BBB Accredited Business since

Access One, Inc.

Phone: (312) 441-1000 Fax: (312) 441-1010 820 W Jackson Blvd Ste 650, Chicago, IL 60607 http://www.accessoneinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Access One, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Access One, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Access One, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 2000 Business started: 03/01/1993 Business started locally: 03/01/1993 Business incorporated 06/30/1993 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Jozwiak, President Mr. Brian Barkley, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Joel Miller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Jozwiak, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Joel Miller
Business Category

Internet Service Providers Telephone Companies VOIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) Sales & Service Data Communications Equipment & Systems Information Technology Services Communication Consultants All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)


Additional Locations

  • 820 W Jackson Blvd Ste 650

    Chicago, IL 60607

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Access One to be our internet and phone service provider last year. In December of last year, a technician emailed us and said wanted to come by and install equipment and that our billing would start once he did this. We were remodeling our office space at this time and we weren't ready for the new service. We notified him via email on December 11th that we needed to delay installation due to the construction in our office taking longer than we anticipated. He said that it wouldn't be a problem and to notify him when we were ready. In April of 2013, we were ready for them to come out, install, and begin the service. They installed the equipment in May, got it up and running, and then sent us a bill for $5,617.42. These were charges for the months dating back to October of 2012. Their equipment wasn't installed and their service wasn't up and running, but they still charged us. When I asked them to remove these charges, they sent me a payment plan where I was to pay $468 over and above my normal monthly charges for a year. I emailed them saying that it was not an acceptable solution because they weren't providing service, and I am still waiting on a response. My last correspondence with my account manager was two weeks ago. In the meantime, I just received a threatening letter that they will shut off our internet services next week if I don't send them the full amount. This is not a way to treat a customer, it is completely unfair, and I have no idea why they would expect me to pay them over $5,000 for services that they did not provide.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay them $5,617.42 because they were not providing service and there is absolutely no reason why we incurred these charges. If they will not agree to this, I do not want to do business with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/10/21) */ Access One has been communicating with our customer (Bridges Media) all week, and it looks like we have settled our differences. I anticipate that I will be sending you a signed settlement agreement on Monday, and I will request that you dismiss this case. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We came to an agreement.