Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hostway.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 238-0125 Fax: (312) 236-1958 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 N Riverside  8th Floor, Chicago, IL 60606 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hostway.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hostway.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hostway.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 16
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hostway.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 1999 Business started: 03/01/1998 Business started locally: 03/01/1998
Business Management
Mr. Nik Bojkov, Customer Service Manager Mr. Robert Boles, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nik Bojkov, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Internet Services Internet Marketing Services Web Design Internet - Web Hosting All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)

Alternate Business Names
Affinity Affinity Internet BroadXchange Dialbug Gate.com Hostway Corporation ValueWeb Way 2 Host Company WinSave
Products & Services

Web hosting for web sites. Customers place their web site files on Hostway's equipment and Hostway provides accessibility and support.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hostway.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 N. State St.
    Suite 1200

    Chicago, IL 60602 (312) 238-0125 (866) 467-8929

  • 100 N Riverside
    8th Floor

    Chicago, IL 60606

  • 425 W Randolph St Ste 800

    Chicago, IL 60606

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been a customer to hostway since 2009. Part of our service agreement included automatic domain registration. This year they failed to auto renew my domain and it was then purchased by another company that wants to sell it back to me for a jacked up price of $450. I was never notified that the automatic renewal had been turned off and when I logged in to the site control for my account, it had listed as one of my services "domain registration". So I had no idea that it was expired until after it had already been purchased by another company. I also was never notified that my site was no longer reachable, I figured it out myself by trying to bring it up one day. When I called hostways customer service, about 2-3 weeks ago, to inform them of the situation they told me that the autorenewal had been switched off by their system and there was nothing they could do to get my domain name back. I then informed them that it had listed under my services "domain registration", and if it had been turned off why was it still listed, or at the very least why wasn't there anything to indicate that I had to take manual steps to renew the domain name. I had never had to do anything since 2009. They claim they sent me an email, which I never received, that said there where problems with the account. But admitted that no were did it state that they would not automatically renew the domain name. My response to them was if you were not going to handle it then why is it listed as part of my service. Interestingly, when I went to back up all my website information today the service "domain registration" was no longer listed. Luckily I took screen shots before they removed it from the list. This has cost my company a lot of money, not only because our website was down during the busiest time for getting new paint jobs. But, also we now have to get a new domain name that will not be ranked as high as our old one, because its new. Which means less visiablity to potential customers

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of all charges since the domain name was lost, and the cost to purchase my domain name back.

Business Response:

On 2/24/2016 our system attempted to renew domain as it was setup with auto-renew, but it failed as the credit card on file was declined. After the payment failure the system automatically disables the auto-renew as there is no valid payment type on file. From that point on its customer`s responsibility to updated payment info and manually renew the domain name.

 

Our system immediately e-mailed the primary e-mail on file *******@aol.com that the renewal had failed due to payment issue. The notice clearly states that all products will cease to function and has clear instructions on how to update payment information and what steps need to be taken in order to renew the domain.

 

We have sent a final expiration notice on 04/09/2016 as well as multiple other notices that the account is past due on 02/25, 04/01. That final notice advises the domain is out of grace period and customer will lose it if action is not taken.

 

Hostway retained the domain for an additional 30 days as part of the domain name’s redemption period where the domain could have been restored but no action was taken on behalf of the customer.

 

The first indication Hostway received that the customer wanted the service was in August – which was 5 months after the domain had expired, even though services had cease to function back in March.

 

All services related to the domain were canceled on 08/26 per the customer’s request and as a gesture of good will we have refunded the last 2 monthly fees, which we are not obligated to as our terms of service clearly state that domain expiration doesn’t automatically cancel any other services.

 

We will be issuing an additional 3 months of refunds as a final gesture of good will due to inconvenience the customer has gone through.

8/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company continued to bill me after I cancelled the Web Hosting service. They contend my account with them involved additional services like emails. When I cancelled the Web hosting service, the email service will no longer work. I'm not aware of any other service provided by the company. As a technology company, they should've known that once the Web hosting service is cancelled the emails will automatically stop working. Secondly, they continued to charge the same amount past the cancellation of Web hosting service. Third, as a customer I have always viewed the email account to be tied to Web hosting and always saw it described as Web hosting service in billing and account statements.

Desired Settlement: Credit my account since the expiration of Web hosting service.

Business Response:

Per Hostway's Master Service Agreement https://www.hostway.com/legal/msa.html:

"Hostway does not monitor, and will not automatically cancel, plans for any problems arising out of or related to domain name transfers, non-usage, ********, your ***, or any other secondary issues not directly related to the Hostway Services. Cancellation of your Hostway Services does not relieve you from paying all outstanding balances owed on your Client Account."

Hostway doesn't commit to monitor hosting usage in part due to the fact that domain names and hosting services may be provided by different companies and still operate as intended, all based on customer preference. Therefor we don't automatically assume that a domain transfer constitutes a cancellation to avoid causing unnecessary downtime and we leave it up to our customers to notify us when they are ready to shut down services.

We only received indication that our hosting services weren't being used on 08/02 via a phone call and we terminated them with that date in effect.

Regardless seeing as the customer has been with us many years - we agree to make an exception in this case to our general policy and refund the last 3 payments processed on the account - totaling: $65.85

This amount will be refunded back and should be back on the customer's card within 3-5 business days.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ********

5/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hostway issued invoices on the 15th of a given month and claims only 10 days later that this invoice is past due 14+ days. The following statement however shows a due day of the 5th day of the second following month - which is more reasonable if payment is made by check and requires processing time. Any invoice issued cannot become past due the following day of the billing date. Obviously - this is an attempt to force us into paying automatically by credit card. However - we made the original decision about 10 years ago to host our websites with ******** - which has been taken over by Hostway - based on having this option. Now Hostway decided to suspend our services - even so their false claims about past due amounts have been formally disputed and all undisputed charges have been paid prior to their respective due dates according to Hostways statements. This is unscrupulous behavior and should not be tolerated by the BBB. Furthermore - during a previous service outage and which required the help of Hostways Technical Support - it came to light that the actual equipment where our websites are hosted on, and for which we pay our monthly charges, is over 10 years old, totally outdated and past its expected service live. This indicates, that Hostway never paid attention to the equipment it is charging us for on a monthly base - and which should have been updated to meet present standards already many years ago. Therefore, I am seeking a refund of all fees paid to Hostway for the period the equipment was already outdated and obsolete.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all fees paid to Hostway for the period the equipment we paid for was already outdated and obsolete by present standards.

Business Response: We’re reviewed the customer’s account thoroughly both in terms of billing and hardware. At the time of suspension (5/4/2016) the customer had two outstanding invoices dated 3/15/2016 (No: *******) and 4/15/2016 (No: *******) respectively. The March invoice was 50 days past due. This was communicated to the customer on 3/25/2016 and 4/27/2016 respectively in writing.  Per our terms of use all invoices issued to customers who choose to pay by check are due 10 days after a service is renewed. Our system doesn’t allow customers to go past the 50 day mark if there are unpaid amounts for services, hence why the account was suspended. The notice the customer is referring to is a statement of activity and shows both total charges for the current service period and an outstanding balance from the previous one. This is something our billing representatives would have explained if they were asked. Nevertheless, as a gesture of good will we have offered the customer 2 weeks of free service. Under normal circumstances we never offer any compensation for service downtime caused due to non-payment.

As far as the hardware goes – Hostway does not modify hardware (including upgrade or update) without a customer’s express consent and direction. The current hardware the customer is on costs 50$ a month (+28$ for software costs) and while it is a legacy offering it is what the customer ordered and has agreed to pay and while the gear is old it is still functional. Our sales team is always available and is more than willing to sell new hardware to any customer that is interested in an upgrade.

Due to all the inconvenience we are however willing to extend our 2 week free time offer to one full month of free service.

11/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up for custom dedicated hosting plan with hostway and entered a 12 month term with them so that they provide satisfactory, hosting needs. But the company was unable to provide satisfactory services. Upon Sign up, their representative *****(*****.*****@***********.com) agreed to provide us 30 days of Free service so that we may evaluate their services. But Despite it being their fault, they are not cancelling the contract we entered up on. We were trying to get our site working with them since day 1 and with in 30 days we had number of issues which were never resolved. After opening many tickets, calling them many times our issues were never resolved. Here is the list of Issues we encountered. 1) DNS Propogation issues: Any changes to DNS settings are said to take effect in 24 hrs.(usually with our previous hosting it was a matter of minutes. We added a google mx record for email setup after postfix(Email Service they installed) was not functional and all of our emails stopped. Our customers were not getting any email from us nor do they get any confirmation emails. due to which we had many claims from customers and many customers cancelled the order. We waited for a week, called repeatedly, emailed many times but the postfix nor the email issue was ever fixed. The DNS record they added never appeared and we could not setup our emails with google apps due to this. 2) Support: Their support was worse. They either didn't have the expertise or i dont know what. Every time i call or open a ticket they either say they cannot do that, contact your system admin or when they fully understand that its their job they say they will update the ticket. but they never solved issues with their service. for example, *** was not accessible from *********, which every hosting provides. it was only accessible over S*** only for users with SSH access. Not all users have those and they have to access via regular ***. but this was never resolved. I signed a contract with them but how can a contract still be valid when their level of unprofessional support and service and the constant issues which were never resolved. In turn I had so much negative effects on our business and our reputation suffered greatly. When I told them to just cancel, the rep said he will contact his team to see how much he will charge cancellation fees. How can he charge cancellation fee when the service provided was so awful and was so much damaging to our business. Why should we not hold hostway liable for the damages to our business and our reputation.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting immediate cancellation of contract and not charge us from the period we requested cancellation. We dont wanna be with the company which is damaging to our business.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ******* - SR.Manager
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ******@hostway.com
Hello,

Firstly I would like to apologize on behalf of Hostway for the issues that you experienced. I am sorry that we could not better address those for you.

I spoke with your sales rep and we will be able to release you from the contract as you requested.

The process for that has begun now. You should be contacted shortly when the cancellation is complete.

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm using the flex cloud server from Hostway. On August 10th, 2015 when I tried to access the website it says 'Database connection error'. I have the same issue in the past 3 months. So I contacted the customer support and they restarted the server. And it looked like it resolved the issue. But after a few minutes, the website was down again. I contacted them again and ask them to resotre the website. They said the current backup file is corrupted and has missing tables so they can't restore it. They even asked me if we have a backup file! I think they are supposed to have a backup file for this kind of emergency situation. What if I don't have it? do I have to abandon my website? Fortunately my developer had a backup file of a month ago. and I gave it the server guy. He tried to import but he couldn't import all the tables in there. It seems like he doesn't know how to do so I suggested him to ask other colleagues but he said he knows how to do. Apparently he couldn't do it and told me to ask my developer to fix it because he knows better. This is certainly server issue. why do I have to ask my developer to fix it only because he can't do it? He was not helpful at all. And we are still losing a lot of money and customers are complaining for 2 days because the website has been down.

Desired Settlement: The issue should be resolved by any means as soon as possible and the compensation for the financial damage during the period that the website didn't work should be provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/10/01) */ After further research and discussions with our customer support operations - The customer experienced database corruption on August 10th resulting in his website going down. Technical support was contacted for assistance. The specific root cause of the database corruption was not determined; however after troubleshooting there were no indications this was caused via Hostway or a failure of the product. Technical support assisted and went out of the scope of support to assist the customer restore his database to ensure customer satisfaction. This issue was resolved. According to our documentation, the customer then experienced another database issue on August 24th however this instance was a result of the hard drive being full. This was resolved same day by assisting the customer with freeing up disk space. We have received notification that the client requests his account to be canceled. Due to the negative experience the client feels he faced, Hostway will process a credit in the amount of $ 26.90 and a refund in the amount of $264.66. Please let me know if you need anything else at this point. ************ Director, Customer Support Hostway Corporation Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It was a fair offer so the management team agreed to accept the offer.

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American mailbox dot com was to expire on 12/09/2014. I had no desire to renew it. I cannot understand why Hostway would renew a domain name 15 days before it was to expire. I guess business must be pretty bad. I received an email on 11/14/2014 from Hostway stating the domain name was set to auto renew on 11/24/2014. I think a 5 day notice is very short to say the least to notified a customer and is very unprofessional. I missed the email. Its hard to believe that you would treat a loyal customer that has been doing business with you from 11/2002 this way. A 20 to 30 day noticed should be in place to protect your customers so circumstances like these can be avoided. The way you treat your customers is pitiful and shameful.

Desired Settlement: Hostway should credit my Discover Card $64.75 and waive $25.00 credit card chargeback fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Email: *************@hostway.com Considering the customer acknowledged that they get their auto renew notice we would only be able to refund them for 4 years worth of renewal and waive the chargeback fee and have the account closed in good standing. We couldn't reach the customer over the phone since the phone number on file was not in service. We'll send him an e-mail confirming the refund total amount- $ 51.80 was refunded back to his card and the 25$ has been waived. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, I did acknowledge I received the auto renew email. The problem I have is this. 5 days notice is to short a time frame. By the time I saw the email, it was too late, it was renewed. When I purchased domain names in the past from Hostway. About 30 days before it was time to renew, I would receive 2 or 3 email reminders to renew. I should not be responsible for any costs or fee's that Hostway incurred when renewing the domain name.

11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our company's **** card was billed on 6/13/14 in the amount of $143.40 for hosting services provided to one of our subsidiary companies - ***** ********** for the upcoming year beginning 6/25/14. We never received an email from Hostway prior to the renewal advising us that our credit card was going to be auto charged and only found this out when our credit card statement arrived. We attempted to dispute the charge with Hostway, but they wouldn't listen. They assert on their web site that they can auto charge credit cards and don't have to advise the customer in advance - that it is the customer's responsibility to notify them 30 days before the account renews. In 40+ years of using c/c, I've never encountered a situation like this before. Other companies advise you in advance of upcoming charges to your c/c. Hostway was obnoxious and uncooperative on the phone when I called them on June 25th and I was getting nowhere, so I asked my credit card company to intercede, which they did. ******* *** promptly credited back the charge of $143.40 and said they felt the matter had been resolved. On 9/17 my husband received an email from Hostway saying that "their records indicate that your account has been closed for nonpayment with a balance of $36.95 still due." It seems they feel justified in charging us a $25 fee for disputing the charge in addition to an $11.95 for a month of service that we didn't use. Further, in their email of 9/17 they threaten "If you do not contact us by 9/30/2014, we will have to conclude that you do not wish to resolve this issue. Your account will then be reported for collections and to the credit bureaus." I sent a follow up email to Hostway today and received another obnoxious response from them as follows: "After reviewing your account (****713861), we would like to confirm that it was closed due to a chargeback on 06/29/2014 and reported for collections. As per our Terms of Use: "Hostway has a zero tolerance policy for chargebacks. Any customer who disputes a credit card payment is subject to a fine, suspension and account termination at Hostway's discretion. A charge of $25.00 per chargeback will be assessed to all accounts that receive a chargeback." The outstanding balance ($36.95) under the account will remain. The amount covers 1 month of services *********** **** Starter Plan $11.95) and the chargeback fee of $25.00." When I tried to address this matter with them again today in an email, their response was: "The records of the phone call associated with the cancellation request on 06/23/2014 indicate that you have decided to keep the account active (which we told them we didn't want to do) and cancel it when it is up for renewal. In addition, you were advised to contact us prior to 06/12/2015, in order to cancel and prevent further charges." More troubling, however, is that my 3 month old granddaughter recently underwent emergency neurosurgery at Children's Hospital (on Sept. 23rd) and has been under a doctor's care since. (I have the records to prove the surgery took place). The last thing on my mind was contacting Hostway by their 9/30 deadline to deal with such a ridiculous issue. Our company's credit rating is extremely important to us and we have worked diligently over the last 7 years to maintain outstanding credit. It's unconscionable to me that a company can attempt to destroy what we've worked so hard for just by using unethical practices and bullying and threatening us. How can a reputable company be allowed to require accounts to be on auto-renewal and then not allow you to cancel the account if you notify them once the charge has hit the card that you no longer need the service? Is there anything at all you can do to help resolve this issue and their attempts at harassment? Can you offer advice as to if or how I should address this with the credit bureaus? I wouldn't think the BBB would want to be associated with such a disreputable company and hope you can help us.

Desired Settlement: They're demanding a payment of $36.95 and threatening to contact the credit bureaus, which they may have already done. We'd like the $36.95 charge to be dismissed and for them to rescind their complaint to the three credit card companies. Additionally, we'd like something in writing from them (or the BBB) confirming that the action we've requested above has been taken.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Email: *************@hostway.com We looked into this case and found that we do have records that the customer called to cancel but had decided to keep it active due to our no-refunds policy.TT# XXXXXXXX Below are the notes the agent took when the call was placed: Caller's First Last Name: **** **** Verified: **** pw Issue: Account cancellation request. The project was going to be temporary closed and customer intended to re initiate it in a couple of months. Troubleshooting steps: As customer wanted to be refunded for the unused period of time, I advised on our cancellation and refund policy. He decided to keep the account active and cancel it when it is up for renewal. I advised him to contact us prior to 06/12/2015, in order to cancel and prevent further charges. At this time, we see no reason to credit the outstanding balance as the service had been provided. We have already made an exception by applying a pro-rated credit for the unused time. The balance due is $36.95 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I've said repeatedly, it is unethical (note I'm not saying illegal, but it crosses a very fine line) for Hostway to require a credit card on file, automatically charge it without notifying the customer in advance that the subscription is up for renewal (you are a web hosting service and certainly have a way to set this up as an auto-reminder), not giving the customer a grace period after the renewal to cancel the charge and then assessing a bogus fee of $25 because the customer contested this issue with the credit card company. This is a despicable business practice and one that I do not want to get ****** into.

11/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hostway notified me of an overdue payment two days after it was overdue. I instructed them to cancel my service, but wasn't notified of an invoice. Due to the service being unused, I paid prior a full year in advance. I was billed for another year automatically, which I received no notification of. Upon receiving an overdue notice invoice, two days after I contacted Customer Service. Customer Service advised they will not refund me or provide a pro-rated charge. My issue with Hostway, is that I received absolutely no notifications that I had an upcoming charge -- I was only notified after the fact.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a pro-rated refund for the service. I understand it was overdue, and I will gladly pay the difference.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/03) */ Contact Name and Title:************** Contact Email: ************************* As a gesture of good will we've issued a prorated refund for the two annual charges. He should have those within 3-5 business days.

8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out of their web hosting and domain name services in October of 2013. I have NO SERVICE with them of any kind. I got it cancelled then and there itself. Now, they send me a bill for $99 and ask me to pay that amount. They are saying they'll send the bill to collection agency if I won't pay. I want them off my back and out immediately and cancel any DUES as they've NOT PROVIDED me any service since last October. BTW, the amount they are going to send to collection agency is for the billing period of "Recurring fee Windows Mach 1, tgensol.com 07/01/2014 through 06/30/2015". A FUTURE SERVICE THAT THEY ARE GOING TO CHANRGE NOW. I called and GOT the cancellation service with confirmation #XXXXXXXX and I HAVE NO NEED TO PAY for a FUTURE SERVICE AFTER I GOT IT CANCELLED.

Desired Settlement: CLOSE the account and no dues or no BILLs to PAY. I don;t want them to send me any threatening emails or invoices again any time. I am NOT going to PAY for a fee for a FUTURE service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Email: *************@hostway.com We will make an execption for this case and close the account and credit the balance due.

6/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted gate.com on December 30 to unlock my domain and cancel my hosting services due to I was changing hosting companies. The tech support agent of their company said the domain is unlock and would take care of canceling the hosting service. Now an june 04 2014 we receive a bill from a collection agency of age for nonpayment of 99.50 for a renew of the hosting account on XX-XX-XXXX when this account already has been requested to be canceled back in December way before the renewal. Now after contacting gate.com the will nonage the call but claim that their representative did not process the cancelation only the unlocking the dns. Wen contacted about this issue they claim it is not there problem that their representative did not cancel the account and that a paymeant of $99.50 is due but if paid since the account has been canceled for non payment (a amount that is not due since the account was suppose to be canceled in December of 2013) they will prorate the amount for 3 months for a charge of $29.80. I see these practices as deceptive business practices and cannot see how they can try to renew a account after it has been requested to be canceled and bill someone for unwanted service ( if the account was not canceled when requested in 12/2013 this company should take responsibility for their employee not following through and canceling the account as requested instead they deny having a record of it and want the customer to pay for their employees mistake) I find these business practices to be fraudulent and deceptive.

Desired Settlement: withdraw of fraudulent renewal bill

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Email: *************@hostway.com It looks like this customer did try to cancel. We will waive the balance and remore the account from collections.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August, 2010 I had canceled the Internet Service provided by Hostway Corporation, and I ordered service from another company. The Price was $21.95 per month. They continued to charge my debit card until it expired on December 2014. The payments continued for a duration of 40 months. The amount billed was 40 times $21.95, equaling to $878.00. They notified me via email, stating that I stopped the payments for their services. I was surprised. I called them, and at that point discovered that they continued to charge me for their services. I called the Hostway customer service and asked about these payments. The representative said they continue to charge my Debit card even when they knew they stopped giving me their services. He agreed to stop the payments, but refused to give me a refund for the 40 months. I disputed to my Bank and they refunded me for 2 months, and so I send an email to Hostway requesting the rest of the money, $834.10. They refused, and intimidated me by referring my account to collection companies and impact my company record.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of $21.95 per month for a duration of 38 months of payment, totaling to $834.10, for no service provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Email: *************@hostway.com There has beenno contacts from the customer from 11/08/2010 up until 01/27/2014 when they contacted us to cancel, wanting a refund for 5-6 years going back. Per TOU Hostway doesn't monitor usage and non usage doesn't constitute an account cancellation and is by no means grounds for a refund. Services were rendered, regardless if they were being used or not. Unless the customer can provide proof that they canceled in 2010 (cancellation confirmation number etc.) we can't issue a refund. This was all explained in writing and by a supervisor in Jan 2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company didn't send me any invoice. If the company had sent an invoice I would not need my debit card to expire in order to know that they had charged me for no service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/17) */ All invoices are available online - Hostway doesn't send them automatically for customers that have auto pay, especially for monthly fees. Services are self managed - we provide the ability to use our services, whether the customer uses them or not is up to him, but that doesn't mean services weren't rendered - any data they had was stored on our servers up until the account was closed for non payment.

6/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hostway has been charging our expired amex since 2011 for services that were not used. Spoke with them today although they admitting to having an expired card and not providing services refused to refund. Per Amex allowing a company that has a reoccurring charge to continue is a courtesy to their client so there is no interruption in services. In our case we have been charged a total $781.20 between January of 2011 to October of 2013. I wasn't able to look back and see how much we had been charged prior to that for services NOT rendered. We switched to network solutions which hostway verified has been in charge of our domain name. This is beyond a scam. Amex is disputing the last three charges for 10/25/2013 $59.85, 01/22/2014 $59.85 and 4/22/2014 $59.85 totaling $179.55 and placing a block on future purchases. Additionally, the only way the company itself would let us cancel today is with the account number (which we do not have), password (which can only be reset via an email account that is no longer used) or last four of the credit card (which expired in 2011).

Desired Settlement: We are seeking settlement on the form of a refund for the amount of $658.35 which is the total $781.20 minus the $59.85 from 10/25/2013 that is being disputed. Both Dr Fisher and I remember canceling our acct with hostway and what a hassle it was when we switched to network solutions but conveniently hostway has no record of it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Email: *************@hostway.com There are no records of them advising us that they will be switching (or that they had switched) providers, until they called in on 06/10/2014. The last time they called was on 11/27/2012 to check their account status. None usage doesn't constitute an account cancellation, nor does pointing the domain elsewhere. Unless they can provide proof that they contacted us to cancel when they claimed they did we can't accommodate such a large refund request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is ridiculous to me that you are blatantly admitting to "NON usage" and charging for services NOT rendered but will not reimburse. ESPECIALLY considering you have been charging our EXPIRED credit card. I understand we lost the EMAIL confirmation that says we cancelled our account that is our fault sure. Knowing that we have not used your services and acknowledging that, what kind of business charges people for service not rendered?! SCAM. From what I am reading there are several complaints like this on the BBB website. Perhaps we all need to band together to get properly refunded and or make sure that your company changes its "terms and conditions". What a joke. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/17) */ A domain elsewhere doesn't mean the old services get closed - customers often use them for different periods of time as backup. It's a self managed service, we don't monitor usage, if a customer wants to cancel we can cancel them at any time. Again, if they can provide proof that they canceled we can refund them - if not services were rendered - regardless if they were being used or not (same as cable TV - you still pay for it even though you're not watching it 100% of the time). We provide the ability to use our services - whether the customer uses them is up to him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) That's ridiculous. The fact remains our card was charged for TWO YEARS AFTER it is expired on the ASSUMPTION we were still using your service even though you had notification that we were not. Your company even admitted that they could see we had not used YOUR services and who it was transferred to and when. Poor customer service and ethics on your part.

6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Kennewick, Washington and have been continually harassed to pay for web service I initially requested by phone to be cancelled back in August 2013 as due to time constraints I could no longer support the organization the web site was being used for. I was told by Hostway that they had a 'no refund' policy I would not receive any refund as my account did not expire until March 2014. I told them I did not care; just do not automatically renew it in March 2014. I was assured the correct department would be contacted. My web site service was actually established with another company which I had a great relationship with. Unfortunately Hostway purchased this company and assumed my account. To say the least Hostway has been the worst company I have ever had to do business with from their technical support staff who couldn't to a billing staff that wouldn't accept 'cancel my account' as a course of action. Because of this deplorable relationship with Hostway I had a feeling back in August 2013 that Hostway had no intention of honoring my request for service to be terminated in March 2014. Fortunately in late 2013 I caught a break, if being a victim of credit card fraud can be considered a break, my card hard to be cancelled. In the back of my mind I realized this would prevent Hostway from automatically renewing the service I had asked to be terminated. Sure enough by mid-March 2014 I started getting harassing email's from Hostway that I owed them money. I called them to remind them I had asked for the service to be terminated back in August 2013. They denied any such call, as they are now denying the call in March 2014. This month they sent a credit agency after me. I responded to this agency about whether they really wanted to be an accessory to Hostway's attempted fraud. I have not heard back from this credit agency. I have not lost any money to Hostway. What I am asking you folks to do is help Hostway understand that 'no' means 'no' and cancel my account as I requested back in August 2013.

Desired Settlement: Hostway cancelling my account. A letter to the credit agency they use to tell them to back off.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Email: *************@hostway.com As a goodwill gesture, we will waive the balance and take account off collections. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for how quickly you resolved this issue. I simply wanted Hostway to cancel my account. They seemed to have a problem doing that until you all intervened. Thank you again.

6/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I live in Mountain View, CA and I am continually being harassed with the threat of a web service that I requested several times to cancel my account sending my account to a collection agency. I have in the past asked many times to have the account closed, starting before any payments were due. What recourse do I have? They simply deny I canceled and keep adding more charges to a bill that I do not owe and will not pay. I have not used their service in a very long time since before any additional charges were due and their support department destroyed my nonprofit educational site and could not fix it for a month. I asked the company to cancel the agreement, and I was told the correct department would be contacted to close the account. I thought that was the end of it until I started getting billed for recurring services. I had many communications with the company months ago but they seem to keep forgetting previous conversations. When I called them a long time ago they denied any previous requests to close the account! Now they keep adding to the bill. I do not know what to do, and I cannot have the nonprofit pay for services that were suppose to be canceled! Below is the last threat for sending my account to a collection agency. I do not even really understand how much they say I owe. Hope you can help me. Respectfully, **** **** ************ ********** Dear: ****, **** Our records indicate that we have not received payment for the following invoices listed below: Invoice #: XXXXXXX Date: 2014-03-04 Status: Unpaid Amount Due:$ 87.45 Date Type Description Amount 2014-03-04 credit Discount for core.plan.linux.unixstandard $ 12.05 2014-03-04 charge Recurring fee Unix Standard Hosting, educateusa.com 03/04/2014 through 03/03/2015 $ 99.50 Please contact us at the phone number listed below to discuss your payment options. If you do not contact us by 2014-06-30, we will have to conclude that you do not wish to resolve this issue. Your account will then be closed and our only recourse will be to report your account for collections. Thank you for your attention to this matter. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us again. Sincerely, Gate Service X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm ET Saturday and Sunday: Closed NOTICE: This email and any files transmitted are confidential and/or legally privileged and intended only for the person(s) directly addressed. If you are not the intended recipient, any use, copying, transmission, distribution, or other forms of dissemination is strictly prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please notify the sender immediately and permanently delete the email and files, if any.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay $100+ for a service that destroyed my nonprofit educational training site after they had caused it to break, the account was suppose to have been canceled, the service was not used, and which keeps getting billed additional charges. I am really getting too old for this sort of thing. I don't want to talk to them again because they do not care and deny that I have tried to stop the service before any funds were due. I can not afford to go to court for nonpayment. Please help me. Respectfully, **** ****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Email: *************@hostway.com As a goof will, we'll credit the outstanding balance and not go to collections. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for your support. I just wish it had not come to this point. I now expect this entire unfortunate issue to have been fully resolved to the point where I will no longer be billed by or have future contact with this company. Respectfully, **** ****

5/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I logged into their website and went to charge my customers charge card for one year of domain for $12.95 only to find out they already charge the card for 5 years of domain service for $64.75. So i called my customer to have them call their credit card company and Refuse the Charge. Now the company is telling me that they will be charging $25 becuase we did that even though they refused to fix the problem themselves.

Desired Settlement: I want them not to charge my customer anything more than what they already paid for $12.95 for the 1 year domain. Which we already paid for the same day.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2014/05/20) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: They have completely satisfied my complaint, although if they would have told me that my customer choose to renew their "email" addresses for 5 years in the first place then this wouldn't have been an issue. My customer didn't know the there was a difference between website domain and email address domain.

4/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a website with this company for 10+ years. i found a new service provider that was half the cost, so i moved my service to the new company, and they continued to charge me, over a year after i left. they used to send an email stating that they successfully charged me and my service was renewed, but after i left they stopped sending them and kept charging my credit card so i did not notice until we went back and were going over our credit card charges.

Desired Settlement: i would like my money returned to me that they took after they stopped providing me a service, and would like my account closed so they cannot charge me again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Contact Email: *************@hostway.com The domain in question mustanglover.net was transferred out on 1/8/13 but the hosting plan was not cancelled. Just transferring a domain does not constitute a cancellation of your hosting plan. According to our "Terms of Use" (http://www.hostway.com/legal/terms_of_use.html). "Domain name registrations and Web hosting accounts are handled by separate entities. In the event you need to cancel, you must specify whether you would like to cancel your domain name only, your hosting plan only, or both your domain and hosting accounts. The cancellation or expiration of your domain name does not automatically terminate your hosting account (or vice versa). If at any time you elect to manually renew any of your services (in whole or in part), you then become responsible for all future renewals of such services unless and until you notify Hostway otherwise." "Hosting plans will automatically renew until a plan is cancelled. In order to cancel service, you must contact Hostway's Customer Relations Team, Monday through Friday, 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Central Time, at (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX). Hostway's Customer Relations Specialists will assist you with the cancellation process. Please be aware that there are no pro-rated refunds after the first 30 days of service. Non-US customers may contact Hostway's Billing Team via email at .Cancellation requests must be received by Hostway a minimum of thirty (30) days prior to the end of your Billing Cycle. Cancellations submitted later than this time may result in automatic renewal of your hosting plan for the next Billing Cycle. Cancellations become effective on the day processed by Hostway. Hostway is unable to cancel your account effective for a future date. Hostway does not monitor, and will not automatically cancel, plans for problems related to domain name transfers, non-usage, Internic, your ISP, or any other secondary issues not directly related to Hostway's services. Cancellation of services does not relieve the customer from paying any outstanding balance owed on the account. Hostway Services, Inc reserves the right to cancel any account, at any time, without notice, for any reason Hostway Services, Inc considers appropriate." In order to cancel your account you must our Customer Service X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

4/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hostway makes it very difficult to cancel their hosting services. I have documentation in regards to conversations with the company when I attempted to cancel the services. Upon initial contact with the company to cancel, I was put on hold to be transferred to the billing department. Once placed on hold, after some time the phone call drops. This chain of events happened on three separate occasions. I then went to the online chat room to explain what happened and they told me to call customer service. A vicious cycle.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the services not needed from August 2012 totaling: $359.82 this does not include any taxes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* Supoprt Contact Email: *************@hostway.com We spoke to the customer today and the account was closed as per our cancalltion policy. We told the customer that before any cancalltion we need to verify owners and make sure they have backup of their files before terminating services. In this case we could not do so and as such left the account open. We informed her that none of the agents that work for us would deliberately hang up the phone when talking to a customer and that there has not been a phone call to us since 2012 except for the chat session dated 2/7/2013. So cancellation was never put in effect. We gave the customer a credit of $19.95 for the last month of service but can not issue a credit for the $359.82 she is requesting. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because this is the "canned" answer they read from a script. Believe me when I tell you I tried to cancel the services on more than one occasion, if you need proof, I will provide it. They deliberately make it difficult to cancel so the consumer gives up. I am not the first person who has complained about this type of policy with Hostway. There are many complaints on line. 4/1/14 I have three pdf documents to submit, but was only able to upload one. They are pertinent to the case. Is there an email address I can send them to? Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/04/07) */ The customers rebuttal simply states what we have stated before, which was that in order to cancel service the customer must call our billing dept.Per our Terms of Service, a refund can not be issued with this case.

4/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We changed our DNS name servers away from Hostway in January. But they still continue to bill us for service we are not using or receiving from them. I made them aware of the over billing. They refused to accept the notification I made through their secure trouble ticket system. Instead they demanded that I jump through even more hoops and make the effort to call them to tell them they are over billing me. I find that ridiculous.... Just correct the billing. It is obvious our domain is not pointing to them. And the day it happened can easily be verified on that side.

Desired Settlement: Jan, Feb, March, April refund for domain *****************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* ******* Contact Email: *************@hostway.com We spoke to this customer several times yesterday via email and chat. In both instances, we advised the customer that in order to cancel service with Hostway you must call us to complete the verification process. This required security step is necessary for their protection. A quick call is needed to ensure all appropriate services are closed, any necessary files are backed up and to make sure your request is correctly understood and processed. Just moving your service to another DNS does not constitute a cancellation. We encourage you to check our Terms of Use through the below link:************************************************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Its not hard to figure out what services are being closed. It should be very well understood at this point. If I needed files to be backed up I would have asked for it. A quick and simple refund of the charges that were billed (even though it wasn't being received) I made the request AFTER I logged into their "secure" site with user name and pass code. I am verified. Process it. And refund what you have over billed. Its that simple..... ***************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/10) */ We understand your need to cancel over email but unfortunately we can not do that. We must verify your identity through several factors and that can only be done over the phone per our Terms of Usage. In order to cancel your account you will have to call our customer service department and they will be happy to help you cancel your account. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My identity was verified when I logged on to hostway site and entered user name and password......(just like waht you would ask for over the phone) and communicated through the hostway "secure" site that you'll were over billing me for a service I was not reeiving. My identity is verified here via my BBB complaint. It is obvious ***************** is not being hosted by hostway. So hostway should obviously stop charging me for a service I am not getting and have not gotten since January. The cancellation has been done in writing. Identity verified.... ********** - *********** Simply refund the amount that was over billed

3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please refer to Case ID#: XXXXXXXX, Hostway did transfer our website to their newest, as they said, server. After I signed off BBB case, the server went horribly slow again. I wrote Hostway again for other possible solution. They suggested to have VPS (Virtual Private Server) instead. I gave them a permit to do it because whatever they did to improve loading speed never worked. After they assigned a service, they have emailed me to contact their tech support to get help migration. Their share hosting tech support told me he could not help. And said I had to contact VPS tech support to get help. I called to another number he gave to get help. They said they can do migration but we have to pay. I explained why I wanted to transfer to VPS. She transferred me to sales department to get price. The rep in sales department couldn't give price and transferred me to the first place I called. The tech support I talked to last time asked me list of questions because I questioned and asked for a guarantee in writing for No-Data-Loss because I experienced too many times with Hostway service that session got timed out. He also said even though we transferred our server to VPS, we will use same Database server. I questioned if that would make any loading speed difference. He didn't answer. We have purchased whatever they suggested, and trying to resolve this issue. However, it seems like they just try to sell something without trying to resolve.

Desired Settlement: We asked third party to resolve this issue and received a quote for $15,000 to transfer our server to any service provider we wish. We want Hostway to take the cost unless they want to guarantee transferring server to their VPS+fastes MySQL server, no-data-loss, and future loading speed with their VPS

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Support Operation Contact Email: *************@hostway.com WE've spoken with the customer and we are going to help his with the migration of his current content. We are going to waive the $150 fee for this and will migrate his content free of charge.

2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just found out that I'm being charged of a service that I did not subscribe or use. From 03/05/2013 to 02/05/2014. It's 13 months already that you guys keep me charging of $9.95. The total now is $129.35 Please credit back this to my account. I don't know what's this is for. I don't need this (Newsletter Broadcast Premium: Recurring fee Newsletter Broadcast Premium.) Account Information: abcleaguesXXXXXX Invoice Number: XXXXXXX Invoice Date: 02/05/2014 Invoice Amount: $ 35.85

Desired Settlement: The total now is $129.35 Please credit back this to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Support Operation Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@hostway.com The customer already spoke to us on 2/6/13. During that conversation,he stated that he wanted a refund for the whole period he was using Newsletter Broadcast Premium services, because he did not know he had it and he did not need it. We explained that we can not refund all the charges for the Newsletter Broadcast Premium, because he ordered this service when he opened the account with us. Also, explained that this is a self managed service. He was transferred to a supervisor which then gave him a refund of $35.85 and closed the account.

1/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As I described above, Hostway keeps coming back with same answer of "there are no issue of speed". we are receiving complaints via emails and calls everyday. We did our own test and it takes more than a minute to load one page, Hostway came back with test result of "no issue". We email them to run tests during peak hours, but Hostway always runs test during off peak hours like between 1 to 5 AM when almost none of my clients are online. We complained about the speed over one year, but Hostway kept suggesting to upgrade our service or change servers or upgrade cache memory. They did upgrade cache memory and changed server but there was no difference. Yesterday, we received a email and a phone call from one of our client complaining the loading speed because it blacked out and the session timed out during check out. This is not only case we get calls about session time out during check out. It embarrassed out clients because their session was timed out while their money was being processed. This is very serious issue for eCommerce but Hostway just doesn't take it serious other than just saying "it loads fine" with test ran at 5 in the morning.

Desired Settlement: we want Hostway to fix this speed issue immediately and guarantee the loading speed in writing. If they fail to provide proper speed, we want them to take technical and financial responsibility to migrate our website to other company's service we are appointing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@hostway.com We see that the customer did contact us about this issue in the past (TT XXXXXXXX). We are going to send this issue up to our Systems team so they can investigate this issue further. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2014/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/01/27) */ Good Afternoon *********, I would like to provide you with an update on the attached BBB case. Looks like this customer had some issues starting in October of 2013 with their site loading slowly. His site (***************.com) makes extensive use of a db and there may have been some issues with that. From what I can see in the ticket history we were finally able to resolve this on 11/11/2013 and we contacted this customer via ticket #XXXXXXXX. We were not able to reach this customer directly to determine if they have any more ongoing issues with the site, however it seems to be loading fine on our side. We left our name and our EMT line with a secretary. A quick time line below : 10/28/2013 : issue reported 11/08/2013 : customer called for a follow up 11/08/2013 : customer was advised the issue was not correctly escalated and will be worked on immediately 11/11/2013 : customer notified of successful resolution to the issue. Naturally if the customer still wishes to leave that is there option, but we have not had any further negative contact since Nov 11 of last year. For good measure we called the customer again on 1/24/14 and provided updated contact info in case the customer still does have an issue they can reach us directly.

11/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company bills your credit when your not with them this is fraud.In 2011 we cancel with this company and they still charge my credit card. Since I cancel my account in 2011 they still charge my credit card went with 1+1 and they would not transfer the ************** to them I had to get a new address ************** This is a very bad company.

Desired Settlement: Take the charge off my card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/11/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Email: *************@hostway.com We tried to call the customer on Friday. Unfortunately, we were unable to reach him, so we sent an email request for verification, so that we can cancel the account (TTXXXXXXXX). The customer replied and provided correct verification. The account was closed and a full refund for the annual fee was issued. An email confirmation was sent to the customer as well.

10/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** cancelled its service with Gate in Jan 13 (moved domain and website to ************* Gate has no record of the call, but does have a record of the domain being transferred. On 9/27/13, Gate sent a bill to ********* for service from 9/27/13 to 9/26/14 - saying it was overdue. I immediately contacted them by e-mail to say the service was cancelled. They replied that I must contact them by phone to cancel. After several attempts to reach them by phone, I finally spoke to someone on 10/9/13. They stated that ***** needed to cancel 30 days prior to the bill date to not be charged for the next year's service. This is unfair because ***** was not provided with a bill or notice prior to the due date (as if to ensure that customers get stuck paying for service they don't want). It is also unfair because they are now billing ***** for future service (web hosting) that they will not be using (since the account was officially cancelled on 10/9). This is an unfair billing practice by Gate.com and it's parent company, Hostway. Note that I am submitting this complaint on behalf of the owner of ********* as she is incapacitated - contact me for specific details if needed. **** ****** for **** ************

Desired Settlement: cancel the unfair bill as billed services will not be provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Email: *************@hostway.com The account is currently closed but there is still a balance of $99.50. The reason there is still a balance is because the account was not closed within our 30 day policy per out TOU. The customer contacted us on 9/30 when we sent an overdue bill, stating that the account should be closed. We advised the customer that we have no record of any cancellation request. Customer notified us that they moved service to ******** in which we stated that just moving services does not automatically cancel your service with Hostway. In order to cancel service we need the customer to call us in order to verify the account. The customer called us on 10/9 and cancelled the service and we again stated that the balance is still due because the account was not cancelled within our 30 day cancellation policy. Unfortunately, in this case we cannot remove the balance due. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 2 problems with this written response: 1) this response does not reflect good customer service nor does it show honest business practices. Don't say you "cannot remove the balance due." when the fact is in the name of customer service you can very well do that. 2) this response does not match the resolution that '***' from hostway and I reached earlier this evening. *** offered as a courtesy to reduce the balance due to one month's worth of service ($9.95), which I paid so that Ms. ****** can deal with her health issues instead of worrying about this. If this BBB written response is revised to match the deal that *** offered, and I accepted and paid on behalf of Ms. ******* then I will consider this acceptable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/10/11) */ Our apologizes regarding the resolution. The response to the bbb was done was done prior to your resolution. The resolution you made with *** will be honored, sorry for the confusion.

10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used their services since 2006 - year-to-year and later month-to-month Web Hosting Services. Their business went from bad to worse in the last year so I decided not to renew my month-to-month subscription on 07/09/13. After not renewing the service, they deactivated the services but still kept charging me for the services demanding my return. Now I received a letter from Collecting Agency that openly threatens to ruin my Credit Score if I don't pay. I called Gate.com but they were not cooperating, telling me I have to cancel the renewal (without explaining how to cancel something I did not order).

Desired Settlement: Immediately cease all fraudulent attempts to collect directly and indirectly through Collecting Agency. Small Claims Court case will be files otherwise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Contact Email: *************@hostway.com Since the customer stated in their BBB complaint that they decided not to renew their service past 07/09/2013, we decided that as a good will gesture we could make an exception. We spoke to the customer via our chat. He was explained that we could credit the charge for the period 07/10/2013 through 08/09/2013, but the charge for 06/10/2013 through 07/09/2013 will still be due. Customer agreed to pay for that month, and stated he would be sending us a check payment. We will apply a credit for the second charge once the check is received and will remove the customer from collections once payment is collected.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hostway.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart