to match existing base cabinets and others two days after the job was done and she paid for the project which she didn't find anything wrong at that time. than she call to say there is a **** on one of the doors at that time she was told to send a pictures so we can see if we need to come out but again she wants only someone to come to her for a non issue the so called **** is a natural wood **** and part of the wood at this time we can't do anything other than order door for her at her cost Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) How does Refacing,Pros know if the **** is in the wood unless they look at it?? I was not informed of sending a picture to them. I was told by ***** that he would come out to look at it several times, but he never showed up or bothered to call me. Why did I have to pay them $1,ooo up front? Usually it paid at the end of the work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/11) */ Mrs. ****** was told to sent a picture so we could see the issue that she is in question about but again she only want someone to come to home to see a natural **** of nature if Mrs ****** will sent us a picture like she was asked this would be finished by now we stand behind our product always but we can only do so much and if you do any type of work with material included in the project there is a deposit Mrs ****** paid for the project when it was finished and there was nothing wrong then we still are willing to try to work this out with her . Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If you take such price in your product and stand behind your product, you would have been out to look at your product before telling the imperfection **** is in the wood. Don't you have to see it first? Again, ***** told me two times someone would be out to look at it,but no one was and no one called to tell me either. Is this the way you treat your customers or just a Senior Citizen women like me? I did not see the imperfection the first time, ignoring me is not standing behind you product. You should come over and take a picture of you own product. I was already at your place of business and got no response. Tell me again how much you stand behind your product. Not too much I would say.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Refacing Pros, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)