BBB Accredited Business since

AccuQuote

Phone: (847) 850-2000 Fax: (847) 850-2800 View Additional Phone Numbers 1400 S Wolf Rd  Building 500, Wheeling, IL 60090 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.accuquote.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AccuQuote meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AccuQuote include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AccuQuote
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 13, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 01/31/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Byron Udell, President/CEO Mr. Valerie Aiello, Vice President - Marketing Mr. Danny Sternfield, Manager Public Relations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Danny Sternfield, Manager Public Relations
Principal: Mr. Byron Udell, President/CEO
Business Category

Insurance Services Insurance - Life Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Alternate Business Names
Byron Udell & Associates, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1400 S Wolf Rd
    Building 500

    Wheeling, IL 60090 (800) 442-9899 (800) 489-0422 (800) 875-4278 (888) 284-5656 (800) 913-2135 (800) 541-6893 (847) 850-2000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January 2015 I applied for a life insurance policy and was quoted approx. 219.00 per month.Upon submitting application I was informed that a physical was required at no cost so I obtained the physical. Recently I have received numerous bills from the clinic and have been in constant contact with them and the company and continue to be told not to worry the bill will be paid by accuquote or its affiliates. I have called accuquote approx. 20 times talking to the ceo and many managers and get the same answer stating that I am not responsible for the bill and they will get it paid. This issue is now turning into a negative credit report and that is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: pay the cost of the physical and submit statement to the credit bureau in my name.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/15) */ At AccuQuote, we take complaints from our clients very seriously. Serving these people with unmatched customer service is our top priority. With that in mind, we looked into this matter immediately and thoroughly. After our research, we found that the exam vendor we are instructed to use by the insurance carrier, **** (exam vendor), incorrectly billed Mr. ******** directly in error, and that this should never have happened. On Thursday, October 8, our **** Relationship Manager ************ assured us that Mr. ******** will not receive any more bills, and that no further action is necessary from Mr. ********. The problem occurred as a result of an error on the part of the medical facility where Mr. ******** was examined. As for Mr. ********' second request, we are happy to assist if he would like to obtain written proof that the bill has been fully paid and that he was erroneously billed. Mr. ******** can contact ************** at AccuQuote at ************ x*** for this help.

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been contacted since May 29 a total of 74 times on my cellphone. After the 5th call I asked to be removed. Computer lady is still calling me 3-4x per day.

Desired Settlement: STOP CALLING ME

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/30) */ We at AccuQuote take customer service very seriously. It is a top priority for us to make sure both our customers and leads are served with the utmost care. We only contact those who have opted-in, and if someone at any point decides he or she doesn't want to be called or emailed, we certainly respect that and take action accordingly and immediately. We have no record of ***** asking to be put on the Do Not Call list during her fifth call (as she indicates in the complaint). We do find, however, that ***** asked to be placed on that list on 6/23/15. Upon her request on that day, we put her on the list immediately. ***** should no longer be called by AccuQuote. Also, we've made sure *****'s email was suppressed (removed) from both our internal list and any of our partner lists. She should not be contacted by AccuQuote in any way from now on. Please note the email suppression process could take up to seven (7) business days.

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed on with a survey site called "************" Various emails were sent to my inbox each day. The very first ones promising more than $100 just to participate in the following minutes with a series of questions from a partner site! Which led to the focus of this complaint! Accuquote was to provide payment as explained by panel payday! This is really aggravating considering the promises made were so direct and reassuring!! After seeing supposed accredited businesses i participated in three different surveys totaling $450 before getting a email from panel payday that mentioned my payment was on the way to my bank right now and i should go ahead and participate in this survey they had on hand and it was just so fake at that moment it hit me all at once cause usually a private email would be sent not a quick message taped to a survey requesent Plus the big one was i never gave them any bank information!! I believed this at first! Especially being told that a check was being sent! This is ridiculous!! Practically living in poverty here with children to raise and I'm being ripped off by a multi million dollar corporation!!! Wow!

Desired Settlement: I want the $450 i was promised! If I'm promised by ************ that ill be paid by the following company that actually is the one benefiting then that's who should pay!! It makes sense that ************ would say that the following company would pay me, which is Accuquote and that's because they are the ones benefiting the most from everything by getting paid by big insurance for getting clients!! Shame on you Accuquote!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/07) */ At AccuQuote, we take situations and complaints like this very seriously. To that end, we investigated thoroughly Mr. ********'s claim and exhaustively researched this issue, since AccuQuote has never dealt with *********** on any surveys or other business of any kind. We contacted *********** and they reviewed all communication with Mr. ******** that they had available to them. *********** did not see AccuQuote's name on any offers Mr. ******** received. We can say with absolute certainty that we have never participated in paid survey offers like the one Mr. ******** references. We've been told by *********** that they'd be happy to work directly with Mr. ********, and if Mr. ******** would contact them and provide the emails or other information he received, they can help to resolve the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) For one I have about 75 surveys promising money of $25 and up! All you have to do is sign up at panel payday and you will see what's what! Who ever responded to the complaint is lying straight out! I tried for three weeks to get a response but was unable to even send a message because everytime you fill it out and go to submit it your told that there is some technical difficulties and that you need to find a different way to contact us!! Now how would I know how else to contact them unless they tell me!! That is how bad this response is! If Accuquote knows how to get a hold of someone at panel payday then they are in on it as well because I'll guarantee you that no customers going to contact them!!!! Accuquote must think people is awful stupid to believe that **** when they had to go the bbb to get anyone at all!! I have the email of every promised payment! Even a couple promising payment!! What liars!!!! Saying get a hold of panel payday is like laughing and saying tough! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/13) */ As mentioned before, even though AccuQuote has never done business with *********** or participated in any survey offers, we are committed to working towards a resolution of this issue. With that in mind, we'd ask Mr. ******** to contact *********** directly. Since it seems like he's had difficulty doing that thus far, please inform him to reach *** by email at *******@***********.com or through their "Contact Us" form on ***'s website. Also, please have Mr. ******** attach and/or include any emails or post office mail communications that support his claim and complaint, as well as any emails or post office mail communications that show the AccuQuote name. When doing so, please have Mr. ******** also send this information to AccuQuote via email at ***************@accuquote.com so that we may learn who is using our name in an unauthorized way and without our approval. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is a dead issue, it's clear what the scam is here! Accuquote and panel payday are doing things this way because it works out great for them! Accuquote says it's panel payday but yet thru the contact us form or the address given in this leaves no way to contact panel payday which Accuquote knows this and that's why this works! Hopefully the bbb will sound the alarm and try to prevent others from being scammed! That's what they did to me, both panel payday and Accuquote! Accuquote acts like they aren't involved but the survey link provided by panel payday takes you right to Accuquote's Web site!! So in all truthfulness accuquote is getting all kinds of benefits from survey takers who have no clue they are about to be scammed! Panel payday promised $150 to participate in the survey but yet this liar responding to this complaint says he has no idea what is going on!!! I guess panel payday likes working for free on a random business they draw from a hat!! Of course not, panel payday and Accuquote are in business together and they are ripping people off!! Please post this complaint attached to Accuquote's reference and page there at the bbb so others can see what they are doing!! What crooks!!

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/8/15 at about 5:15 PM ET, Ricardo ******* called me from XXX-XXX-XXXX in regard to purchasing life insurance. He said he worked for Accuquote in Chicago and gave me the business's phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX). This call was in violation of the National Do-Not-Call Registry (DNCR)which I have been enrolled in for many years. Approximately 90 minutes prior to Mr. *******'s call, I received another illegal call from "Broker Match", which promised to connect me with mortgage and insurance brokers. There is no direct-line link (probably the point...) to Mr. *******, but it seems he is using a third-party service in violation of the DNCR to generate sales leads.

Desired Settlement: Assurance from Accuquote that all of their employees will do business in complete compliance with the DNCR, and that they will not use any services that do not adhere to the strictures of the DNCR.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/17) */ One of our lead sources contacted Mr. ************ by telephone based on his request. During the call, the agent communicated and asked Mr. ************ for permission for automated telephone contact and from multiple providers and Mr. ************ agreed to the request. In reviewing the call, we understand he may have had some confusion knowing that he would be receiving calls from both mortgage and insurance agents about quotes. We have reviewed and discussed this with our lead source and are reinforcing our requirements to them that all agents must be abundantly clear with the client so that the client knows who will be calling them back. We appreciate the feedback and information from Mr. ************. At AccuQuote, we address these situations very seriously and thoroughly and abide by all proper regulations to remain in compliance with them. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) AccuQuote's "Lead Source" cold-called me illegally in violation of the National Do-Not-Call Registry (DNCR), with no request from me to do so. I agreed to receiving further calls so as to find out who was using the law-breaking "Lead Source" to receive sales leads. Since AccuQuote continues to use this "Lead Source", they are implicated in the illegal activity of disregarding the DNCR. I will continue to interact with any illegal "Lead Source" calls I receive with the goal of wasting as much time and resources of the companies using these companies to generate sales leads. I will also be spreading the word in all forums that this is why (some very angry) folks are still receiving unwanted calls after signing up for the DNCR. I'll definitely include my experiences with any specific companies responsible, and how they respond to my complaints. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/01) */ Mr. ************ noted in his BBB reply that AccuQuote continues to use the lead source in question. This is incorrect. In fact, we stopped working with this source immediately (April 14) upon learning of Mr. ************'s original complaint while doing our investigation into the facts and have not used them since. We require ALL of our lead sources to comply with all laws and regulations. For those speaking with clients by telephone, we require that they have proper consent to call and make it abundantly clear that the client knows what the reason for the call was, who they are speaking with and exactly who will be calling them back if they provide consent. We appreciate the feedback and information from Mr. ************. At AccuQuote, we address these situations very seriously and thoroughly and abide by all regulations to remain in compliance with them.

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sends SPAM emails from variety of other web domains apparently to avoid SPAM filters. Have received 1-2 messages per day all unsolicited and all using DECEPTIVE practices. A quick search on the web revealed others with same issue yet this company has an A+ rating? See this: http://***********XX.wix.com/accuquotespam My request is for all unsolicited emails to stop and for the BBB to take any action it can.

Desired Settlement: My time and smartphone charges to deal with daily SPAM review/deletion - $100

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ To Whom It May Concern at the BBB: Thank you very much for bringing ****'s complaint to our attention. It is a top priority here at AccuQuote to make sure our leads and our customers and recipients of partner emails are served with the utmost care. If they don't want to be reached or emailed, we take action immediately. We continue to contact only those who have opted-in, and if someone at any point decides he or she doesn't want to be reached or emailed, we certainly respect that and again, we take action accordingly and immediately. We don't use deceptive email practices and never employ "black hat" tactics. With that in mind and in response to his complaint, we've had ****'s email address suppressed (removed) from both our internal list and all of our partner lists - so he shouldn't receive any more emails. We did this as soon as we became aware of the issue - on 7/28/14. Please note this process could take up to seven (7) business days. We fully abide by and adhere to all aspects of the CAN-SPAM act, and our contracted agencies certify to us that they do as well. If any of them are violating it, we cannot prevent it unless we have knowledge of it. Upon receiving ****'s complaint, we immediately contacted all our partners and made sure they understood all the rules and laws when it comes to emails sent out; we required that each partner test and confirm that their opt-out function (unsubscribe) was working properly; and we reiterated to our partners that if any one of them is found in violation, appropriate action will be taken. Thanks Sincerely, ***** ********** AccuQuote XXX-XXX-XXXX ****

1/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stop sending me junk mail

Desired Settlement: I want them to take me off their list

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/23) */ To Whom It May Concern at the BBB, Thank you very much for bringing this issue to our attention. It is a top priority here at AccuQuote to make sure our leads, customers and recipients of partner emails are served with the utmost care. If they don't want to be reached or emailed, we take action immediately. We continue to contact only those who have opted-in, and if someone at any point decides he or she doesn't want to be reached or emailed, we certainly respect that and again, we take action accordingly and immediately. With that in mind and in response to *****'s complaint, we've had his email address suppressed (removed) from both our internal list and all of our partner lists - so he shouldn't receive any more emails. Please note this process could take up to seven (7) business days. We provided the same communication (as above) to *****. Thanks again. Sincerely, ***** ********** AccuQuote Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At some time in the past, when I was shopping for life insurance, I must have filled out a quote form on accuquote.com or one of its partners. I have since purchased a policy elsewhere, and when I received a sales e-mail from someone claiming to be from accuquote, I used the unsubscribe link. Usually the result is "Your email address **************************** has been unsubscribed from the mailing list "************** The mailing list name varies, and I can only assume they get around criminal violations by using a "new list" for each spam, though one time I received a response that I had already been unsubscribed from the list. I tried e-mailing *****************, to describe my complaint, but I have not received a response. I have continued to receive sales e-mails, which appear to be identical, from different people within their organization. Their spam server has only used a few names more than once. The subject of these e-mails varies, but quite often is something like "Your immediate response is necessary," or "Your results are in (please review)." I would not normally bother BBB with a spam abuse complaint, but since this is a BBB-accredited business, I thought you might be interested to know they use dishonest marketing, and disregard unsubscribe requests. In many states this would be considered criminal malfeasance. If there is nothing you can do, I understand, but I had to try something now that I'm getting 3-4 e-mails per day.

Desired Settlement: I wish to stop being harrassed by the company, since they claim I was removed from their mailing list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ To Whom It May Concern at the BBB, Re: BBB Case# XXXXXXXX Thank you very much for bringing *****'s issue with our emails to our attention. It is a top priority here at AccuQuote to make sure our leads and our customers and recipients of partner emails are served with the utmost care. If they don't want to be reached or emailed, we take action immediately. We continue to contact only those who have opted-in, and if someone at any point decides he or she doesn't want to be reached or emailed, we certainly respect that and again, we take action accordingly and immediately. With that in mind and in response to *****'s complaint, we've had his email address suppressed (removed) from both our internal list and all of our partner lists - so he shouldn't receive any more emails. Please note this process could take up to seven (7) business days. We fully abide by and adhere to all aspects of the CAN-SPAM act, and our contracted agencies certify to us that they do as well. If any of them are violating it, we cannot prevent it unless we have knowledge of it. Upon receiving *****'s complaint, we immediately contacted all our partners and made sure they understood all the rules and laws when it comes to emails sent out; we required that each partner test and confirm that their opt-out function (unsubscribe) was working properly; and we reiterated to our partners that if any one of them is found in violation, appropriate action will be taken. To help us ensure that this never happens again and that proper action is taken, we kindly request from you a copy of the email(s) in the question. These messages can be emailed to me. We have sent a similar message to *****, also asking him for the email(s) in question. Thanks Sincerely, AccuQuote

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Multiple violations of the CAN SPAM act over the last several months with their contracted agencies repeatedly sending unwanted e-mails and failing to remove from mailing lists when requested.

Desired Settlement: Appropriate fines from Federal Government in repeated violations of the The CAN-SPAM Act of 2003 (15 U.S.C. 7701, et seq., Public Law No. 108-187, was S.877 of the 108th United States Congress)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/14) */ To: BBB Re: Case#XXXXXXXX Dear BBB, We at AccuQuote take very seriously the feedback we receive from our customers and leads. It is a top priority for us to make sure both our customers and recipients of partner emails are served with the utmost care. We only contact those who have opted-in, and if someone at any point decides he or she doesn't want to be reached or emailed, we certainly respect that and take action accordingly and immediately. We fully abide by and adhere to all aspects of the CAN-SPAM act, and our contracted agencies certify to us that they do as well. If any of them are violating it, we cannot prevent it unless we have knowledge of it. With that and ***********'s complaint in mind, we immediately contacted all our partners and made sure they understood all the rules and laws when it comes to emails sent out; we required that each partner test and confirm that their opt-out function was working properly; and we reiterated to our partners that if any one of them is found in violation, appropriate action will be taken. We've also had ***********'s email suppressed (removed) from both our internal list and all of our partner lists. Please note this process could take up to seven (7) business days. To help us ensure that this never happens again, we ask that the BBB request from *********** the actual email(s) in question. These messages will help us pinpoint a partner and investigate further.