BBB Accredited Business since

Elliott's Web Inc

Phone: (312) 274-0700   http://www.elliottsweb.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Elliottsweb Inc. is a web design and internet marketing company which provides web development and management services for commercial customers. This company serves downtown Chicago and the greater Chicagoland area, including Joliet, Aurora, Schaumburg, Crystal Lake, Naperville, Downers Grove, Des Plaines, Prospect Heights, Arlington Heights, Palatine, Wheeling, Buffalo Grove, Elk Grove Village, Rolling Meadows, Franklin Park, Schiller Park, Skokie, Niles, Lincolnwood, Wilmette, Winnetka, Evanston, Park Ridge, Elmhurst, Villa Park, Lombard, St Charles, Geneva, Batavia, Dundee Township, Carpentersville, Bolingbrook, Romeoville, and Wheaton. Services available from this company include web design, graphic design, website development, web hosting, Search Engine Optimization, internet marketing, e-commerce set-up and assistance, and technical support.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elliott's Web Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elliott's Web Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elliott's Web Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2000 Business started: 08/18/1997 Business started locally: 08/18/1997 Business incorporated 07/12/2010 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Elliott, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Elliott, President
Business Category

Internet Marketing Services Web Design Internet - Web Hosting Social Media Advertising/Marketing Agencies Managed Print Service Multimedia Computers - Graphics Computers - Multimedia Graphic Designers Search Engine Optimization Services Marketing Consulting Services (NAICS: 541613)

Alternate Business Names
38.com Elliottsweb.com

Additional Locations

  • 223 W. Erie St Ste 7SW

    Chicago, IL 60654

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company hired Elliott's Web to design a website for us. We paid $5,000.00 for the website to be completed. We were told it would completed within two weeks. We also paid a $1650.00 deposit for Elliott's Web to perform a pay per click campaign once the website was completed. Both the $5000.00 and the $1650.00 were paid on 02/07/2014 via check. Working with Elliott's Web to get the website finished was nothing short of a nightmare. They did not complete the website within the two week time frame. When we called to check status, we were unable to get answers. They do not answer the phone and do not return phones messages for weeks at a time. While they were "working on the website" they continued to charge us a $150.00 service fee for pay per clicks on the website. They sent rude emails and called our company demanding a reason for our late payments. Even when we explained to them that they had not completed the website and therefore there was no $150.00 service fee for pay per clicks, they continued to charge our company. Our website was not even completed until 05/28/2014, which was four months passed the promised time frame. There were multiple errors with the website that took numerous attempts to fix. After the website was finally completed, my company decided not to move forward with the pay per click campaign due to the unprofessional conduct by Elliott's Web. I requested a refund of the $1,650.00 for the pay per click campaign deposit. I made a formal demand for the refund via email on 06/02/2014.In that email I requested a reply no later than 06/07/2014. I also sent a letter to Elliott's Web via US Mail on 06/09/2014. I also left a message with the receptionist to have the proper person call me back on 06/11/2014 and 06/16/2014. I have not received any response from Elliott's Web.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the $1650.00 deposit for the pay per click campaign. Elliott's Web has not performed any pay per click services for my firm and will not be performing any pay per click services for my company. As such, it is not fair for them to keep the $1650.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/25) */ The $1650.00 charge in question is a setup fee for the PayperClick (PPC) service for ************************** website we designed for the client. This means setting up a Google AdWords account and creating the first campaigns and their appropriate ad groups. As part of that setup, among other activities, we perform competitive research and keyword research in order to select the optimal account settings (such as mobile bid adjustments, ad extensions, ad schedule, etc.), mobile campaign development, develop a list of targeted keywords, their appropriate initial bids and keyword matching options (a mix of broad, broad with modifier, phrase, and exact match keywords), select negative keywords (to filter out nonconverting clicks), write ad copy, and set up tracking and analytical software that is track the traffic to the website while distinguishing PPC vs. other types of visitors, as well as conversion tracking leads received over the phone and through email submissions generated by the PPC campaign. All those activities have been completed by our most senior internet marketing expert. Moreover, during the process of design and development of the website, we have performed necessary for successful operation of the PPC campaign. These included conversion optimization including clickable phone number and contact form above the fold of each page landing pages, and website structure that allows for multilevel campaigns, structuring the contact form to allow for conversion tracking, and proper landing page display and conversion optimization for the portion of PPC traffic from mobile devices. All the work contracted for the $1650.00 has been done and we can activate the campaign immediately after approval from the client. Even if the client does not want to continue the relationship with out company, we can still provide the output of this work, that is the fully researched and prepared Google AdWords campaigns. Depending on client's preference we can provide a document with the output of the work or move everything to a separate campaign and turn it over to the client. If the client selects the latter, we will provide log in credentials that allow access to the PPC campaign and two lead and tracking tracking accounts all three connected together and sharing data. If the client prefers, we can add a specific email address as a user when turning over the account. As per the email we sent the client, our Internet Marketing Director is available by phone to go over any detail of the PPC campaign. He can also assist with any other concerns and as a show of goodwill he can perform Search engine Optimization for the website at no additional cost a service that, especially in personal injury law practice is very expensive, more than the website design and PPC account setup combined we're available whenever it is convenient for the client if there is a particular time that the client would like to speak, we'll adjust to her schedule. Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/10/24) */ I have been trying to get in touch with Elliott's Web since their response indicated that they would provide the "output work" to me. However, I always leave messages and never get a return call. It is completely bogus that Elliott's Web completed any pay per click services for my website. I cancelled the pay per click service before the website even went live. This company couldn't even complete a cookie cutter website in 5 months - there is simply no way they did all this "research" and "output". I will see them in small claims court. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/10/30) */ We have not received any communication from the client - I double checked that there are no messages or email. ****** if you email ppc@elliottsweb.com or call me directly ************* I'll get you all the info right away.

9/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2013 , I got a call from a sale person from Elliot Web for Top placement in Google, yahoo, Aol , **** for my Real Estate website************** for specific area and key words. The sale person showed how they provided top ranking and top placement on the first page of google for different attorney's. I specifically asked , if they know how to provide this service for Real estate websites as it is more complicated and after reviewing my case with their SEO department , I was told, they can deliver result with 8 weeks for my website. I signed an agreement and paid $1500 to start the job. After two months and not seeing any result, and using wrong key words, I sent a detailed email in Dec. 26th ,and stating how un happy I have been with their service and lack of attention asked for getting my money back as I have seen no result, I received an email from the Head of SEO named******* who said he will take charge of my project personally and to make sure they deliver result. They also charged me additional $250 which I asked them to credit immediately and they did and I asked for weekly updated and report on the progress, which he agreed to provide. On Feb. 19th after 7 weeks , and see no result , I sent another email and asked them for full refund as the company wasted my time since Oct for Top placement and high ranking and in Feb 19 my website was no where near first page , and no where to be found.******* sent an email and asked if I could talk to him and his manager********* . I had over 30 minutes conversation with********* and how his company wasted 5 months of my time and agreement was top placement of my website based on key words I have sent them and my website was no where to be found.********* , said , he will have a meeting with the entire SEO team and review my account to find out why they have been able to result. Asked for password and access to my domain name that was provided months ago to his staff and he sent me an email on Feb. 21st thanking for my time and give them another chance. That was the last I ever heard from********* or any one in Elliott web . 5 Weeks later on March 26th when I did not hear from any one regarding any work or progress, I sent an email to**** and******* , to let them know that after 6 months waiting for TOP placement of my website and no result , I will notify my credit card company to credit my account and I have dispute with them over the charges. I started doing more research about this company and have read reviews made by the people that actually worked in the company and admitting , how Elliott Web rip people off and take $$ thousand from people such as my self and never deliver result. They not only took $1500 from me but also wasted 6 months of my time when they were supposed to deliver result 6-8 weeks back in October of 2013.

Desired Settlement: I asked for Elliot Web to give $1500 I paid in Oct of last year for TOP Website Placement in Google , Yahoo,etc... and within 6-8 weeks, for the service they never delivered after 6 months of dispute.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/13) */ With ********, we were supposed to optimize her website and get it ranking in Google with her photo next to it. We did that and did get first page rankings but she still wasn't satisfied and wanted more rankings/traffic from it. I got involved at that point and tried to help, so one of the solutions I suggested was for us to design a new website for her (as a token of goodwill). The website I suggested we make would be much more search engine friendly and get rankings but she didn't take me on that offer, so I wanted to suggest it again. We can create a new website to get her more rankings, more traffic, and thus more leads. Normally we would charge several thousand dollars for that but if Amy is willing to work with us on this project, we'd design and develop (and of course optimize) such a website at no additional cost. I think that's a very fair offer, so if she's willing to go that direction, I can prepare the whole plan for the website and then start working on a design mock-up. Thank you and have a great afternoon! ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/06/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never got near the first page. I have a series of emails and complaints to supervisors and the owner of the company for not delivering what they are supposed to, not within the 4-6 weeks as they promised but for months. The last email I had from this company , was from ******** the Manger of the SEO department on Feb 21st stating: "Thank you for your generous time today. I have meet with the entire staff, and every effort is going to be made to so we make good on our commitments to you. I'm taking care of the redirect now, that should take effect tonight or over the weekend, and you may even get an email from godaddy about this. I'll also see what I can find in regards to making sure your site is your site and that you dont get the raw end of a deal from... I'll keep you posted to what I find." THIS IS THE LAST I EVER HEARD FROM THIS COMPANY. They have wasted my time and my money. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was contacted by Elliot's web in Oct. of 2013 for TOP placement in the first page of google. The example was given to me was a few attorneys such as **************** Illinois DUI Lawyer Chicago Drunk ... *************************** This attorney is placed in page 1 in third or firth position. I was promised the same within 6 to 8 weeks. In my initial conversation, I explained in detail that Real estate industry is more competitive and asked to check with their technician to see if they can still deliver the same result and TOP GOOGLE Placement like the attorney's website with my website************** I was told that would not be a problem. The work that Elloit's Web supposedly has done on the website, never produced any result. On Febl 21 , 2014 after many complaints, finally I got a call from the supervisor ******** and he promised that he will personally find out what the problem is and why my sited never made any progress, never made it even to 4 th page of google and this is the last I ever heard from this company and this is the email below from ********** -----Original Message----- ********************************************************************* Sent: Fri, Feb 21, 2014 6:09 pm Subject: Re: Info on ******* per your request for *************** Hi **** Thank you for your generous time today. I have meet with the entire staff, and every effort is going to be made to so we make good on our commitments to you. I'm taking care of the redirect now, that should take effect tonight or over the weekend, and you may even get an email from godaddy about this. I'll also see what I can find in regards to making sure your site is your site and that you dont get the raw end of a deal from... I'll keep you posted to what I find. More news to follow as we chip away on this :) Warm Regards *** Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/09/08) */ The attorney used by the client as an example in her complaint has been our a client for a long time - he still is a client and is very satisfied with our work. Every SEO project is different and brings different results in a different timeframe. We have done the work and the results were indeed coming in. The client states that her website never ranked above page 4 but we did get it to rank on page 2 of Google and since have moved to the first page. This is very easy to check, one simply has to go to Google.com and search for "luxury homes in central florida" - without quotes of course. If one does that, they will see the client's website - ************* - ranking on the first page of Google, contrary to what the client claims in this complaint. As we continue working, the rankings improve further and become more abundant, unfortunately the client decided to cancel the monthly service, even though she wasn't paying for it. We did the work, gave the client a refund, delivered first rankings, offered to do even more work but the client simply doesn't want us to help her - we were more than accommodating to this client.

9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4/2/14 entered into a contract wherein Elliots Web would make me a website in a timely manner for $7,750.00 which was paid. They were also suppose to optimize the website for $375 per month. They never even contacted me until I called them to complain in June of 2014. They were already charging my credit card for optimization for a non existent web site. They have blatantly refused to take off the charges for a nonexistent website.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back as they have proven they are disreputable and cannot be trusted. They are blatantly charging my credit card for optimization on a nonexistent website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/08/25) */ The client signed up for a website design and search engine optimization (SEO) service. The website design contains of two main phases design and development (buildout). The deliverable of the first phase is a design mockup, which shows the client how the website will look when the project is complete. After the client provides us feedback on the design and signs off on the presented design, we proceed to develop the design comp into a full website, show the client a preview of the finished product on the development server, and upon final project signoff, that is authorization from the client to finalize the project, we push the website live. We have provided the design signoff but haven't received any feedback on it, so we cannot push the website live until the client either approves the provided design or requests changes as needed (different picture, colors, etc.) this has been provided via email and resent to the client but we haven't received neither the approval or feedback. We can still deliver the website as long as we get the goahead from the client. A preview of the design sent over can be seen at the bottom of this document and the fullsize image has been provided to the client on separate occasions. All we need from the client really is an email the tells us either "Yes, I like how the design looks, please proceed" or "No, I do not like the design, please provide me a different one (alternatively request adjustments as needed)" if we get that, we can deliver everything that the client states in the complaint that he didn't get within 2 weeks. After resending the design to ask for feedback again, we also stated that if email communication is not good for the client for any reason, we can schedule a phone conference and go over the design we provided at the client's convenience. The second project the client signed up the SEO campaign contains of three main parts: 1) keyword research 2) development of the SEO code, which utilizes the keywords selected during keyword research to select the appropriate domain name and perform onsite optimization, that is write the SEO code for the website 3) and the offsite optimization techniques to support the work done in points 1 and 2, examples include pinging the website through relevant ping/search engine servers, search engine submissions, and obtaining inbound links and mentions from social media sphere to speed up indexing and increase search engine rankings. Work has been done for all three areas of SEO and can be provided if proof is needed. To summarize, we have done the work and we just need the client's go ahead (which we never got) to push everything live. our Production Manager has been emailing the client but has never received the confirmation or feedback for the design but we are still willing to perform all the work and address every concern that the client might have. Our Internet Marketing Director is available for a conference call with the client whenever it is convenient (also can be reached at XXXXXXXXXX) to address any remaining concerns that the client might have. For reference, a scaleddown version of the design provided to the client is attached on the second page of this document. :

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales team for Elliott's Web aggressively pursued a contract with my business to improve the search engine rankingss for my site. According to the lead salesmen, they would deliver top 5 rankings for the list of search terms that was submitted to them prior to me signing up for the services. Once I paid the fee, it was immediately a struggle simply getting anyone in this company to respond to an email. Minimal work was done and had a negative impact on our rankings. No report was ever submitted to me for services rendered. They expect me to only trust their word that progress was being made. After 3 months, with no report and poor communication, I was forced to cancel payments for the service pending a report for what had been done to my site. None came. The contract stated they would provide reports to me. To this day, no improvements ever came about from their services. Obviously, for $4500 (and based upon their contract and aggressive sales pitch) I was brought to expect noticeable improvements (rather than the decline in rankings that actually have occurred). Having received shockingly offensive correspondence from representatives of this company(including the owner) in my attempt to resolve this dispute, I did some investigating into the background of this company. It would appear that the owner has not only had a long history of problems with customers and in fact, may be involved in fraudulent business practices. Not surprising, as their service has been nothing short of a scam. I am surprised to see that they have such a high rating with the BBB in Chicago though I do notice complaints against them have been brought to you in recent times

Desired Settlement: Full refund. I had spent considerable time attempting to resolve this dispute, and gave the company many chances to deliver the product they initially promised. In the end I was only met with animosity and even an attempt at extortion by the company's owner

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/21) */ Dear BBB, Please find our response in the attached .PDF document. Thank you! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contract states Elliot's Web will create a report in order to show the progress of the**** campaign as well as work performed. There is no report. Even for the purpose of this complaint they are unable to provide a report, instead submitting screen grabs from Google search queries. This is not how a normal**** firm proves advancement In rankings or progress on a campaign, not does it reflect true rankings. This is an extremely crude attempt to prove that their campaign was a success, which it was not...MY google rankings did not improve and neither did my traffic( see attached chart of my our analytics)....do you see marked improvements? I spent 2 months attempting to address this with their company prior to canceling service, to no avail. As they have done with my card company in an attempt to confuse them, Elliotts will try to claim a spike in traffic(which in reality was based on annual Christmas Holday traffic), but look at the big picture and you can see there has been no real changes. If anything, search results went down after they took over our****. But again, look at the attachment...The average is around 50 hits/day...do you see any sizeable change in this(other than our Christmas spike). Would you pay $4,500 for results like this? Why do you think I am in this dispute? There were no improvements to our rankings. They, in fact, went down! And their sales pitch and contract both stated they will deliver the opposite. If Elliott's Web provided a report (as stated in their contract,) it would have similar illustrations as the graph I've attached. Ultimately a report from them would show that there were no advancements made. Bottom line, their contract promises a report, they never gave one...this is a huge discrepancy. It is the only REAL product that they promise to provide with the transaction and despite requesting it countless times over many months, they failed to ever produce one. By the way, this has become an ongoing dispute with my card company. I am continuing to dispute this. Also, I have done a fair bit of work on our**** in the past, and their are quite a few products which we already rank well for, and the negligent work Elliotts Web did caused a few of these to decrease in rankings. *** is hard for some to understand, and a reason why apparently there are a number of company's out there like EW that are using**** services to take advantage of company's with little ability our resources to manage their own****. These "firms" can deliver no results and minimal work which is difficult for a client to track(without the report) while claiming that they've done work. This is why normal**** companies provide reports to their clients(again, where is mine)? To put this into perspective, imagine you hire a plumber to upgrade the plumbing your house and he asks for the cost of the job, up front. You pay him. What do you do when the plumber doesn't show up the day he says he's going to start? What about a week later, when he doesn't show? What if when he finally does arrive he knocks a massive whole in your living room wall, doesn't clean it up then goes away for another couple weeks? You'd be calling him on the hour trying to get him back to finish the job, right? And how would you feel if he never answered your calls or returned your phone calls? Then maybe one day he shows uo and crudely closes up the hole on the wall and says that his work is complete....This is exactly how it has gone with this company. Even worse in some ways, as its been dealing with multiple employees who ended up each passing me on to someone else who supposedly could help. Finally, the two emails (attached) in the end from the owner of the company sum up my experience fairly well.... Rather than attempting to resolve, he threatens me with extortion. This company is not only doing really, bad business, they're more than likely breaking laws! Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/06/06) */ This clients has signed up with us for Search Engine Optimization for his website dedicatebrand.com to increase its traffic by getting it ranked higher in Google. After we've completed the work and started seeing results - that is increased rankings and traffic - he cancelled the services and charged back the monies paid claiming we didn't deliver anything at all. This claim is simply false - we have delivered both increased traffic and increased rankings. Attached is our previous response showing proof directly from Google. The attachments includes screenshots from Google showing both rankings on page one in Google, increase in rankings and corresponding increase in traffic to client's website. We've delivered everything we promised and the client still charged back the fees he paid us. Please, note that the client's website still ranks and gets traffic to this day - all due to the work performed by our company. Thank you once again for your time on the phone ***** and please let me know if there's anything you need from me. Thank you, ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I've already responded about the submitted Google printouts. Not only are these printouts unprofessional, they're entirely inaccurate, the terms they cite are not even the specific terms I paid Elliott's Web to optimize, and most importantly, can never be considered a substitute for an official report, which is what they promise to deliver in the terms of their contract (and never did). Its laughable for anyone at Elliotts Web to even claim they paid enough attention to my job to have any idea of how my site has ever performed what exact search terms I wanted optimized. I am submitting a second opinion letter from another**** firm who I paid to audit the work that was done to my site by Elliott's, review the terms of their contract, and compare their work to what would be considered standard**** practice. He makes three main point: 1. They failed to deliver improved rankings. 2. They never released a report, (per their own contract). And 3. They actually damaged my site and decreased keyword ranking. They allowed an inept "technician", apparently with no experience in****, to blindly and recklessly enter content onto my site that Google may ultimately have punished my site for (their work violated the most basic Google guidelines). That does;t even begin to cover how much time and effort over three months,I had to put in just to try and get these people to do what I paid them for. And now there still wasting my time with denials and outright lies. This isn't just a company not doing their job, this is a company that knowingly does not do their job on an state to state level. Sounds more like fraud to me. Was that not what the owner*************s former and now dissolved business entity,**********, was famous for? The owner,************* not surprisingly, according to an article in the New York Times, did a year in prison for federal bank fraud (apparently that was not the only fraud charge he's faced in his career) and who's idea of a resolving this was to threaten to sue me for "$100,000" and attack my site's rankings (by more than likely trying to file false copyright infringement notices with Google) if I were to dispute the charge with my credit card. Sound like a professional to you, *****? Not professional, sketchy. Thats not the kind of business I had in mind when I paid for their services. I'll do everything in my power to warn other small business about this company and their owner,************* That's why I contacted your Bureau. Not because these people would ever try to resolve this, but because there is no reason this company should have an A+ rating on your website. My understanding is that you're trying to protect businesses from getting scammed by people like this. Anything they tell you are lies. Thats what they do, for a living.

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: E.W. has completely failed to perform services promised when I agreed to purchase is services. I was told the actual SEO code-builder who was working on my case would be in frequent contact, keeping me up as to changes made and observed changes in organic search-placement results, discussing additional or alternative search terms and other SEO content, etc. When I was "sold," I clearly explained that I have 2 websites and I would expect E.W. to be making the same SEO content changes to each, and I was told that this would be no problem. In spite of numerous emails from me, I was never contacted by anyone from E.W. Actually, that's not quite true. Last week, I got another "cold call" from someone in the E.W. marketing department. He was surprised when I told him I was already an Elliot's Web customer. When I told him I was a highly dissatisfied customer and recited the foregoing complaints, he said he was very sorry and would make sure to have a responsible person contact me immediately. Of course, I never heard from E.W. after that, either.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of contract and return of money I have paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/31) */ We have copies of multiple emails sent to the client throughout the duration of the campaign. This includes emails notifying the client that the work on his website has been done. We were supposed to get the website ranking in Google for "Civil Litigation" keywords in Phoenix and the website we optimized - *************************** - does indeed rank on the first page of Google, example search: Phoenix Civil Litigation Law Firms. We tried contacting the client by email. Aside for the emails from the SEO team, the client received an email from the department's manager who gave him all his contact information but never heard back from the client. The example search phrase "Phoenix Civil Litigation Law Firms" ranks on Google's first page but there are other related keywords ranking - this is what we were supposed to deliver and we have done just that. Still, we are willing - as a sign of good faith, to can continue working on this SEO campaign and get the client's website to rank in Google even higher and for more key phrases - the manager of the SEO department is be available to discuss the details and address any other concerns or requests that Mr. ******* might have. Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2014/04/16) */ Sorry, I was not able to meet your 10-day reply deadline because I was in trial. Whoever composed the ElliottsWeb response apparently did not pay much attention to my complaint. When I was sold their service, I was told that the SEO specialist working on my website would be in frequent contact with me, discussing search terms, new keywords, site metrics etc. None of that ever happened. In addition, inspection of the actual website code reveals extraneous "metadata" that was apparently extracted from the website of some lady lawyer in the Midwest who doesn't even practice in the same subject-matter fields as I do. If anybody had even cleaned up the code behind my website, much less optimized it, this extraneous material would have been removed. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/17) */ Sorry, I was not able to meet your 10-day reply deadline because I was in trial. Whoever composed the ElliottsWeb response apparently did not pay much attention to my complaint. When I was sold their service, I was told that the SEO specialist working on my website would be in frequent contact with me, discussing search terms, new keywords, site metrics etc. None of that ever happened. In addition, inspection of the actual website code reveals extraneous "metadata" that was apparently extracted from the website of some lady lawyer in the Midwest who doesn't even practice in the same subject-matter fields as I do. If anybody had even cleaned up the code behind my website, much less optimized it, this extraneous material would have been removed. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/21) */ Hello *****, My name is ****** and I'm the lead SEO here at Elliottsweb. Please, feel free to reach out to me, so we can go over your website and its SEO. We can go over your expectations for search engine ranking and how I can provide them for you. I'd really like to provide you the results you were hoping for and I'm sure if we can have a moment to talk everything over, we can find the right solution - I'll do everything I can to help, so please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX, that's my cell phone, so I should be easily reachable - please do leave a message in case I can't answer and I'll call back as soon as possible. My email is ******@*************** and you can email our main SEO dept. email (preferred) at ***@*************** Thank you! -****** Consumer Response /* (-5, 18, 2014/05/05) */ Where is this "Response"? You accept is closing the file, but I can't even see it or download it? Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2014/04/16) */ Sorry, I was not able to meet your 10-day reply deadline because I was in trial. Whoever composed the ElliottsWeb response apparently did not pay much attention to my complaint. When I was sold their service, I was told that the SEO specialist working on my website would be in frequent contact with me, discussing search terms, new keywords, site metrics etc. None of that ever happened. In addition, inspection of the actual website code reveals extraneous "metadata" that was apparently extracted from the website of some lady lawyer in the Midwest who doesn't even practice in the same subject-matter fields as I do. If anybody had even cleaned up the code behind my website, much less optimized it, this extraneous material would have been removed. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/17) */ Sorry, I was not able to meet your 10-day reply deadline because I was in trial. Whoever composed the ElliottsWeb response apparently did not pay much attention to my complaint. When I was sold their service, I was told that the SEO specialist working on my website would be in frequent contact with me, discussing search terms, new keywords, site metrics etc. None of that ever happened. In addition, inspection of the actual website code reveals extraneous "metadata" that was apparently extracted from the website of some lady lawyer in the Midwest who doesn't even practice in the same subject-matter fields as I do. If anybody had even cleaned up the code behind my website, much less optimized it, this extraneous material would have been removed. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/21) */ Hello******, My name is ****** and I'm the lead SEO here at Elliottsweb. Please, feel free to reach out to me, so we can go over your website and its SEO. We can go over your expectations for search engine ranking and how I can provide them for you. I'd really like to provide you the results you were hoping for and I'm sure if we can have a moment to talk everything over, we can find the right solution - I'll do everything I can to help, so please call me at ************, that's my cell phone, so I should be easily reachable - please do leave a message in case I can't answer and I'll call back as soon as possible. My email is*********************** and you can email our main SEO dept. email (preferred) at ******************* Thank you! -****** Consumer Response /* (-5, 18, 2014/05/05) */ Where is this "Response"? You accept is closing the file, but I can't even see it or download it? Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2014/05/06) */ Where is this "Response"? You accept is closing the file, but I can't even see it or download it? Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2014/06/09) */ ****** K <******@elliottsweb.com> 11:53 AM (1 hour ago) to me Hello******* It was good talking with you just now. As per our conversation, I'd like to respond to****** ********* complaint, since my last response from last week seems to have been lost in the system somehow. We have worked on****** ********* account and achieved first page rankings but since****** seems not satisfied, I 'd like to repeat my willingness to work with him and fix whatever part of the project he is not satisfied with. I made this offer before but ******* never contacted me. I understand as an attorney he may be very busy, that's why I provided my cell phone number, so he can easily reach me at his convenience. The number again is ************. Thank you and have a great day! -****** For questions about SEO, please send ALL inquiries to ******************* - thank you! Power your business with EXPERTISE! ********* Internet Marketing Director *******'s Web, Inc. ************************************** Fed-Ex ID ********************************** Direct: ************ fax:************* Main Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX

2/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order placed on 10/14/13 to optimize search engine placement for two websites: **********.com and ***************.com. Order was placed using ******** ******* credit card. The same card has been billed monthly since this order. Received two separate communications from this company requesting additional information, which I supplied immediately. This was within the first week following the order being placed. I have since attempted numerous communications with the company and received no response. The most recent of these communications has been an attempt to cancel the "month-to-month" contract. No response.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund for all money that has been paid to date.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2014/02/15) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I have now received a response from Elliotts web and am satisfied with that response.