Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

R J Jewelry & Loan Co.

Phone: (630) 871-0964 Fax: (630) 871-0965 1210 Bloomingdale Rd, Glendale Heights, IL 60139

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R J Jewelry & Loan Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on R J Jewelry & Loan Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 25, 2002 Business started: 08/25/1995 in IL Business started locally: 08/25/1995 Business incorporated 05/11/2001 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ricardo J. Moraga, President Ms. Janet Moraga, Vice Presient
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ricardo J. Moraga, President
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Pawnbrokers Jewelry Repair Jewelry Stores (NAICS: 448310)

Products & Services

This business offers: Discount Retail Jeweler (new and gently used), short-term credit, buy or trade for items of value, jewelry repair and appraisals.

Additional Locations

  • 1210 Bloomingdale Rd

    Glendale Heights, IL 60139


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: If I had been told about the cash payment when I talked to them on the phone, I would have brought Cash. I believe they may conceal this method of payment so they can collect the extra 3.00 for the company by requiring a customer to use their ATM machine to withdraw cash. I also felt left out of the conversation when the jewelry repairman talked to the owner about the transaction because they spoke among themselves in their native language (Chinese?) The charge was made even though I could have just paid by debit or credit. What a scam!

Desired Settlement: I feel I should be refunded the $3.00 that was collected by this scam. But most importantly, the company should stop this scamming practice immediately. Customers who contact them before coming in must be informed about their payment policies. So far, I have not been able to post a complaint on their website. I wonder why.

Business Response: ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* First of all, we offer the *** machine for convenience only and we don't require customers to use it. It is up to the customers if they want to use it or not. It clearly shows on the receipt that there will be a $3.00 charge. We always tell our customers that there will be a charge but if we did not or forgot to remind the customer it still shows on the receipt. If the customers simply says that He / She will not pay or refuse to pay $3.00 I will gladly refund the $3.00 charge. Please stop by and we can refund $10 for the trouble ,$3.00 for the *** charge and $7.00 for gas money to come back to our store. Simply express your opinion and we can resolve it easily. Thanks

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on R J Jewelry & Loan Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)