BBB Accredited Business since

Storm Casualty Consulting, Inc.

Phone: (312) 593-8576 Fax: (312) 846-6406 921 S Loomis St, Chicago, IL 60607 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Storm Casualty Consulting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Storm Casualty Consulting, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Storm Casualty Consulting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2011 Business started: 09/28/2010 Business started locally: 09/28/2010 Business incorporated 09/24/2010 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Carolyn Hawkins, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carolyn Hawkins, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Insurance Consultants All Other Insurance Related Activities (NAICS: 524298)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Storm Casualty Consulting, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 921 S Loomis St

    Chicago, IL 60607 (312) 593-8576


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to work with this company for over 6 months to get my claim done. No one ever returns calls, Now they say ( after 6 months)the insurance company won't pay for it. Now I want to cancel and no one in the office can or will help me. Mike the owner never returns calls. I just want this nightmare to end already.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Contact by the Business I want my contract cancelled, and someone to call back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/11) */ The office manager called and spoke with Mr. ******** last week, and the whole issue has been settled up to 09/10/15. A refund was issued to Mr ********* with check # ***** Our customer, Mr. ******** was very satisfied with our efforts to settle the issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: repair of shingles on roof 1 year old Product_Or_Service: august 2013

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement repair of shingles on roof

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ Storm Casualty Consulting was first contacted at the end of August 2014 by Mrs. *****. 9/4/14 ******* with SCC drove to look at the damage that Mrs. ***** described. Initially there was no visible damage, upon speaking with two men at the house they showed me the missing shingles. There are 2 shingles wind blown on the side of the dormer on the rear of the house. The shingles are on the vertical wall of the dormer and right beneath the eve. Due to the location of the 2 missing shingles there will not be any leaking. SCC explained to Mrs. ***** that we will be out there as soon as possible to make the repair. The work done at the property is warrantied and we will certainly back up the warranty. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) since august 11,2014 they said they were coming to fix my Roof they haven't. ******* came out on 9/2/2014 still not Repair! **** said on four different occasions they were Coming out. They haven't!!!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/07) */ We apologize again for the delay of the repair. As stated before the 2 corners of shingle that came off the side of the dormer would not cause a leak. Storm Casualty Consulting Fixed the repair 100% Today October 7, 2014. The work done is still under warranty and we are proud to stand behind our work. Thank you for your business.

10/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with Storm Casualty Consulting, Inc. on July 27, 2014 to have a house and garage re-roofed and new gutters put on both as a result from storm damage. Materials for the roofing job were delivered around July 29 or July 30, 2014. They sat there for over a month. Building permit was issued on August 27, 2014. Job of re-roofing the house and garage was started on Sept. 3, 2014. To date the job is still not complete. There are parts of gutters laying around the property going on 3 weeks now. No other job around our house has taken more than 5 to 6 days to complete and this job has been going on for over 3 weeks. No one has been by for the past 8 days to complete the job. Repeated calls to the company have been met by false excuses of why the job is not yet completed and materials are still laying around, and empty promises of when the job will be finished. We want this job completed and the leftover materials and garbage off the property so that we may get all the nails, sharp pieces of trimmed aluminum, etc. cleaned up and finish a couple of other projects we would like to get done but can't until the job by Storm Casualty Consulting, Inc. is completed. The amount of time this basic job is taking is simply inexcusable. The gutters that have been hung so far are leaking from the corners and wherever the pieces of gutter meet. They have not been sealed and the rest of the gutters need to be hung. There has been a 30 foot section of gutter and pieces of gutter and several boxes of gutter parts laying in the driveway for going on the third week now. There is also an unhung downspout laying in the rocks behind our garage for almost 2 weeks. We would appreciate it very much if you could look into this matter.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the job completed ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********** i just spoke to 10 minutes ago , i told you that the color black on the gutters was out of stock and we had to wait until the shipment of black gutters was in. due to the large amount of hail damage that color was on back order. we have always answered your call and i have had someone come by today to pick up any material that was left now that the work is just about done when do you think you can pay us the deductible that is outstanding on the job!!!!! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The black gutters sat in our driveway for 10 days. Parts of them, a couple of boxes of elbows and a long 30 foot section of gutter are still sitting in our driveway. Downspout on garage still not installed and gutters still not calked and sealed. As for the deductible: I have a contract in which the deductible was waived, and it was signed by ******. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/29) */ im on my way out to take photos and resolve the problem

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My dad contracted these people to repair his roof of storm and wind damage.He contracted them in January, they did not show up to do the work until after his death in Late May or early June. They did a shoddy job. They put the gutter on the wrong side of the building and when it rains the water pours down the side of the building like Niagra Falls. **** the boss, has been called several times to come and correct this and each time he promises to come but has never showed up. So, to no avail I decided to contact the BBB. I received a check for 33,894.00. It has my dads name and their company name on it, but when I called the insurance companys' headquarters in Texas they said that a check was made out in my name, my dads name and their company name. They only charged 12,000.00 for the roof so who is the other money going to? The agent in Texas also said something about paying the consulting company 50% of something. The insurance company also sent me a packet of what the money was for. They were to have made repairs inside the house as far as designated ceilings and walls. **** told me that that didn't do anything inside the home. Somebody is lying. I have a check, I am wondering if there were two checks issued because these people act like they are not concerned when I threatened them about contacting you. Oh, by the way did I tell you that my dads birthday was May 29? He would have been 83 years old. I think they played on the fact that he was elderly. I never saw a contract , when I called and asked for a copy, they promised but never sent me one. Please contact me to let me know what to do.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for them to come out and repair the roof properly and do the repairs inside of the house as contracted by the insurance company because that's what they paid for. I would like to know how this consulting firm is involved. If they cant do the work, I would like a refund so that I can hire someone else to do it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/14) */ Storm Casualty Consulting Incorporated gives every condolence for your father's passing; we do not prey on the elderly. Your father came to us asking us to help us with his roof because his home was falling apart because of the leaking.We met with the insurance and the negotiations took 2 months to get their approval for the work to be done. After all of the years of re roofing the building we had to remove multiple layers, rebuild the parapet walls, bring the building up to code. All of the work outlined in the attached estimate completed within 3 Month and the only payment received was for $2,793.37 after completing the job for this little payment the insured's daughter kept the final payment from the insurance company for another month before releasing it to S.C.C. The roof, guttering and everything that Storm Casualty touched has been done in an excelent manner. The interior, as agreed upon, is not being done so that the insured does not have to pay their $3,244 deductible.Attached are the signed contracts. Receipts, invoices, estimates, photos are available upon request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/21) */ Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/22) */ Storm Casualty Consulting Inc. built the job in agreement with **********'s estimate as well as the local codes. The price for the work done; also paid by ********** was agreed upon between Storm Casualty and **********. The problem with the gutter has been rectified.

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were advertising free roofing at the flea market. I signed up round about *********** came by my house with some workers. I explained to him I had the State farm to come by last year and never herd nothing from them about giving me a new roof showed them where it was leaking from ceiling and down in the basement. He said he will fix it to where they will give me a new roof he has ways. They got up on my roof and tore off some shingles and dented up my vents where thy would look like hail damage. I took before pictures before they got up there but didn't tell them. They made arrangements to meet my adjuster to look at my house. The adjuster looked inside my house did measurements and looked on the roof. He sent me papers of how much they were given me to put up new dry wall all in my house. And just give me enough shingles for what is missing and the damaged vents, that's all thy are replacing on the roof. the worker came and got the pares of all the adjuster had and the check I endorsed. I called three times and did not hear from them until almost two months. mike called and said he's looking at my check on the desk and he's going to need the 1,000 deductible they took out and 300 more dollars to do the roof. I said I thought the roof was free, I am not working and I don't have 1,300 dollars to give you. Just send my check back then, he said he has to charge me a fee of 950.00 dollars, I said what fee if anything you should be paying me for the damage you did to my roof you tore of shingles and dented up my vents and on the papers that's all they are given me for the damage you did to my roof . He said have a nice day and hung up the phone. I received a check from his bank for 2,296.79 which he took out 950.00 dollars from cashing my check from state farm.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund My 950.00 dollars back and my free roof.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/14) */ No Representative from Storm Casualty ever caused mechanical damages by removing shingles or creating hail damage. That is 100% fabricated. S.C.C. Inc refunded Mr. ******'s money. We cannot do the roof for the amount that was detailed in the adjuster estimate; the estimate price includes the $1,000.00 Deductible which is explained in the homeowner's policy. The deductible is the insured's obligation to pay for the repairs. The Insurance check was refunded less the cancellation fee outlined on the contract signed.