Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

WiredTree

Phone: (312) 447-0510 Fax: (312) 447-0514 View Additional Phone Numbers 53 W. Jackson Blvd  Suite 1734, Chicago, IL 60604 http://www.wiredtree.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that WiredTree meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for WiredTree include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on WiredTree
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 2009 Business started: 06/06/2006 in IL Business started locally: 06/06/2006 Business incorporated 06/06/2006 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Zachary Cogswell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Zachary Cogswell, President
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting Internet Services All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)

Alternate Business Names
Cogswell Enterprises Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

WiredTree has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 53 W. Jackson Blvd
    Suite 1734

    Chicago, IL 60604

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec 31, 2014 my annual contract with WiredTree renewed for $1,069.20; as of Jan 1, 2015, I sold off a large portion of my business, so I notified Wiredtree on Jan 9 2015 for instructions on how to reduce my service. This process took several weeks, and culminated on or about Feb 7, 2015 when WiredTree shut down the service for which they had charged me a year in advance. I received an email from **** **** regarding the service being shut down. On Feb 13, 2015 I spoke with and agent who reactivated a new service with Wiretree but at a level of service substantially lower in price ($49/month). It was my understanding at that time that a credit would be issued for the overpayment of the previous service and I would then start to pay for the new $49/month service on a monthly basis via a charge to my credit card. The did indeed start charging my card for $49/month for that new service on Feb 13 and each month since then. However, I never saw a credit for the old service. On April 5, I finally submitted a ticket that I was still waiting for the credit, and ****** **** replied by creating a credit for $891, stating that the credit would stay on my account until the monthly charge that I was incurring completely used up this balance. Since that would take over 18 months, and they were authorized to charge my other credit card for the monthly service of $49, I requested that they issue a credit to my credit card for the $891. Mr. **** replied that since the charge was made over 60 days prior, a credit could not be processed. I asked him to issue the credit via check, and on April 6, he said he would escalate the issue to his supervisor to see about issuing the refund via check. On April 20 I finally received a response that they would not issue a refund by check, and that billing disputes must be issued within 60 days. I believe that on Feb 7, the day they shut down my service despite the fact that it had been prepaid for a full year, they had an obligation to issue the refund then, and that would have been within 60 days of the original charge to my credit card. My April 5 inquiry as to the refund was within 60 days of Feb 7 when the credit should have been issued.

Desired Settlement: The $891 credit that they issued on Feb 7 should have been refunded to my credit card at that time. I now request $891 refund to settle this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Billing Mgr Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@wiredtree.com BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX The client signed up for service with on December 17th, 2009. At the time of sign-up all clients must agree to our Terms of Service (https://www.wiredtree.com/legal/). These terms of service state the following in regard to refunds and disputes: Refund and Disputes All payments to WiredTree are nonrefundable. This includes one time setup fees, prepayment fees, and subsequent charges regardless of usage. Client shall not be entitled to any refunds, pro-rated or otherwise, in the event of early termination of this agreement by The Company according to the terms herein. All overcharges or billing disputes must be reported within 60 days of the time the dispute occurred. If you dispute a charge to your credit card issuer or payment provider (chargeback) that, in WiredTree's sole discretion is a valid charge under the provisions of the TOS and/or AUP, you agree to pay WiredTree an "Administrative Fee" of not less than $75 and not more than $200. These terms state that all disputes must be reporting within 60 days of the transaction date. The client requested cancellation of their original service in January 2015. The client stated the service would be changing hands to a different contact. We instructed the client on how to transfer the ownership of the service over to the other individual. The client never transferred ownership of the account though. We had instructed them to let me know once the change of ownership was complete so that a potential prorated refund for the unused months could be processed. The client did not respond to us in the cancellation ticket to confirm the change was completed. The client did not contact the Billing department about the time left on the previous cycle until April 5th which was past the 60 days stated in our Terms of Service for the time frame for a December 2014 transaction in which potential refunds and disputes must be reported. Because the time frame had passed during which a refund can be processed per our Terms of Service, the price difference for the unused months of the previous cycle was added to the client's account as an account credit which is currently be used for all payments on the client's account and will continue to be applied until it has been used up.

6/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried their service and it did not meet my needs. As a result I requested cancellation and a refund since it was only used for 1 day. All this company did was quote their Terms of Service and refuse to issue a refund.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the purchase price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** **** Billing MGR Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@wiredtree.com The client had signed up for a monthly hosting service on April 22nd, 2014. The client agreed to these terms of service upon sign up (https://www.wiredtree.com/legal/tos.php) as part of our Master Service Agreement (https://www.wiredtree.com/legal/msa.php) which all clients must agree to in order to receive our services. >>Refund and Disputes >>All payments to WiredTree are nonrefundable. This includes one time setup fees, prepayment fees, and subsequent charges regardless of usage. Client shall not be entitled to any refunds, pro-rated or otherwise, in the event of early termination of this agreement by The Company according to the terms herein. All overcharges or billing disputes must be reported within 60 days of the time the dispute occurred. If you dispute a charge to your credit card issuer or payment provider (chargeback) that, in WiredTree's sole discretion is a valid charge under the provisions of the TOS and/or AUP, you agree to pay WiredTree an "Administrative Fee" of not less than $75 and not more than $200. These terms state we give no refunds for the early cancellation of a service. WiredTree provided the client with the server and support for moving his services onto his new server. We provided him with the full services that come with our offerings. At no time did we not provide him with what he had paid for with his monthly subscription. Customers can cancel at anytime but per our Terms of Services we do not provide refunds on services provided. The client opened a ticket with the Support team on the night of April 22nd. After the next 6 hours, the Support team worked on transferring over the client's sites to the newly purchased WiredTree server. The client then opened a second ticket on April 23rd after the initial migration and the Support team edited some of the settings on the client's server. The client felt the service wasn't going to fit his needs and he requested a cancellation and refund. We informed him that we do not give refunds per our Terms of Service and he stated that he would file a BBB complain and a charge back on his credit card unless we give him a refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The server was never used. I expect more customer service from a company than just quoting their TOS. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/06/12) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The server was just being setup and nothing was used for any actual production. The setup took all but 1 day of the 30 days allotted month. An exception should be made and a refund given.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on WiredTree
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart