BBB Accredited Business since

UpCity

Phone: (312) 445-9615 Fax: (312) 268-5383 1021 W Adams Street LL1, Chicago, IL 60607 http://www.UpCity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from UpCity


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that UpCity meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for UpCity include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on UpCity
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2010 Business started: 03/01/2009 Business started locally: 03/01/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Dan Olson, CEO Mr. Jim Holcomb, Director of Partnerships
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Holcomb, Director of Partnerships
Principal: Mr. Dan Olson, CEO
Business Category

Internet Services Internet Marketing Services Computers Hardware, Software & Services All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)


Additional Locations

  • 1021 W Adams Street LL1

    Chicago, IL 60607 (312) 445-9615

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my subscription last year. I suddenly notice a charge of $16.50 on my credit card on 8/28/14. I look closer on my statement and noticed they also charged $4.25 on 7/28/14. These charges are far after my subscription ended and for random amounts. Calls to their company leads to voicemail only. Very unsatisfying and unsettling that my credit card data is still stored in their system and being randomly charged.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund total of $60.75. Their charges of $16.50 and $4.25 + a $20 fee assessed by my bank for each transaction for a total of $60.75.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/05) */ Contact Name and Title:************* Client Servi Contact Phone: ******************************************** Hello, UpCity spoke to this client on the afternoon of 08/29. She had called and left a voicemail which we promptly return. The customer had some confusion regarding her account and had thought she canceled it in April. UpCity had no record of her cancelation request on file. However, as a courtesy, both charges in question were refunded to the customer's credit card that day. In addition, we also offered to refund her a prorated amount of her unused annual subscription. The client was satisfied with this resolution and thanked us for our help. To note, during the course of this conversation, the customer did not make us aware of or ask for any bank related transaction fees to be refunded. Thank you.

12/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a free trial understanding that I would pay $20/month for a subscription if I did not cancel by the end of the trial. I signed up for the free trial on 12/02/13. On 12/08/13 I was charged $119.94. There is some hidden charge here the company did not disclose. The company emailed a note acknowledging that I signed up for the trial, but they did not send any invoice, receipt, or otherwise notify me they would charge this amount. When I call to cancel my account I am forwarded to a voicemail requesting my information instead of a live person.

Desired Settlement: I want my account with this company to be closed, and I want my $119.94 returned to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ************ Director of Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@upcity.com Timeline of events & attempt to resolve misunderstanding leading to the filing of complaint # XXXXXXXX On 10.09.13, Mr. ***** ***** filed a complaint with your agency alleging a fraudulent charge of $119.94 to his credit card for a monthly subscription for Upcity SEO services. Our time-stamped records indicate that Mr. ***** signed up for a 7-day Free Trial on 10.01.13 at 1:04 pm. In his complaint he lists the sign up date as 10.02.13. On our sign up page, it states that recurring payments of $19.99 will begin at the end of the 7-day evaluation period. Unbeknownst to Mr. ***** and Upcity, he had created 5 additional subscription by inadvertently clicking an "Add a Site" button form multiple subscription while signed in and evaluating the application. As per the online agreement, we billed Mr. ***** $119.94 (6 x $19.99) on 10.08.13 for what we assumed were 6 subscriptions that he had create during the Free Trial period. On 10.09.13, Mr. ***** called Upcity shortly after the close of business (5:35 pm) to cancel his account. Because he was unable to speak with someone directly on the phone, Mr. ***** left a voice message letting Upcity know of his displeasure in: 1) being charged more than the $19.99/mo rate he had agreed to as a subscription price and 2) being charged one day earlier than he expected. Feeling that he was being "ripped off," ***** submitted a complaint to the Better Business Bureau on the evening of 10.09.13. At 9:00 am on 10.10.13, ***** ***** in the Upcity billing department, responded to *****'s request to cancel his subscriptions. She explained the situation to David, deactivated his account and refunded his money in full. Later that day, I received notification from the BBB that this complaint had been filed against Upcity. I reviewed the complaint, learned of the misunderstanding of the initial sign up date & inadvertent additions of subscriptions and the resolution of billing that had taken place earlier in the day. I responded to the BBB complaint via the online Response Form and reached out to ***** that afternoon to request the withdrawal of the complaint. ***** did not pick up the phone, so a voice mail was left for him at the number listed (XXX) XXX-XXXX in the BBB complaint. We take any BBB complaint very seriously. We hope that this response resolves the misunderstanding and that the allegations do not affect our rating with your agency. Regards, *** ******* Director of Client Solutins Upcity.com Final Consumer Response /* (450, 7, 2013/12/10) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: UpCity has resolved this issue quickly, and I'm thankful for that. Everything appears to be resolved. It was a misunderstanding, and I would like to withdrawal my complaint. Thank you.

11/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for search engine optimization with Boostability. Soon after I signed a one year contract that did not include automatic renewal, Boostability sold my contract to UpCity. I have never given UpCity my credit card information or agreed to them charging me for the service. After I received notification from my bank of the charge I tried to contact UpCity. The "contact us" link on their website goes to page that says the page is missing. There is a phone number ************ which I called and was directed to an answering machine where I left a message but did not receive a call back. I called during normal business hours. I want this "service" cancelled and my money refunded.

Desired Settlement: I want my $199.00 refunded. I do not want another two years of their service and I did not agree to continue with the company.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2013/11/13) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I received a full refund.