BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Founders Insurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Founders Insurance Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 92 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

92 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 47 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 59
Total Closed Complaints 92

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Founders Insurance Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 12, 1994 Business started: 09/30/1972 Business started locally: 09/30/1972
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sharon Poradzisz, VP, Personal Lines
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon Poradzisz, VP, Personal Lines
Business Category

Insurance Services Insurance Agents Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Liability Insurance Consultants Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Founders Insurance Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1111 E Touhy Ave., Suite 300

    Des Plaines, IL 60018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2016 Delivery Issues
1/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a claim as of 08/24/2015 I was told approximately either the 1st week or the 2nd week in September that a check would be mailed out immediately. I didn't hear anything from the agency, after calling multiple times, for about 2 or 3 weeks. I finally received a call on 09/25/2015 stating that she had more questions that she'd like to ask about the claim. As of 09/28 the Special Investigations Unit started an investigation. As of 10/05 that claim was closed. Angie ******** never called me, I called her and she said that she didn't receive anything from the investigator. I told her that the claim had been closed as of 10/05. She said, yet again, the check would be sent out as soon as possible. This was 10/14 when made that statement. She hasn't returned any of my calls, but someone called and told me that I would have to pay a $500 deductible because of previous damage. The new damage can be fixed without touching the previous damage. The previous damage is chipped paint and a cracked bumper. The new damage is both sides of my car dented. I pay for a $250 deductible, so why would I have to come up with a $500 deductible? I have contacted two different supervisors and still no answer to my calls.

Desired Settlement: I want my car to be fixed in a reasonable amount of time. As of now, reasonable is out of the question. So I just want the agency to pay out my claim.

Business Response: Upon our notice of this loss, the handling adjuster immediately began an investigation into this matter.  A coverage issue was identified as the reported date of loss needed to be verified.  Accordingly, a coverage investigation commenced.  Upon completion of our investigation into coverage for this loss, Founders Insurance Company determined that coverage would be afforded for this loss.  With coverage resolved, the handling adjuster turned their attention to the damages being claimed.  The complainant has advised that damages to both the left rear quarter panel and the right rear quarter panel are as a result of this accident.  However, our review of the damages revealed that only the left side damages are related to this loss.  Accordingly, the handling adjuster contacted the complainant and extended a settlement offer in the amount of $2437.45.  This amount reflected the damage estimate in the amount of $2795.86 less the complainant's $250.00 deductible, less betterment of $108.41 due to prior bumper damage.  International Auto Rebuilders located at 931 N. Kedzie Avenue in Chicago IL can repair the vehicle per this estimate.  The complainant has rejected our offer.  Our settlement offer is still available should the complainant choose to accept.  Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 10927725

I am rejecting this response because:

I was told that an amount of approximately $3200 was the original estimate and that a check would be sent out by Angie ********. Then, I was sent to their Special Investigations Unit and the investigator closed the case in my favor. After this I was told that a check would be sent out again. Thereafter, calls went unreturned for weeks. When I finally got in touch with the manager Arthur Shipp,  he told me that someone would call me the next day. I received a call approximately two days later and I was told that only the left side of my vehicle would be fixed. This insurance company has made excuse after excuse, not to pay for the vehicle. My car was hit into my garbage cans in the rear of my house. They are saying that this damage couldn't have happened by a garbage can. They never came out to my residence to complete an investigation. They are just making up excuses not to be responsible for my damaged vehicle.

Sincerely,

Latrunda *****

Business Response: Please be advised that our investigation into the damages being claimed by the complainant are to both the left and right rear quarter panels.  The main impact to the complainant's vehicle shows a side-swipe type of impact to the left quarter panel.  Based upon this type of impact, it was determined that the right side damages are not related to this loss.  Accordingly, our settlement offer in the amount of $2437.45 remains available to the complainant.  This amount reflects the left side damage estimate of $2795.86 less the complainant's $250.00 deductible, less betterment of $108.41 due to prior bumper damage.

12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/11/15 I was involved in a vehicle accident where my vehicle hit a raccoon on the ramp on Vollmer west in Matteson, IL. The raccoon ran in front of my vehicle as I was driving on the ramp and I hit the raccoon. I didn't realize my damages until I arrived home. When I arrived home I heard a sound and noticed fluid leaking from my car. Due to it being dark outside I didn't realize I had other damages until that morning because the accident happened at approximately 12;32 am. At that point I contacted Founders to make a claim. After the claim was made they called Crash Co Collision to set up a tow for my vehicle. My car was towed to Crash Co Collision on 11/11/15. I was also told I would receive a call from an adjuster within 24 hours. On 11/13 I hadn't spoken with the adjuster so I called Founders and was informed an adjuster tried to call me on 11/11/15. I didn't receive a call at the time. I made numerous attempts to call the Adjuster Angie ******** on 11/13/15 and left several messages. I never received a return call on 11/13/15. On 11/16/15 I Still hadn't received a call from my adjuster so I called her manager Matt ******** and left a detailed message on his voicemail. On 11/16/15 I did receive a call from Angie ******** regarding the claim and a recorded statement was taken. I was told her manager had to review it and she would call me back. On 11/18/15 2;35 pm I sent an email requesting and update on the claim. I received a email back from Angie ******** on 11/18 3;31 pm stating my claim was under management review and she was waiting for authority to pay. I replied back the same day requesting a time frame. On 11/19 at 12;14 pm I received a call from Angie ******** asking me more questions regarding the accident. I ask her at the time was an adjuster sent out and she stated yes. On 11/19/15 at 3:50 pm I received an email stating there was a lapse in my coverage from 11/7-11/9. My claim was reported on 11/11/15. Having a loss occurred so close to the lapse and they have nothing confirming the date of the loss, my claim would have to be referred to a special investigation unit. At that point I sent her an email on 11/20/15 at 9;57 am. I stated in my response that my daughter can witness that I came home and had damage to my car and I also have toll road records showing that I traveled the tollroad up until the day of the accident. Also I spoke with Crash Co Collison who stated that an adjuster has never came out to see my vehicle and I feel if an adjuster would've came to see my vehicle they would've noted that the amount of liquids present was contingent with a new accident.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car repaired and to be reimbursed for my rental car. I was insured on 11/11/15 and the accident did occur on 11/11/15.

Business Response: Please be advised that upon our notice of this loss, the handling adjuster immediately began an investigation into this matter.  A coverage issue was identified as there was a lapse in coverage from 11/7/15 until 11/9/15.  The complainant reported that she struck an animal on 11/11/15 and no police report was filed.  Accordingly, a coverage investigation has commenced to verify the reported date of loss.  The complainant's file is currently with our Special Investigation Unit who is attempting to verify the reported date of loss.  Upon completion of our investigation, the complainant will be contacted and advised of the outcome of said investigation.  Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

12/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Wife's car was hit by the a client which was insured by Founders Insurance, Claim # ********** After going to Dan's Auto Body Shop in Ingelside il, Founders Insurance offered to repaint the Cracked Bumper. This was unaccaptable. After several weeks, Founders sent an adjuster out to look at the bumper. At this point they offered to replace the bumper with a after market inferrior bumper. This was also not acceptable to me. Founders also only offered $21.00 per day rental, which was unaccptable. The need for a larger van to transport my family is needed, Founders offered $71.75 per day to rent a minivan, this was acceptable for me, exceot They required me to pay up front for the rental car, This is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like my vehicle fixed with OEM parts from a shop of my choice, The list of shops they offered had poor reviews. I have several quotes from local shops which do quality work starting ar $960.00 up to $1050.00. I also want Founders Insurance to prepay for a minivan while my car is being repared. I am also looking for a written appoligy from Arthur ***** and Frank ********* for the unprofessional way they handled this claim. They both refused to escalate this issue as I requested.

Business Response:

The Complainant is a third party claimant making a claim against our insured's policy.  We accepted 100% liability on behalf of our insured, and one of our staff appraisers wrote an estimate on the Complainant's vehicle in the amount of $673.21.  We tendered an offer to the Complainant in that amount and the offer was rejected.  The Complainant's vehicle is a 2010 Honda Odyssey, which does not warrant an new bumper, so the estimate was written with an after market rear bumper.  Our offer remains open to the Complainant if he chooses to accept it.  It should be noted that after market parts are of the same quality as new parts and in some cases are of better quality.  Regarding the Complainant's request for a rental vehicle, we did accommodate him and honor his request for a van due to his circumstances.  However, we have no direct bill arrangement with any rental company, so a the rental will be on a reimbursement basis.  It should be noted that from a legal standpoint, damages are not recoverable unless an expense is incurred.       

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 10962940

I am rejecting this response because:I am incurring the cost of renting a car, I do not feel I should have to pay this up front. The expense will be incurred when you prepay for the car. Also after talking to several shops, they will not guarantee the outcome of using after market parts. The shops that Founders is recomonding, have many complaints against them. And based on estimAtes received from reputable shops, the after market parts and cost per hour that Founders is willing to pay is inadequate to properly repair the vehicle. I have attempted to share the estimates with Founders, they refused to even look at them. 


Sincerely,

Kevin *****

Business Response: All of our recommended shops guarantee their repairs.  Regarding the Complainant's demand that we pay for a rental in advance, we only offer rental reimbursement.  Therefore, our offer remains the same for the damage to the Complainant's vehicle, and our position on the rental also remains the same.

11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Total Loss Department is terrible with communication, and paying off the claim. I have attempted several times to contact my adjuster to no avail regarding my total loss that occurred on September 11, 2015. I have left several messages for Jasmine who told the dealership that I purchased the vehicle from 10 days prior to my accident that they have not heard from me since the accident occurred. I am trying to figure out how their able to contact her, but me as a client I can't. The next lie is that they said they reached out to me with an offer, but I have not accepted it. That's strange because the 2 calls that I did receive were to just let me know that they will have an offer for me by the end of the week. TWICE!!! So how have you reached out to me regarding an offer I haven't accepted yet when clearly in the voice mail I was left, there is no offer on the table currently? Then I was told by the dealership that they asked if there was a replacement vehicle? The dealership told them no. How is it that the dealership has supposedly had more contact with my insurance company that I have? I have called Jasmine all this week at different times, and I ALWAYS get her voice mail.I have even left several messages, and still have yet to receive a response. I just want this mess over with as I was not at fault for the accident, and I am still without a vehicle or response almost 2 months later. I have hired a lawyer because this is getting ridiculous. I am still being treated by doctors since the accident for the injuries I've sustained. This is very stressful, and with the brain condition I have is not good for me. This seems like my my only hope before I get my attorney all the way involved in this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate it if the claim finally gets paid off and/or I am given another vehicle. I need a car as I have obligations such as a 96 yr old grandmother to see to, and my toddler niece and nephew who have just come to stay with me until their mom can get herself together. Also, I work late into the evening so as a female in the streets of Chicago at night by herself is not ideal with all that's going on. I am more then willing to have this issue resolved if someone would just reach out.

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience to the Complainant.  She will be contacted on Monday, November 16, 2015, with an offer.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a claim on 7/11/2015 for my father. I am listed on the policy as well. The issued has not been resolved. No one from the company is returning my calls. My father's has yet to be repaired, and no one is calling him or myself with an update. they have taken several of his payments and will not repair his car that was parked when hit.

Desired Settlement: My father is requesting a refund for all of the months paid for services as well as the down payment.

Business Response: Upon our notice of this loss, the handling adjuster immediately began an investigation into this matter.  A coverage issue was identified as a review of the complainant's Motor Vehicle Record revealed that she did not have a valid driver's license.  Accordingly, a coverage investigation commenced.  Our investigation revealed that due to inaccuracies on the application for insurance, Founders Insurance Company has rescinded the complainant's policy making it null and void.  The complainant was advised of this decision on November 5, 2015 and correspondence advising of the same was sent out.  Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It took the company over three months to make this determination. Also the vehicle was not being driven when it was hit, it was parked and i am not the primary policy holder.

The primary policy holder has a valid insurance. I feel that this was a discriminatory practice. 


Sincerely,

***** ******

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a accident in March and I have been trying to get it resolved to this date with no success. The first adjuster would take up to two weeks to get in touch with me and then she quit working for the company and my file sat on her desk for over a month until my wife reached a supervisor who assigned me a new adjuster. I have been calling him for over a week and no return call to date. I reached back out to the supervisor and he said he will get back to me, only to call him after no return call to find out he's on vacation for a week. I have spent at least two months trying to reach someone with very little success. The problem that I am having is I was in a previous accident and there is some body damage the rear of the vehicle. The first adjuster asked me about that and I told her that was on me and I was to fix it you can see rust so it's very obvious it happened some time ago. The damage to the rear that the body shop was trying to get fixed is the suspension which makes the car not drivable and I explained it to Founders that statement was made about the body work not the mechanicals and two agents denied my claim because of the statement made. The shop that I sent our car to is the insurance company shop and they told them it was done in the accident,that along with common sense (the car is not drivable) because I was on the expressway when the current accident occurred along with I giving them the guys name and number which caused the accident and seeing the front tire blew out and the rim shattered along with the fender and bumper damaged . I have asked for a arbitration and also for corporate number and they dance all around it saying I need to talk to the adjuster or supervisor that has yet to return my calls. Now the shop is trying to charge me storage and my car is still not drivable. They want to take your money every month but not cover you. I wish I would have read all the BBB reviews before getting insurance with them.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Finsh the job I just want my car fixed that's what I have and pay for insurance for and it should not be this difficult. I am about to lose a job due to not having my car. I wish there was a attorney because they are causing me major pain and suffering.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/01) */ Contact Name and Title: Arthur ************ Mgr. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@foundersinsurance.com The Complainant is a first party insured who reported a loss to us on March 16, 2015, which occurred on March 15th. He reported that he hit a median wall with the left front of his vehicle. Arrangements were made to have his vehicle towed to a recommended shop where an estimate was written to repair his vehicle. In the meantime, the handling adjuster made atte4mpts to contact him to discuss getting his vehicle repaired. Despite leaving messages for him and sending him correspondence, the adjuster was not able to reach him until April 21, 2015. This put in motion the repairs to his vehicle, and the repairs were completed by the second week of May. After completing the repairs, the Complainant delayed picking up his vehicle from the shop. On July 24th an adjuster responded to a message he left, and he informed the adjuster that there was additional damage to the rear suspension of his vehicle. The vehicle was inspected for this damage by a Founders Insurance Company appraiser, and it was determined that this damage was not related. It should be noted that the Complainant was driving the same vehicle when he was involved in an accident on November 4, 2014, and the impact was to the left rear of his vehicle. However, there was no coverage for this loss, as his policy had cancelled for non-payment, and the damage was never repaired During a conversation I had with the Complainant he inquired about a dispute resolution, and he was informed of the appraisal clause in his policy. A letter was also sent to him outlining the process. We are presently waiting for him to name his appraiser and have his appraiser contact our appraiser. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The first thing is I spoke to the adjuster the first week that it happened and for about 3 or 4 weeks I tried to reach her with no response. She then called me while I was at work and I couldnt answer but I called her back within 10 minutes and she didnt answer after that it took me another week or two to hear back from her. This same senerio happened again after I talk to her this previous time but this time I called her for over a month and then my wife began to call only to find out that carol no longer worked for the company and my file was just sitting on her desk. My wife then got in touch with Arthur **** who then sent us our rental reimbursement with was very low considering my file sat there for over a month and trying reach Carol was very hard the previous month. We do have the email sent to Arthur about our claim and Carol no longer working for the company. You can check her resignation date to verify the time lapse. The shop that I took the car to their shop and they are saying the car is not drivable. When I had the accident I was driving the car and whatever snap must have popped lose when the car went up in the air. I am in the process of getting my speed camera or red light camera tickets to show I was driving that car during the time frame. The shop told me off the record that Mr ***** is trying not to pay because I admitted that the body work was on me and I didnt want them to fix it and that was before the shop said no they was not talking about the body work it is rods broken under the car that is damaged. Yes I haven't picked up my car yet because the shop is asking for storage fees that I have to come up with a month after getting married because of founders not handling me or my claim right on top of the almost $3000 that I had to spend on a rental car because of this. I do have a shop that is going to take a look at the car once I get it out. The accident that Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: Arthur ************ Mgr. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@foundersinsurance.com Our position remains that the rear suspension damage is not related to this loss. This is based on an inspection by one of our staff appraiser's. It is more likely that this damage is the result of the accident the Complainant was involved in on November 4, 2014 wherein there was a direct impact to the left rear of the Complainant's vehicle. That loss was not covered because the Complainant's policy was not in effect at the time. The Complainant inquired about arbitrating this case, and he was informed of the appraisal clause in his policy, which is designed to remedy our dispute. We have followed up with a letter detailing how the appraisal clause works. We are presently waiting for him to name his appraiser and for his appraiser to contact our appraiser. To our knowledge, the Complainant's vehicle is still located at a recommended shop where the related damage was repaired by mid May. It is our understanding that the Complainant was somewhat unresponsive to the shop in making arrangements to pay his deductible and pick up his car. This is not a shop owned by Founders Insurance Company, but a separate entity. We do not control their business decisions.

9/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE HAD THIS INSURANCE FOR OVER A YEAR SO THEY SAY MY INSURANCE HAD LAPSED BUT I HAD REINSTATED MY INSURANCE ON JULY 13 2015 SO ON JULY 14 I HAD RAN INTO A DEER SO THEY CLAIM THEY WANTED TO QUESTION THE COVERAGE AFTER I FIRST WAS TOLD THEY WERE QUESTIONING THE DRIVERS LISCENCE OF THE DRIVER WHO WAS ALSO ON MY INSURANCE THEN I WAS TOLD THEY WERE WAITING FROM SOMETHING FROM INSURE ON THE SPOT STATING MY INSURANCE WAS PAID ON THE 13 OF JULY THEN I WAS TOLD THE ADJUSTER WAS WAITIG ON A SIGNATURE OF THE SUPERVISOR THAN I RECIEVED A CALL STATING THE CLAIM WAS ASSIGNED TO ANOTHER ADJUSTER AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS OF TRYING TO FIND OUT THE STATUS OF MY CLAIM SO I HAD A VERBAL ALTERCATION WITH A SANDRA ***** WHO WAS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL STATING THAT I COULD NOT SPEAK TO HER SUPERVISOR BECAUSE SHE SAYING SOMETHING I DONT WANT TO HEAR SO AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPT OF TRYING TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE I CALLED AND VISITED INSURE ON THE SPOT WHERE I FIRST PURCHASED THE INSURANCE THEY EMAILED AND ATTEMPTED TO FIND OUT THE STATUS THEY COULD NOT REACH THE SO THEY TOLD ME TO CALL BACK BY THEN I ASKED FOR THE ADDRESS OF FOUNDERS INSURANCE SO I PRODUCED DOCUMENTS THAT THEY SAY WAS NOT ENOUGH EVIDENCE OF THE DATE OF MY INCIDENT AND WAS GIVEN A NOMBER FROM A JEFF ***** I COULD CALL HIM DIRECTLY AND HE WOULD KEEP ME INFORMED ON WHAT WAS GOING ON WITH MY CLAIM HAVE NOT HEARD FROM HIM WHEN I CALL VOICEMAIL NO FOLLOW UP SO THEN I HAD TO SPEAK WITH A INVESTIGATOR WHICH ONLY OUT OF 20 OR 30 QUESTIONS ONLY ABOUT 7 REFFERED TO THE INCIDENT THEN I WAS TOLD I WOULD HEAR FROM THEM THE FOLLOWING WEEK I HAVE NOT RECIEVED ANY INFORMATION THEN A SUPERVISOR CALLED SAID THE ADJUSTER WOULD BE CONTACTING ME THAT FRIDAY ITS AUGUST 24TH ISSUE STILL NOT RESOLVED NO ALL MAILBOXES FULL CANT LEAVE ANY MESSAGES I TAKEN MY CAR OUT OF THEIR SHOP AND PUT INTO A SHOP TO REPAIR MY CAR

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) WOULD LIKE TO BE REINBURSED FOR MY RENTAL CARS, TOWING, AND CAR REPAIR

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/08) */ Contact Name and Title: M. ********* Claim Mgr. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@foundersinsurance.com Upon our notice of this loss, the handling adjuster immediately began an investigation into this matter. A coverage issue was identified as there was a lapse in coverage from June 23, 2015 until July 13, 2015 at 10:16 AM when the policy was reinstated. The complainant reported a single vehicle loss that occurred on July 14, 2015. As there was no police report filed, the complainants file was referred to our Special Investigation Unit for assistance in proving the reported date of loss. The complainant has provided a tow receipt however, when attempting to contact them to verify the information on the receipt, the phone number is not valid and according to the State of Illinois, the business has been dissolved. Our Special Investigation Unit will be visiting the address of the tow company in an attempt to verify the date of loss and bring this matter to a close. The complainant will be contacted once our investigation into coverage for this matter is complete and advised accordingly. Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.

8/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/31/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Claim XXXXXXXXXX I have my Chevy impala stolen on may 2 2015. I contacted founders but they directed me to website which didn't function. So Monday I spoke with someone and started my claim. I was told it's a 30 day waiting period for them to declare total loss. Now it's 39 days or almost 6 weeks and I have had a very hard time contacting old adjuster and new total loss adjuster.they never answer phone or reply to voicemail. I've sent emails, voicemails,and even tried customer service too. I've never had a stolen car before and I have now learned that you get what you pay for. I would rather pay more for a more reputable insurance company and search them on bbb. Before I purchase next policy. It wasn't hard to pay my bill, or sign up for coverage it was when they actually had to pay me for something this company became distant. EVERYONE IS RUDE, very vague and nonchalant and seem like they could care less about your misfortune. I just want to get my car replaced as I work 30 mile away from home and the commute is very long via public transportation. The sad thing is there office is right by my job but no one is ever in office.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car replaced at value.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/24) */ When the Complainant reported his vehicle stolen we explained the process in detail including a 30 day waiting period, which is a waiting period to see if the vehicle will be recovered. The loss was reported to us on May 4, 2015. The vehicle was not recovered, so the file was transferred to our Total Loss Department on June 5, 2015 to prepare for settlement. During the waiting period we continued to communicate by phone and e-mail. When the file reached the Total Loss Department a valuation was run to determine the value of the vehicle, and an offer was tendered. After obtaining the necessary paperwork from the Complainant's lien holder and from him, the claim was settled. ****** ***** Senior Claims Manager (XXX) XXX-XXXX ******@foundersinsurance.com

6/9/2015 Delivery Issues
6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2015 Delivery Issues
5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2014 Delivery Issues
11/4/2014 Delivery Issues
10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been calling since march with no resolution. when you call you MUST go to a voice mail and when you leave what time to call you back they call back AFTER the time you say you are avaiable. the call center will NOT allow you to hold for an adjuster you MUST go to their voicemail. 4 months after this accident and i am STILL trying to get this resolved. the phone employees are the RUDEST people i have EVER spoken with, supervisors will not call you back and when they do they ask "exactly what is it that you want"

Desired Settlement: the check was finally issued to the autobody shop, i own the car outright and am requesting the payment be made directly to me

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ********* Claim Mgr. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@foundersinsurance.com Please be advised that upon our notice of this loss, the handling adjuster immediately began an investigation into this matter. Upon completion of our coverage and liability investigation, the handling adjuster contacted the complainant and resolved her claim for property damages on June 16, 2014. The complainant subsequently returned the settlement check and requested that the check be issued payable only to herself. At the complainant's request, payment was re-issued on July 10, 2014 payable to the vehicle's registered owner, **** **********. Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 24,2014 vehicle was hit haven't be paid yet for to fix vehicle still under investigation now it rains in my vehicle and has been since February so u know the vehicle stinks from the rain claim numberXXXXXXXXXX policy number ITFCXXXXXX this not fair

Desired Settlement: Repair of my vehcile

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ************ Mgr. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@foundersinsurance.com The Complainant's policy cancelled on January 25, 2014 for non payment of her premium. She reinstated the policy effective February 22, 2014 and subsequently reported a hit and run accident wherein her vehicle was hit while parked in a church parking lot. There is no police report or anything else that readily proved that the loss occurred while the policy was in force. We have conducted an investigation, which included an interview of the Complainant. She stated that she parked her vehicle on Saturday, February 23, 2014, and went on a bus trip to ********* Saturday was actually on the 22nd. She stated that she returned home at 3:00PM the next day but did not notice the extensive damage to her right door until the next morning. As evidence of her trip she provided a receipt for a purchase she made at a store in ********* but the receipt was dated February 23, 2014 at 5:52PM. Given the evidence we have on file, the date of loss has not been established. Therefore, we are holding this matter in abeyance until such time the date of loss is proven.

6/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the body shop cannot tell if this is caused by the loss how can your appraiser determine that this is wear and tear, quite frankly you cannot!! Founders is not by any means qualified to say what a licensed trained mechanic cannot even determine, the exact statement made by ******* collision "I cannot prove that it is loss related" which means they don't know if it is or isn't. with that being said it is a possibility that it is and neither Founders or ******* can say one way or the other. I have paid my hard earned money to this company for almost six years and never had an accident so thanks Founders Insurance for nothing except helping me make the decision to go with ******* Insurance I want founders to pay for all the damages on my car they are unable to provide me with the proof that the damage was not from the accident i was involved in which founders determined i was not at fault this company is a complete joke

Desired Settlement: pay the additional $248 in damages or prove to me that its not from my loss

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/20) */ Contact Name and Title: M. ********* Claim Mgr Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@foundersinsurance.com The complainant in this matter had pursued a claim under the collision portion of her policy with Founders Insurance Company. Her vehicle was inspected and after the complainant advised of her choice of repair shops, payment was processed on May 27, 2013. The complainant returned to the repair facility a short time later and advised of a noise coming from her vehicle. The shop investigated the source of the noise and diagnosed the problem as a damaged sway bar link. The shop further advised that this damage was not related to the accident but was a result of mechanical failure due to wear and tear. As mechanical failure due to wear and tear is not covered under the complainant's policy, Founders Insurance Company regrets that we are unable to pay for this additional damage. The complainant was contacted and our position regarding this issue was explained. Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I told founders when I had the original estimate that I heard a noise after the accident happened asked also once I take my car in if additional damage would be covered founders stated that if that was the case the repair shop would supplement the estimated amount I told the repair facility upon dropping my vehicle off that I heard a noise not after that statement is incorrect and typical answer from this jack leg company this company has bad business practice it's a matter of time before karma takes place for founders I am moving on and taking my business to a more respected company

6/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was stolen and totally wrecked in August 2013. A insurance claim was filed according the their policy rules, as well as a police report on the same day. Founders Insurance towed the car to a salvage company, denied the claim, and is now threatening to sell the vehicle before allowing an authorized investigator which I hired independently to inspect the car. Additionally, the company representative, Agata Sacostka at ************ will not forward the necessary documentation to the company who handles the I GAP coverage for the car, thought numerous phones calls have been made to her office.

Desired Settlement: I would like the claim paid and for Ms. ******** to forward the necessary documentation to IGAP insurance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ******** Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@foundersinsurance.com To Whom It May Concern: Please be advised that this claim was presented by the complainant, ******* *********, as a reported theft of her vehicle. When the vehicle was recovered by Founders Insurance Company, the vehicle was inspected. Our inspection determined that there was no evidence of a forcible entry to obtain possession of the vehicle. Accordingly, coverage was excluded based on exclusions located within the insurance policy. The complainant was notified both verbally and in writing of the coverage denial. Additionally, the letter sent to her attention provided the complete information for her vehicle's location. The complainant was advised she would need to move the vehicle herself. The complainant has been provided with the location of the vehicle on multiple occasions both verbally and in writing. As it is her vehicle, she was advised to have the vehicle moved to a location of her choice. Founders Insurance Company has not denied her the right to inspect her vehicle, as we requested she move the vehicle since January of 2014. The handling adjuster has forwarded a copy of the requested documents to the Warranty Group. Unfortunately we will not be able to provide coverage for this loss. Based on the investigation and policy exclusions, Founders Insurance Company has denied coverage on this loss. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly to XXX-XXX-XXXX. Very truly yours, *******************

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: involved in accident not at fault the insurance company asked for est to fix and replace with photos they have no repair place to go to lady that is adjuster pretty much stated it wasn't her problem it was my problem they have no estimated time to make a decision on if they were going to fix my property or replace it could be five days or five years

Desired Settlement: I have hired a attorney to settle with this problem this company has pages and pages of negative feed back seems like fraud insurance company

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ******** Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@foundersinsurance.com To Whom It May Concern: We are in receipt of the complaint filed by the complainant, **** ******. While we understand that any loss involving vehicles can be an inconvenience, the adjuster is working to resolve this matter and reach a conclusion. The handling adjuster upon speaking with the complainant requested 2 estimate and photos to be able to review the damages. Upon receipt, it was determined that the vehicle would need to be inspected by our physical damage appraiser to properly evaluate the damages to the vehicle. An inspection was set up of the vehicle belonging to **** ******. At this time, the complainant has hired an attorney to represent him. In accordance with the attorney lien received, we will handle all communication through his attorney directly. Upon evaluation of the claim, the handling adjuster will contact the complainant's attorney to discuss resolution. Very truly yours, ********* ******** Unit Manager - Personal Lines Claims Founders Insurance Company

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Founders insurance does Not want to answer or resolve the payment of my car repairs. ( claim: XXXXXXXXXX) ******* ******

Desired Settlement: Repair o equivalent money payment of the cost of fixing the car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ************ Mgr. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@foundersinsurance.com Initially, we did not have good contact information for the Complainant. He contacted us on January 9, 2014, and arrangements were made to inspect his vehicle and write an estimate of damages. He provided us with a contact number of (XXX) XXX-XXXX, but when the handling adjuster called that number she was told that she had the wrong number. We did not get a good contact number for the Complainant until we received this complaint. The Complainant has been contacted and his claim settled. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Fair

2/17/2014 Delivery Issues
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an open claim with Founders because one of their customers hit our vehicle. I have had contact with them multiple times. Each time I receive attitude and am hung up on. They keep saying they need to have proof of ownership and I keep telling them that we finance the vehicle so it isn't ours. Plus, my father-in-law is the registered owner of the vehicle and instead of getting his information they just decide that they are going to hang up on me. I have never had problems like this with other insurance companies. Their customer hit my parked vehicle and instead of using great customer service skills and getting my vehicle back in great condition. I have to deal with attitude and getting hung up on. The last representative that I spoke to ********* (missed spelled because he refused to spell his name again)got on the phone with attitude and again hung up on me. I am very disappointed in this situation and I promise I will never choose Founders as my insurance provider.

Desired Settlement: I want to get my car fixed without having any problems. I would prefer that they just mail the check to the body shop but if not mailing it to my father-in-law would be fine to but they need to get his information first.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ******** Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@foundersinsurance.com To Whom It May Concern: ***** ********, the complainant, presented a third party claim in this matter. He is not an insured of Founders Insurance Company. Founders Insurance Company has processed payment to the registered owner of the vehicle, ****** A. ******** Upon receipt of the payment Mr. ******* can sign the settlement draft over to the body shop for repairs. Very truly yours, ********* ******** Unit Manager - Personal Lines Claims Founders Insurance Company

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a full coverage auto insurance policy with ******** insurance and my car was stolen while I was at work one night. well the person was caught in it and prosecuted. after about four weeks and paying the bills for insuring my totaled car the insurance adjuster makes up every excuse for not replacing my vehicle and they will not. So now after paying my bill on time and just paying off this car I am taking the metro. Thanks to ******** insurance.

Desired Settlement: I would just like the amount it takes to repair the damage or the amount that the car is worth. roughly 1800 dollars.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ************** Contact Phone: ****************** Contact Email: ***************************** BBB CASE#******** OUR CLAIM NUMBER ********** OUR INSURED: **************/ ************** COMPLAINANT: ************** LOSS DATE: 7/27/2013 Dear Sir or Madam: We are in receipt of the above referenced complaint filed by Mr. ******. We received notice of a theft claim on 7/29/2013. The insured reported that the vehicle was stolen from Mr. ******'s workplace. The loss was assigned to Claims Representative ************** on 7/29/13. Theft paperwork was mailed to the insured on 7/29/13. On 7/31/13 Mr. ****** provided a statement to Claims Representative **************. Mr. ****** advised he left his keys in his vehicle at ******'s pizza, where he worked. Mr. ****** denied that he was delivering pizza at the time of the theft. Ms. ******* advised that the theft paperwork had been mailed out and needed to be completed. She also advised the file would be reviewed by ********************* due the theft claim. On 8/5/13 we were advised that the vehicle had been recovered by police with damage. In addition to body and possible engine damage caused by the theft the vehicle had $1414.18 in prior unrelated damage and was determined to be a total loss. On 8/12/13 Mr. ****** returned the theft paperwork. The paperwork was sent to the **************************. The file was assigned to Special Investigator ***********. Mr. ***** reviewed the completed affidavit and located the theft report. The theft report clearly indicated that Mr. ****** advised the officer that he left the keys in the vehicle and the vehicle unlocked as he was retrieving pizza for deliveries. The police report also indicated that the ******'s delivery sign was affixed to the top of the vehicle at the time of the theft. This completely contradicted Mr. ****** statement in which he had denied delivering pizza. Due to the Delivery Exclusion on the policy, Mr. ****** was determined to be in violation of the policy conditions for using his personal vehicle to deliver pizza at the time of the theft of the vehicle. On 8/20/13 Claims Manager ************** reviewed the file and approved the denial of coverage due to the violation of coverage. We regret that there is no coverage for the loss for the use of a personal vehicle while it is being used for delivery to any activity associated with the delivery of food, mail, magazines, newspapers, flowers, or any products for a business. We hope this response is sufficient but if there are any further questions please contact us. Sincerely, ************** Personal Lines Claims Unit Manager ********************************************************************************* ***************************** ************ (direct-dial telephone) ************ Ext. 4114 (toll-free telephone) ************ (fax)

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/26/2013 Delivery Issues
8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Delivery Issues
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues