Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Heil & Kay Insurance Agency, Inc

Phone: (847) 258-5310 Fax: (847) 378-8353 View Additional Phone Numbers 1699 Wall St Ste 506, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 http://www.heilandkay.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full Service Independent Insurance Agency, specializing in Risk Management for the Hospitality, Auto Service, Construction, Manufacturing and Distribution Industries.  We are the endorsed Insurance Agency for the Illinois Restaurant Association.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heil & Kay Insurance Agency, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heil & Kay Insurance Agency, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heil & Kay Insurance Agency, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2006 Business started: 07/01/2013 in IL Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated 06/30/2013 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Heil, Owner Mr. Mark Kay, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Heil, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Kay, Owner
Business Category

Insurance Services Insurance Services - Commercial Insurance - Auto Insurance - Bonding Insurance - Health Insurance - Medicare Services Insurance - Medicare Supplement Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Long Term Care Insurance - Marine Insurance - Senior Products Insurance - Dental Insurance - Rental Insurance - Disability Insurance - Liability Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation Insurance Consultants Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Alternate Business Names
Heil Insurance Agency, Inc. Kay Insurance Agency, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1699 Wall St Ste 506

    Mount Prospect, IL 60056

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrendous, staggering vandalism rendered car undriveable, possibly un-repairable. . Adjuster thought car would have to be totaled. 1 month later no word from ********** Insurance. Heil and Kay say too bad .They said I asked for inexpensive insurance and thats what I got. I did not ask to be ripped off. I have paid them faithfully for over 5 years and this is the support I get? Job lost, no income, because unable to get to work-no car! (my son was using this car for work). Unable to get new car loan until monies are paid by insurance to the loss payee, the bank. Storage costs to date, equal $1500.00 After 13 calls to Heil & Kay over 4 weeks, -No information.Calls not returned. They refuse to help. It is not their responsibility. They only take money and commissions I guess. As a disabled, senior citizen I am unable to physically do things, which is why I have a broker. I expected them to help. The policy was bought by a real person-me. policy was paid in good faith, on time by me. I am told that the State allows such sub-standard insurance companies to exist so that everyone can get and afford insurance. If the insurance does not pay ...what's the point? also informed that these sub standard companies charge less and are still . Would like heil & Kay to work with insurance company as my partner in getting the claim resolved or return my premium monies. . Heil and Kay are irresponsible brokers.

Desired Settlement: get on the horn and get ******** to do their job. Do what you got paid your commision to do

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@heilandkay.com We understand a claim situation is the last thing an insured wants to deal with. At best it is an inconvenience and at worst it can be an aggravating nightmare. Unfortunately, the difference between these two sentiments is customer expectation. This claim was reported to our office on Friday afternoon, September 26, 2014, by the insured's son who was traveling with the car in ****** We advised the insured's son that the carrier wants to hear directly from them when a claim is reported. We also advised him how to report the claim to the carrier and explained that some delay may occur because this is an atypical claim situation. Specifically, their carrier is a regional insurance provider who only has offices in Illinois. As such, they would need to hire an independent adjustor in Texas who will submit reports to the carrier's internal adjustor for review. All of this information was understood and agreeable to the insured's son. We did a follow-up on Monday and gave the insured's son the claim number and his insurance company's adjustor's name. He confirmed that he had that information already. The following Wednesday we received another call from the insured's son. He said that he had not heard from the independent adjustor in ***** yet, and that he did not know who he should contact. Our office again provided him the internal claim adjustor's name and contact information as well as the claim number and his policy number so he could reach out to the internal adjustor for more information on the process. We further advised him of how he could move the claim process along by having a repair estimate completed in advance, and the steps he could take to mitigate out of pocket costs for storage and towing fees. That same day our office received a call from the insured-the only call we ever received from the insured. She expressed her frustration that although the claim was reported on a Friday afternoon, she still had not heard from the independent adjustor. We explained that we had just spoken to her son, that we had given him the contact information for the carrier and the they would follow up with him regarding where to view the vehicle, since he is with the vehicle in ****** The insured expressed extreme frustration that the process was taking too long, and that when she was previously insured with a much larger multi-billion dollar national carrier she never experienced such delays. She stated that just because she is now with a much smaller, regional insurance provider, she still expects the same speed and response as the larger carrier is able to provide and that as her agent we are supposed to ensure that she receives the same level of service. The insured also explained she was not going to make any more payments on the vehicle loan, since she personally felt it was a total loss, and that she was not going to make another insurance payment to the carrier since she felt she was receiving such poor service. She then hung up the phone. From that point forward, the insured's son continued to make regular contact with our office, asking questions about the claims process and who to contact with additional questions about salvaging the vehicle. We had positive conversations answering additional questions about the claims process and reconfirmed with the insured's son that the claims process was moving along. Upon receiving notice from the Better Business Bureau of the insured's complaint, we immediately reached out to the carrier's claims department to confirm that the claim was being handled. According to the carrier's notes, there were some issues reaching the insured/insured's son initially. Neither the insured nor her son returned the claims adjustor's repeated phone calls for six days-a fact which the insured's son also confirmed and stated "he didn't recognize the phone number of the adjustor that was calling him from the company and didn't know if he should call them back". The carrier's internal claims adjustor confirmed with the insured/insured's son that the vehicle is being declared a total loss. Since that time the claim is all but resolved. They are now waiting for the insured's acceptance of the offer before a check will be cut to the lender.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Heil & Kay Insurance Agency, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)