This business is not BBB accredited.

Pompeii3 Jewelry

Phone: (847) 367-7022 Fax: (847) 919-4613 514 N Milwaukee Ave, Libertyville, IL 60048 http://www.pompeii3.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pompeii3 Jewelry include:

  • 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Pompeii3 Jewelry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Pompeii3 Jewelry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 30, 2006 Business started: 11/04/1998 Business started locally: 11/04/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Morris, President Ms. Chris Tag, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Morris, President
Business Category

Jewelry Designers Diamond Setters Jewelry Manufacturers Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Repair Diamond Buyers Other Specialized Design Services (NAICS: 541490)

Alternate Business Names
Pompeii 3, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pompeii3 Jewelry has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    514 N Milwaukee Ave

    Libertyville, IL 60048 (847) 367-7022

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a diamond necklace for valentines day in mid January. As valentines day approached I still hadn't received the diamond so I started emailing them. However, my emails weren't returned. After valentines day, I received a package with a diamond necklace with clarity much worse than what I had purchased. I emailed customer service who said that they would do an exchange a new necklace with the specifications I ordered and throw in a free appraisal. I returned the necklace, only to have a email with improper grammar sent to me saying my purchase would not be honored and a refund given. No details were given to why this was happening. I then phoned them, spoke with a customer representative who said a manager would phone me in the next few hours. My phone call was not returned. I waited almost a month and no one contacted me. I phoned again to complain a month later, and spoke to a manager. The manager was unsympathetic and did not recognize any fault or wrongdoing by the company. She got frustrated that I insisted I wanted to receive the necklace I ordered for the price I purchased it for, so she hung up on me. I have never received such poor customer service in my life.

Desired Settlement: I paid $150 USD and was promised the following, I would like my purchase honoured. "SEND NEW PENDANT WITH A 4.1MM SI STONE G/H COLOR. -SHOW ***** ** ***** PRIOR TO SHIPMENT. -REFUND UP TO 20.00 FOR SHIPPING TO US -SHIP BACK FOR FREE -INCLUDE FREE APP"

2/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a diamond wedding band that at first glance looked nice. We took it immediately upon receipt to our local jeweler to inspect the gold and diamonds were in fact real and indeed they were. We were leaving for vacation just after that so we put the ring in our safe. A few weeks after returning I took the ring out to look it over more closely and in doing a more thorough inspection it was clear there were several issues. This is exactly what I described to support@pompeii3.com specifiaclly with regard to the defects..."There is one diamond, the very 1st in the row of princess cut that not only looks cloudy and almost fake, but it is also sunk into the setting and does not appear to be completely filled in with gold surrounding it. The four stones directly next to that particular stone seem to have an orange tint to them which for the price and clarity we paid for I wouldn't expect that. Lastly, on one side of the ring where there are the small round diamonds, they seem very poorly set in the ring and are staggered rather than in a uniform to the curve of the ring like the other side is set. It also seems that there are a couple of those stones protruding and could potentially fall out fairly easy." After I sent it back, about a week later I called since I had not heard from them and whether they had received the ring and their intent to repair it. I spoke to a female rep who confirmed their receipt, reviewed the ring and noted that she and their jeweler could see all the issues in my complaint and assured me they would fix it. I got the ring back about 2 or 3 weeks later and it was worse than it was originally, now with more stones crooked in the setting along with all the original problems still unfixed. I then sent the ring back for a refund not wanting to bother with this company anymore. On 6/22/15 I received a return authorization # approving the return for refund, spent $26 to insure and protect the ring to ship it back to them, a few days later on 6/26/15 I received a confirmation they had received the ring and would be processing my refund within 7 business days. On the 6th business day, 7/2/15, I received an email from****** Tag, who I believe is the owner, stating I would not be receiving a refund because the period for a refund had expired. Although a disappointment because my options were now limited to them repairing the ring a 2nd time and considering the results of the first attempt, my satisfaction was looking slim to none, but there was no way to dispute the return period; however, I was not going to accept the ring back in the horrible and even worse condition they had sent it after round one of repairs. Initially****** suggested a "great alternative" that would cost me an additional $800+ which was unacceptable to me, as I was not interested in spending another dime with them and furthermore, the ring we originally ordered matched best with the other rings in our set.****** explained that each time they attempt to repair the ring it tends to only get worse so I suggested they start from scratch and remake the ring in effort to send me the quality ring anyone would expect and he agreed. Here we are almost 6 weeks later and I have no ring, no refund and now****** is no longer responding to my emails and when I call they do not answer. I have since gotten married with no wedding band and I am out $1100.

Desired Settlement: I originally wanted the ring to be repaired and receive the quality product described on their site and what I paid for, especially since this is the only ring we have been able to find anywhere that most closely match my engagement band and my now husband's wedding band, however since it has gone from bad to worse I am only interested in getting a refund at this point to include the amounts sent to return the ring both times.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/17) */ The customer purchased and wore the ring, sent it back to replace a stone and reset stone on the wall. We addressed the issue customer was not 100% satisfied. Although the purchase is not under warranty we offered to remake the ring. Now customer wants refund, regrettably the return period has expired for this transaction and the ring has been worn so we cannot accept back this type of merchandise. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company said they would be sending me the remade ring over 3 weeks ago and have had the ring in which they initially agreed to refund upon receipt of the return for almost 2 months and I still have no ring and no refund. The repair warranty is for 6 months which I am in fact still within and they agreed to remake the ring because of it coming out worse after their 1st attempt to repair it. I am fine with getting the ring back but it needs to be without defect and there is no indication in their response of their intent to return it to me. It has been almost 2 months and I have nothing, whereas they have my money and the ring. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 22, 2015/09/09) */ Pompeii3 sent the package to my old address so I will not be receiving this. I have moved since the order was originally placed and I notified them on 7/20/15 of the new address and it was acknowledged and documented by ********* on the same day. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2015/09/11) */ We send the new ring to customer via usps.com tracking number; XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. The package shows delivered. Please let me know what additional we need to provide for this to be closed.

6/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an "8MM Flat Hammered Comfort Fit Wedding Ring Men's Band High Quality" on 5/30/2014. My husband & I were not married at the time & the ring stayed in a safety deposit box until our wedding. Once my husband put it on, he noticed one of the edges is very sharp. After further inspection, you can tell there was a defect in the milling process. The ring is uneven in that one side of the bevel is clearly wider than the other, which again is a defect in the milling. I realize the warranty has lapsed on this ring, but it isn't our fault the ring was sent to us like this. Pompeii3's website states customer service is a priority. I have attempted to contact Pompeii3 via phone & email with no response. **** ******** Order # XXXXXXXX Item # WB0011.10

Desired Settlement: I would like a non-defective replacement of the ring I purchased or a complete refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/01) */ Hi ****, Thank you for the order we appreciate your business we would be happy to exchange for a new one. Please send back with our returns form and close this case; Return Form Please make sure to review our return policy before returning your item(s). Include this form and all paperwork with your merchandise so we can process your return. Order#_________________________ Name__________________________________________________________ Address________________________________________________________ CIty____________________________________________________________ State___________________________________________________________ Zip Code________________________________________________________ Country_________________________________________________________ Phone Number___________________________________________________ Email Address___________________________________________________ I would like my return to be: (Please circle one) Repaired Refunded Replace with same item (or new size). If new size please specify__________ Exchange for a different item. If new item please specify_________________ To improve customer satisfaction please specify your reason for return: (Circle one) Allergic Arrived later than expected Changed my mind later Defective (please specify below) Did not meet my expectations (please specify below) Duplicate order recieved Other (please specify below) Comments__________________________________________ ___________________________________________________ ___________________________________________________ Return Address: Pompeii3 In. 514 N Milwaukee Ave Libertyville, IL 60048 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Before I accept anything I need to know how long the exchange will take? Is it an immediate turn-around? Will I be charged for shipping from Pompeii3? Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/06/04) */ There is no charge for the new ring, you would pay for postage. This takes about 1-2 weeks for a new one to make but we will certainly do our best to get it back in your hands asap.

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1.70 cttw Double Halo Vintage Style Engagement Wedding Ring Set 14K White Gold. The price is $1.673.50. was purchased thru ****, and financed thru Billmelater. After 3 weeks, a stone around the setting fell out. Next day I mailed the ring back to Pompeii. The ring was under warranty. At first they wanted me to pay for return shipping. I refused and told them to refund my money. They paid for the shipping. A week later I get the ring and the replacement stone was smaller than the surrounding stones. I took it to another jeweler to confirm my suspicions.Tried to resolve matters with **** and so far have done nothing even though I have been calling all parties concerned regarding this matter for resolution. The seller refuses to refund me. I do not want a ring that costs that much and be defective and continue having issues. I called **** within the time frame, the system never allowed me to file a claim and the case will be closed on 02/07/2015. I purchased the ring October 30th, 2014, received it in the mail November 15th, 2014 and the stone on the ring fell out on December 5th, 2015 and I sent the ring back to Pompeii3 on December 8th, 2014. I got the ring back from them on December 15th, 2014. That is when I noticed the replacement was done improperly. I have been calling **** weekly and they have tried to resolve the claim amicably to no avail. I have sent emails to the seller and no luck there either. All I want is my money refunded back to my Billmelater account as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I want the money paid for this ring thru Billmelater to be refunded to that account as soon as possible. No replacement, no warranty. I want a refund and to put this awful incident behind me. Please help me get my money back.***** as well as Pompeii3 have done nothing to help me resolve this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/02/08) */ We along with***** offered to replace the stone the customer was unhappy with. The return period has expired but willing to make the rings perfect. We stand behind the products and will include a FREE lifetime warranty. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/02/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The stone replacement was totally inadequate. They replaced it with a stone that is smaller than the surrounding stones. The system on***** would not allow me to file a claim even when I was within my 30 days and they still play the shifting blame game. Meanwhile Pompeii ripped me off with a ring that was defective in the first place. I do not want this ring and even told them this when they wanted me to pay for return shipping on their defective ring to set another stone in place for the one that fell off. I told them if I had to pay for shipping that I wanted my money back. I have ll the emails I sent them to corroborate my claim. I was not happy after 3 weeks and a defective 1,700 ring. I want a refund period.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the ring on December 13 it was a 5.5 carat engagement band And 9 days later I received the ring on December 22 at my mailbox. however I was on vacation until January 9 when I finally got back and took a look at the ring I realized it was much smaller than it looked on the Internet. I took it to a jeweler and was told it wasn't 5.5 carats. I called *********** (the website I bought the ring on and they said I had to contact the 3rd party pompeii3. Pompeii3 said (on jan 20th that it was outside of their return policy and so sorry. I called ******* and have finally told me on feb 5th that they cannot help. Pompeii says the ring is marked down from $27999 but they won't give me my $7999 back. Also ******* while I was purchasing the ring said in a half page advertisment on their site said refunds will be extended through feb 15.

Desired Settlement: Just want my $ back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/06) */ I located the order you placed on ******** I'm sorry to hear about the issue. Our pompeii3.com return policy is 30 days, the return period has expired for this transaction. We stand behind the product and would be happy to check to ensure the ring has the correct total diamond weight and send back with an appraisal certificate. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I contacted pompeii3 on jan 20th about returning the ring and they said their return policy had already expired. I purchased the ring on dec 13th but it took 9 days to be delivered. i was under the impression it was to be delivered prior to me leaving for vacation on the 20th. i have a *** box for all my mail and they didnt sign for it until 12/22. i was on holiday until the second week of january. I would have sent it in on the 21st but i was told i was already too late. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/06) */ A refund would not be something we can offer at this time.

2/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ring from Pompeii3 on 13 March 2014 for the total sum of (including shipping and appraisal) $1,248.95. When the item finally arrived it was the wrong ring. The returns policy on the seller's website states that all returns must be notified to the seller within 30 days of receipt of the item. I notified the seller by email as soon as possible after receipt of the ring and was informed that I would be provided with a return number so that the ring could be returned and the correct ring provided. A return number was never received and despite my best efforts the seller did not provide one. I returned the goods via tracked and insured mail which was eventually received by the seller on 10th July 2014. As there had been such a considerable delay since purchasing the item I requested a full refund rather than a replacement. I received an email from the seller on 23 July 2014 stating that the return period had expired. There is no return period in the seller's return policy and the item supplied was the wrong ring. Despite my efforts to contact the seller to resolve this issue the seller has not responded to me since its email of 10th July 2014 mentioned above. Product_Or_Service: 2.00CT Channel Set Diamond Eternity Ring 14K White Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund A full refund of the cost of the ring itself being $1,199.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/24) */ We emailed the buyer 8/28/2014 4:00:18 P.M. at ********************** confirming the custom ring design but never received a reply. Were 90% complete with the ring and just needed confirmation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have sent over 27 emails since the 13th March 2014 up until 18th August in relation to the above. All documented and available. you responded 7 times. once to send a receipt of purchase. once to say item had been shipped. once to agree the return. once to say you received tracking number for return of ring. once to say you had held the return for nearly two weeks without informing me of its arrival. another to say you were working on a return (when i had clearly requested a refund) and finally please see the email that was sent from the defendant confirming the above. 28 Jul 2014, at 06:26, *********pompeii3.com" wrote: > > Body: > 2.00CT Diamond Eternity Wedding Ring Anniversary Band Round Brilliant Cut 14K > > > Shipping Time; > Please note most items are made to order and can take up to 10 business days to ship. > > An email with tracking will be sent once the package ships so you can track the package online. > > Thank you ! The company have not responded since the 28th July 2014. Numerous emails have been sent since that date pleading for a response but nothing! I advised you via an email on that same day of my previous request that a refund be arranged and why was a replacement being shipped? No reply. To this date, there has been no response from the company or any ring received. No refund has been issued despite many further emails after the 28th of July. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/06) */ I have replied several times to buyer simply looking for approval so there are no suprises upon arrival. I attached a picture of the ring please confirm ***** if this is the style you're wanting, I can finish it up and ship out right away. Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/11/06) */ The matter is unresolved and I have not received a satisfactory response. The company have neither refunded my money nor provided a replacement item. The complaint still subsists. Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/11/06) */ The matter is unresolved and I have not received a satisfactory response. The company have neither refunded my money nor provided a replacement item. The complaint still subsists. Business Response /* (4001, 26, 2014/12/09) */ We shipped the ring to the buyer via usps.com tracking number; ************* and it was delivered on 11-24. Buyer confirmed they recieved the ring and like it.

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my wedding ring in Dec 2013 from Pompiee3 for my Mar 2014 wedding. The ring I ordered is a 1.75 carat, white gold, braided eternity band (80 diamonds). I received the ring promptly and it was exquisite everything you hope a wedding ring would be. I immediately fell in love with it. I wore it proudly until July 2014, when I looked down at my hand and a diamond had fallen out. We had purchased the warranty so I immediately contacted Pompeii3, who gave instructions to return it and have the diamond replaced at no charge to me. I sent it back, 3 weeks later it was returned to me. I immediately put it back on and the next day, another diamond fell out. Once again, I immediately called Pompeii3 and spoke to ****. **** told me to send the ring back for a second time and to be sure to include the shipping receipt, and Pompeii3 would reimburse the shipping, since I had just received it back the day before. This time, Pompeii3 kept my ring nearly a month (I sent it in July and received it back in Aug). I had to threaten them with legal action to get the ring fixed and returned to me. I never received my $65.00 reimbursement for shipping so I have called numerous times over the past 2 months with assurances that a supervisor would call me back. I never heard from anyone. I began to send emails directly from Pompeii3's website no response. I called again yesterday and spoke to customer service who promised someone would call me back regarding my refund. Someone did finally call back a nice girl named ******. She left a message advising a supervisor was "looking into" my refund and would contact me. Today ****** called back and I answered. The conversation quickly went south. ****** advised that her supervisor said "it is not company policy to reimburse for shipping." Then why did **** tell me they would? Her response? "I dont think **** works here anymore." Of course not

Desired Settlement: Shipping refund $65.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ Contact Name and Title:********** Im sorry to hear about the issue. ****** is correct and as sated on our etsy and website "all shipping fees are nonrefundable" http://www.pompeii3.com/t-returns***** We appreciate your busines and as an offer to work with you I can reinburse 50% of shipping fees. Please reply to *******pompeii3.com or call with your cc number and we can refund the amount. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I want to know why I was told by **** that my shipping would be refunded as long as I included my shipping receipt, which I did. I had to pay shipping twice within a month because diamonds kept falling out of my wedding ring. A diamond fell out, I returned it to you to be fixed. You had my ring 2 weeks. When I finally got it back from you, the next day, a second diamond fell out. I had to return it to Pompeii again. I spent $110 in shipping it to you twice within 3 weeks. I want a full refund for the shipping on my second return to you, $65.00. And I want it issued in check form. I am not giving my credit card number to pompeii. If you can give 50%, you can refund 100% Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/28) */ I don't know why **** would tell you that and ****** is correct he hasnt worked here in months. Our company polices are listed so there is no confusion of what we're responsible for. As stated in policy all shipping costs are nonrefundable. As a middle ground I can refund half the amount for you. I hope you wil find this amount acceptable to close the dispute and move forward. Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/11/12) */ My shipping refund has not been received as promised

11/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a wedding set from pompeii3 back in dec 2014 which was beautiful and thought it was the best thing ever. I took it to a local jeweler in my area and was told the center stone was cloudy. I was enraged I paid for a clear stone and didnt get what i paid for. Meanwhile I paid for the stone to be upgraded back in jan $642 and I got a 2 1/2 carat stone. I recently got my ring appraised andfound out it was worth nothing with all the inclusions it has as well as the stone has been color treated as well. Went back to the jeweler to advise and was told that someone is misrepresenting the item. I feel have been victimized ,i couldnt afford a ring when i first got married so we waited till it was affordable. This is not fair and unjust

Desired Settlement: money back nothing more. I dont think i would get anything different with any further replacement

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/31) */ ****** purchased this ring set over one year ago, and recently had it altered by another jeweler. The jeweler did a poor job sizing the ring and in the process chipped the culet of the diamond which resulted in diminished brilliance. When the jeweler delivered the product he told her the diamond is cloudy and they are not responsible. ****** filed a claim against this local jeweler and lost because and now after 1 year of wearing the rings ****** is asking us to be responsible for a mistake made by another jeweler. Our policy clearly states no refunds after 30 days, and no refunds on merchandise altered from by other jewelers. At this time I would be willing to offer another stones at a discounted price or providing insurance documents to file a claim for the jeweler who broke her diamond and poorly sized the ring. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The ring was bought dec 2013, which is 9 months ago.Not one year ago that is incorrect.I do not wear the rings.The comments made are incorrect and untrue.I ***'t want another stone from this jeweler as the stone has been checked by numerous people and have all said that the stone is worth nothing.Therefore an insurance claim wouldnt be processed. The jeweler didnt have the decency to contact me knowing i was upset due to the large amount of money spent with him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) you must be kidding me ,i spent almost $5200 and you offer me $200, how insulting. i want more than that back and I would be happy to remove negative reviews Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/11/12) */ the facts are the ring was serviced and broken by another jewler. the customer sent it back to us for repair and was made aware of our listed policies. we cannot guarantee the work or defects that arrise once it has been serviced from someone other than us. i have offered partial refund and exchange the buyer is not willing to accept either desired solutions.

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pompeii3 have been provided with two opportunities to provide the goods and services it was paid for and has failed to do so. The goods were incompetently made and defective on both occasions. Despite promising by email to refund the cost of return shipping on the defective items in email on 23 May 2014, Pompeii3 have not done so. This ignores their ethical obligation to not leave the customer out of pocket for their own failure to supply a product consistent with the sample on their website and also fails to honor their express written promise to refund postage. Finally, almost 50 days after promising a refund on the goods purchased and only after repeated phone calls and emails on our part, Pompeii3 grudgingly refunded the purchase price. However the postage and insurance amounts for giving the rings back to Pompeii3 have not been refunded as promised. There is no basis for Pompeii3's logic that the customer should pay a penalty for Pompeii3's inability to do what it promised. The key dates (all 2014) are as follows: 6 May -Paid by direct deposit $748.95 for the ring including international postage and an appraisal certificate. Order number XXXXXXXX. 21 May -Email to Pompeii3 about ring being defective - wrong style, missing stones. 23 May -Pompeii authorize return and promise to refund shipping on provision of receipts. 18 July -Despite earlier confirmation of delivery, Pompeii only now confirm receipt of first ring and production of second ring Order number XXXXXXXX. 3 August -Second ring received - defective, not round, uneven and lumpy, different thickness throughout, request refund which is approved on 6 August. 14 August -Email to Pompeii postage receipts. 16 August -Pompeii confirm refund to be issued within 7 days. 29 August -Follow-up Pompeii for refund. 30 August -Pompeii advise will attempt to speed up refund process. 15 September -Follow-up Pompeii for refund.No response. 22 September -Follow-up Pompeii for refund.No response. 27 September -Call to Pompeii requesting refund. 2 October -Refund of initial purchase cost of $748.95 received. Pompeii refuse to refund return postage costs.

Desired Settlement: refund of postage costs as per receipts provided. 10/22/14 I provide my rebuttal on 7 October, enclosing a copy of an email from the business where they promised to refund postage. Please follow-up with the business for their response as I believe they are out of time for their repsonse. Kind regards, Michael

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ The customer was refunded in full including postage they paid us. Our return policy is as stated, 100% money back guarantee. http://www.pompeii3.com/t-returns.aspx The policy states buyer is responsible for postage, and postage is nonrefunable. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. In their attempt to avoid making a loss on this transaction Pompeii3 are ignoring the fact that it was their non-performance of their part of the contractual bargain that caused the postage charges to be incurred. If the rings had not been junk and had been as advertised on their website, then postage back to Pompeii3 would not have been required at all and it would not be placed into a negative financial position on this transaction. The quality of the product was wholly and solely within the control of Pompeii3, and only Pompeii3, and as such the responsibility for what flows from their non-performance is their burden. 2. Additionally Pompeii3 advised in writing that postage would be refunded and they are vicariously liable for the actions of their employees -regardless of its attempts to fallback on an unethical and unfair internal policy. This is an email from Pompeii3 (time of receipt is Australian Eastern Standard Time as tracked by gmail servers): On 23 May 2014, at 1:27 am, "Pompeii3 Support" <*******@pompeii3.com> wrote: I apologize the ring arrived like that. We would be more than happy to re-make the correct item and make sure all stones are tight and secure. Please submit your order number to our returns website below for a RA number. Please send back the item First Class through the post office. Please keel the receipt and I will issue a refund for the shipping costs so you do not have to pay. http://support.pompeii3.com If you have any other questions please let me know Thanks ***** Pompeii3 Inc. Like us on Facebook page and follow us on Twitter to receive future discounts & promotions. http://www.facebook.com/pompeii3jewelry http://www.twitter.com/pompeii3 Support Team Pompeii3 Jewelry, Inc. www.pompeii3.com X-XXX-XXX-XXXX TEL X-XXX-XXX-XXXX FAX *******@pompeii3.com MON-THU 9am-5pm CSST FRI 9am-2:30pm CST 3. It will be our intention to argue, should this matter continue unresolved, that consumer sales by Pompeii3 are in breach of the Illinois Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act. No doubt we would be able to gather other dissatisfied customers who have also been left out of pocket by Pompeii3's conduct to join in. Multiple customers willing to make claims against Pompeii3 would make the matter one worth the attention of the Illinois Attorney General's onsumer Protection Division. Please see the attached document for pictures of the actual rings supplied versus the website pictures used by Pompeii3 to induce customers to purchase. 4. This correspondence serves as final written notice to Pompeii3 that failure to refund the postage charges in full will result in our attorney bringing this matter before the small claims court. At the time of engagement of our attorney, Pompeii3's minimum cost to settle this issue will include our legal fees. Additionally, in court all our further costs including time, phone calls, and interest foregone, will also be claimed along with punitive damages. 5. Court action will be on the basis of a)breach of express and implied terms of contract b)breach of Illinois state law c)equity - including but not limited to estoppel and unjust enrichment. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/10/31) */ Customer was refunded in full, the item was returned in original condition and as ordered. No defects outside our normal variance for item were noticed.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased************ wedding band ************** After a few weeks of wearing it, she started to get skin irritations on her finger. She tried to make it work by wearing it less often to see if the irritation would get better, but it did not. We contacted Pompeii3 about the situation and they allowed us to exchange for 4 earrings (we paid for the additional difference in price). After receiving the 4 earrings, we discovered that the quality of the earrings did not match the pictures on the website. We contacted Pompeii3 again and got an authorization for a refund ************************************ We shipped the items back to Pompeii3 with all the requested documents, including the return authorization. Without notice, all the items were shipped back to us once they arrived at Pompeii3. We had to contact the office to find out why the items were sent back to us. After multiple tries to contact someone on the phone and after many emails, we found out that the items were returned to us because the original wedding band had passed *** return period. We are not satisfied with that reason. Since we explained the entire situation before the return authorization was given to us, the return should be valid under the communicated circumstances. After long emails and calls *********************************** explaining our situation, we received the following response "I'm willing to exchange for one single item of equal value after Christmas. This is the best I can do." At this point, after our experiences with Pompeii3, we do not want to further our efforts in exchanging our items for other items that we will be disappointed with. The customer service is just horrible. Responses take a very long time (if you are lucky enough to even get one without following up. Even after following up, it takes a very long time). There is no reason why a return authorization can be given to us, only to be rejected because of the circumstances that were clearly communicated prior to the return authorization being issued. That makes no sense and we are surprised that Pompeii3 will not own up to their mistake. The bottom line is that we should be getting the promised refund for our unsatisfactory items.

Desired Settlement: At this point, after our experiences with Pompeii3, we do not want to further our efforts in exchanging our items for other items that we will be disappointed with. The customer service is just horrible. Responses take a very long time (if you are lucky enough to even get one without following up. Even after following up, it takes a very long time). There is no reason why a return authorization can be given to us, only to be rejected because of the circumstances that were clearly communicated prior to the return authorization being issued. That makes no sense and we are surprised that Pompeii3 will not own up to their mistake. The bottom line is that we should be getting the promised refund for our unsatisfactory items.

Business Response: ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/03/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We did not agree to an exchange for upgraded ring. Please read the previous rebuttal as the issue (described multiple times now) still has not been addressed. Here is the previous rebuttal for reference: Over the phone, our circumstances were clearly communicated and an authorization for refund (Return *************************** was granted given our circumstances. We understand the 30 day return policy. However, for our specific circumstances, even though the return period has expired, we were promised an authorization for refund that was not honored. Our specific circumstances were taken into consideration over the phone and an exception to the return policy was granted to us (hence ********************************** but was ultimately not honored. Whoever was on the phone (we did not get the name) when our exception was made and our authorization for return was granted, did not communicate our circumstances to the people who turned down our return. We should not have been granted an authorization for return if we were not going to receive a return. It was a waste of time and money to ship the items back and forth. Since we had an exception to the return policy due to an understanding of our specific circumstances and an authorization for return was granted, we should be able to receive the return that was promised to us. The response given by Pompeii3 does not address the heart of the issue. It just restates what we already know. We understand the circumstances, Pompeii3 does not understand our circumstances. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/03/25) */ The issue is you're trying to retun items that were purchased 2 years ago. Make certain wer're not willing to accept your items back for a refund. I understand you wre not 100% satisfied so I'm willing to work with you and offer an exchange. Your wife has already given me an item number and finger size that she would like exchanged for. Please understand I'm making an exception for you given any inconveniences you have caused. View our faq page question 9, 10, and 13 about our return policy. ****************************** Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/07/09) */ http://www.pompeii3.com/p-********ct-morganite-diamond-halo-vintage-antique-engagement-ring-14k-rose-gold.aspx (item **********) Size 5.5 Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/07/09) */ We agreed to make a moragnite ring for the customer. Please confirm the size you would like us to make and the address where you would like shipped. Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/07/09) */ http://www.pompeii3.com/p-**********-morganite-diamond-halo-vintage-antique-engagement-ring-14k-rose-gold.aspx (item #*********) Size 5.5 Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/07/09) */ We agreed to make a moragnite ring for the customer. Please confirm the size you would like us to make and the address where you would like shipped. Business Response /* (1001, 29, 2014/08/01) */ Hi, Thank you! The ring shipped to customer today via usps.com tracking number; **********************. Can you please update the case with this info? Thanks *****

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ring was purchase on 10/4/2013, order number*******************). 2.15ct pave eternity wedding ring. One pave diamond was lost and reported to the company on 3/13/14. Per company instructions; repair request form was completed and ring was returned to company. Company acknowledged receipt of ring and on 3/31/14 I called to inquire about the status. Spoke with CSR who said I should have the return in a few days. on 4/8 received email stating repair payment was needed $30 + $14.50 shipping before ring would be returned. I promptly paid the fee on 4/8/14. On 4/17 I attempted to call the company to determine a status as I had not received tracking information or the returned ring. The phone number gave a busy signal so I tried again thinking that I mis-dialed and again a busy signal. I attempted to reach the company by email to the address that I used to first report the issue. The email was returned undeliverable. I then tried to use the "contact us" feature on the website leaving a detailed message to which I have not received a response. I attempted to call the company again on 4/18 but received a message that the office is closed. On 4/21/14 I called 3 times XXX-XXX-XXXX which is the number on the website and sent two emails one to******************** and one to "contact us" on the email both of which are returned undeliverable. I am requesting refund of the full purchase price of the diamond $1,299 plus the repair $30 and shipping and handling fee of $14,50 for a total amount of $1,3453.50.

Desired Settlement: Given the mental stress and the non-responsive nature of doing business with this establishment, I am requesting a refund of the full purchased price of the merchandise in the amount of $1,299.00 purchased on 10/4/2013, order number *******************. 2.15ct pave eternity wedding ring Item ********** Plus $30 repair fee +$14.50 shipping charge for a total of $1,343.50

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ************ Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ****************** Hi, I apologize for the issues, the ring is scheduled to come out of production and go through quality check tomorrow. Once the issues are adressed under the repair fee we will ship and provided tracking info. I will put a rush on the order and provide tracking info asap. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have the ring with satisfactory repair as indicated above by the Pompeii3 company representative. I apologize for issuing the complaint; however, given the original purchase price of the item and my unsuccessful attempts to reach the company both via telephone and online for a status update I was concerned. Thank you Pompeii3 for your prompt attention and response.

4/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought engagement and wedding ring ****** *************************** It was a diamondless ring and band because I have my own diamond to put in from my grandma. Sometime between when it was delivered until December****** my fiance had my diamond set in the stone. He had to go **** different jewelers because they told him the ring was poor quality and they wouldn't touch it. The jeweler that set it said he would do it but would not warranty anything. On January **** less than a month of wearing the ring, my diamond fell out. After searching and searching, somehow I ended up finding my grandmas diamond. I let the company know that happen and all he said was that if I set him the ring, he would check all the prongs for a tight fit. I couldn't believe it! He spoke like it was no big deal to loose a diamond from a ring! At first, I told him I was not comfortable sending my 1 carat diamond in the mail (also because I did not know what kind of company they were and if I would get my diamond back!) I was highly upset because I already spent money on the ring, to get it set, and now I was going to have to spend more to get a new setting and ring set! Since *********** the manager, wouldn't give me any other options, I sent the ring back to Pompeii. ***************************************************** *******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a local jeweler assess the ring and based on what they say is it's value (the listing said was $1,085.70) and be refunded any amount over what I paid plus shipping and setting costs that I have paid. I would also like a warranty in writing in case this happens again.

Business Response: ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 27, 2014/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Tell me how you can disprove another jeweler telling me that it is poor quality then? All I know is that I was told it wasn't good enough quality for a jeweler even to set the diamond and then it FELL OUT! That is proof enough to me that I got ripped off. Final Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2014/03/25) */ Tell me how your jeweler is qualified or credible to represent the setting? He broke your diamond, offered no compensation, and wouldn't even stand behind his work. We stand behind our work, reset your stone for free, send the ring back for free, and even offered you a free warranty.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased ********************************* wedding band with the engraving ***************** ******************************* I received a size*** ring with the engraving done incorrectly and badly. Part of the letters were missing and the engraver made extra deep circles within every letter too where it stayed in one place. I called them about this, because I received the wrong sized ring and the workmanship was extremely bad and the engraving was wrong. None of the issues were due to my fault, but due to the fault of Pompeii3. I was instructed to submit a request for refund through their website and wait to receive an approval to return the item. I received the approval for the return and shipped it back to Pompeii3 at the cost ********** I received an email confirmation that they received the product and I would be receiving a refund. I then received another email stating that my refund would*************** but I paid **** for the ring plus******* to ship it back to them. I sent another email to them in response regarding the incorrect amount of the refund, but did not receive a response. The following week I called and was unable to speak to anyone that was able to help me. I was told that they did not have the authority for the refund and I would have to email another person, which I did.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $250.30 for the defective ring and shipping cost to return it. I can provide a copy of the receipt for the shipping cost of $11.30.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/17) */ ******** I'm sorry to hear about the issue, we stand behind the product if there are any issues we'ere happy to fix them. As specified on the returns page of our website there is ***** restocking fee on engraved returned items. I understand you ran out of time and had to purchase another ring. I went ahead and refunded your payment in full. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 7, 2014/03/17) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: They have sent me an email confirming refund for the full amount for the ring ***********

6/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Pompeii3 Jewelry
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart