Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Kemper Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 777-8467 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 E Wacker Dr Ste 1000, Chicago, IL 60601 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kemper.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Kemper Corporation is an insurance company which provides automotive and other insurance coverage to individuals. Located in Chicago, IL, this company serves Chicago and the surrounding areas. Kemper Corporation businesses sell insurance in 47 states and are represented by over 20,000 independent agencies; the company services over six million separate policies.

Combined, Kemper Corporation businesses provide the following insurance: automotive, commercial automotive, boat, home, renters, condominium, personal valuables, collectibles, personal catastrophe, identity fraud, and life and health insurance. Auto and Homeowners insurance can be bundled together into a package, which allows the customer to pay the combined bill at once and receive additional coverage, such as replacement costs for the loss of valuables and collectibles. This allows a 'blanket limit' to go into effect, which combines the coverage limits of all covered property, which can then be used to cover the costs of damage that exceeds the coverage limit of a specific part of the property.

For example, if a garage is covered by part of the property, and damage to the garage exceeds the coverage limit for that specific component of the property, the 'blanket limit' coverage would allow coverage to extend to the full covered limit, which includes the coverage limits for the house and other portions of the covered property. Customers can submit claims online 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and claim information will appear online by the next business day and are updated each business day.

Visit the website for Kemper Corporation to review the specifics of each form of insurance, read articles about how to choose and maintain insurance, and request a quote on auto, life, health, renters, homeowners, or other insurance plans.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kemper Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kemper Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1952 Business started: 04/16/1919 Business started locally: 04/16/1919 Business incorporated 10/15/1927 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Adrienne H. Bennett, Vice President, Assistant Group Counsel Mr. Brian Delfino, VP - Property Damage Tom Myers, President Scott Snicler, Senior Vice President Group Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Adrienne H. Bennett, Vice President, Assistant Group Counsel
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Delfino, VP - Property Damage
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Auto Insurance - Health Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Marine Insurance - Dental Insurance - Rental Insurance - Liability Insurance - Medical Liability Insurance - Property Insurance Consultants Insurance Services Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Alternate Business Names
United Casualty Insurance Company United Insurance Company of America Unitrin Direct

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kemper Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 E Wacker Dr # 900

    Chicago, IL 60601 (312) 661-4740

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 E Wacker Dr Ste 1000

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12115 Lackland Rd

    Saint Louis, MO 63146

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kemper Claim ***********: On 08/14 I had an accident through a no fault of my own. I contacted Kemper and setup a claim the same day. I have not heard from them untill 08/18 when I called myself. I was told that my case was handled by Ms. ******* ********. When talked, I was talked down on, no options were discussed and explained to me. I requested to talk to her supervisor. Her supervisor Hank also talked to me and over me in the same fashion. He also told me without any estimate or vehicle inspection that my car was going to be totaled and needed to be towed to junk yard. I requested estimate first. I was told that if I was going to weight for an estimate, I would be responsible for the storage fees at the impound. Two days after I was contacted by appraiser and told that my vehicle will be totaled and I will be contacted by Ms. LaShawn ****** from Kemper regarding the value. I was given a value of $2002.26 that I rejected since it does not conform to any fair market value for the car. Since 08/18 I have not been contacted by any Kemper representatives willing to discuss my case. On multiple occasions (phone or emails) I tried to contact Kemper Auto Ins, specifically asigned case adjuster Ms. ******** and Ms.******, but no reponses were provided. I have promptly and accurately paid for my insurance and believe that as a customer I have done nothing to be treated this way by Kemper.

Desired Settlement: I am not asking for a refund of my monthly payments for the services that were not delivered when the opportunity presented itself. I however, would like to be fairely compensated for the loss (replacement) of property (car) in accordance with current market values and Kemper Auto Insurance contractual obligations. The following are the reasons that were provided to Kemper for rejection of $2021.00 car total value offer: 1) Per Vehicle Valuation Report provided: - "20 comparable vehicle(s) were utilized in this report." - "The Base Vehicle Value is calculated from the comparable vehicles with adjustments to reflect the loss vehicle configuration." - The adjusted value is calculated using the following factors: Model/Trim/Year, Options, Mileage, Comparable Vehicle condition adjustment. - "Using the adjusted values of the comparable vehicles, CCC calculates the Base Vehicle Value." - "The Base Vehicle Value is the weighted average of the adjusted values of the comparable vehicles." 2) In accordance with industry and nationally recognized Kelley Blue Book database, the following are the my vehicle values adjusted for Model/Trim/Year, Options, Mileage, Comparable Vehicle condition (see reports attached): - Private Party Resale Value: $2284.00 - Dealer Buy Value: $3843.00 Therefore, I will not be accepting any value less than $3000.00

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

PO BOX 1000

DuPont, WA 98327

Your File #:                          ******** 

Our Claim #:                       ***********

Policy #:                               RC ******

NAIC#:                                  *****

Insurance Co:                    Unitrin Auto and Home Insurance Company

Date of Loss:                      August 14, 2015

        Our Insured:                      **** ******         

         

Dear Sir/Madam:

This letter will serve as response to the above referenced complaint on behalf of Unitrin Auto and Home Insurance Company.

We do apologize for any miscommunication Mr. ****** had from the initial handlers of his claim.

 Please be advised that we have resolved this matter to the consumer’s satisfaction. We have agreed to settle the total loss in the amount of $3,344.98 as of October 14, 2015.  

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at 1-************ ext. ****.

Sincerely,

***** ********

National Total Loss Manager

Kemper Services Group for
Unitrin Auto and Home Insurance Company

1************ ext ****

b********@kemper.com

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

1/19/2015 Delivery Issues
12/22/2014 Delivery Issues
12/16/2014 Delivery Issues
11/17/2014 Delivery Issues
10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/13/2014 Delivery Issues
9/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brother died in December 2005. I was notified several months ago that we were entitled to a claim almost ten years later. The forms were mailed in from two of the three siblings. I was notified that we would receive our settlement. This was two months ago and the company has failed to mail our claim. I have talked with several claim adjusters and all of them continue to lie. My mother died in December 2005 and four days later my oldest brother died of a massive heart attack. We buried my mother on Christmas Eve and my brother on New Years Eve. No one should have to relive the pain of loss all over again. This company notified my family. Why would they inform us of this claim if they had no intentions of paying the claim? The claim adjuster informed me that two of us would be mailed our claim after thirty days and my other brother would be held in an account for three to five years. Again this was sixty days ago and no refund has been issued. This company is very unprofessional and I am so glad that I do not have a policy with them. It has been very hard to deal with the emotional stress concerning this matter. Product_Or_Service: Claim Benefit Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The claim from ****** Insurance Company of America.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ see attached

2/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Kemper Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart