BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Pampered Chef, Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Pampered Chef, Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Pampered Chef, Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 1991 Business started: 06/01/1980 Business started locally: 06/01/1980
Business Management
Mr. Jeff Liebling
Business Category

Kitchen Accessories Party Plans - In-Home Cooking Utensils All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Alternate Business Names
Pampered Chef

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Pampered Chef, Ltd has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • One Pampered Chef Lane

    Addison, IL 60101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 sets of Forged Cutlery-Steak Knives from The Pampered Chef, along with a Bamboo Knife Block set. I had been having problems with keeping the knives sharp. After talking with the consultant, she sent back the complete set of knives and block. Total weight of the package was 12.7lbs, delivered by USPS. When I received the Bamboo Block and knives, I was missing my 2 sets of steak knives. I called The Pampered Chef, talked to ******** and was told that the steak knives were never received. I spoke with the consultant and she stated that ALL knives that she was given were shipped back. However, she spoke to a manager and was told a set of steak knives would be sent out to me. I did receive ONE set of steak knives. I called again and was told that they have no record of me every purchasing the steak knives and I now need "proof".

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the second set of knives replaced free of charge and $500 for the time that I've had to deal with their customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/02) */ October 2, 2014 VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM VIA US MAIL Ms. ************* Dispute Resolution Specialist - Personal Services Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. 2006 Chicago, IL XXXXX Re: Consumer: **************** Your Case No.: XXXXXXXX We write in response to the complaint your office received from Ms. ******* ****** ("Ms. ******"). To fully respond to the complaint, one first needs to understand The Pampered Chef, Ltd.'s ("TPC's") business. TPC is a direct seller of high-quality kitchen tools. TPC offers these kitchen tools directly to consumers through in-home cooking demonstrations ("Cooking Shows") performed by an independent sales force of Consultants. Consumers pay a Consultant for product purchases at a Cooking Show by a variety of means including cash, check or using a credit card. A Consultant is not an employee of TPC, but an independent contractor who has entered into a Consultant Agreement with the Company that clearly sets forth the nature of the business relationship with the Company. As such, Consultants are in control of their own businesses. The Company supports the sale of products sold in the manner that is outlined by the Consultant Agreement. According to Ms. ******'s complaint, she ordered two Forged Steak Knife Sets (item #1058) from The Pampered Chef ("TPC") and requested her Consultant to replace the sets due to problems with keeping the knives sharp. She stated her Consultant returned the two Forged Steak Knife Sets to TPC but that TPC only replaced one Forged Steak Knife Set. Upon receipt of Ms. ******'s complaint, TPC conducted an investigation into her claims. This investigation revealed that there had been a complete misunderstanding and miscommunication between TPC representatives involved in this return that resulted in the replacement of only one instead of two Forged Steak Knife Sets. The one set was delivered to Ms. ****** on September 19, 2014. A TPC Solution Center Supervisor attempted to contact Ms. ****** on various occasions and dates via telephone and left a voicemail message for Ms. ****** on September 30, 2014 informing her that TPC was shipping her a replacement for the second set of Forged Steak Knives (retail value $112.00) along with a Nylon Tool Set, item ***** (retail value $20.50) as an apology gift. The expected delivery date for both items is October 2, 2014. Additionally, a TPC Solution Center Supervisor will ensure the Solution Center Representatives involved in this matter receive proper training to ensure smooth returns and exchanges in the future. For the reasons set forth above, TPC feels that Ms. ******'s issue has been satisfactorily resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ************* Paralegal Direct dial: (XXX) XXX-XXXX cc: *************** Director of Legal

10/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I************* who started a PC business in May 2014 with a recruiter/ director by the name of **************** has not fulfilled her obligation as my up line and need to be reassigned to a new one. I contacted several people in the company ****************************** and******** up line director ******* and not getting the proper attention to this matter that I should be. Asked several times for someone else in a higher position to help me with this matter and have been told no one else can help. **************** did nothing for me as in training, showing me the new website, explaining the products in which I was told from PC this was her job to do this. Therefore, I was not instructed with the proper information on how things should be done and basically lost out on my PC dollars that I earned. Making several attempts to contact****** for questions needing to be answered she was always to busy!! Her excuses were my boys are waiting to go into the pool and I'm shopping for my sons birthday present so I really have no time to talk. Now reaching out several times and getting no help from her I would reach out to PC for help. The incident that happened in August was definitely not on my behalf it was definitely a computer glitch and not being informed of the proper dates from****** as well as PC. I was trying to put in a party for the month of August and I was having technical difficulties!! I called PC for three days and finally someone was able to help. Now when you sign up as a new consultant you have ninety days to reach 1,250 in guest sales and if you do you will earn 100 PC dollars. Well from being told the wrong information from PC,****** as my recruiter/ director never following up with me and providing important information, and having technical difficulties with the system I lost out on my PC dollars. Again I called several people trying to resolve this issue and basically felt as if I'm the new person on the team and nothing could be done!! Even took several days for people to call me back regarding this matter. As a new consultant it is very frustrating trying to teach yourself everything with no one to turn to. Basically I asked PC to reassign me to a new recruiter/director and I was told unless I let my business become inactive for six months and sign up again after that time as new consultant in which I would have to pay for a new starter kit it cannot be done! What type of business is this that I would have to put my business on hold because of someone else!! My recruiter/director has did nothing but give me false information about the company and I really would like to have an up line that I can depend on!! As far as the 100 PC dollars again I made several attempts contacting PC regarding the issue I was having with entering my party in August and if I had the proper assistance with this matter and the proper training from****** I would of definitely had met my ninety day grace period and been rewarded with my PC dollars! Contacting PC several times, I should of been told the right date and been assisted to immediately!!

Desired Settlement: I want to be recognized as a new consultant and be given the proper training from a new up line. Also, to be recognized for having gone through what I did be rewarded for reaching my guest sales and getting my PC dollars.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ September 25, 2014 VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM VIA US MAIL Ms.************** Dispute Resolution Specialist - Personal Services Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. 2006 Chicago, IL XXXXX Re: Consumer: ************* Your Case No.: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ********* We write in response to the complaint your office received from Ms. ***** ****** ("Ms. ******"). To fully respond to the complaint, one first needs to understand The Pampered Chef, Ltd.'s ("TPC's") business. TPC is a direct seller of high-quality kitchen tools. TPC offers these kitchen tools directly to consumers through in-home cooking demonstrations ("Cooking Shows") performed by an independent sales force of Consultants. Consumers pay a Consultant for product purchases at a Cooking Show by a variety of means including cash, check or using a credit card. A Consultant is not an employee of TPC, but an independent contractor who has entered into a Consultant Agreement with the Company that clearly sets forth the nature of the business relationship with the Company. As such, Consultants are in control of their own businesses. The Company supports the sale of products sold in the manner that is outlined by the Consultant Agreement. In her complaint, Ms. ****** alleged her Director did not provide her with the proper guidance on becoming a Pampered Chef consultant. She further claims she did not qualify for the $100 Pampered Chef dollars ("PC dollars") for submitting $1250 in commissionable sales in her first 90 days due to her Director's inability to answer Ms. ******'s questions timely. She also stated TPC informed her she could not switch to another Director. Upon receipt of Ms. ******'s complaint, TPC conducted an investigation into her claims. TPC's records show that Ms. ****** submitted four shows totaling $1366 however, she had submitted the fourth show three days after the 90-day deadline for qualifying for the $100 PC dollars. There were numerous communications on this issue between Ms. ****** and TPC. On September 24, 2014, a TPC Manager from Consultant Career Solutions contacted Ms. ****** advising her TPC would extend her 90-day end date so she would qualify for the $100 PC dollars, TPC would deposit $100 PC dollars into her online account by September 26, 2014 and TPC would then follow up with her. Additionally, the TPC Manager advised Ms. ****** that per Company Policy she could not switch to a different Director but she could contact the TPC Manager anytime with any questions. Ms. ****** stated she was satisfied and really excited about her future as an independent consultant with TPC. For the reasons set forth above, TPC feels that Ms. ******'s issues have been satisfactorily resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ****** ****** Paralegal Direct dial: (XXX) XXX-XXXX cc: ****** ********, Director of Legal T:\TPC, Ltd\Consumer Complaints\BBB\A - F\*************\XXXXXXXX Draft BBB Response - Final.doc

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ORDERED @HOME PARTY GIVEN BY ************ MIDDLESBORO, KY. 40965, MARCH 14, 2014, ORDERED ***** AND PAID CASH. I RECEIVED AN EMAIL THANKING ME FOR ORDERING FROM PAMPERED CHEF THEREFORE I BELIEVE THAT IS TELLING ME THEY RECEIVED THE ORDER, HOWEVER, PAMPERED CHEF CLAIMS THEY HAVEN'T. I JUST WANT MY MONEY $54.86 RETURNED. THIS IS NOT THE PROPER WAY TO DO BUSINESS.

Desired Settlement: I JUST WANT SOMEONE TO TAKE CARE OF THIS. I AM NOT SOMEONE THAT CAN JUST THROW AWAY 54.86. THANK YOU, *************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ July 15, 2014 VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM VIA US MAIL Ms.************** Dispute Resolution Specialist - Personal Services Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. 2006 Chicago, IL XXXXX Re: Consumer: *************** Your Case No.: ******** Dear Ms.********* We write in response to the complaint your office received from Ms. ************* ("Ms.*********) regarding a request for a refund. To fully respond to the complaint, one first needs to understand The Pampered Chef, Ltd.'s ("TPC's") business. TPC is a direct seller of high-quality kitchen tools. TPC offers these kitchen tools directly to consumers through in-home cooking demonstrations ("Cooking Shows") performed by an independent sales force of Consultants. Consumers pay a Consultant for product purchases at a Cooking Show by a variety of means including cash, check or using a credit card. A Consultant is not an employee of TPC, but an independent contractor who has entered into a Consultant Agreement with the Company that clearly sets forth the nature of the business relationship with the Company. As such, Consultants are in control of their own businesses. The Company supports the sale of products sold in the manner that is outlined by the Consultant Agreement. According to Ms. ******** complaint, she placed an order for product at a show and paid cash. She had not, however, received the product. Ms. ******* states she did receive an email thanking her for her order but TPC claims it never received her order. Upon receipt of Ms. ******** complaint, TPC conducted an investigation into her claims. TPC's records show that Ms. ******* purchased a Cool & Serve Square Tray, item ***** through TPC Consultant ************ at a show on March 14, 2014. Ms. ******* paid $54.86 in cash for her order (including tax and shipping), the TPC Consultant took Ms. ******** cash payment and emailed a receipt to Ms. ******* for her order. Our records indicate, however, the TPC Consultant did not submit this show to TPC. A TPC Representative contacted Ms. ******* on July 8, 2014 and apologized to her that TPC had not received her order. She advised Ms. ******* TPC was immediately shipping her a Cool & Serve Square Tray, item ***** and a Nylon Slotted Spoon, item ***** as an apology gift. Ms. ******* then stated she was satisfied. On July 12, 2014 Ms. ******** order plus apology gift were delivered via FedEx to Ms. ******** address. A TPC Representative attempted to contact TPC Consultant ************ via telephone on July 8, 2014 to inquire about not submitting the March 14, 2014 show. Unfortunately, the Consultant's phone had been disconnected. Numerous subsequent attempts to contact her failed. An email sent out July 10, 2014 went unanswered as did a letter mailed on July 14, 2014. Another letter will go out on July 25, 2014 advising the Consultant that she needs to remit payment for the show within 15 days of receipt of the letter or risk termination of her Consultant Agreement. For the reasons set forth above, TPC feels that Ms. ******** issue has been satisfactorily resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ************* Paralegal Direct dial: (XXX) XXX-XXXX cc: ***** ********, Director of Legal

6/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see above I was informed to submit a photograph now the company is telling me I need to pay to ship the item back. I'm worried they will say they never got it and I will not get a refund.

Desired Settlement: immediate refund within 10 days or else will pursue litigation

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ *** 22, 2014 VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM Ms. ************* Dispute Resolution Specialist - Personal Services Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. 2006 Chicago, IL XXXXX Re: Consumer: **************** Your Case No.: ******** Dear Ms. ********* We write in response to the complaint your office received from Ms. *************** ("Ms. **********) regarding a request for a refund. According to Ms. *********** complaint, she was advised by TPC to submit a photograph of her product for a refund and was later advised she needed to ship the item back for a refund. Additionally, Ms. ********* stated she was worried that TPC would deny receipt of the returned item and she would not receive a refund. Upon receipt of Ms. *********** complaint, TPC conducted an investigation into her claims. TPC's records show that Ms. ********* purchased a Large Round Stone with Handles, item *****, and her order was shipped on March 25, 2014. Ms. ********* emailed TPC's Consultant Career Solution Center on April 28, 2014 requesting a refund because the item broke during use on April 27, 2014. A TPC Representative responded via email to Ms. ********* the same day advising a refund adjustment could be processed. The TPC Representative requested purchase information, diameter of the Stone and a photograph of the broken Stoneware. On *** 12, 2014, Ms. ********* responded via email and provided the diameter and purchase information. Additionally, Ms. ********* stated she had returned the broken Stoneware to show host Ms. Cervantes and was waiting for her to send a photograph of the broken stoneware via email. On the same day, a second TPC Representative responded via email to Ms. ********* advising her as well that she should send in a photograph of the damaged product to receive a refund. Additionally, the TPC Representative advised Ms. ********* once TPC received the requested information, TPC would review and contact her within 1 business day and to not discard the product until TPC emailed her with further direction and approval. On *** 15, 2015, Ms. ********* emailed a photograph of the broken stoneware and requested a refund. Unfortunately, On *** 15, 2015, a third TPC Representative apologized to Ms. ********* for any miscommunication by TPC and wrongly advised her the Stoneware needed to be returned to TPC for a refund. The next day, Ms. ********* responded stating she was upset that she now had to send in the damaged stoneware instead of just providing a photograph. Upon filing the BBB complaint on *** 16, 2014, Ms. ********* contacted TPC via email the same day demanding a refund. TPC contacted her via telephone that very day and advised her that she would receive a refund in the amount of $37.35 plus an apology gift. Ms. ********* then stated she was satisfied. On *** 19, 2014, TPC sent a check in the amount of $37.35 (***** Large Round Stone with Handles retail plus tax) to Ms. ********* via US Mail. TPC also sent Ms. ********* Nylon Tool Set (retail value $23.50) as an apology gift on *** 19, 2014. For the reasons set forth above, TPC feels that this issue has been satisfactorily resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ************* Paralegal Direct dial: (XXX) XXX-XXXX cc: ***** ********, Director of Legal T:\TPC, Ltd\Consumer Complaints\BBB\M - R\****************\XXXXXXXX BBB Response 2nd revision by ***** and ******.doc

5/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the Ceramic **** item and had it replaced last year due to "black dots" on the inside bottom. My family has possibly eaten the enamel/ceramic from this pot. I do not want this product in my home for my family to possibly be poisoned by enamel in our food. I was originally sold this product by *************************** I was skeptical of the product but was told it had a lifetime Warranty are I could always get a refund or a credit. I have called twice today starting at 8:00 a.m. EST. and I was transferred to a superior...before I was transferred I asked if I was going to speak to the super or was I going to get a voice mail. I was told I would get a live person, this was not the case. I left a message and no return call. I called again and the representative just ask for my name, no questions about issue or what my callback number was...but she stated someone would call me back. I am requesting an exchange for the item above. I attended a party last night **************consultant-Roanoke Va.) I will be satisfied as a decade or longer client if I can have the total from the items above credited to my order. I have discuss this issue with the above consultant. The Party that I attended was for**************** If I don't get this resolved to my satisfaction I will file a complaint with the BBB. Thanks, **************

Desired Settlement: Credit towards item

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ********** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email:************************************ April 30, 2014 VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM ************* Dispute Resolution Specialist Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. 2006 Chicago, IL 60611 Re: Consumer: *************** Your Case No.: ********* Dear Ms. ******** We write in response to the complaint your office received from Mr.*************** ("Mr. ********") regarding a request for a refund. According to Mr.*********** complaint, he ordered the Ceramic Covered Casserole, item #3134 from The Pampered Chef ("TPC") and requested a replacement last year due to "black dots" on the inside bottom. He is concerned that his family may have possibly eaten the enamel/ceramic from the pot. He requested an exchange for the item and asked that the total from the exchange be credited to a recent purchase. Upon receipt of Mr.*********** complaint, TPC conducted an investigation into his claims. TPC's records show that Mr. ******** called the TPC Solution Center on April 24, 2014 and requested to exchange his product for other products because of possible health concerns regarding a pan he had purchased. Following TPC policy for a customer who has a safety or health concern, the Solution Center Representative referred his request to a Supervisor. On the same day, TPC also received an email from Mr. ******** requesting to exchange his product. Again, due to Mr.*********** concerns, his email was forwarded to a Supervisor. A TPC Representative responded via email to Mr. ******** the same day, stating TPC would exchange his product for other TPC products for a total exchange value of $100.00 for the product plus shipping and handling. Upon receiving the BBB complaint on April 24, 2014, TPC learned that Mr. ******** did not want to exchange his product but rather apply a credit to a purchase he submitted on April 23, 2014. TPC apologizes to Mr. ******** for misunderstanding how he wanted his exchange to be handled. On April 25, 2014 TPC applied a credit in the amount of $105.30 (#3134 Covered Casserole retail value plus tax) to Mr.*********** April 23 order of $138.20 including tax, shipping and handling. After applying the credit, Mr. ******** paid the remainder of $32.90. TPC also sent Mr. ********, a long time Pampered Chef customer, a Nylon Tool Set (retail value $23.50) as an apology gift on April 28, 2014. For the reasons set forth above, TPC feels that this issue has been satisfactorily resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ****************** Senior Paralegal Direct dial: ************** cc: ***************, Director of Legal

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a set of professional cookware, plus some additional pieces, in 2001 that was supposed to have a lifetime warranty. In 2009 I had two pieces replaced with NO ISSUES. Now, several pieces need to be replaced for the same reason but the company is refusing, saying it falls under normal wear and tear. Their explanation is that they "re-read" the warranty information. Actually, the information on the back of the receipts are totally different from then to now.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to honor the original warranty and replace my cookware. More importantly, I want people to know they've changed their warranty and won't honor what they were saying years ago.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *************** Paralegal Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************@pamperedchef.com March 28, 2014 VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM VIA US MAIL Ms. ************* Dispute Resolution Specialist Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. 2006 Chicago, IL XXXXX Re: Consumer: ***** ******** Your Case No.: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms.********: We write in response to the complaint your office received from ***** ******** ("Ms. ********") regarding a set of professional cookware and addition pieces. According to Ms. ********' complaint, she purchased a set of professional cookware and some additional pieces in 2001. Ms. ******** had two pieces replace in 2009 and now has several pieces that need to be replaced for the same reason. Upon receipt of Ms. ********' complaint, The Pampered Chef (TPC) conducted an investigation into the claim. On March 21, 2014 TPC contacted Ms. ******** and apologized for the customer service she received on March 19, 2014 and the denial to replace her cookware. TPC has agreed to replace Ms. ******** Professional 4&6 Piece Cookware Sets (which were discontinued in 2008) with The Pampered Chef Executive 5&7 Piece Cookware Sets, waive the upgrade costs ($204.30) and include a few small gifts to compliment her new cookware. The products and gifts were sent to Ms. ******** via Federal Express on March 25, 2014 and delivered to Ms. ******** on March 26, 2014. Ms. ******** has indicated she is pleased with the resolution. For the reasons set forth above, TPC feels that this issue has been satisfactorily resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, *** ************** Senior Paralegal ******************@pamperedchef.com Direct dial: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They did decide to uphold the original warranty and replaced my damaged cookwear.

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: today, i placed an order from pampered chef through a pampered chef party and was charged 155.00$ to my debt card. I was emailed a confirmation letter.ear *****, Your Consultant,**************** has submitted your order as part of **************** Show. If you paid with a credit card, it has now been charged. We'll ship your order promptly. You can always see your order when you login to your account. Warm regards, The Pampered Chef�® HERE'S YOUR ORDER SUMMARY: Order Date: 2/6/XX XX:XX AM Order Number:********** Host a Show Never Pay Full Price! Host a Show! Contact your Consultant today (XXX) XXX-XXXX,(XXX) XXX-XXXX *********@yahoo.com Guarantees, cancellations and returns. Having trouble? Contact Solution Center. Don't miss an email. Add The Pampered Chef to your address book. This email was sent to ********@aol.com by The Pampered Chef, One Pampered Chef Lane, Addison, IL XXXXX, USA When I clicked on their cancellations link.. I am provided with this.. ear *****, Your Consultant,**************** has submitted your order as part of **************** Show. If you paid with a credit card, it has now been charged. We'll ship your order promptly. You can always see your order when you login to your account. Warm regards, The Pampered Chef�® HERE'S YOUR ORDER SUMMARY: Order Date: 2/6/XX XX:XX AM Order Number:********** Host a Show Never Pay Full Price! Host a Show! Contact your Consultant today (XXX) XXX-XXXX,(XXX) XXX-XXXX *********@yahoo.com Guarantees, cancellations and returns. Having trouble? Contact Solution Center. Don't miss an email. Add The Pampered Chef to your address book. This email was sent to ********@aol.com by The Pampered Chef, One Pampered Chef Lane, Addison, IL XXXXX, USA ear *****, Your Consultant,**************** has submitted your order as part of **************** Show. If you paid with a credit card, it has now been charged. We'll ship your order promptly. You can always see your order when you login to your account. Warm regards, The Pampered Chef�® HERE'S YOUR ORDER SUMMARY: Order Date: 2/6/XX XX:XX AM Order Number:********** Host a Show Never Pay Full Price! Host a Show! Contact your Consultant today (XXX) XXX-XXXX,(XXX) XXX-XXXX *********@yahoo.com Guarantees, cancellations and returns. Having trouble? Contact Solution Center. Don't miss an email. Add The Pampered Chef to your address book. This email was sent to ********@aol.com by The Pampered Chef, One Pampered Chef Lane, Addison, IL XXXXX, USACancellation Order Cancellation You may cancel your order within 3 business days from the date of the order. Please contact your Consultant. If you cancel your order within 3 business days from the date of the order, you must make available to the Company any goods delivered to you under the terms of this sale in substantially as good as condition as when received.Your must comply with the Company's instruction regarding return shipment of products at Company's expense and risk.If you make products available to the Company and the Company does not pick them up within 20 days of the date of your notice of cancellation, you may retain or dispose of the products without further obligation.If you do not make the products available to Company, or if you agree to make the products available to the Company and you do not do so, then you remain liable for the purchase. When I called, I was first told i needed to wait an hour for order to process. in an hour, I was told financial services had to be the person to cancel the order, next, customer service stated that only online orders could be cancelled and because my order was part of a show, it could not be cancelled, only returned after the order shipped. I explained that this is not what the information in THEIR email states. I told her that nowhere in their information does that say that. I asked to speak to a supervisor and got a voicemail

Desired Settlement: i do not feel they adequately represent their return policy. If online and show orders have different policies then it should be stated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/14) */ February 14, 2014 VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM VIA US MAIL Ms.************** Dispute Resolution Specialist - Personal Services Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. 2006 Chicago, IL XXXXX Re: Consumer: **************** Your Case No.: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms.********** We write in response to the complaint your office received from Ms. ***** ********* ("Ms. *********") regarding cancelling an order. To fully respond to the complaint, one first needs to understand The Pampered Chef, Ltd.'s ("TPC's") business. TPC is a direct seller of high-quality kitchen tools. TPC offers these kitchen tools directly to consumers through in-home cooking demonstrations ("Cooking Shows") performed by an independent sales force of Consultants. Consumers pay a Consultant for product purchases at a Cooking Show by a variety of means, including using a credit card. A Consultant is not an employee of TPC, but an independent contractor who has entered into a Consultant Agreement with the Company that clearly sets forth the nature of the business relationship with the Company. As such, Consultants are in control of their own businesses. The Company supports the sale of products sold in the manner that is outlined by the Consultant Agreement. According to Ms. *********'s complaint dated February 6, 2014, she ordered products at a show and received an email notification February 6, 2014. The email advised Ms. ********* her TPC consultant had submitted the order. Ms. ********* apparently clicked on a cancellation link which stated she could cancel her order within three business days from the date of the order and to please contact her Consultant. Ms. ********* contacted TPC instead on February 6, 2014 attempting to cancel her order. A TPC representative advised her that only online orders could be cancelled. Her order was part of a show so it could not be cancelled. Ms. ********* was not happy with this explanation, asked for a supervisor and was transferred to voicemail where she left a message. Upon receipt of this complaint, TPC investigated the matter and found the following: On February 1, 2014, Ms. ********* attended a show and purchased products from a TPC Consultant, totaling $155.00. The Consultant submitted the show together with Ms. *********'s order to TPC's Home Office February 6, 2014. That same day, Ms. ********* received the above detailed email and contacted TPC to cancel the order. The TPC representative advised Ms. ********* that TPC could not cancel the order: Only the Consultant can cancel an order placed through her, as she is an independent contractor running her own business. This is why the cancellation policy clearly states: "You may cancel your order within three business days from the date of the order. Please contact your Consultant." Ms. *********, however, chose not to contact her Consultant. Instead she contacted TPC directly. The only option TPC has in such an instance is to honor the show and all orders placed and have a customer contact TPC once the products arrive. Then TPC will have the products returned at TPC's cost and will issue a refund to the customer for the products. All this was properly conveyed to Ms. *********: Responding to Ms. *********'s voicemail, a supervisor called Ms. ********* later in the evening on February 6, 2014 and informed her TPC would certainly honor her request for a refund once she received her order. Additionally, the supervisor advised her upon receipt of her order, Ms. ********* should call TPC so pre-paid shipping arrangements for Ms. *********'s product return could be made and TPC would issue a refund. It appeared that at this point Ms. ********* found the supervisor's resolution satisfactory. Ms. *********'s order was shipped On February 7, 2014. Due to weather, the delivery has been delayed. TPC anticipates Ms. *********'s call upon receipt of her order and will make pre-paid shipping arrangements at TPC's cost and provide her with a refund as stated above. For the reasons set forth above, TPC feels this issue has been resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ****** ****** Paralegal Direct dial: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was pleased woth the supervisors honesty. However.....My complaint is that there online cancellation policy is not clear. It does not specify online only. My problem is not with the cancellation itself but that their posted process was not 100 percent true. I think companies should be responsible and accountable for their posted information so that consumers can be informed. I spoke with the company 3 different times and recieved 3 different stories in all. It appears I am not the only confused person.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *********** ordered 4 items for her daughter ******* birthday. The items were shipped to Florida upon receipt****** called Pampered Chef to explain that she already had the items ordered. She was told she could exchange them for other items. She placed a new order paid a balance so $2.14 with a credit card. After 4 weeks received a message that there was an outstanding balance. ****** returned the call reviewed the credit card information and was placed on hold while the representative processed the card. The representative said everything had cleared and the items would ship the next day, Again 4 weeks pasted with no items or communication of any kind. ****** called again to receive the same excuses. I believe that the company is trying to hold my mom's payment without delivery of the merchandise.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and believe that this company owes me for all the drama and emotional stress they have caused. ***** has a heart condition and this whole experience has been very hard on the 74 year old. Especially considering this was suppose to be a birthday gift. The customer service representatives are poorly trained and the communication is non existent. A sincere apology goes along way.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/01) */ November 1, 2013 VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM VIA US MAIL Ms. ************* Dispute Resolution Specialist - Personal Services Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. 2006 Chicago, IL 60611 Re: Consumer: ************ Your Case No.: ******** Dear Ms. ******** We write in response to the complaint your office received from Ms. *********** ("Ms. *****") regarding the delivery of products. To fully respond to the complaint, one first needs to understand The Pampered Chef, Ltd.'s ("TPC's") business. TPC is a direct seller of high-quality kitchen tools. TPC offers these kitchen tools directly to consumers through in-home cooking demonstrations ("Cooking Shows") performed by an independent sales force of Consultants. Consumers pay a Consultant for product purchases at a Cooking Show by a variety of means, including using a credit card. A Consultant is not an employee of TPC, but an independent contractor who has entered into a Consultant Agreement with the Company that clearly sets forth the nature of the business relationship with the Company. As such, Consultants are in control of their own businesses. The Company supports the sale of products sold in the manner that is outlined by the Consultant Agreement. According to Ms.******** complaint, TPC is holding a payment made by *********** ("Ms. ******") and not delivering products. Upon receipt of this complaint, TPC investigated the matter and found the following: On August 19, 2013, Ms. ****** purchased products for her daughter, Ms. *****, totaling $86.13. The products were delivered to Ms. ***** on August 23, 2013. On September 5, 2013, Ms. ***** contacted the Solution Center stating that she would like to exchange the products delivered to her on August 23, 2013 because she already owned these products but did not know which products she wanted. On September 6, 2013, Ms. ***** called the Solution Center again and placed an order in exchange for the products she had previously received. This new order (including tax and shipping) totaled $88.27, $2.14 more than the previous order. The TPC representative handling the call took Ms.******** credit card information needed to pay the $2.14. She did not however, process the credit card while Ms. ***** was on the phone. The credit card was later declined. The TPC representative attempted to contact Ms. ***** about the declined credit card and left her a voicemail. Additionally, TPC issued a pre-paid shipping label so Ms. ***** could return the products she did not want. On September 18, 2013, TPC received the products from Ms. *****. The shipment of the new products was still pending due to the declined credit card. On October 5, 2013, Ms. ***** contacted the Solution Center asking where her products were. Upon speaking with the representative, Ms. ***** was mistakenly informed that her credit card issuse had been resolved and the items would ship in 1-2 business days. Unfortunately, the credit card was again declined, preventing shipment of the products. On October 24, 2013, Ms. ***** contacted the Solution Center to state that she still had not received the products. The representative attempted to process the payment of $2.14 on Ms.******** credit card and the card was rejected. The representative attempted to explain to Ms. ***** that the credit card payment had not gone through but before he could offer her a gift or expedited shipping, Ms. ***** became irate and used profanity. The representative politely informed Ms. ***** three (3) times that he would be obligated per TPC's policy to disconnect the call if she continued to use such language. Ms. ***** continued to scream further obscenities, at which point the representative advised Ms. ***** to have a good day and disconnected the call. The representative promptly forwarded Ms.******** contact information to a supervisor for further assistance. When Ms. ***** called back, the call was immediately transferred to a supervisor. Ms. ***** demanded a refund and she stated she was upset with the way TPC handled the situation and expected to be contacted until the declined credit card issue was resolved. The TPC supervisor advised Ms. ***** she would waive the remaining balance of $2.14 as a courtesy, which Ms. ***** declined. On October 25, 2013, a refund in the amount of $70.30 was remitted to Ms. ******'s financial institution for the products purchased by Ms. ****** including tax. On October 29, 2013, an additional refund in the amount of $15.83 (shipping costs) was remitted to Ms. ******'s financial institution. To resolve this complaint TPC has reimbursed Ms. ****** fully ($86.13) for her August 19, 2013 purchase and shipped the Classic Batter Bowl and red Petite Bamboo Snowflake Spoon as apology gifts to Ms. ******. Additionally, TPC allowed Ms. ***** to keep the Pizza Cutter that was originally shipped to her on August 23, 2013 as an apology gift as well. For the reasons set forth above, TPC feels this issue has been resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ************* Paralegal Direct dial: (630) 261-3532 T:\TPC, Ltd\Consumer Complaints\BBB\A - F\************\20131028 bbb response.doc

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the company via email about a cracked #2274 Family-Size Quick-Stir�® Pitcher they responded to a couple emails then quit responding. The customer service attempted to look up when the pitcher was ordered and she gave me a date and said it was outside the warranty range. I explained to her I have ordered 3 of these pitchers and asked if she found all 3. She never answered my question after asking again in another email I never got a response. I then responded again explaining my situation again and noted I did not get a response. Again, no response from the company. All I was seeking was for the cracked pitcher to be replaced and got nothing from the customer service department but a complete run-around and then being ignored. The staff was by far friend, helpful, or nice! (Incident *************) Very disappointed in the company!

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement Family Size Quick-Stir Pitcher. The customer service dept made no effort to make this right in any way.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2013/08/14) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service