BBB Accredited Business since

Mason Insurance Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 425-7500 Fax: (708) 425-2226 View Additional Phone Numbers 4939 W 95th St, Oak Lawn, IL 60453 https://aq3.processmyquote.com/MasonInsurance/en/Home


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mason Insurance Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mason Insurance Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mason Insurance Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 1988 Business started: 04/01/1956 Business started locally: 04/01/1956 Business incorporated 04/07/1976 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard M. Mason, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard M. Mason, President
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance-Group Insurance - Auto Insurance - Bonding Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Liability Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Alternate Business Names
City Squire Agency Limited Mason Insurance Agency Corp Mason Payment Plan

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mason Insurance Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3257 N Sheffield Ave Ste 119

    Chicago, IL 60657

  • 4939 W 95th St

    Oak Lawn, IL 60453

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
9/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I added a new car to my insurance and removed an old one. **** ******* told me that I could pay a deposit and break the remaining balance into 2 payments since my policy was covered until 11/2015. I went into the office and paid the deposit. I noticed on 8/26/15 when I checked my PO Box that I had notices of intent to cancel my insurance due to non-payment. I called the office and spoke to *** in finance. She advised me that the balance of adding the new car was added to the 7/30/15 payment and was due on 7/30/15. I questioned how could that be when I did not add the car until 8/1/15. She just kept telling me that I didn't pay the full amount due. She took a message for **** ******* to call me back. **** called me back and repeated what *** told me. I asked him why didn't he tell me that when I came in to make the deposit payment. He said he did not know. I questioned what happened to breaking the payments into 2 payments he said they don't do that. He stated that if I had made a payment on 7/30/15 they would have given me 30 days to pay the remaining balance. I explained to him this is not what I was told. They both kept talking over me every time I tried to explain what I was told and I requested that he(****) allow me to complete my statement. He did slightly. I felt as though he didn't care that I was not told the complete expectation and he offered nothing in resolution to the misinformation I was given. I asked if there was a manager and he stated that he was the manager. I asked if he owned ***** Insurance and he stated that he does. Product_Or_Service: Car Insurance Account_Number: ILPXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my policy to remain active and the two monthly payments that I was offered to be in effect. I would also like for **** ******* to take responsibility for not giving me full disclosure, instead giving me false information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/01) */ On August 1st, Mr. ******* did indeed amend Ms. ******'s policy to cover her new car. He quoted her an additional charge and she had paid a down payment toward it. However, she had not made her regular monthly payment, due on July 30th. **** was not aware that Ms. ****** regular monthly payment was overdue. The brokers have no direct access to account receivable records. She has made no payment since. We will be happy to reinstate Ms. ****** once she catches up on her payments. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What information someone representing a business has access to is not know by a customer. The resolution I have asked for is what was quoted to me when I agreed to the service, which was to pay the down payment and the balance split into two payments. I am unaware of any insurance who requires a down payment and payment in full 5 days later. I was expecting to pay about $87 at the end of the month. That should be honored. By my calculations that is roughly $115. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not a resolution. This is just more reasons why my account was handled the way it was. YesYes, I was quoted what it would cost to add my car on more than one occasion because I was told on the first call it would go down the closer I got to the end of the policy due to proration. When I called the last time I asked what I would have pay to swap the vehicles. That's what I paid. All of the details given in this response would have been needed before making a payment. I'm done. I have another policy and will never recommend this company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/11) */ I do apologize for this misunderstanding. When you originally spoke to Mr. ******* on July 8, 2015, he quoted you the DIFFERENCE between your old and new vehicles, and he states that he did not represent it otherwise. On July 8 he quoted an additional proration of $305; the prorated additional premium dropped to $244 by August 1, the date that you officially changed the car. And as I had mentioned previously, **** has no direct access to account receivable records.They are located in a separate office. The best people regarding your monthly payment is ******* or ***. Any other issues regarding your policy: **** or **** Once again: Thank you for your business.