Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Aon Re Worldwide

Phone: (877) 266-4677 View Additional Phone Numbers 200 E Randolph St  6th Floor, Chicago, IL 60601 http://www.aon.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Aon Re Worldwide include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aon Re Worldwide
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1968 Business started: 08/01/1945 Business started locally: 08/01/1945
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Business Management
Maurissa Kanter Ilene Grant, Assistant General Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Maurissa Kanter
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance Services Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Products & Services

This company handles reinsurance for AON Corp.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 E Randolph St
    6th Floor

    Chicago, IL 60601 (312) 381-2738 (877) 266-4677

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I subscribed to commuter benefits a few months ago and everything was fine. I recently got new management which changed my work schedule and I can no longer take the train. I cancelled my membership 3 weeks in advance and they still want to bill me for the following month which is unfair.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money put back in my account.

Business Response:
According to the rules of Mr. ******'s company's plan, cancellations to commuter benefits orders must be conducted by the 10th of the month. Mr. ****** cancelled his commuter benefits after the order deadline had passed. This deadline is posted on the ordering platform, and Mr. ****** also received an email saying that any edits or cancellations to his order must be conducted prior to the plan’s “order by” date.  

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/1/2014,I requested that Aon disenroll me from medical coverage under my pension as I was doing it on my own outside.I faxed the letter from my provider that my coverage started on 12/1/14 and requested a refund of my $235.00 payment for my December payment.On 12/12/14 I faxed back the disenrollment forms to be processed along with my refund and everytime I speak to someone there they give me different information and no one calls me back like they say they will.

Desired Settlement: A refund of my December 2014 payment of$235.27.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/19) */ Aon Hewitt contacted Ms. ******* directly. Based on our discussion, it is our understanding that her issues have been resolved and she does not have any further outstanding questions at this time. Please advise if this is not the case. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Aon is not truthful,I did speak to someone there and they did give me a time frame of 6 to 8 weeks for my refund to be processed but I don't trust them.Maybe my case can be closed and if I need to reopen it at the end if the 8 weeks I will. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2015/02/27) */ Aon supplies pension for ********* retirees.On Dec 2,2014 I requested refund of 235.37 for Decembers payment because I dropped coverage through pension and got coverage on my own and was told that my coverage on my own was effective Dec 1,2014 and I paid $66.00 directly to ****** ********** for december.I faxed Aon the acceptance fro ****** and the approval from Medicare.I faxed the disenrollment forms to Aon on 12/12/14 and was told by A ******** who said she was a supervisor that it takes from 6 to 8 weeks to process.It has now been 10 weeks and nothing.I filed a complaint with the BBB on 1/14/15 case no.XXXXXXXX which was closed because Aon said the issue was resolved which it wasn't because the 8 weeks hadn't passed.Everytime you call there you get a different person and a different story and at this point all I want is my refund.I spoke to a Mike on 2/26/15 and he informed me he was opening up yet another case for me.I am totally frustrated and just want what is rightfully mine. I just want my $235.37 from Aon which they took out 12/1/14.

2/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A 401k direct rollover request was made on 12/24/14. Hewitt has failed to provide paperwork demonstrating that it is a qualified plan and delayed the transfer. Hewitt provided an expired *** Determination letter and has refused provide updated information or provide a letter statement that the plan is valid.

Desired Settlement: 1. Provide valid *** Determination Letter 2. Refund the $25 fee for the quarter and $5 fee for the transfer delays.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/20) */ We are unable to find Mr. ********** in the system. We need the company he worked for and the name of the benefit center he was working with so we can direct this appropriately.

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company currently hold my pension money from my previous job. I have be at a new job for over 2 months now and I was told and even have recorded conversations from reps. Of different dates of when I would be paid. The first time I was was told I would have my money on December 1st because I did not have enough time to get paid on November 1st I called back in November just to make sure and they told me it would be the first Friday in December. That's was a lie I had to call back on Dec 4th and I was told that they had to process every thing on December 12th 2014 and I would get paid in between December 17 and 19th this was the recorded call. I call back on December 15th just to make sure I would get my money and now I'm being told the end of December. I never received paperwork of this process and I am tired of them holding my money and being lied to they are not trying to pay me my money at all I want my money in my account NOW. Because at this point they are withholding my money and I am ready to sue.

Desired Settlement: I want my payout in between the December 17th 2014 or December 19 2014 as I was promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/01/20) */ There were delays to Ms. ********'s pension payment due to a combination of plan provisions that are governed by her former employer, and errors made by the participant. It is our understanding that Ms. ********'s issue are resolved and her pension payment is scheduled to commence in February.

1/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After submitting ************ receipt on Nov 17th, I re-sent 2 more copies by Dec 2nd 2014, but was denied re-imbursement. When I called earlier this week, I was told the following: 1) No date on receipt.... I pointed the ****** person to location on receipt with date. 2) I was told that I used my card twice for same purchase. That was a false claim, I showed the service person on the phone where to look on ****** website where the service date was located and date it was processed... 2 different dates. I told them to stop making stuff up. 3) I was told that I put in wrong claim.. OK I sent in claim against my daughter ******* but the ************ receipt also shows purchase for my wife, *********. I agree that I might have filled the claim incorrectly, but this was not stated in 1st rejection, and WHY wasn't I reimbursed full amount for my daughter purchase. This has been going on for 2 months, and no progress has been made. My account has been suspended, and remaining $150 balance on my account has been frozen. Please help.

Desired Settlement: credit $454 on my spending account, or work with me to re-sumbit the proper claim to get full refund...

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The representative would schedule a date and time confirmed by both email and us mail and not call at that time. They indicated we would be given multible choices in our effort to obtaiin insurance coverage but actually only provided one company. upon direct caontact to other companies we would told they offer in the state of ****** and had provided information to AON ****** to support us. This information was not provided as an option to us on the AON offer page!

Desired Settlement: That this complaint be followed up with written confirmation of our insurance coverage and instructions in writing on how to be reimbursed for health care costs from oour health care savings account

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@aonhewitt.com We have passed *** ************'s general concerns along to our operations team so they can explore opportunities to improve the enrollment process and customer experience going forward. Because Mr. ************'s desired resolution relates to specific details of his health plan enrollment, we have reached out to him directly to address his concerns. If you have any questions, or need additional information, please contact **** ******* Aon Retiree Health Exchange Director of Compliance at ***********@aonhewitt.com. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did receive another phone call will we were engaged in other activities and requested a delay of 2 hours. 45 minutes later they called again!! They still have not submitted anything via email or us postal service as to the complaint! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/16) */ In addition to the call in which Mr. ************'s specific resolution items were addressed with his wife on December 4th, we provided a follow-up e-mail response to Mr. ************ last week. The e-mail response included the timing of the hardcopy materials that were mailed to his home address. We expect that, allowing time for postal delivery, the materials that were mailed will be sufficient to address his questions. If you need additional information, please contact **** ******* Aon Retiree Health Exchange Director of Compliance at ***********@aonhewitt.com.

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I became employed with ***-*** and thus was given benefits as of September 7th, 2014. ***-*** gave me benefits through *****, the same health care provider I had through ****. For the period of 9/7 through 9/30, I was double covered for exact same coverage for the exact same people. I am getting the run around as to how to get my money back for the double coverage. I have talked with countless benefits folks at ****** ****** and ***** Everyone points to the other one as the one to provide the reimbursement. Ultimately, ***** was paid twice for the exact same service. I logged into *****'s site and was not informed I had two almost identical policies until October when the system's caught up. At that point I called in and was told I could only cancel my **** policy in that month, which by than was October. If ***** did not realize that they were double covering me until October, than why should I be penalized for this by paying twice. Please let me know what process I need to go though to get reimbursed for the portion of September where I was paying twice for the same service. The policy through hewitt was ID WXXXXXXXXX, group: XXXXXX-XXX-XXXXX. The policy through ****** is WXXXXXXXXX. Group Number XXXXXX-XXX-XXXXX.

Desired Settlement: Refund the period in which I was double charged for the exact same insurance policy for the exact same people.$1515.79

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* Contact Email: ************@aon.com ****** Associates LLC ("Aon ********* received notice of Case #XXXXXXXX pertaining to ****** ****** as of November 3, 2014. We will research the case and provide any necessary feedback. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for allowing Aon ****** the opportunity to respond. Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/11/13) */ ****** Associates is a global, human resources and benefits consulting company with over 88 offices in 38 countries. One of our core services is to provide benefit plan administration services to many of the largest employee benefit plans in the United States, including ***** On 09/15/2014 Mr. ****** called the benefit center to express his concern about double paying for coverage as he was under COBRA and had gained other employment. He was unsure if the new coverage would begin on 09/16/2014 or 10/01/2014. The customer services representative advised Mr. ****** that he would need to contact the benefit center to cancel the coverage once he knew the effective date of new coverage and that he had 30 days to report this change. He was also advised that any premiums paid for cancelled coverage would be refunded but that it would be a two week process. Mr. ****** advised that he would enroll the other coverage and get the effective date then call back. On 10/10 Mr. ****** contacted the benefit center and terminated coverage effective 10/01/2014. At this time, the debit for the month of October in the amount of $1,515.79 had already occurred. The participant was advised of the 14 day refund waiting period for over payments and further advised that the payment would be mailed via regular mail on or about the 29th. Mr. ****** was also told of the notices he would receive and the call was terminated. Mr. ****** called in later that day asking to change the date of the cancellation to 09/05/2014. The representative advised the participant that the coverage had already been cancelled effective 10/01/2014 and that it could not be cancelled retroactively to 09/05/2014 as the effective date of 09/05/2014 was outside of 31 day period to report changes. Mr. ******'s name appeared on the refund report as expected but flagged for further review due to the amount being greater than $1,000. The review was not completed in time for the refund to be sent on 10/29, but the review has since been completed and the refund has been processed and was sent via overnight mail on 11/11/2014. Thank you for bringing this case to our attention and allowing Aon ****** the opportunity to respond.

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by Aon Hewitt to fax a drop form to them by the end of May 2014 to drop my son ****** ****** off of my insurance so I wouldn't be charged for the month of June. They drug their feet on the processing part and sent to *** on 6/3/14 a drop date of 7/1/14 instead of 6/1/14 and now are reusing to fix it saying they can't even though they got my fax in time on 5/29/14.I have spent hours on the phone with them and **** *** can't do anything and get us our refund for the month of June until Aon Hewitt fixes their wrong dates entered/mistake. I have been dealing with this problem since 7/1/14 and have been told I would get calls back and never have. On 7/1/14 I spoke to ******** her desk # is ****** and she told me she would fix it and send it to the escalation review team and call me back in 5 days and she never did. I sent another message to Aon Hewitt through the dependent verification website they replied saying they resent it but it was still with the wrong end dates according to **** Today I spent a total of 3 hours on the phone and got no where. I was told a supervisor would call me back but hasn't. I did my fax on time like you instructed and I just want this date corrected please that's all I'm asking so *** can give me my refund I deserve. Thank you, **

Desired Settlement: To change the drop insurance to the correct date of 6/1/14.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/31) */ Mr. ******** is not an employee of Aon Re Worldwide nor any Aon entity. Aon Hewitt provides outsourcing and consulting services to many large employers. as part of those services we provide communications and call centers to help our clients benefit plan participants. It is possible that Mr. ******** is an employee of one of our clients. If he can identify his employer or the benefit plan he is referencing above, we can research the issue, provide a response and route him to a resource who can provide him with any additiotional information he seeks. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I work for ***** Department of Transportation in ******* ****** *** is who hired Aon Hewitt. *** is who handles our benefits. ********** ********** ******* Thank you for helping trying to resolve this. ****** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On the May 20th date first sentence you said it yourself..The subscriber's spouse called in to request to remove her child ****** and that she wanted coverage(s) removed by the end of May before June. I was told by your employee that if I got the fax in before the end of May I would not be charged for insurance for ****** for the month of June. I sent the fax on May 29th,2014. I understand that you sent to the BBB all these call dates and conversations but you conveniently forgot to add the part about me confirming over and over again to your employees that if I got the fax to them by the end of May that I would not be charged for the Month of June and I was told repeatedly by several different employees that I would not be charged for the month of June. That's why I kept calling that month. It had nothing to do with my daughter ****** because we already knew she would be dropped off at the end of April because of her age! Also on may 20th, I was never told to speak to or be transferred to an *** agent. My wife spoke to your employees all these time and you never asked to speak to me so I'm not sure where that is coming from. The only time I spoke to employees was after I was charged for the month of June and those calls took place in July. All I'm asking you to do is again please change the drop date for ****** from July to June like I was told it would be and then forward that to *** so I can get refunded for the month of June. ****** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/09/09) */ Aon Hewitt is the recordkeeper in this matter and we follow the direction of our client, ***** Department of Transportation. We have no discretionary authority over our clients' benefit plans to do what Mr. ******** is asking, though we will advise our client of his request. Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 7, 2013 I requested a pension rollover to my bank. I followed all of the rules and requests and her it is November 4, and still no moneys have been received. I offered to pay for an overnight, or a bank fund transfer as the institution would not provide a tracking number. A stop payment was made, and a new check was to be issued and sent overnight, but instead they just put it in the mail a second time, and did not follow up as committed with a phone call. They claim they need to have a paper trail for all actions, yet they do not provide a paper train and tracking number of money sent. They are supposed to be fiduciary representatives, but I think they are just keeping the money for as long as they can to earn income. I on the other hand am unable to use my monies to earn income during this period. All they need to do is provide options for secure and timely funds transfers, even if there is a fee. I should have a choice.

Desired Settlement: I want them to change their business practices to be better represents the interests of employees and retirees and meet their fiduciary responsibilities to serve in the interest of the people from whom they have help money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/06) */ Hewitt Associates LLC ("Aon Hewitt") has recently received the notice regarding Case #XXXXXXXX pertaining to ******** ******. Unfortunately, Mr. ****** has not provided enough information at this time to allow Aon Hewitt to research his case history. We were unable to locate "******** ******" of "XXXXX ********* ***** ****** ******* **** in our employee database. Hewitt Associates LLC is a global, human resources and benefits consulting company with over 88 offices in 38 countries. One of our core services is to provide benefit plan administration services to many of the largest employee benefit plans in the United States. It is possible that Mr. ****** may be enrolled as a participant in one of our client's benefits plans. If so, we require the full name of that company in order to continue our research. If Mr. ****** can provide more information, we will continue to research his case and provide any necessary feedback. Thank you for bringing this case to our attention and allowing Aon Hewitt the opportunity to respond. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the problem is not the process of payment before transmittal, but refusing to provide proof of transfer, via some sort of tracking number from either the USPS or another agency. Nothing in the answer provided addresses the lack of fiduciary responsibility by allowing substantial funds to be transferred in a secure and traceable fashion. Funds were sent in regular USPS without any sort of tracking or secure handling. Considering that in the day and age, the Post Office often uses 3rd parties, it is irresponsible of the agency to let funds get out of control. When asked they claimed the process was drawn up to secure a proper path and paper trail, however they failed in the last steps. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/19) */ Aon Hewitt performs administrative services for Sony in support of their various benefit plans. All of our work is performed at the direction of Sony and per requirements set up and agreed to by ***** There were no errors on Aon Hewitt's part. All services relating to Mr. ****** were performed consistent with the direction and timing requirements set forth by Sony. On 9/4/13 Mr. ****** contacted Aon Hewitt to start the commencement process and elected to receive a Lump Sum benefit payment. A Pension Election Authorization Form ("PEAF") was mailed to Mr. ****** for his signature and authorization to receive a Lump Sum payment. On 9/9/13 the **** Benefits Center received Mr. ******'s signed PEAF, approved it and the Lump Sum payment was set up to be paid on 10/11/13, which was the next available Lump Sum payment date. There are two Lump Sum payment cycles/dates per month. On 10/11/13 Mr. ******'s Lump Sum payment was mailed by The ******** Trust, trustee for Sony's pension plan. Aon Hewitt does not hold any plan assets. On 10/25/13 Mr. ****** called the **** Benefits Center and stated his receiving financial institution never received the payment. He asked that the original payment to be stopped and a new payment issued directly to the receiving institution. Our standard administrative practice is to issue the payment to the participant but it is addressed "For the Benefit of (participant's name)." The participant has the responsibility to forward the payment to the receiving institution. Aon Hewitt requested a stop payment and reissue through The Northern Trust. The payment was requested to be sent to the receiving institution per the participant's request. On 11/6/13 The ******** Trust reflects that the payment was cashed on this date. Again, we thank you for bringing this case to our attention and allowing Aon Hewitt the opportunity to respond.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aon Re Worldwide
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)