Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

C D Peacock-Oakbrook

Phone: (312) 977-0025 Fax: (630) 571-1121 View Additional Phone Numbers 172 Oakbrook Center, Oak Brook, IL 60523 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cdpeacock.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for C D Peacock-Oakbrook include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C D Peacock-Oakbrook
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1837 Business started locally: 01/01/1837
Business Management
Mr. Joe Fischer, C F O
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Fischer, C F O
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Watch Bands Watches - Dealers Jewelry Repair Watches - Service & Repair Appraisal - Jewelry Jewelry Buyers Jewelry Designers Diamonds Jewelry Stores (NAICS: 448310)

Alternate Business Names
Peacock Inc- C D

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    172 Oakbrook Center

    Oak Brook, IL 60523 (800) 237-1837

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a necklace from this company at their location in Oakbrook while on business in Chicago. I live in Maryland and they said they would ship my necklace to me. In December, I picked up the package from my local ***** and when I got home and opened the package, I realized my necklace was missing. I called CD peacock right away to let them know I didn't have my necklace. They said they would review tapes and get back to me. They never did. I then proceeded to file a claim through ***** and heard from the ***** representative in January that the claim I processed was paid. Since I never received a payment, I called ***** and they said they do not discuss the claims with customers but that they only did that with the shipper. I called CD Peacock again and they again promised to call me back. Again, they never did. When I finally got to speak to a manager today, she informed me that since I signed for the package, they have no liability on the missing necklace. The unfortunate thing is that they have gotten paid twice for this item (*** ** claim and my payment) and I still do not have my necklace and the way they handled this is despicable. As as customer who shops online most of the time, I have never had this experience. I have invested a lot of time in getting this resolved and they have shown me zero courtesy as a customer.

Desired Settlement: Refund my payment. I want nothing to do with this business in the future and I would just simply like many payment refunded since I never received a check.

Business Response:

I’m trying to gather information on the customer complaint we received last week from the BBB. Below are some details.

Client purchased merchandise on Friday, 12/11/2015

Item scheduled to ship on Monday, 12/14/2015 requiring an adult signature upon delivery

***** History:

12/14/15 shipped for 12/15/15 delivery. Adult recipient unavailable. Delivery re-scheduled for next business day.

12/16/15 Adult recipient unavailable. Delivery re-scheduled for next business day.

12/17/15 Adult recipient unavailable. Delivery re-scheduled for next business day.

12/19/15 Package Delivered: 12/19/2015 3:12 PM Signed for By: F. **********.

Assistant Store Manager:

Client called stating that she received the package and the piece wasn't in there. She was told we would review our video tapes of sales associate preparing the package. Then the client changed her story and said she didn't receive the package (please see ***** tracking history above, which shows delivery). Assistant Manager attempted to call client multiple times, client never returned any calls and just disappeared.

Store Manager:

Client spoke with Store Manager. Client told store Manager the package was tampered with, however she accepted and signed for it. Store Manager advised client she should not have accepted the package if it was tampered with and/or opened.

Customer service is very important to C.D.Peacock and we did make every attempt to appease the client, however her story seemed to change between conversations with the Manager and Assistant Manager.

Please let me know if you need anything more from me.

Regards,

******** **********

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The business has not addressed the fact that they have been paid twice for this item. First by me and the second time by fedex. The ***** payment was as a result of a claim I filed. I called CD peacock multiple times and they never once called me back. They promised they would call me back but never did.  What kind of customer service is that? Why would ***** pay the claim if their investigation revealed no theft? My account of this has remained the same however because of their lack of customer service, CD peacock never really heard me in the first place. The box was not obviously tampered with. It was a pro job so when I picked up the box, I didn't notice anything initially. It was when I realized the box was empty that I examined the box a little more. I still have this box. 
I have spent so much time on this because it really upsets me that they would not show me any consideration and then to top it off, I filed a claim and they got paid again and I also paid for something I never received and now CD peacock is questioning my integrity by claiming my account has been inconsistent. 

As I write this, I will contact ***** for evidence they paid the claim and ask for any help they can provide in showing they paid the claim and I will provide to the bureau.

thank you for your help because you are my only option to get this resolved.

 

Sincerely,

***** **********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on C D Peacock-Oakbrook
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)