Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Flexible Benefit Service Corporation (Flex)

Phone: (888) 353-9178 Fax: (847) 699-6906 View Additional Phone Numbers 10275 W Higgins Rd STE 500, Rosemont, IL 60018 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.flexiblebenefit.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Flexible Benefit Service Corporation (Flex) is an insurance agency which provides insurance coverage to individuals and businesses, including health insurance, life insurance, and flexible spending accounts. Located in Rosemont, IL, this company serves a national customer base as well as clients throughout the greater Chicagoland area, such as in Roselle, Schaumburg, Mt Prospect, Palatine, Des Plaines, Prospect Heights, Joliet, Romeoville, Bolingbrook, Arlington Heights, Rolling Meadows, Crystal Lake, Great Lakes, Lake Forest, Highland Park, Chicago, Mundelein, Gurnee, Downers Grove, Morton Grove, Rockford, Evanston, Skokie, Waukegan, McHenry, McCook, Carpentersville, Bensenville, Lincolnwood, Park Ridge, Blue Island, Alsip, Dixen, Posen, Robbins, Palos Heights, and Fox River Grove.

The company has been in business since 1988 and is a member of the National Association of Health Underwriters, the Illinois Chamber of Commerce, the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce, Independent Insurance Agents of Illinois, and the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors.

This company provides a variety of different insurance plans for companies and individuals. Plans and products available include health insurance, Medicare plans, life insurance, health savings accounts, private insurance exchange plans, flexible spending accounts, transit and parking reimbursement accounts, federal COBRA insurance, health reimbursement arrangements, non-discrimination testing, and ancillary/voluntary plans. Many plans are available for individual, group, or employer use. Individuals and companies can shop by carrier or can receive a quote online for added convenience.

Visit the website for Flexible Benefit Service Corporation (Flex) to learn more about the company, view the different products and services available, and contact the company to receive a quote on insurance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Flexible Benefit Service Corporation (Flex) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Flexible Benefit Service Corporation (Flex) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Flexible Benefit Service Corporation (Flex)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 20, 1997 Business started: 09/01/1988 Business started locally: 09/01/1988 Business incorporated 06/22/1988 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Divito, President Ms. Victoria DeBella Mr. Nick Severino, Director of Marketin
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Divito, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Nick Severino, Director of Marketin
Business Category

Insurance Agents Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Health Insurance - Medicare Services Insurance - Life Insurance - Senior Products Insurance - Workers Compensation Insurance Claim Processing Services Insurance Consultants Insurance Services Insurance - Employee Benefits Health & Wellness Management Consultants Health & Medical - General Health Care Management Insurance Companies Insurance-Group Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)


Additional Locations

  • 10275 W Higgins Rd STE 500

    Rosemont, IL 60018 (847) 699-6900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted my election for COBRA insurance extension within the appropriate time period. With my election, I submitted checks for the months I needed coverage. However, upon my first medical appointment for which I attempted to use the insurance, I received a letter stating that I failed to elect coverage within the appropriate time period. The fact that my checks to pay for the election coverage were cashed is proof enough that this is false. Furthermore, I called up before making the submission to confirm that the necessary payments were made, and the representative I spoke to assured me that I was in good standing.

Desired Settlement: $75.84 in total was cashed from my checks submitted to elect my insurance coverage, but I am owed the amount I am qualified to have covered for my $1000 medical visit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/20) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@flexiblebenefit.com Flexible Benefit Service Corporation provides COBRA administrative services to ******************* ******************, Inc. **** ******* is a former employee with ******************* ******************, Inc. His employment was terminated on 10-2-14. ******************* ****************** notified us of his termination on 10-7-14 and the COBRA Election Notice was mailed on 10-20-14. We received the COBRA Election Notice from **** ******* on XX-XX-XX which was signed on 11-17-14, electing to reinstate his dental coverage under COBRA. Upon receiving his election form and payment, we contacted ********, his dental provider, and his coverage was reinstated. We were not aware of any issue until we received the complaint from your office on 1-16-15. We immediately contacted **** ******* regarding his complaint. **** ******* explained that he scheduled a service in November and the provider requested payment for services as his coverage had not been reinstated at the time of the appointment. We explained to him that his coverage had been reinstated, however since his appointment was prior to his reinstatement by ********, he needs to submit his claim to ******** for reimbursement. We provided him with ********'s customer service information that would assist him with filing his claim. Once he files the claim with ******** he will receive his reimbursement from ********.

3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2013 my employer notified Flex that it was ending its agreement with them for administration of our individual HSA accounts. The employees all completed Trustee-to-Trustee request forms in December to direct Flex to have their bank transfer the money from our accounts. There have been numerous delays in this transfer process and I have complained to Flex that it was taking far too long. They claimed they never received our requests but the new HSA provider has shown that these requests were made in early January 2014. Finally on Feb 5th I was notified that a check in the amount of $2264.85 was sent by Flex even though our request was for this to be electronic. As of today, Feb 18th, this check is still missing. The other employees here have seen their transfers take place on Feb 6th. I have repeatedly asked for documentation to prove this check was issued and have been provided nothing in return other than messages that they are "looking into it." In the meantime I have medical bills that are late because I have no money to pay them. This has become a daily and constant frustration that has affected my wife and I. I have achieved a level of frustration that is beyond extreme and I feel that Flex has botched this entire transfer from day one. There is no reason why it should have taken this long and now I fear this check was never actually sent. Now that we have left them, it seems they have very little interest in making things right, even though this money is my own, not theirs.

Desired Settlement: First and foremost, I want my money deposited into my new HSA account immediately and via electronic transfer. I'm not sure any additional level of compensation can make this nightmare go away or remove the frustration I have for them, but it would sure be nice if they took some step to demonstrate that they are sorry for the stress they have caused me. I do not yet know if I have been charged a late fee for these medical bills but if I am, or God forbid I end up in collections over this, I will expect Flex to step up and cover these for me and my family.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXXx4328 Contact Email: ******@flexiblebenefit.com We received the Trustee to Trustee form completed by ****** ************ on January 16, 2014. The process to complete this type of transfer requires 7 to 10 business days. The transfer was completed on February 3, 2014 and the check was mailed on February 5, 2014. Mr. ************ contacted our office regarding the status of his transfer and we provided him with a copy of the check and date mailed. Since his new custodian still had not received his checked, he contacted our office again. We were advised on February 19, 2014 that the address on the Trustee form provided to us was incorrect. Upon discovering that we were provided an incorrect address, we immediately requested confirmation if the check had been cashed in order void the original check and reissue a new check. Mr. ************ requested an electronic transfer of funds; however we do not have the capability for electronic transfers as transfers are processed via check. We expedited the void and reissue of the check and processed a request for an overnight delivery. Mr. ************ confirmed the deposit into his new HSA account was completed on February 26, 2014. This delay was due to an incorrect address provided by the trustee on their transfer form and once that issue was identified we expedited the resolution and were in contact with Mr. ************ throughout the final resolution. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/04) */

11/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: policy number thru ********************** PXXXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX, states I have coverag until 10-13-2013. Went to doctor, had lab work, and prescription refills ALL DENIED by Flexible benefit corp saying policy expired on 8-31-2013. I did not know they cancelled it and sent my Sept.payment, they never notified me, never cashed my check nor did they return it. Under the HIPPA law I should be covered until my expire date, but yet Flexible Beneifit corp decided to cancell me. I have no prescriptions since they won't pay, just recieved bill from lab where I had my blood work done for $456.10 and still am waiting to hear from doctor office. I have declaration page from blue cross showing I am covered until said date

Desired Settlement: I want my claims paid, but since i dont want my crdit ruined, I may have to pay and then I want FULL reimbursement

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/09) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** - Manager Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX ext *** Contact Email: ******@flexiblebenefit.com Flexible Benefit Service Corporation is the COBRA Administrator for ********* of ********* ********* of *********** medical provider was ********* **** ****** of ** ****** and their policy plan year was 9-1-2013 through 8-31-2013. ********* of ******** advised their plan renewal changed providers to ****** ****** **** effective 9-1-13 and is in the process of sending us their new plan information which would be forwarded to all COBRA Participants on behalf of ********* of ********* Upon receiving this complaint from ****** *******, we contacted him immediately regarding the termination of his coverage complaint. We explained that Flexible Benefit Service Corporation did not terminate his coverage and due to the change in providers with the medical plan renewal, BCBS no longer handles claims on behalf of ********* of ********* All claims incurred beginning September 1, 2013 will be processed through ****** ****** ***** Once we receive the information from ********* of ******** we will send the new plan and open enrollment materials to ****** ******* for his new plan election. We will provide the information to ****** ****** **** as soon as it is returned by ****** *******. We will continue to follow-up with ********* of ******** and ****** ******* until his coverage under ****** ****** **** is established. If there is any additional information we can provide related to this complaint, please contact me at XXX XXX-XXXX extension 4328 or ******@flexiblebenefit.com. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are just trying to cover their behinds. If they did not know until 10-10-13 that it was cancelled then why did they deny my claims. Yes I received my refund. The point being they have not been upfront and honest at all, and since I filed this claim they are making excuses on top of excuses. Sorry to report this has not been the first time they have received my money and denied my claims. They are a company that is not up front and has screwed my around before and again this past September. again the proof of them cashing my September payment but dening my claims supports my claims that they totally messed up, and I had to fight to get my refund back. As for ****** *********** they also screwed up and never properly notified me. Just yesterday 10-24-13 I received a letter from ****************** dated 9-10-13. I am tired of being messed with and my claims have still not been paid. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/11/05) */ As advised in our previous update, we were notified that ********* of ******** terminated our administrative services. Their medical carrier effective 9-1-13 was changed to ****** ****** **** from ********* ********** of ** ******* Any claims submitted to **** beginning 9-1-13 would not be covered by **** and would need to be submitted to ****** ****** ***** When we received the initial complaint, we had not been aware of the termination of our services and that ****** ****** **** will be administering COBRA for ********* of ********* Upon receiving notification of the termination of our services, we processed a refund of the payments we received to Mr. *******, which would need to be provided to ****** ****** ***** We contacted ********* of ******** regarding this situation with Mr. *******'s claims. We will contact ********* of ******** again so they can work with ****** ****** **** to resolve the claim issues for Mr. *******. Since our administration services have been terminated, we no longer have authorization to handle COBRA services for ********* of *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Flexible Benefit Service Corporation (Flex)
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)