This business is not BBB accredited.

Communikate

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 760-5176 PO Box 1439, Deerfield, IL 60015 http://www.katewwdb.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Communikate include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Communikate
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2010
Business Category

Internet Services All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Communikate has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3000 Lakeside Dr Ste 300N

    Bannockburn, IL 60015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1439

    Deerfield, IL 60015

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Communikate has a very elusive many in dealing with customers. Their help phone number doesn't have anyone to talk to. They have a help support section on the site. I placed requests of how to stop service prior to commencing new billing cycle without response. Not until I left a phone msg did they send an email again after the billing cycle started stating I had to fax stop letter and I would be billed 6 months service for early termination. If they had responded to my initial help requests I may have been able to respond in time. Instead they strong arm you for 6 month payment by not acknowledging initial request or answering how to stop until after billing cycle. A great scam to earn extra income. My request for termination wasn't acknowledged by communikate only 3 days after the billing cycle.

Desired Settlement: For Communikate to have a process for people to cancel service other than their current elusive ways of simulating customer support. I would like the 6 month early termination fee refunded to my card. I want positive confirmation other than a chat box message that my account will not be charged again.

6/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I subsribed to Communikate on 9/10/2014 as a part of joining Amway. My account number was: XXXXXXXX. My Communikate phone number was: (XXX) XXX-XXXX. I left the business a month or two later. When I did this I cancelled my ***** account and proceded to cancel my Communikate account as well as it is a separate entity. Their contract information on their website http://www.onekate.com/ is very vague and I discovered why. Through email, I was directed to an online chat room where I spoke to a representative and cancelled my account. I did not receive and email confirming my cancellation, I assumed that was fine because I was clearly told my account was canceled (they have records of this). On 11/14/14 I recieved another billing statement. They had charged me the month before (at which time the account was already closed to my knowledge) and did NOT send me a billing statement. The 11/14/14 billing statement only included that month, they failed to notify or give me a reciept for charging me the month before (the month after my supposed "cancellation"). After I recieved this email, I demanded a refund (I do indeed have these emails saved). They redirected me to another online chat window. When I spoke to the representative, he/she stated that they had NO records of my previous conversation in which I believed I had cancelled my account. I was sure of it, but 36.95 wasn't worth the trouble so I asked for a refund and for him to cancel my account. He/she stated (and again, they do have records of this) that they could not refund me because I had not officially closed my account. I said fine as long as they closed my account and I asked them to send me a confirmation email. At the very end of the conversation, I started to list off their malpractices and how I had definitely cancelled my account. I said I have emails to prove this (they aren't conclusive, I just wanted to see how they would respond) at which point the chat window closed and my browser "unexpectedly quit." It seemed suspicous, but I did not waste my time on it. I did not receive a confirmation of cancellation email, which should have been a red flag. The next month, Decemeber, they again charged me while failing to send me a billing statement or notify me in any way. In january, they did the same. I did not realize they were doing this until I recieved an email on January 20th, 2015 stating that they were unable to charge my credit card in the amount of 36.95. Busy with schoolwork, I did not get around to dealing with this until March 10th, 2015. On this date I chatted online with a Communikate representative for the third time. I detailed my previous problems, and the rep was very helpful. This time, they DID say that they had records of my previous cancellation. They refunded me $73.90 for the time inbetween when I had last attempted to cancel and the current date. I DID receive an email confirmation of this refund. I asked to officially close my account as it should have been done before. The rep did indeed close my account. When I got a confirmation of the refund, they did not give me confirmation of my account closure. So I emailed them and asked if my account was officially closed. They responded by saying: "Thank you for contacting Customer Care. We are very sorry to lose you as a customer. Your account is closed." On April 10th, 2015 I got another billing statement of 36.90 and on that billing statement it they said they had recieved a payment of 73.90 from me as well. I emailed back on May 4th, 2015 asking to get in contact with another representative. I received an automatic response back. I emailed again (a lengthy email) demanding to get in touch with a representative. No response. I sent another email on May 8th, 2015 to try and resolve the issue. No response. This company is used by ****** a company committed to their morals. I should not be subject to financial abuse by a partner corporation.

Desired Settlement: The settlement which I am seeking is a full refund from the first time I attempted to cancel my account. I was at one point awarded a $73.90 refund, which was apparently taken back according to the most recent billing statement recieved on April 10th, 2015. The amount I am asking for is $258.30. This number was taken from the month charge (36.90) multiplied by the months I was charged in when my account should have been cancelled (October 2014-April 2015). I also ask that ***** be notified of this settlement and their business malpractices.

4/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for the Communi**** service in late November or Early December of 2014, corresponding with becoming an IBO with an Multi Level Marketing Company. However at the beginning of January I cancelled my IBO account due to financial reasons and received a refund for most services as I was within my initial 90 days. As this service was associated with my IBO, I wrongly assumed that this service would be cancelled as well. However I found out in February that I was still being billed for the service which I had not used in over a month. I attempted to email in as by this point I no longer knew my log in information, **** phone number or associated email. On 2/19/15 I sent an email (Ticket # XXXXXX)containing my account number and requested my account be cancelled with any charges since January to be refunded. They responded on 2/20 to inform me per their terms and conditions the account could not be cancelled via email and I would need to chat, mail or fax my request to cancel. However in order to fax or mail I would need my***** number which I did not have nor did they provide in their return email. I attempted to see if I could find a customer service number that would help but did not see anything on their website or google. From here I tried to find my***** number so I could cancel but was unable to find and lost track of time. I received a new statement from them today reminding me that I still had not resolved this account. I contacted them via the online chat and was able to cancel my account. I requested a refund for the charges since January as the account was not in use and they stated they do not issue refunds per their terms and conditions. They have structured their service and terms in such a way to capitalize on consumers as information on cancellation, process and information needed is not easily found or provided. Cancelling a service over chat is extremely unusual for most businesses, especially considering they would not accept cancellation via email. I could understand a no refund policy of cancelling the service was easy and well explained. However under the current model their operation seems like a scam, by making cancelling such an unusual and your account information all but impossible to look up or recover, they are keeping people billed, then when they finally do figure out all the information to cancel they don't issue refunds.

Desired Settlement: A Refund of the charges I had received since I stopped using the provided services in January, totalling $65.85.

12/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a bundle package through ***.com for which Communikate was included in this package. When ***.com discontinued using Communikate as their voicemail service I was unaware that I would be billed separately as when *** discontinued I was no longer able to log in to this account. When attempting to contact customer care there is no one to speak to and the representative via "Chat" option was unwilling to give a credit.

Desired Settlement: I seeking reimbursement for improper billing practices.

6/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account Number: XXXXXXXX Payment Amount $36.95 Service Phone Number (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of the additional charges made to my credit card ending in *****

2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SO I SIGNED UP WITH THIS COMPANY AND THE FIRST MONTH WAS FREE, AFTER THE MONTH WAS OVER THEY TRIED TO CHARGE ME AND THE THEY DID NOT PROCESS THE MONEY AFTER THAT,THE SERVICE WAS NOT WORKING. I WOULD TRY TO USE THE SERVICE AND IT DIDN'T WORK. I GOT IN TOUCH WITH THE COMPANY AND CANCELED. I THEN CHECKED MY BANK ACCOUNT I NOTICED I WAS MISSING A WHOLE LOT OF MONEY AND IT SAID IT WAS TAKEN OUT BY THAT COMPANY SO I GOT IN TOUCH WITH THE COMPANY IN REGARDS TO THIS MATTER THEY REFUSED TO GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK. I NEED THIS MONEY. IT WAS MINE AND I DID NOT AUTHORIZE THEM TO TAKE $111.60 OUT OF MY ACCOUNT. I NEED SOMETHING TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS. MY BANK WILL NOT HELP ME AND THE COMPANY WILL NOT GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK. YOU ARE MY ONLY HOPE.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD JUST LIKE FOR YOU TO PUT THE MONEY BACK FROM WHERE YOU TOOK IT FROM.

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Attempted to cancel account, was unable to do so over the weekend and was still charged. I obliged according to their terms and conditions. I made an attempt to cancel my account prior to the billing date, but their office was closed for the weekend. the proceeded to charge me at the billing date over the weekend, a period for which i was unable to cancel my account. There is no clause of this sort stated in their billing terms and conditions and accuse them of fraudulent business practice. they are unwilling to reimbursed me the additional charge to my account.

Desired Settlement: a refund of my membership fee of 36.95 would suffice.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Communikate
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart