Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Stonegate Insurance

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 458-1055 7400 N Caldwell Ave, Niles, IL 60714 http://stonegateins.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Stonegate Insurance is an insurance company which provides insurance products to individuals and businesses. This company serves downtown Chicago and the surrounding areas, including Evanston, Skokie, Niles, Des Plaines, Park Ridge, Norridge, Harwood Heights, Arlington Heights, Mt Prospect, Prospect Heights, Schiller Park, Franklin Park, Melrose Park, Stone Park, Northlake, River Grove, Elmwood Park, River Forest, Forest Park, Oak Park, Bensenville, Elk Grove Village, Itasca, Roselle, Rosemont, Wood Dale, Addison, Elmhurst, Berkeley, Bellwood, Hillside, Maywood, Broadview, and Hines. Products available include homeowners insurance, condominium insurance, renters insurance, fire insurance, automobile insurance, business insurance, commercial fire insurance, general and liquor liability insurance, tow truck programs, and commercial auto insurance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stonegate Insurance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stonegate Insurance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Stonegate Insurance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 10, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2011 Business started locally: 01/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Business Management
Mr. Dan Adelman, President Nick Dorado Annie McJeffrey
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Adelman, President
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Rental Insurance - Liability Insurance Consultants Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stonegate Insurance has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2016 Delivery Issues
6/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5.26.16 a driver for ******** ****** who is insured by Stonegate Insurance crashed into me. I have attempted to contact Stonegate NUMEROUS times and speak with the adjuster, **** ****** direct line ************ and this individual has not returned ANY of my MANY voicemails and never picks up her line. I hit zero for an operator and am put on hold for long times and never does anyone answer. As recent as today, 6.14.16 I was on hold for over 2 hours, 19 mins before I hung up. I am asking for your agency to contact Stonegate and have them contact me to resolve this claim. This company should not be allowed a license based on how they run their company. As a consumer, I would expect some professionalism. I have no idea how this company has an A+ rating with you...well actually I do...it's because they are accredited, meaning they pay the BBB money. I ask for your assistance please.

Desired Settlement: I would expect some professional conduct as well as the claims adjuster contacting me and handling this claim (claim * ******** in a VERY timely manner.

Business Response:

June 16, 2016

 

******* ******

BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois

330 N. Wabash Avenue #3120

Chicago, IL 60611-7621

 

Re: Your Case Number:     ********

Insured: **** ***** *** ******** ****** ************                                  

Complainant: ******* ******* ***********

Stonegate Claim No: **************      

 

Dear Ms. *******

 

Stonegate Insurance Company has reviewed the subject complaint and wishes to respond to the same.

 

On May 31, 2016, ***** ****** (an adjuster for ******** Insurance) on behalf of ******* provided Stonegate with its first notice of the subject loss.  Mr. ****** identified himself as the handling adjuster for ******** Insurance.  Per ******** Insurance, the loss occurred on May 26, 2016.  Per ********,  ****** ******* (“*******”) was the driver of ********** vehicle and ******* was the driver of his own vehicle.

 

On June 2, 2016, Stonegate setup the claim. Stonegate unsuccessfully attempted to confirm the reported facts of the loss with ******** and *******.  Stonegate requested *******’s completion and return of a provided accident report form (same request sent by letter of June 2 and June 6, 2016).  Stonegate requested ******* to drive his vehicle to *** Autobody (with location/contact information provided) for photos and an estimate.  Additionally, Stonegate order the subject Illinois State Police Report.

 

On June 6, 2016, ******* requested and Stonegate provided an alternative repair facility for photos and an estimate.

 

On June 9, 2016, Stonegate received *******’s accident report form with a copy of the Illinois State Police Report (which stated in summary “NEITHER PARTY ADMITTED FAULT”).

 

On June 10, 2016, Stonegate confirmed with ******* that he was involved in a loss with *******.  ******* denied that he was liable for the loss and faults ******* for entering his lane of traffic.  Stonegate requested *******’s completion and return of the provided accident report form.

 

On several occasions (by phone and in writing), Stonegate provided ******* a detailed status.  Additionally, Stonegate explained its coverage, liability and damage appraiser progression to *******. 

 

Stonegate requests that you strike the above complaint.

 

Please contact me should you have any further questions. 

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ** *******

President

Stonegate Insurance Company

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Once again Stonegate and it's President is simply sidetracking the real issue and the VERY reasonable request I have asked of them...stated VERY clearly in my last response.

It is also very obvious that they are only responding simply to have this complaint "stricken" as they have asked already twice and that is all they care about. 

AGAIN, I am asking that Stonegate provide me with a VERY reasonable date as to when they will conclude their so-called "investigation" and would love to know "what" and "how"they are investigating in detail that has taken us to almost a month from the date of loss. 

There are NUMEROUS complaints online about the conduct of Stonegate and how they handle claims and that is apparent in my claim also. 

This complaint should NOT be stricken and Stonegate should simply answer my question without leaving me in limbo. They should also be expected to handle my claim in a VERY reasonable and professional manner. 

I find it comical how ***** ***** *ext. ***** said to me the reason the claim adjuster, **** ***** (ext.****) has never returned any of my countless voicemails, faxes an emails is because she was out of the office. But yet, no "out of the office" automated email response. No "I will be out of the office" message on her voicemail. This I most certainly know was a complete lie that she has been out of the office. 

That is what Stonegate and it's representatives are all about...lies and not properly handling claims in an effort to avoid paying them.

Sincerely,

******* ******** ***** ******

Licensed Private Detective

 

 

Business Response:

June 23, 2016

 

******* ******

BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois

330 N. Wabash Avenue #3120

Chicago, IL 60611-7621

 

Re:  Your Case Number:    ********

Insured: **** ***** dba ******** Movers (“********”)                                

Complainant: ******* ******* (“*******”)

Stonegate Claim No:   **************     

 

Dear Ms. *******

 

Stonegate Insurance Company has reviewed *******’s recent reply and wishes to respond to the same.

 

Stonegate reaffirms its prior response of June 16, 2015.

 

Per Stonegate's prior response: “On several occasions (by phone and in writing), Stonegate provided ******* a detailed status.  Additionally, Stonegate explained its coverage, liability and damage appraiser progression to *******.”

 

If ******* has additional information he would like Stonegate to consider, Stonegate requests ******* provide the same.

 

Stonegate requests that you strike the above complaint.

 

Please contact me should you have any further questions. 

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ** *******

President

Stonegate Insurance Company

1/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Date of loss: June 16th, 2015 police Report# XXXXXXXXXX, ****** Police Dept Damage Estimate day: August 4th, 2015 Stonegate Claim# 15SGILPXXXXXXX Stonegate Insured: ******* ***** On June 19th while waiting for green lights, I was rear ended. The driver (Stonegate Insured) admitted to be distracted by GPS system in his car. Police report was filed. Paperwork was mailed by Stonegate Insurance to me. I filled them in and fax them on August 4th, 2015 to XXX-XXX-XXXX On June 26th, 2015 Stonegate mailed me a letter informing that they are investigate the loss. Furthermore, they asked me to go to ******* **** Body repair facility located at **** W. 175th St. in ******* **** ****** IL XXXXX to do the damage estimate. I went there on August 4th, 2015 **** ****** performed it. The next day he called and said that the estimate was for $1300 if I am not mistaken as they did not give me a copy of it. He also said it will take Stonegate approx. 2 weeks to approve it. I called the shop on August 26th, Sept. 10th, Sept. 18th, Sept. 22nd and Oct. 9th. Still no approval. I asked them for a copy of the estimate, I was told they can't do it unless Stonegate ask them to do so. On Sept. 22, 2015 I called **** ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX, direct number to the person listed on the papers, left a detailed message. No reply. On Oct. 9th, 2015 I called the same number, however recorded message said a different name this time '*****', again, I left a detailed message. No reply. It's been over 2 months without any communication from the Stonegate Insurance Co.

Desired Settlement: I want them to approve estimate of a damage done to my car by their client.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@stonegateins.com October 20, 2015 ******* ****** BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Avenue ***** Chicago, IL XXXXX-XXXX Re: Your Case Number: XXXXXXXX Insured: ******* ***** Complainant: ***** ******** ("********") Stonegate Claim No: 15SGILPXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ******* Stonegate Insurance Company has reviewed the subject complaint and wishes to respond to the same. On June 22, 2015, Stonegate was provided with its first notice of the subject loss. Stonegate was supplied with a loss date of June 19, 2015. On June 23, 2015, Stonegate setup the claim. Stonegate attempted without success to obtain confirmation of the loss and initial details of the same from its insured and the reported driver of its insured's vehicle. Stonegate requested ******** drive her vehicle to ******* **** **** (with contact information provided) for photos and estimate. On June 26, 2015, Stonegate ordered the subject ****** Police Report. On July 20, 2015, Stonegate received the previously requested subject ****** Police Report. On August 4, 2015, Stonegate received ********'s completed accident report form. As Stonegate's insured ******** ***** and the reported driver of his vehicle have neither reported nor cooperated with Stonegate's investigation of the subject loss, Stonegate is handling the subject claim under a strict Reservation of Rights. Stonegate requests that you strike the above complaint. Please contact me should you have any further questions. Sincerely, ****** L. ******* President Stonegate Insurance Company Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The rear end damage to my car was done by your client who admitted he was distracted by the GPS system in his car. His car at the time of the crash was insured by your company and I am expecting you to approve the estimate so I can have my car fixed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/10/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@stonegateins.com October 22, 2015 ******* ****** BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Avenue #3120 Chicago, IL XXXXX-XXXX Re: Your Case Number: XXXXXXXX Insured: ******* ***** Complainant: ***** ******** ("********") Stonegate Claim No: 15SGILPXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ******* Stonegate Insurance Company has reviewed ********'s recent reply and wishes to respond to the same. Stonegate reaffirms its prior response of October 20, 2015. Via letter dated October 19, 2015, Stonegate informed **** ** Inc. (the owner of the vehicle ******** was operated at the the subject loss) that Stonegate is handling the subject claim under a strict Reservation of Rights pending further investigation. Stonegate requests that you strike the above complaint. Please contact me should you have any further questions. Sincerely, ****** L. ******* President Stonegate Insurance Company

10/1/2015
7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stone Gate Insured - ****************. Date of Loss 1-9-2015 Claim# **************. 2009 ** *****. Police Report # ******** chicago, IL. Stonegate claims that the driver of their insured has not contacted them with their side of story. I was instructed after calling police to proceed to police station to file report due to driveable car and high number of accident calls due to weather. I was then instructed to get an estimate at their choice of car repair and I followed those instructions. Now they say they are not paying claim because the driver of the car that they insure is not contacting them. I followed all instructions and expect for them to repair my car.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for the rear bumper and damage to my car. I was completed stopped at a stop light and the drive of the other automobile admitted he was distracted by him spilling his coffee and hit me in the rear of my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@stonegateins.com July 1, 2015 ******* ****** BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Avenue #3120 Chicago, IL XXXXX-XXXX Re: Your Case Number: XXXXXXXX Insured: **** ******** Inc. Complainant: ***** ****** ("******") Stonegate Claim No: 15SGILTXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ******* Stonegate Insurance Company has reviewed the subject complaint and wishes to respond to the same. On January 19, 2015, ******* ****** provided Stonegate with its first notice of the subject loss. Per Mr. ******, the loss occurred on January 9, 2015. On January 21, 2015, Stonegate setup the subject claim. Stonegate attempted without success to obtain confirmation of the loss and initial details of the same from its insured. Stonegate ordered the subject Chicago Police Report. Stonegate requested Mr. ****** and the operator of his vehicle (***** ******) to complete and return a provided accident report form. Additionally, Stonegate requested Mr. ****** to drive his vehicle to *************** for photos and an estimate. On February 26, 2015, Stonegate received ******'s completed accident report form. On March 2, 2015, Stonegate received the previously ordered subject Chicago Police Report. The same report stated it was a "NOT ON SCENE (DESK REPORT)." On several occasions (by phone and in writing) between January 19 and June 25, 2015, Stonegate provided a detailed status to ******. Additionally, Stonegate explained its coverage, liability and damage appraiser progression to ******. Stonegate requests that you strike the above complaint. Please contact me should you have any further questions. Sincerely, ****** L. ******* President Stonegate Insurance Company

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: our sign was destroyed,we need the sign for our everyday business operation,we need to replace the sign,no one returning our calls,no one telling us when we will get our check,I dont think this company can handle a very simple claim like this one,what would happen if we had A major claim tomorrow will be 1 month from when we first contacted the insurance company for this matter,and our Agent not returning calls either

Desired Settlement: we have replacement cost on sign we need to get paid ASAP we need to get paid for damage to our guard rail,we need to get paid for clean up and removing the damaged sign and pole,we need to get paid for business loss

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@stonegateins.com May 14, 2015 ******* ****** BBB serving Chicago & Northern Illinois 330 N. Wabash Avenue ***** Chicago, IL XXXXX-XXXX Re: Your Case Number: XXXXXXXX Insured: ******* **** **** ************* Complainant: ******** **** Stonegate Claim No: *******XXXXXXX Dear Ms. ******* Stonegate Insurance Company has reviewed the subject complaint and wishes to respond to the same. On the evening of April 10, 2015, ********** independent agent reported the subject loss to Stonegate. Per ********** independent agent, "high winds blew down insured's sign." On April 16, 2015, Stonegate requested ******* provide photos and estimate of the reported damage. Additionally, Stonegate requested *******'s completion of a provided statement of loss form. On April 27, 2015, Stonegate received an estimate, towing invoice and photos of the reported damage with *******'s completed statement of loss. On May 9, 2015 and after repeated requests from Stonegate, Stonegate received a complete estimate from ******** Fence & Products (as only part of said estimate was previously provided). On May 12, 2015, Stonegate provided ******* with a detailed offer letter and a proof of loss form. Stonegate requested ******* review said offer toward a settlement of the subject claim. In addition to the above, between May 7th and May 13, 2015, Stonegate provided ********** representatives *** **** and ********** independent agent with detailed updates regarding the progression of the claim presented. Moreover, Stonegate informed ******* regarding its applicable insurance coverage. Stonegate requests that you strike the above complaint. Please contact me should you have any further questions. Sincerely, ****** L. ******* President Stonegate Insurance Company

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my auto policy with plenty of time for my agent to cancel my monthly premium, which he did notdo. I called directly to Stonegates main office and promised my refund would be issued. Called a second time and was told it would be returned thru my checking account that week.. Called a third time, left a mesasge, did not receive a return call. Still waiting to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: Refund only.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* J. ******* Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@stonegateins.com Stonegate Insurance Company sent a refund of $210.00 via Electronic Funds Transfer on April 4,2014 to the consumer. We confirmed the payment has been charged to our bank account. This case covers the same consumer and same subject as case #XXXXXXXX

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by the finance office at *** where I brought my car that his wife and him has there own insurance company. Which I went through to get lower insurance. This company Stonegate was the one choosen to use 6/29/2013. I paid **** ******* Insurance agent $233.00 for insurance and I paid $100.00 for home insurance. I was cancelled after 35 days without notification but I paid $127.00 for the next month. So I did not receive a bill and when I called they pretended still had insurance then I was told they did not know what was going on and kept transferring me to a blank answering machine. I was later referred back to **** ******* Services. The owner **** informed me that she was handing the matter and she was going send me some coupons for something for the mix up and that the insurance company agreed to pay a refund. She came back and said they will only give me the refund for the house insurance but it has been two weeks and I still have not received or heard from either service. I have left two messages with **** ******* Services.

Desired Settlement: I refund for the remaining house insurance and car insurance. I have a month left for the insurance for the car and 11 months for the house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Treasurer Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@stonegateins.com We have sent a refund check to ****** *******. The check was dated 10/15/13 for $95.00. This payment was for the credit balance due to her after cancelling her insurance policies. The attached information shows the calculation that resulted in her $95.00 refund and cancellation documents sent to her regarding her home and auto insurance policies. The insurance agent told us he sent her a gift card for $50.00 for the inconvenience.

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My policy number is ********** (for auto insurance); every month on the 25th there is a debit for $102 which is expected. On 09/25/13 that debit was taken as expected, but then on 10/01/13 another UNAUTHORIZED debit for $107 was taken out. Since this was not expected or authorized, I was charged a $25 overdraft fee. I called my insurance provider (third party: ******* J. ***** Companies) and told them about Stonegate doing this. He said he would call. I did not hear anything back for 2 days; when he did call, he couldn't tell me anything except for his apologizes and that he is still trying to work it out with Stonegate. On 10/08/13 Stonegate did another UNAUTHORIZED debit for $1. I called Stonegate myself and was only put through to a voicemail which I left my name, number, issue and frustration. I never heard a word and feel this is poor business. I want my money back and feel the overdraft fee should be returned too since it was not my mistake; I had money in my account to cover everything I EXPECTED to come out, not these unauthorized debits.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back ($108) and feel the overdraft fee ($25) should be returned too since it was not my mistake; I had money in my account to cover everything I EXPECTED to come out, not these unauthorized debits.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Treasure Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@stonegateins.com We reviewed the customer's file and found that the amounts withdrawn on 10/01/13 and 10/08/13 were for the last installment for the current policy period and a withdrawal will be made on 10/25/13 for the first installment of the next policy period. We explained this to the customer and let him know that this will occur at the end of a policy period and the beginning of another period. If we send the 10/01/13 payment back to him as he requested, he will not have insurance coverage for the period covered by the amount being returned. We agreed to reimburse him for the $25 overdraft fee when he provides documentation for our file that the 10/01/13 withdrawal caused the overdraft in his account. He agreed to let the 10/01/13 and 10/08/13 payments remain credited to his account without being returned to him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Stonegate Insurance
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart