This business is not BBB accredited.

Old Republic International Corp.

Phone: (312) 346-8100 Fax: (312) 726-0309 View Additional Phone Numbers 307 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Old Republic International Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 1950 Business started: 01/01/1931 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/1931 Business incorporated 04/11/1969 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Scott Rager, President Mr. Karl Mueller, SVP/CFO Mr. A. C. Zucaro, Chairman/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Rager, President
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Additional Locations


    307 N. Michigan Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60601 (800) 621-7873 (312) 346-8100


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: For example October they held our check past date and waited. Our bank is set up if so much is in they will pay in full because we have direct deposits. I called them and they stated that they never got payment, did research and they did but it didn't pay. Got a letter in the mail stating our morgage wasn't paid(this is how I knew) This was aprox. 3 weeks after due date. And we have 10 days after due date before late fee. The excuse every time was mail is slow we are having problems. I requested a while back envelopes with address since they are having problems. I told her it takes 4 days for a letter from here to Texas no way it takes that long. Even after envelopes it was the same excuse. It is one excuse after another. Well it posted you will not have to pay late fee. I always mailed way ahead of time but they hold it. This has really put us in a bind and a month behind in our payments. It is in my Husbands name *****, I take care of bills paying them and keeping up with everything. I just called them again and the one I usually talk to would not talk to me. The lady said she was there and told her whom I was, they know me that well. Sent me to someone else's voicemail and when it came on it said debt collection. I do not understand what they have done. Our history payment I have a copy of and on time for years. After calling and complaining. They have really messed us up this time. From what I understand they were under a different name at one time and had complaints from others on holding people checks and money. Two months ago I sent in a money order which made me nervous in case they said they never got it, would take a month to file money lost fro repayment. Our account number is XXXXX. The lady I always talked to was ****** ***** at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. The mail is suppose to go to 13th floor. Stated to me on the phone last time, since we filed Ch.7 6 years ago they were not suppose to send us any letters out concerning this account, do not like that. We did not include ********** of ******** or garage(old republic) in our bankruptcy. I do not know what they are trying to do now and why this is in collection. Unless they messed us up again by holding our money. Our payment is due on the 24th of every month, I mailed it in on the morning of the 18th of November. They should have got it no later than Friday 22nd. On top of that they have not even been reporting our payment to the credit bureaus that we have been paying anythin on time and now they want to report debt. I mentioned this to ****** ***** also. I had to make sure they got money order. She called me back and left message they did get it. Hopefully they posted it on time. This has got to stop.

Desired Settlement: They should be liable for the months they messed up our account as far as I am concerned. All fees they are tacking on removed and fixed in their systems for on time because they were. It has been nothing but a huge headache. The bank even charged us a fee of 35.00. They should mark that month payment as paid and this one if they messed this up too. Payments are 250.34/month. Late fee is 256.34 (6.00 fee)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Manager Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******** This complaint was resolved in a mutually beneficial manner. Adjustments were made to finance charges paid and in the rate going forward. Customer was satisfied with the adjustments made to compensate for disputed charges. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/12/26) */ Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX) 1 message ***** ******** <**********> Wed, Dec 25, 2013 ** 12:02 ** To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" <***********> Thank you so much. With your help we are resolving the problem. I guess I will see if it happens again or not. I will keep you updated. Thank you so much for your help. Its really sad I had to go this far for them to talk with me. Time will tell if I have this problem again. ***** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Old Republic International Corp.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)