Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

LD Jewelers, Inc.

Phone: (708) 599-0001 Fax: (708) 599-2726 8073 W 95th St, Hickory Hills, IL 60457 http://www.ldjewelersinc.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

LD Jewelers is a jewelry retailer that buys, sells, and repairs jewelry and watches. Located in Hickory Hills, IL, this company serves the south side of Chicago and the surrounding communities, including Riverside, Oak Lawn, Oak Forest, Palos Hills, Worth, Chicago Ridge, Willow Springs, Burbank, Burr Ridge, Palos Park, Palos Heights, Bridgeview, Countryside, Brookfield, Western Springs, Hometown, La Grange, La Grange Park, Hinsdale, Clarendon Hills, Westmont, Downers Grove, Lyons, Stickney, Evergreen Park, and Berwyn. The company offers polishing, designing, appraising, selling, repairing of all jewelry and will buy gold on site.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LD Jewelers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LD Jewelers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LD Jewelers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 2004 Business started: 09/01/1990 in IL Business started locally: 09/01/1990 Business incorporated 10/17/2002 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael DeGrado, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael DeGrado, President
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Watch Bands Watches - Dealers Jewelry Polishing & Plating Jewelry Repair Watches - Service & Repair Appraisal - Jewelry Jewelry Buyers Jewelry Designers Diamond Setters Jewels - Imitation Gold Buyers Jewelry Stores (NAICS: 448310)


Additional Locations

  • 8073 W 95th St

    Hickory Hills, IL 60457 (708) 599-0001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the Jewelry store on Septermber 24th, 2013 to purchase a Cubic********* in which I paid $20 for and then $100 to have it set and put in a new mounting.I expressed interest in purchasing a ********** stone from him and which he quoted me a price of $650.00 and that he would not charge me for the work to set it because i already paid him the $100.I came back the following week to give a deposit down for the stone of $295 and they said they would call me to let me know when it comes in.Not only did the son not call but i had to keep calling to see if i can see the stone in which the owners wife told me that i shouldnt make two trips to see the stone because it would be set the following day and i can see it then. I decided to go anyways and when i mentioned to the owners wife that i thought there was a yellow tint to it she told me that it was probably from my blond hair. The next day i called to see when i can pick up my ring and was told to be there in an hour, when i arrived it was not ready and they told me to wait another hour. When i came to pick it up and saw my ring i noticed right away that the yellow tint to the stone was there.Not only that but he changed the mounting of my ring to another one and didnt even ask if that was something i wanted.When i told him that he told me i would have to pay for the mounting because the old one would not work. Once again i was not informed of this and again i would have to pay for it.I was already upset and he didnt seem to care and just wanted me to pay the remaining balance. When i gave him the remaining balance he told me that it was going to be more because he had to change the mounting and all that other stuff. I explained to him that when i came in on September 24th he told me that i would pay for the work and mounting then and would not have to pay again.He went on to tell me that he was not making any money on me and so on and in his words said "you are really pushing it here now" i was already upset and he saw that so he said just give me another $350 and thats the lowest i can go. I looked at the ring and expressed to him that i was not happy and he said im sorry i can not do anything for you. When my husband saw the ring he noticed it right away and said that we did not pay the money to have you not be happy. I waited for the weekend to be over because they were closed. I went in on Tuesday OCtober 8th to ask that they order me a new stone or give me my money back because i was not happy with what i received.The owners son told me to Leave the store and that he was not going to give me my money back. I told him that there was a return policy sign on his wall that said "14 days for returns and exchanges" he continued to be very rude to me saying i was a "problem from the start" and that his dad told him that if i came in to have him show me the door.I just couldnt believe that someone can treat their customer like that and not care about their business to be so rude to a me. I was just so shaken up and called my husband in which he told me if i didnt leave he would call the police and he did. The police came and tried to talk to him but the officer said to me he was unwilling to coaperate with me and i would just have to sue if i needed to or report him to the BBB and so that is what i am doing. I am still very upset because he altered my ring with a mounting that i didnt even pick out and changed my ring completely. There are reviews online about the son being "rude" "unprofessional" and a "liar" and many others have had problems with them.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the stone i purchased of $650.00 and the work that i paid for of $100 so $750.00 total

Business Response: ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/10/22) */ This jeweler is making himself look bad and a liar. You can't decide if you sold me the ********** or not, in the first response you said your son sold me a ********** and that he also sells them on ***** and now you are saying you didnt sell it to me and dont have a **** account?? You were the one that showed me your **** store online THE ************* so please decide and i think from what you are writing you are the "unbalanced" one. Reviews dont lie so you do not have a "clean record" Having your wife call for you and then getting on the phone to harass me is also a lie?? yes that what i thought. I have nothing else to say because your last response will help the BBB decide on who is lying and who is telling the truth because obviously you can not get your facts straight. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/10/22) */ #1. I don't sell **********, never have. #2. I don't have an **** account, never did. #3. I only set her **********, which she bought from *************. #4. Have her SHOW a RECEIPT that I sold this person anything. #5. In her first complaint to BBB, there was no mention of a chipped diamond, in the follow-up, she claimed I chipped her diamond, which I never touched. This is a complete lie. She said (and I have this on record) that ******************** in ***********, removed and chipped her diamond. I'm sure she has filed some sort of action against them as well. She mentioned to us that she was thinking of going after them legally. During her tirade against that particular jeweler, my wife pulled me on the side to tell me not to deal with her. Seems she has issues with everyone she deals with. My wife felt that down the line we might have a problem with her. She is obviously trying to get something out of me, whether it be through complete false statements on her part, or through harassment via the complaints to BBB. I will not be forced through intimidation (using BBB and other on-line ratings) to give this person anything. I have my standards, and will not give into threats and insinuations that I dealt with her in a dishonorable way. #6. Any further communications, and I will have my attorney file an action against this person for slander. Lastly, I have never refused a customer money back or complete satisfaction, whether it be through a sale or a repair. I maintain, as previously mentioned, an unblemished record of great customer service. In 23 years of business, I have never dealt with someone as rude and mean-spirited as this lady. I sincerely hope she doesn't waste your and my time anymore. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on LD Jewelers, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)