Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Michael Hill

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 642-6775 Fax: (630) 428-2615 View Additional Phone Numbers 152 Yorktown Shopping Ctr, Lombard, IL 60148 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.michaelhill.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Michael Hill meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Michael Hill include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Michael Hill
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 2009 Business started: 07/07/1979 Business started locally: 07/07/1979 Business incorporated 08/20/2008 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Johannes, Regional Manager - Chicago Joline Gountais, Manager - Golf Mill Centre Ms. Darcy Harkins, Retail Manager - Chicago Mr. Michael Hill, Owner Ralph Lombardi, Manager - Stratford Mall Getssler Monzon, Manager - Harlem & Irving Plaza Karen Munici, Manager - Oakbrook Mr. Mike Parsell, CEO Joseph Pliml, Manager - Water Tower Place Samuel Shaffer, Manager - Orland Square Monica Wieczork, Manager - Hawthorn Richard Wilkie, Manager - Woodfield
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Johannes, Regional Manager - Chicago
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Jewelry Stores (NAICS: 448310)

Alternate Business Names
Michael Hill Jewelry

Additional Locations

  • 152 Yorktown Shopping Ctr

    Lombard, IL 60148 (630) 261-0501

  • 205 Stratford Square

    Bloomingdale, IL 60108 (630) 351-9505

  • 275 Golf Mill Center

    Niles, IL 60714 (847) 296-3300

  • 32 Oakbrook Center

    Oak Brook, IL 60523 (630) 573-0230

  • 4202-A North Harlem

    Norridge, IL 60706 (708) 583-0554

  • Hawthorn Center Store 714

    Vernon Hills, IL 60061 (847) 367-4644

  • Shop D- 104 Woodfield Mall

    Schaumburg, IL 60173 (847) 619-2990

  • Space 8050, 7th Floor835 Michigan Ave - Water Tower Place
    835 N. Michigan Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60611 (312) 642-6775

  • Space F06
    620 Orland Square

    Orland Park, IL 60462 (708) 460-7117

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Management refused to change the diamond or give me a refund. According to them, it is a "natural inclusion"...which look like a scratch to me. They are only willing to give me an exchange if I do an "UPGRADE". My husband bought a warranty that they are not honoring.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I don't want to deal with this company anymore. I want a FULL REFUND.

Business Response: ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** The Store Manager contacted the customer and explained our warranties and worked out a prompt resolution to correct the issue. The customer has agreed to have the warranty work done to satify the issue. We are pleased to have a lifelone customer again of Michael Hill.

8/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* **** could not size my ring that I bought from them on June 23rd, 2013 in time for my wedding day, so I took it to another Jeweler to size. This jeweler is a BBB accredited business and have done repairs/resizing for 30+ years. In sizing my ring, the "*************** melted. They explained to me that **** dont do this. It melted because it is PLASTIC. The repair/sizing store is replacing the melted plastic with a real stone for me in time for my wedding because of the horrific circumstances this has left me in 2 days before my wedding. HOWEVER, ******* **** is who sold me the fraudulent ring and I demand a full refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the full amount of my transaction of $326.67. I don't know what my charges will be from the repairing store, but I expect to charge these back to************* as well. They are FRAUDULENT and if they sell PLASTIC in place of CZ's, I'd hate to know what is in place of Diamonds! I also would expect someone to inspect all of their merchandise so they do not do this to any other consumer.

Business Response: ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ************ has offered a full refund to *************** in good faith and allowed her to keep the merchandise. The cost of a ** is so low it would not be worth producing a plactic copy and therefore finds the complaint very strange. In particular because******* in fact put her own stone into the setting where the ** was and demanded that she keep the setting and still recieve a full refund. The ** in question would have a value of less than $5.00 and the complaint simply does not make sense. ************* will refund $237.06 for the ring in quetion and the care plan. The remainder of the balance is for a ring purchased for her partner. ************ will not pay for the cost of putting a different stone in the customers ring.

8/12/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Michael Hill
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)