Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Eagle Insurance Agency, Inc.

Phone: (773) 463-7576 Fax: (773) 442-6665 3517 N. Spaulding Ave., Chicago, IL 60618 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.theeagleman.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eagle Insurance Agency, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eagle Insurance Agency, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eagle Insurance Agency, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated 03/04/1985 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Cherney, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Cherney, President
Business Category

Insurance - Auto Insurance - Health Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Disability Insurance - Liability Insurance Services Insurance Companies Insurance - Accident & Health Direct Property and Casualty Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524126)


Additional Locations

  • 3517 N. Spaulding Ave.

    Chicago, IL 60618 (773) 463-7576

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have been trying to cancel my policy, getting them on the phone is next to impossible, when i do get them on the phone they just leave me on hold, then i was told i have to cancel in writing with a reason as to why i want to cancel, frankly its none of their business, nevertheless i wrote a written reason as of why, the fax number the manager doesnt exist so i cant fax anything in writing, i asked him to repeat the number twice so i know im not mistaken, i am very thorough. this is becoming a headache, and if this matter is not resolved soon i am going to take legal action.

Desired Settlement: i want whatever is leftover on my policy to be refunded to the credit card, but this isnt even about the money, its about the principal. they have horrible business ethics and i want this resolved asap or i will take legal action.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */ Contact Name and Title: *****, Customer Services Contact Email: *****@goeagle.net The insured spoke to a representative at our main office, at our main phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX on June 9, 2014. Mr. ********** was informed on June 9, 2014 that a written request with the insured's signature is required to cancel a policy and our fax number was provided. The insured faxed a request to cancel his policy yesterday, Sunday, June 15, 2014. Our office is not open on Sunday. We apologize if the insured was unable to reach us on Sunday. The request was processed this morning June 16, 2014, with a requested effective date of June 9, 2014 and the client will be receiving his pro-rated refund within seven business days which will be applied per his instructions to the credit card used to pay for the policy. Please see attached fax sent by the insured. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Eagle insurance and spoke to **** about over payment and he stated that it was for auto travelers insurance, which I never signed for, so I called ******** ********* Insurance and they have no record of such on my policy. I then tried calling **** back and he refuses to take my phone call and ******** ********* Insurance is of no help either. This office is overcharging and taking money for services that are not even in my contract. I am not renewing my insurance with them, and I do have a receipt of them asking me for $170.00 for my 6 month premium. But then they told me it was $220.00, so I paid not realizing it should have been $170.00. Policy Numbers: 3/6/2012 - 9/6/2012 : TBI-XXXXXX 9/6/2012 - 3/6/2013 : AHXXXXXXXX 3/6/2013 - 9/6/2013 : AHXXXXXXXX 9/6/2013 - 3/6/2014 : AHXXXXXXXX My renewal quote was $214.00 for 6 months. So they were going to charge me for this service again without my signature or stating it on my policy.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back for this so called auto travelers insurance that **** is speaking of. I never signed any paper work on this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/26) */ Contact Name and Title: M. ****** Manager Contact Email: ****@eagleagency.com The client had been insured through our agency since 3/5/2012, this was for auto insurance. She has always paid each premium in full as of inception. On previous occasions she did not ask for or accept any additional products offered, nor was she ever charged for any additional products without her knowledge or consent. The last policy effective 9/6/2013 was in effect until expiration on 3-6-2014. The client was made aware that the insurance policy premium was $170.00, as stated on her signed application, and she was offered and informed about an accidental death benefit available, the cost of which was $50.00 additional which would bring her total to $220.00. She accepted and she paid $220.00. This was the first instance in which this coverage was accepted by Client, after it was offered. She never accepted it before and we never charged her before. The death benefit was mailed to the client with her auto policy. As usual, the client called to inquire about her renewal quote on 3/3/2014, and as usual was explained what the premium cost was and what the cost of the accidental death benefit would be. She was aware that the renewal quote was to renew both her policy and her accidental death benefit, and she was told that the accidental death benefit was optional. The cost of the policy renewal was $164.00 and the death benefit was $50.00. She understood and said she would decide and call back. This was our last communication with our Client on 3/3/2014. Later that day, we started receiving irate calls from a woman claiming to be client's mother, who argued that client had been charged without her knowledge for death benefits on previous polices, which was absolutely not the case. The caller used foul language, made threats and accusations. For privacy reasons, we chose not to answer questions made by this person, who was not the insured and not covered or listed on the policy. The client was not overcharged as is erroneously claimed and is not entitled to any type of refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was never informed of being charged for "accidental death benefit" it's not even stated on my policy. I contacted ******** ********* Insurance and they have no record of me having this coverage. I never agreed to or signed anything for this coverage. I received a renewal quote for 9/6/13 - 3/6/14 which was $220.00. Nowhere on the renewal form was accidental death benefit stated. It wasn't until I received my receipt AFTER paying that it stated I should have only paid $170.00. My mother called once to find out what was going on. **** told my mother that there was a $50 charge for 6 months coverage. She asked **** who my beneficiary was and he proceded to avoid the question. She asked **** for a copy of the signed accidental death benefit because I never signed for it. **** told my mother that they were waiting for me to sign it and send it back. I never received a document stating "accidental death beneft." How could they charge me for something that I never signed? My mother did not make any threats other than saying we are going to the BBB and that I would be changing insurance providers. I called back to ask for my money back and he would not get on the phone with me. My renewal quote for 3/6/14 - 9/6/14 was not $164.00. I was told on the phone and I received a letter for $214.00 and I was not told that I would be charged $50 for "accidental death benefit." I want my money back for this service I never agreed to or signed for. Eagle insurance is saying I should have paid $164.00 from 3-6-14 to 9-6-14 but I received a quote for $214.00. It was stated on the renewal policy. I did not renew this because I realized I was being overcharged Eagle insurance is saying I should have paid $170.00 from 9-6-13 to 3-6-14 but I paid $220.00. It was stated on the renewal policy This is what I paid from 9-6-13 to 3-6-14 $220.00 3-6-13 to 9-6-13 $231.00 9-6-12 to 3-6-13 $239.00 3-6-12 to 9-6-12 $241.00 Looking at these prices I was being charged $50 for "accidental death benefit" without by written consent. How can you say my premium went from $231 to $170 with no changes to my policy? 3-6-14 to 9-6-14 $214 - $50 = $164 9-6-13 to 3-6-14 $220 - $50 = $170 3-6-13 to 9-6-13 $231 - $50 = $181 9-6-12 to 3-6-13 $239 - $50 = $189 3-6-12 to 9-6-12 $241 - $50 = $191 I have all of the documents but it will only let me add one. I attached the renewal quote from 9/6/13 to 3/6/14 which states $220.00 not $170.00 Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/04/16) */ The client is once again referring to a renewal offer which she did not in fact ever pay for. She is not entitled to monetary compensation for a policy she did not renew or pay for. The paperwork she submitted is in fact our renewal quote for the policy that expired in March, which she never paid for. We have submitted all documents pertaining to her past polices which she did pay for. Our documents show the actual cost of the policy and the actual amount paid by the client. We have provided a copy of the actual death benefit issued on her last account term as mailed to her along with a copy of the policy and payment receipt. We have offered a way for the client to request and receive a refund for this benefit. Unfortunately, the client continues to state that she still feels she was charged for this benefit throughout her policy, even though she has not submitted any tangible proof to substantiate her allegations or feelings. Our submitted documentation clearly proves that the client was not overcharged on previous polices as she continues to falsely state. The client is clearly mistaken and refuses to accept the actual facts as presented to her. We feel that under the circumstances we have made an offer in good faith to refund the cost of the benefit that was in fact issued on her last policy term only and we have supplied actual proof that she was never overcharged on previous polices. In conclusion, we feel that at this point there is nothing further we can add and we feel that we have done everything within our power to settle the matter amicably. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/04/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I received an email from Eagle Insurance with a letter attached stating ********** ******* Casualty Company holds my ********* Accident Policy. I called ********** ******* Casualty Company and spoke to a gentleman by the name of ***, who is an underwriter there. I asked him about Travelers Accident Policy and he had no idea what I was talking about. He said that he has never heard of ********* Accident Policy and there is no record of me having this. I have never seen anything from ********** ******* Casualty Company until now. I feel that I have been charged for this through my entire policy, my numbers kept fluctuating with no changes to my policy. My last renewal I received from Eagle Insurance (3/6/14 to 9/6/14) was $214.00 not $164.00 like Eagle Insurance are claiming. Nowhere on this renewal was ********* Accident Policy stated. I did not renew this policy because I realized I was being charged for this service without my knowledge. I am attaching a photo of this renewal.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The vehicle was claimed a total loss. Today is 08/26/2013, and the matter is not resolved. That is more than 2 months. The companies involved are not honoring the value that was listed on the policy prior to the accident, and post accident. I'm still paying insurance on a vehicle that has been deemed a total loss. Also, the matter needs to be resolved. I have talked to 4 individuals at the companies (including supervisors).to no resolve or agreement. The has been many stalls (papers sent to wrong addresses, inconsistencies, and incompetency in processing the claim). Also, the person assigned to the case in the total loss ****************** ********* hung up on my husband (who is also insured and part owner of the vehicle. Very unprofessional. The prices that we paid on the vehicle insurance was based on the worth of the vehicle. That is not what the companies are saying at this time. I have all of the papers and envelopes that I received. I was sent two papers on the same day with completely different figures. In two days it is time for me to pay insurance again. If I do not Pay it ,then the company will not continue and resolve my claim. Please help resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: $2,528.18.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/16) */ Contact Email: ****@eagleagency.com The accident that left her vehicle a total loss happened on or about 6/19/2013. The date of loss was covered on her previous policy term that expired and was renewed on 7/28/2013. Eagle Insurance Agency is not handling the claim, the claim is being handled by the insurance company which is *** ********* Auto Company. Mrs. ******* ******* has called Eagle on numerous occassions with questions about the claim and has been told to contact the insurance company handling the claim and speak to the adjustor about her concerns and or questions. The phone number is(XXX) XXX-XXXX. Regarding her mention of mail being sent to a wrong address, Mrs. ******* ******* informed us of her new address on 7/26/2013 upon her renewal, any mail sent to her prior to her notifying us of her new address would have been sent to the address on file for the previous policy. As for her paying her premiums on her current policy, it has absolutely no bearing on the handling of her claim which was reported under the previous policy term. Her paying on her existing active policy term has nothing to do with the processing and or resolving of her claim. Mrs. ******* is free to continue paying her premiums or discontinue her current policy by submitting a written signed request at any time, either option will not affect the handling of her claim by **** Mrs. ******* must communicate with the insurance company handling her claim in order to reach a resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Eagle Insurance Agency, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)