BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bankers Life is a Chicago life insurance company which provides a broad selection of life and health insurance products designed especially for Americans who are near or in retirement. The Bankers Life brand is a part of CNO Financial Group, Inc., whose companies provide insurance solutions that help protect the health and retirement needs of working Americans and retirees.

With over 300 offices across the country, their more than 5,200 insurance agents live and work in the communities they serve, allowing them to create customized plans and helping them meet their goals for a secure retirement.

Visit the website for Bankers Life to learn more about how their products help protect the health and retirement needs of working people and retirees.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bankers Life meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bankers Life include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 175 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

175 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 41 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 33
Billing/Collection Issues 19
Delivery Issues 50
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 69
Total Closed Complaints 175

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Bankers Life
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 11
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1963 Business started: 01/17/1879 Business started locally: 01/17/1879 Business incorporated 04/01/1880 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Erin Loniello, Director, Marketing Services Chris Campbell, SVP, Marketing and Communication Scott Goldberg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Erin Loniello, Director, Marketing Services
Business Category

Insurance - Life Insurance - Long Term Care Annuities Retirement Planning Service Insurance Services Financial Services Insurance - Medicare Supplement Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Alternate Business Names
Bankers Conseco Life Insurance Company CNO Services LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bankers Life has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 S 450 Summit Ave. S120

    Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181

  • 10125 S Roberts Rd Ste 200

    Palos Hills, IL 60465

  • 1101 Perimeter Dr Ste 425

    Schaumburg, IL 60173

  • 111 E Wacker Dr STE 2100

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • 1111 S Alpine Rd Ste 400

    Rockford, IL 61108

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11825 N. Pennsylvania Street

    Carmel, IN 46032 (317) 817-3845

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13 Cusumano Professional Dr.

    Mount Vernon, IL 62864

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13 Executive Drive

    Fairview Heights, IL 62208

  • 1726 Glen lake Road

    Schaumburg, IL 60169

  • 2001 Midwest Road

    Oak Brook, IL 60523

  • 2507 Hertiage Court

    Rockford, IL 61108

  • 2720 S. River Road Ste 242

    Des Plaines, IL 60018 (847) 759-8100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4211 Westgate Drive

    Springfield, IL 62707

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4507 North Sterling Ave.

    Peoria, IL 61615

  • 4801 West Peterson Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60646

  • 600 W Chicago Ave Ste 4

    Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 396-6782

  • 920 Davis Road

    Elgin, IL 60123

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2016 Delivery Issues
1/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bankers Life and Casualty is charging my family for Administrative fees of $1,400 plus for a $25,000 policy on our mothers life insurance. We have had this policy for 2 years and was not told of the fees that would be charged. We asked them for a cash surrender amount and was told that she would only get $350.00; when asked about a paid up policy, we were told she would only get $572.00. We were also told that there was $1909.12 in the cash value and asked them if we could get that, we were told that we could only get the $572.00 because it is a flexible universal account that we were not aware that there were charges/fees to keep the policy in force. We have invested $6,144 into policy for the period of 27 months.We feel that we should get the $1909.12 that in the cash value and should not be charged. According to the surrender charges, they are charging my Mom for the 2 years that the policy have been active, they are charging $1400 plus. We felt that the $256.00 monthly premium was sufficient enough to keep the policy in force. We feel at the time to consult the BBB with this compliant to investigate. Product_Or_Service: Life Insurance for Mother Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund for accumulated cash value of $1909.12, per ********. on 8/31/2015 at Bankers Life

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/18) */ Bankers Life and Casualty Company ********************************* September 18, 2015 BBB of Chicago & Northern ******** 330 N. Wabash Avenue Suite 2006 Chicago, IL XXXXX-XXXX VIA: BBB Online Complaint System RE: Bankers **** and Casualty Company Complainant:*************************** Case Number: ******** Reference Number: XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX To Whom It *** Concern: This letter is in response to your email received in our office on September 9, 2015. Thank you for the opportunity to research this matter. In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such information to other persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. We have provided a detailed response directly to the policyowner. Our records do not reflect that we have authorization to respond directly to the complainant***************************. We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide our customers with the best possible service. If we may be of further service, please contact our customer service department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ********** Consumer Relations Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am the daughter of the policy holder and Bakers have been taking the $256.00 funds from my account at ************ Credit Union, and was given the OK from my mother to contact BBB regarding our complaint. Bankers should be the one to contact the policy holder to get her OK to respond to my BBB Complaint. I will be contacting the ******** Department of Insurance to file and complaint with them, since Bankers doesn't want to respond directly to me the complainant. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/09/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *************** Contact Phone: 312/XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@banklife.com Our records show that when ******* Register-****** & ***************** telephoned our Call Center on 8/31/15, ******* was made aware that we needed the 3rd Party Authorization to provide her with any information about this policy. We do not find that either ******* or ******* requested us to send an Authorization form at that time. As we did not have authorization to provide ******* with any addtional information, we responded directly to ******* with the information ******* requested on September 18, 2015.

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/17/2015 Delivery Issues
8/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/20/2015 Delivery Issues
6/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/26/2015 Delivery Issues
6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2015 Delivery Issues
3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2015 Delivery Issues
3/16/2015 Delivery Issues
3/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/3/2015 Delivery Issues
1/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/14/2015 Delivery Issues
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2014 Delivery Issues
12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2014 Delivery Issues
12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/15/2014 Delivery Issues
9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Delivery Issues
9/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/4/2014 Delivery Issues
8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: POLICY NUMBER XXXXXXXXX IS A BOGIS POLICY THAT I DID NOT BUY. THEY WENT INTO MY CHECKING ACCOUNT AND TOOK MONTHLY PREMIUMS FOR A $17,000.00 POLICY. II CALLED AGENT ****** ***** WHAT WAS GOING ON. SHE SAID MONIES AND TRANSACTION WAS NOT SUPPOSE TO HAPPEN AND THAT SHE WAS GOING TO CHECK ON THIS. IT'S BEEN THREE MONTHS AND NOTHING WAS DONE. I CAN FILE A FORGERY ACTION.

Desired Settlement: I EXPECT MY MONEY FOR THIS BOGIS POLICY NUMBER XXXXXXXXX RETURNED TO ME IN 24 HOURS. ON FEB 3, 2014 MY CHECKING ACCOUNT WAS WITHDRAWN IN THE AMOUNT OF $129.45 AND MARCH 4, 2014 ANOTHER $129.45....I CALLED BLC THIS MORNING AND SPOKE WITH ******* SHE SAID NOTHING WAS PROCESSED. ANOTHER $129.45 WILL BE TAKEN OUT AGAIN FROM MY CHECKING ACCOUNT, IF THIS DOESN'T STOP AS OF THIS DAY APRIL 1, 2014 I KNOW I CAN FILE A CLASS ACTION SUIT. MONIES HAD STILL NOT BEEN RETURNED AFTER TALKING WITH AGENT. THERE WAS NO DOCUMENTS SIGNED AT ALL TO TAKE A LIFE INSURANCE POLICY.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: 312/XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@banklife.com see attached letter Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear Ms. ******* ****** Re: File #XXXXXXXX Policy No. XXXXXXXX Insured owner: ****** M. **** File XXXXXXXXX Date: April 21, 2014 Ms. ******* this is my response to you and Agent ****** ****** I "did not" accept any policy to process for $17,000.00 When I was trying to get our $30,000.0 policy rescinded back to ******* Life and on the phone by a Bankers Life customer service representative both my husband and I that we had three policies in place with Bankers Life. We have a Long Term Care Policy in place and the ongoing issue for the $30,0000.00 Policy. I called Agent ***** that we also have another policy for $17,000.00 I asked what was going on, I didn't sign for another insurance policy. Agent ***** replied to me on the phone "that they were not suppose to do that" meaning the $17,000.00 should not have been processed and she was going to talk to someone and who I don't know! To make matters worse, Bankers Life withdrew $129.45 from our joint checking account "without" a cancelled check from my husband and I. Bankers Life does not have the authority to just take money out of our checking account just because we have an existing Long Term Care Policy in place! Both my husband and I went to our bank to report a fraud transaction and the bank was going to stop payment. Agent ***** did not make stop payment for the month of April. Our bank account has not received all monies for the three or four transactions till today, April 21, 2014. Our bank is also filing a fraud complaint and I have also submitted a report to the **** ****** along with the $30,0000.00 policy. On your VIA ONLINE COMPLAINT SYSTEM email that I received dated April 18, 2014 I see a cancelled check and a signature by ****** M. ****. The attacked copy does not show me what form ****** M. **** signed to! For the record: THE SIGNATURE OF ****** M **** IS NOT HIS SIGNATURE! Someone else signed his name. I am sending a copy of this email and attached documents as an addendum to both complaints. Reading into Agent ******** statement, the $30,000.00 check is one issue and the $17,000.00 policy is another issue. They are both two different issues. When I was advised of three policies all of that was under ****** M. ****'s name. I was told by Bankers Life Main Office and the girl who answers the phone at the **** Street Mall Office that ALL Policies were under ****** ****'s name. I DID NOT TELL AGENT ***** TO GO AHEAD WITH A $17,0000.00 POLICY! THAT SIGNED RECEIPT IS NOT ****** M **** SIGNATURE! A FAXED COPY WITH ****** M. **** SIGNATURE WAS SENT ON MARCH 17, 2014 TO CANCEL THE $30,000.00 POLICY AND TO RESCIND CHECK TO PACIFIC LIFE WITH A 3 DAY RUSH PROCESSING. ****** M. **** does not have a LIFE INSURANCE POLICY in place since March 17, 2014. We were well in the 30 day time frame to reinstate ****** M. **** policy but has since been held up on Bankers Life Casualty Company. Three months will shortly be coming up on both issues to get my money back for the $17,000.00 that I did not sign for, a $30,000.0 check that should have gone back to Pacific Life to reinstate my $109,000.00 policy and a sign document that is "NOT" the signature of ****** M. ****. With this said I feel strongly and whole heartedly both complaints should go to *****. Bankers Life home office should be sending a representative and the Insurance Commissioner in Hawaii for litigation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/07/03) */ Bankers Life and Casualty Company PO Box **** ****** ** XXXXX-XXXX July 3, 2014 ******* ****** BBB of Chicago and Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Avenue Suite **** Chicago, IL XXXXX RE: Bankers Life and Casualty Company Consumer: ****** M. **** BBB Case Number: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ******* This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office on June 23, 2014 on behalf of Mr. ****. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the additional inquiry. Our special investigation unit conducted interviews with the agent and Mr. ****. During the interview from May 28, 2014, Mr. **** requested that we cancel his policy and refund the initial premium drafted from his bank account. We provided the customer with the desired resolution by voiding his policy and refunding the initial premium. Our check distribution system indicates that the refund check cleared our bank. Irrespective of who recorded the incorrect address, when we processed the refund of premium, we needed to correct Mr. ****'s address in our system, to ensure he received the check. This resulted in a system generated letter mailed to Mr. ****, informing him of the correction. Subsequent correspondence was received from Mr. and Mrs. **** on June 2, 2014. Our investigation concerning the agent continued. Further review was conducted as a result of the notarized affidavit received on June 2, 2014, with no irregularities detected on the contested signatures. We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide our customers with the best possible service. If we may be of further service, please contact our customer service department at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ****** ******* AIRC, FFSI, FLMI, FLHC, HIA Consumer Relations Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I HAVE READ THE RESPONSE REBUTTAL FROM BANKERS LIFE INSURANCE, SIGNED BY MS. ***** ******* ALL I DID WAS READ BOTH THE RESPONE REBUTTAL AND FINAL NOTICE TO AB. I AM NOT ACCEPTING BOTH LETTERS AS A RESOLUTION TO THE "TRICKERY" BY AGENT ****** ****** FRAUDULANTLY GOING INTO MY CHECKING ACCOUNT AND PAYING FOR PREMIUMS OF A POLICY THAT "I DID NOT" AUTHORIZED OR PURCHASED FOR A $17,000.00 LIFE POLICY. THERE WAS ANOTHER LIFE INSURANCE POLICY FOR $30,000.00 WHICH WAS FINALLY TRANSFERED BACK TO THE ORIGINAL COOMPANY. DURING THIS 5 MONTHS GOING ON 6 MONTHS I HAVE BEEN CALLING EVERYDAY WITH BANKERS LIFE TO MAKE THIS CORRECT. BECAUSE I HAVE ALSO FOUND FORGERY IN THE DOCUMENTS "I AM NOT ACCEPTING" THE "FINAL NOTICE" ACCEPTABLE. I AM CONSIDERING FILING A LAWSUIT AGAINST AGENT ****** ***** AND BANKERS LIFE. LETTERS DO NOT MAKE WHAT AGENT ***** AND BANKERS LIFE MAKE IT ALL GO AWAY. I WANT WHAT I SAID FROM THE BEGINNING WHAT AGENT ***** AND BANKERS LIFE DOES TO THE CONSUMERS HOW DECEIVING BANKERS LIFE COMPANY OPERATES AND BEWARE OF AGENT ****** ****** MY COMMMENTS SHOULD BE REGISTERED FOR ALL CONSUMERS TO VIEW. ANOTHER ISSUE EVOLVED. AGENT ****** ***** TOLD HER HOME OFFICE TO CHANGE OUR MAILING ADDRESS UPON MY REQUEST......THAT WAS ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE. I AM INVESTIGATING WHY AGENT ***** HAS CHANGED OUR PERMANENT ADDRESS. ****** M **** AND ******* H. ****

7/14/2014 Delivery Issues
7/11/2014 Delivery Issues
7/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2013 my husband and I contacted a broker, **** ******* for a policy from Bankers Conseco. As part of the evaluation process they sent a nurse to our home. The nurse denied our coverage with minimal activity and we had 90 days from the December 4, 2013 letter to request a detailed explanation on this nurses conclusion. On February 10, 2014 I sent a letter seeking that detailed explanation. I was ignored. I sent a second letter, made several calls and had my broker call twice as well. All ignored. This denial by this "nurse" harms our medical going forward and we need to straighten this out and find out what this "nurse's" qualifications and decison were based upon as I as well as the broker find it quite disturbing and inaccurate. after reading all the reviews, I can see this company has some serious business problems with the public.

Desired Settlement: I want the detailed letter explaing the denial as well as the medical file on my husband and myself.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/20) */ see attached Note to consumer from BBB: There are two authorizations of information release attached. Please sign, date and return the form that applies to your complaint. Without this signed and dated form returned to us, the business will only respond directly to you. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I received the letters FINALLY that we had requested,ONLY AFTER I FILED THIS COMPLAINT. it NOW appears that a "second set" of letters was alledged to have been sent back in March....oddly those letter do not match the ones sent ONLY IN RESPONSE TO THIS COMPLAINT. In addition, my husband and I had requested the appeal process be sent to us. I received a telephone call with the same conversation. Of course, true to their lack of customer service, no such information on the appeal process has been forthcoming. I may have no choice but to pursue action for age discrimination against this company. I will be telling people and posting this on the internet for people to see how they treat the elderly! Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/06/23) */ see attached Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) to little to late. AND only after I complained here did they attempt to send anything. Then worried they sent different versions to my broker and then to my home by snail mail. Finally, their failure to detail who this "nurse" was, were her credentials were, how she was qualified to render her capricious and arbitrary determination gives me rise to wonder what they are hiding. It is clear that ******* insurance company treats their customers poorly. My only choice now is litigation to resolve the issue of how this determinatino was made and by whom ...for all I know the person who came to my home might have been a drug addict.....nonetheless, the companies failure has caused me harm that I have no choice but to seek compensation for.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2014 Delivery Issues
6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2014 Delivery Issues
6/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Delivery Issues
6/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/3/2014 Delivery Issues
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2014. They have not responded to the phone messages I have been leaving. They have overdrafted my account by $$495.32 and I don't know how to get them to stop deducting 2 payments each month if they do not contact me.

Desired Settlement: a refund of $495.32 and cease taking 2 payments each month instead of the agreed upon $256.72 per month.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/01) */ See attached response Note to consumer: The attachment also includes authorization for release of information. You *** return the signed and dated form to me via email. *******@chicago.bbb.org Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) they have sent me a check for the amount they deducted from my checking account in error. Thank you for your help.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2014 Delivery Issues
4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A check in the amount of $2,772.13 as proceeds from the death of my husband on January 5,2014 was supposed to have been mailed to me on March the 26 2014 until this day I have not received this Check. I have called several times each time I has called I was told something different they mailed it to the branch office when I called there I was told no one is here that take care of the matter give me your number I will have her call when she called she stated we have not received it here, now the Funeral Home that handled my husband body has received their check I'M only 20 minutes. away why so long for me? I need an answer.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that's due me My husband worked hard for it.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2014/04/19) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I would like to withdrew my complaint against the company they have responded to my satisfaction thank you.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/14/2014 Delivery Issues
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother bought a policy in late 2010. She died early 2012. I was told before I sent the paper work in, in February 2014, that I'd get the check in 10 days. After they received it on February 28, 2014 that I'd get it in ten days. I called today 3-10-2014, they are now saying I didn't call about her being dead. I called them on February 27, 2012. Not only had I called, but the mortician called them. They are saying that because it wasn't a full 2 years, they can contest it, but told my mother when she bought it, that it didn't matter when she passed, whomever the beneficiary was, they would be able to collect without a hassle. It's taken 7 people to finally be told that they have the right to deny the policy being cashed in. When I ask why is it contestable, they kept saying that it was I failed to call them. I called them that Monday after she had died. All needed information to show her death. Her policy number is #******* I just want what my mother was paying for to help with her funeral bills and the rent.

Desired Settlement: They mentioned that either I'd get the $884.00, or refunding the money she paid over the period of 2010-2012. I would like either or. I'm being jerked around. Just what they said. The $884.00 or what my mother paid over the time period of 2010 to 2012

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: 312/XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@banklife.com See attached letter.

4/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted from ******* ****** on 12/5/2013 stating I owed the company money for chargebacks after I left them. I asked for the names of everyone that canceled the policies I had written. She started saying names that I had never heard of before. I asked for a detailed report of these names. On 1/21/2014, I called her back and emailed her back several times trying to make sure this issue was resolved. No documents have been provided to me showing that i truely owe this money. I provided documents showing that not only do I not owe them money, but they actually owe me money. A response I received from a ******* and ***** is that they dont care about what money I am owed. They both also stated that ******* is known for this issue and they do not have access to any of my information. Finally, they keep stating that they have sent me "final demand letters" asking for this money when i have not received anything at all plus they have no record of sending me anything when i ask them.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this to be completely removed since I do not owe them any money. Also, it is to be removed from "********" immediately.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/21) */ PO Box **** ****** ** XXXXX-XXXX March 21, 2014 ******* ****** BBB Chicago and Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Avenue, Suite **** Chicago, IL 60611 RE: Bankers Conseco Life Insurance Company Name: ***** ******** Case #: ******** (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) Dear Ms. ******* This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received March 13, XXXXX, concerning the above-referenced case number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter. Calls are recorded for quality purposes only. The manager of the Account Recovery Group listened to the calls from January 21, 2014 and February 21, 2014, and they do not support the allegations made by Mr. ********. We have responded directly to former agent ***** ********' concerns. We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may be of further assistance, our office can be reached by calling (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ****** L. ***** Consumer Relations

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/24/2014 Delivery Issues
3/18/2014 Delivery Issues
3/3/2014 Delivery Issues
2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talked to 2 of their agents regarding additional life insurance for me after my husband's passing ** December, 2013. The one agent, ******** ****** attempted to sell me a Extended Care, Cancer policy. I did not want as I had cancer 5 years ago & was taken by another insurance company so I'm very distrustful of those policies. On Dec XX XXXX $59.18 was withdrawn from my checking account without my knowledge or approval. When I contacted **** ******* the other agent involved, I was told he would look into it. I told them I did not want any insurance from them if that was how they treated their potential customers. I was not even informed if I had been approved by their underwriter for the life insurance. After several phone calls & finally received half of what they had taken on Jan XX XXXX. This was a check for $29.59. I have still to receive the balance although I was told 2 weeks ago I would have it by the end of that week. All you get is an answering machine when you call the office & I have left 3 messages with NO response from them. Just checked the website for Bankers Life and saw lots of comments regarding how crooked they are not only with people who work for them, but from policy holders attempting to collect on their policies.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my other $29.59 as soon as possible as they promised.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 10, 2014/02/15) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I did receive the check yesterday,2/14 and a phone call as well checking to see if I had received the check which was actually issued on 2/6. She had received the complaint I had filed with BBB & was following up on it with me. She stated she would respond to the complaint that it had been resolved. Thank you very much for your help.

2/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/29/2014 Delivery Issues
1/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother is an 88 year old widow living on a fixed income. My father passed away in January of this year. She recently moved to an assisted living facility that does not bill LTC companies directly. They will, however, submit monthly statements to BL so that we can be reimbursed. So, we are paying each month with the expectation that Bankers Life will reimburse us in a timely manner. I was told by a representative of BL that we could expect reimbursement in 10 business days after the bill was submitted each month. The billing rep at the assisted living facility submitted the November bill on December 2nd. On December 17th, when the check had not arrived, I called BL to question the status of the claim. I was told that the FAX came through on December 2nd with the cover letter, but the document was missing. I was angry that nothing was done to rectify the matter. I called the billing rep at assisted living and she assured me that she had received confirmation that the FAX had been successfully sent on December 2nd. Furthermore, her contact information was on the cover letter so they could have contacted her. I called BL back on December 18th and spoke to another representative who informed me that they had received the FAX but it had not been processed until the 17th. Needless to say I am frustrated and angry. I have filed a complaint against this company in the past and had hoped that we would have no further issues, but they are clearly reluctant to pay and have no dedication to providing optimal customer service to their clients, who have purchased this coverage in good faith, and who pay their premiums on time. In fact, I believe that they are in the business of NOT paying whenever possible. My expectation is that when we file a claim each month, my mother will receive reimbursement in a timely manner, just as she pays her premiums.

Desired Settlement: I want Banker's Life to process claims when they receive them and reimburse my mother within 10 business days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/30) */ RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) 1 message KAKOS, Thomas J <*******@banklife.com> Mon, Dec 30, 2013 at 10:13 AM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org Ms. ******, We received your e-mail sent to Bankers Life and Casualty regarding the complaint sent in by the insured's daughter, **** ******. In your e-mail dated 12/30/13, you stated your records indicate that you have not yet received a response from us. Attached is the acknowledgement letter sent to the Better Business Bureau (BBB) dated December 20, 2013 explaining that we received the complaint and because we did not have HIPAA authorization on file with the BBB, we would be responding to the insured. We have finished our review and provided our response directly to the insured on Friday, December 27, 2013. We hope this resolves the matter. Thank you, ********* Claims Assistant, Consumer Relations Long Term Care Department Bankers Life and Casualty Company Email: *******@banklife.com Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) According to Mr. *****' letter dated 1/24/14, BL does not have HIPAA authorization to discuss my mother's case with me. This is inaccurate, as we have signed and submitted the forms and, in fact, I was told by a Ms. *************** of BL that they do in fact have the signed HIPAA. Because BL is inconsistent, I am waiting until my mother has received four consecutive months of reimbursement in a timely manner to close this complaint. Please understand that we have a long history of experiencing this behavior and lack of service from BL. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/01/28) */ see attached

1/28/2014 Delivery Issues
1/27/2014 Delivery Issues
1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NO CUSTOMER SERVICE...MADE AT LEAST 6 CALLS TO OBTAIN A SURRENDER FORM. SPOKE TO THE AGENT OF RECORD (***** ****** @ XXX XXX-XXXX & HE PROMISED TO CALL ME BACK...NO CALL BACK. CALLED THE AUTOMATED LINE AND WAS PUT INTO A 'LOOP' WITH NO RESULTS. FINALLY GOT A SURRENDER FORM FROM THE AUTOMATED LINE AFTER 4 CALLS, SUBMITTED THE PAPERWORK, WAITED SEVERAL WEEKS, AND GOT A LETTER STATING THAT MY SIGNATURE PAGE HAD NOT BEEN RECEIVED AND THE REQUEST WAS CLOSED. TRULY DISGUSTING CUSTOMER SERVICE! THEY TOOK MY MONEY FAST ENOUGH WHEN I BOUGHT THIS ANNUITY, BUT NOW WHEN I NEED TO SURRENDER THE POLICY, NO ONE WILL RESPOND AND PAPERWORK GETS CONVENIENTLY LOST.

Desired Settlement: ONLY SEEKING MY FULL SURRENDER VALUE ON THIS ANNUITY WHICH IS A LITTLE OVER $5000.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: 312/XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@banklife.com Attached is our response.

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2013 Delivery Issues
12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON JULY 18,2013 AGENT **** ******* FROM BANKER LIFE & CASUALTY MET WITH ****** AND ******* ***** AT I'LL HOME CONCERNING LIFE INSURANCE. AT THAT TIME WE PURCHASE 2 POLICY ONE FOR ******($48.67) AND ONE FOR *******($53.72). AFTER A COUPLE DAYS THE AGENT **** ******* INFORM US THAT A DRAFT FROM I'LL CHECKING ACCT IS REQUIRED. AT THAT TIME WE DECIDED TO CANCEL BOTH POLICY AND REQUESTED A REFUND. ONE CHECK FOR $ 48.67 WAS REFUNDED ON 10/03/13 AFTER CONTACTING THE AGENT SEVERAL TIME. IT NOW 11/19/13 STILL THE OTHER CHECK FOR $53.72 HAS NOT BEEN RECEIVE YET. I HAVE TRY TO CONTACT **** SEVERAL TIME, HE HASN'T RETURN MY CALL.

Desired Settlement: REFUND

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ Bankers Life and Casualty Company PO Box 1916 Carmel, IN XXXXX-XXXX November 26, 2013 BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Ave., Suite 3120 Chicago, IL 60611-7621 RE: Bankers Life and Casualty Company Case No.: XXXXXXXX Consumer(s): ****** *****, ******* ***** Dear Ms. ******* This letter is in response to your inquiry dated November 19, 2013. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter. We attempted to contact the complainant via telephone, to no avail. We wish to confirm that Mr. *****' refund request has been processed. We apologize for any inconvenience Mr. ***** may have experienced due to our processing delay and trust that any future interaction he may have with our company will be more to his satisfaction. We wish to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible service. If you have further questions or need additional assistance, you may contact me directly by dialing (XXX) XXX-XXXX, extension XXXXX. Sincerely, ****** ******* AIRC, FFSI, FLHC, FLMI, HIA Consumer Relations

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ***** came over to show me some cheaper term insurance plans. He ask to see the policy I had in place. I give him the policy and he told me that I had a term policy and that he can give me another term policy for the amount I'm pay which was 48.00. So he showed me a term plan for 48.00 for 146,888. So I signed up and he told me that he will cancel the other policy for me with no problem this was on 10/11/2011. In 2013 my husband notice that the other insurance company was still taking the 48.00 out of his account. So I called and found that ****** didn't cancel policy and plus lied to me and told me that it was a term policy when it was really a Universal Policy. So I stop payment on the policy with Bankers because the agent lied just to get me to purchase this policy. I feel that I was tricked into getting this policy and would like all of my money return. The agent should have explain to me my policy because it was his duty since I allowed him to see my policy.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a refund of 960.00 dollars because I had a good policy already and purchasing this term policy was a waste of my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/20) */ PO Box **** ****** ** XXXXX-XXXX November 20, 2013 ******* ****** BBB of Chicago and Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Avenue Suite 320 Chicago, IL XXXXX RE: Bankers Life and Casualty Company Consumer: ******* S. **** BBB Case Number: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ******* This letter is in response to your additional correspondence dated and received November 11, 2013, concerning the above-reference case number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter. We have responded directly to Ms. **** for the concerns listed in her complaint. We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may be of further assistance, you may contact me directly by calling (XXX) XXX-XXXX, ext. XXXXX. Sincerely, ****** L. ***** Consumer Relations

11/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/11/2013 Delivery Issues
11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2013 Delivery Issues
11/4/2013 Delivery Issues
11/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/21/2013 Delivery Issues
10/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2013 Delivery Issues
10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2013 Delivery Issues
9/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have guardianship of my father (**************). I had one of their agents call me regarding money sent to pay a third party. I let the person know that I was waiting for a statment from the company before paying the bill. She said that she had met with my father that day and went over some changes on the account. I let her know that I had guardianship and that my father was not legally able to sign anything. The agnet blew me off. I have my father's signature on a document from them when they have been specifically told he cannot do this. What other documents did this so called professional have him sign? The company will not call me back regarding this. I am now going to have to see if he signed over access to his credit cards, did he sign his portion of his house over to her? I now need to take further measures to ensure that he isn't being taken advantage of. Product_Or_Service: Long term care insurance Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want disciplinary action taken against this agent. I do not want her working near the elderly to take advantage of them also. I would also like a written apology from the company regarding this.

8/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/12/2013 Delivery Issues
8/5/2013 Delivery Issues
7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/22/2013 Delivery Issues
7/22/2013 Delivery Issues
7/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/1/2013 Delivery Issues
7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2013 Delivery Issues
6/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2013 Delivery Issues
5/6/2013 Delivery Issues
5/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2013 Delivery Issues
4/15/2013 Delivery Issues
4/15/2013 Delivery Issues
4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2013 Delivery Issues
4/1/2013 Delivery Issues
3/4/2013 Delivery Issues