Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

D L S Computer Services, Inc.

Phone: (847) 854-4799 View Additional Phone Numbers 950 E Oak St, Lake in the Hills, IL 60156 http://www.dls.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for D L S Computer Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on D L S Computer Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Business Management
Mr. Ward Larkin, VP Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ward Larkin, VP Sales
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting VOIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) Sales & Service Computers Hardware, Software & Services Computer Software Publishers & Developers Computers - Networks Data Systems - Consultants & Designers Internet Services All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)

Alternate Business Names
DLS Communications

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    950 E Oak St

    Lake in the Hills, IL 60156 (847) 854-4799 (800) 323-2099

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I first came to DLS Internet, I was existing partnership in which my former partner stole my business from me, the name of original business was Salentine Travel. The DLS Internet employee, ****************** was aware of the situation and the I was under extreme distress during that time period. Ms.********** lied to me in several instances:1) Ms. ********** told me that I could not port the phone number that was in control of DLS and that I had spent 2 months listing on all my advertising. (****************) In other words, if I wanted to keep this phone number I had to to business with DLS.2) Ms. ********** verbally told me that she was offering me a 12 month contract then when I went to sign the contract, substituted a 36 month contract when I was finally ready to sign and had just returned home from a large incentive group trip verbally re assuring me that it was a 12 month contract.3) Ms. ********** way oversold me on the services I needed. My current payment is $82.00 per month and for the same service DLS was charging me between $319 - $330 per month.I over paid this amount from 9/2010 until March 2013.*********** the manager never responding to any of my compaints. Most on the time he was not in or not available. One of thier service reps told me that this phone system only made sense if I had at least 5 users. I mormally have 2 users. When I tried to purchase the Viop phones required ove the internet ofr over $100 less per phone, I was informed that the internet phones would reqire $150 of DLS programming. For the almost 3 years that they wer overcharging me, I was never offered a less expensive service. For the first 2 years I have extreme spam phone call issues to the poing where I had to unplug the phones during off hours.How much should I endure from a compny that lied to me, orvercharged me and never responded to my complaints because they claimed the owners wife was ill. AT some point you have to deal with the business at hand. This was ***********. Product_Or_Service: phone service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want out of my contract and to have them have to answer for the lies and manipulation at a very difficult point in my career when I lost my original business, Salentine Travel.They are now trying to sue me for remainder of the false 36 month contract.Call me for details *************How can one company be this deceitful and overcharge me $8500 just because they baited and switcehd the contract and manipulated me in to signing under duress.Where is the justice?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/10) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x250 Contact Email: ****@dls.net It is regrettable that Ms. ***** experienced business reversals. However, for the most part she answers her own issues. According to her statement the issues she experienced started with a breakup up with her business partner. DLS had several conversations with Ms. ***** and in no case did DLS employees lie. The basis of the DLS services was outlined in a contract that was reveiewed, accepted and signed by Ms. *****. Any DLS customer may port a number away by contracting with a new vendor. DLS has no power to prohibit such a port. They only requirement is that they own the number they wish to port. The 36 month term is clearly stated in her contract and the" 36 month" is in bold print. *********** had multiple conversations with Ms. *****. Ms. *********** had multiple conversations. Tech Support and Accounting had multiple conversations. All of which primarily revolved around her statements that her business was having problems and that her partner problems were not her fault. She simply did not want to meet her contractual obligations. DLS sells phones which are programmed, warranted and configured ready for plug and play. Customers are advised that they may buy compatible handsets from other vendors if they so choose. If those third party purchased handsets are not delivered to the end user fully configured DLS does charge to complete that configuration. Ms. ***** could have dealt with her "claimed spam calls" either through her ISP and/or by maintaining proper network protections at her business. The customers network was not protected and her IP addresses were left exposed. This opened her to "hacking". Our tech support worked with her, helped limit the exposure, however, Ms. ***** did not follow trough regarding contacting her ISP to block the hacking attempts. In summary DLS personnel, in order processing, accounting, sales and tech support had multiple conversations with Ms. *****. She was not ignored. **** *********** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/10/31) */ I would like to reopen the case I have against DLS Computer Services, Inc. I still firmly believe that I was lied to, taken advantage of and severely over charged. After great reflection, I have decided that I need to put the past behind me and professionally deal with only the facts. This morning I have reached out to the legal services representing DLS in an effort to resolve this matter. The DLS attorney spent the whole conversation threatening me with a possible bad credit report and court case. After listening to his threats for 10 minutes I offered a settlement to protect my credit but the attorney refused and proceeded to inform me he would not be passing ***** my offer to DLS. Just to be clear I do feel I owe DLS any more money. But, candidly at what point am a wasting my efforts and not focusing on new business?? In a few bullet points these are my complaints: DLS lied to me about not being able to port the phone number to another provider. I had already used their phone number all over my marketing materials. The first contact that they sent me was for a 12 month lease and then when I went to actually sign the contract, they forwarded me a 39 month contract. **** was the only person who could handle complaints and he was out of the office at times indefinitely therefore impossible to reach. When I did actually speak to ****, he told me that he would consider letting me out of my contract if I documented my issues. I sent him a detailed complaint email which he never responded to nor did he respond to any of my follow up emails. My case number is: XXXXXXXX Live Well, Travel More....... **************** ***** *********** (PIPE) President (PIPE) www.luxetravel.com Direct Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX (PIPE) Cell (XXX) XXX-XXXX Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/11/04) */ The 36 month term is clearly stated in her contract and the" 36 month" is in bold print. *********** had multiple conversations with Ms. *****. Ms. *********** had multiple conversations. Tech Support and Accounting had multiple conversations. All of which primarily revolved around her statements that her business was having problems and that her partner problems were not her fault. She simply did not want to meet her contractual obligations. The below is an email from Jacque ***** requesting a settlement. DLS Internet Services, Inc replied with a settlement offer. From: **************** ***** mailto:******@luxetravel.com Sent: Wednesday, October 30, XXXX XX:XX PM To: *********** Subject: *********** Hi ****, I am reaching out to you in hopes of resolving the issue at hand. I feel I was severely overcharged by your company, however, I would be interested in bringing this matter to a mutual resolution. I did reach out to your attorney today and he threaten me with a bad credit report and told me that the amount in question was not even worth going to court over. I'm sure you don't want the liability of a claim with the BBB as I have just reopened the complaint. I know we are both busy people, is there a settlement that can be reached? Live Well, Travel More....... **************** ***** *********** President www.luxetravel.com Direct Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX Cell (XXX) XXX-XXXX DLS Internet Services, Inc. offered a settlement on November 1, 2013 at 8:12 a.m. in the amount of $ 1,161.48 which represents only 75% of the total balance due to fulfill the terms of the signed contract. This value equates to 75% of the monthly fees, in addition to any and all usage fees and/or taxes incurred as you will see by the 5/8/2013 invoice which clearly shows usage on the PBX. DLS Internet Services, Inc. attached all open invoices clearing showing usage on the account. We feel this is a more than generous offer and our goal is to settle this amicably.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on D L S Computer Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)