Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (888) 250-3409 Fax: (312) 948-2630 View Additional Phone Numbers 214 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GoHealth meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on GoHealth
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2004 Business started locally: 05/01/2004 Business incorporated 08/26/2008 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Colwell, Director Consumer Marketing Mr. Michael Mahoney, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Colwell, Director Consumer Marketing
Business Category

Information Technology Services Insurance Consultants Computer and Office Machine Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811212)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

GoHealth has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 214 W Huron St

    Chicago, IL 60654 (888) 250-3409 (312) 784-7075


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
6/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year in 2014, I was searching to for insurance quotes on their website, and I was required to put in my phone number in order to look around. I was aware hat the website stated that I would receive up to 8 phone calls then stop, however I have been called non-stop for months now. I received a lot more than 8 calls just in the first week at all hours of the day. Every time a new company called I asked to be removed from their calling list, but it was to no avail. The companies would just keep calling over and over again. Now, my husband receives calls on his personal cell from different insurance companies as well. I know that I was definitely mislead into getting my number unknowingly shared around to so many different companies, and I feel the company has violated my trust. I have been experiencing these unwanted calls for about a year now, and I'm fed up.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is to remove both my phone number as well as my husband's from their nationwide list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/02) */ We would be more than happy to add the consumer's numbers to our DNC list right away. To ensure that we have the most up to date record, please email us at***************************** with the phone numbers to remove with the subject line: "BBB Complaint: DNC" and we will process it immediately. Thank you!

2/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: GoHealth collects personal information for insurance quotes. I started shopping for insurance in the last week of 2014. For some reason all quote requests go through them. I finally ended up at eHealth via GoHealth and got health insurance. GoHealth insists that you give them your phone number. So you do it because you want to get health insurance. For the last 2 weeks, I've been getting calls for call centers of different insurance companies even though I bought isurance 2 weeks ago. This is very annoying. When I gave them my number, I had no idea that this was the result. BUT you have to give them your phone number. My mobile number is on the Do Not Call Registry. Apparently these companies did not bother to check it. I have to pick up and tell them not to call anymore. I called both eHealth and GoHealth to tell them to stop. eHealth said they don't give away numbers. GoHealth did NOT deny it.

Desired Settlement: I want them to state very clearly on their website how your phone number will be used.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/21) */ We have reached out to this consumer via email to resolve this situation and have added/confirmed this consumer will not have any further marketing contact from GoHealth.

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This firm contacted me without permission on my cell phone. I am registered on the do-not-call registers. I have asked several times for them not to call be they continue to do so, even on weekends as early as 7:00AM. They refuse to allow me to speak with a supervisor or honor my request; they simply hang up and call again.

Desired Settlement: Whatever penalties are assessed for violating do-not-call lists and refusing to remove me from their database.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/21) */ We reached out to this consumer on 1/20 via phone to resolve the situation and left a message with his number. We will do all we can to ensure the consumer does not receive any further marketing contact from GoHealth.

1/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an Insurance agent. I have worked with the same marketing group for about 5 years. Today I called ****** to get some assistance with a client. I learned that with out my knowledge or consent GOHEALTH has somehow moved my contract and is now stealing my commissions.

Desired Settlement: My contract needs to be released. My commissions need to be paid in full.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/22) */ I believe we have responded to this issue, but we have resolved it through our finance team. If there are any outstanding issues, please contact me directly. Thank you!

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Advisor scheduled a 9am telephone call for 12/11/2014 and never called. I took off work for this appointment and never received so much as a notification to reschedule. After sitting on hold for nearly 40 minutes when I tried to call in; I requested an online chat agent. Online chat agent identified as ***** refused to attempt to contact a supervisor when asked to chat or speak to one.

Desired Settlement: The only thing I would ask is to receive an apology and make other consumers know how poorly this company treats people.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/22) */ We have now received this issue and will immediately reach out to the consumer to find a resolution.

9/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unpaid invoices from September 2013 - May 2014 for background check services for CA Insurance Licensing.

Desired Settlement: Full payment of past due amounts owed to our company and California Department of Justice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/08) */ It appears that there was a simple miscommunication between our finance departments that has now been resolved. Please note that our finance team has contacted your company and has settled the invoice matter. Thank you!

5/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted an application for Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Illinois health insurance (Blue Choice Silver PPO 003) through GoHealth on December 26,2013 for coverage effective February 1, 2014. Due to a glitch in the ************** website my application was never processed. I contacted GoHealth several times to check the status of my application and to make sure it would be processed. Their customer service agents either did not return my emails or my phone calls in a timely manner. The original agent who took my application ***** ******** never responded to my requests. I spoke to another agent ********* ******* who told me a manager would contact me to get the issue resolved. When the manager (******* ******* finally called me back he said he would get the issue resolved. However, he did not return my calls and the issue still has not been corrected. I contacted Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Illinois directly on February 3, 2014 and submitted a new application directly to them. They said my application would be approved and effective March 1, 2014. However, now I have a gap in my healthcare coverage due to GoHealth's shoddy service processing my initial application. I am sure I am not the only customer who has been affected by this. I am sure there are hundreds or thousands of more customers in the same predicament. Product_Or_Service: Blue Choice Silver PPO 003

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my insurance coverage to be back dated to start on February 1, 2014 as I had originally requested. I think GoHealth should refund me the cost of the monthly premium of $201.03 for February and if possible for March as well. I have spent several hours on the phone trying to get this issue resolved. It has cost me time and money. The company should not be submitting healthcare applications on behalf of customers if they are unable to process them in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 11, 2014/05/06) */ ****** ****** Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ZIP/State: XXXXX / IL I called Mr ****** and explained that I was part of the New Member Services Department at Go Health and was passed a note that he had had a problem with his BCBS enrollment started in late December. He said that was more than two months ago, why was I calling now. I explained that I was reaching out to make certain that he is covered. Then back to the call, I indicated that it looks like he enrolled in a BCBS plan with us on December 26 (for an start date of 2-1-2014). And our records show that he first contacted us about the plan on January 17. Then called again on February 3 with several contacts. I also understand that he contacted BCBS of IL direct on February 3 and, at that time re-enrolled in the BCBS plan with a March 1 start date. Mr. ****** then indicated that we had been no customer service help on getting his December application enrolled. I pointed out that the January 17 call was after the date for February plan starts (FFM prescribed). I also pointed out that any of our agent contacts could have re-enrolled him in his plan for a March 1 start. Here he shifted to tell me that our Customer Service efforts were awful and he had called numerous times trying to get this resolved with no callbacks. I offered that is why our Member Services Team was created...he said that it was too little too late. He also indicated that he would never recommend us because of his experience and asked that we take him off of our mailing lists and please do not contact again. He requested no further action. We didn't win him over, but he is not requesting anything additional. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like a refund of my policy premium for the two months I had a gap in my health insurance coverage. I contacted Go Health several times before my effective start date of February 1st 2014. This was not recorded in their system for some reason. The information provided in their report summary is not accurate. The claims agent did not offer to reimburse me or apologize for their poor service. He started arguing with my over minor details and did not address the underlying problem. I had to enroll directly through **** ********** ****** of Illinois. Go Health's application was never received due to a website glitch. They should not be offering services if they can not process the claims in a timely manner. I am sure I was not the only person affected by their system glitch. Very poor customer service and no regard for customers given the fact that I had submitted my application in December 2013 and he was now contacting me in late April 2014. Very rude customer service agent.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trying to do the right thing back in December we went to market place and found a policy that would fit your needs. There was a problem with the web site at Market Place. So I called the toll free number that was listed in market place. The person who answered the lead me to believed that she was with Coventry Healthcare. She was with Go Health. She took our information signed us up for the insurance. A few days later, I set up the payment which was made. The last day of the month our insurance cards arrived in the mail. First our son did not have a card, then my wife and myself had the wrong primary care physician on the cards. On February 11, XXXX X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Go Health I called GoHealth at X-XXX-XX-XXXX Talked to ******** ******. She had to email the sales manager and ***** ******. About getting the problem fix, and they will Ms. ****** had never responded to any of my emails that I sent. Because of Go Health and Ms. ****** we have an insurance policy that does not have our doctors on it. The insurance company refuses to drop and refund our money back for the first months premium. The company is now telling us if they we do not pay they will take it out of our Federal Tax Return. No body from Go Health will contact us.

Desired Settlement: Get Go Health upper management to contact me. Have them withdraw us from the insurance company and if they do not refund our premium, Go Health should.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************** As the consumer mentions in their complaint, they have a dispute with Coventry Healthcare, not with GoHealth. We would be happy to help the consumer reach out to Coventry in an effort to resolve their concern, but it seems like they already tried that, and when Coventry said they wont change their coverage, the consumer decided to incorrectly make a complaint against GoHealth. I'm not sure why the complaint against GoHealth would be allowed to be lodged when the consumer has stated their issue is with the Insurance Carrier (Coventry) and not with us (gohealth). We cannot force another company to do anything. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of Mr. ****** reply, I have a number of things that Go Health does not understand. 1. Go Health represented Coventry, and there agent had verified the doctors on the policy. How is the not your issue? We called the toll free number on marketplace web site and it went to Go Health. When we found that our doctors were not on the policy. No body from Go Health will help us. They are the ones that set everything up. So how does he say that it is not their problem? 2. Go Health never has supervisors on duty, they always we have to send an email to the supervisors. So when President ******* **** of Go Health told that customers need to talk to their customer service rep, and they would get them the insurance. All Go Health cares about is that first phone call. Because of the their mess up I am paying 1,500 dollars a month for insurance, me and my family can continue to see our doctors. Go Health is unwilling to contact me and work with us on the problem. Go Health, has still had no body contact with us. They just do not care; they got their money from the government and Coventry for giving us the wrong information. Buyer beware they do not want to help you! Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/05/06) */ ******* ***** Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX ZIP/State: XXXXX / IL I just talked to Mr. ***** and he said everything had been taken care of. I don't think he ever really made any effort to resolve this issue before this became an escalation; nothing he needed is hard to get accomplished. He probably just picked up the phone and talked to the right person. I asked him if there was anything he would like for me to do, he stated there was nothing he required. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently noticed since 8/2012 we have had recurring monthly charges on our Chase account ending in 6898 for $26.50 (Dental Ins from Time Insurance) and $35.66 (Life Ins from CO Bankers Life) which originated from unauthorized contracts claimed from Go Health with contact number XXX-XXX-XXXX. Since our account is rarely used, these charges did not become apparent until they exhausted the account funds and generated NSF notifications. We have spoken with customer service representatives from both underwriters CO Bankers Life and Time Insurance and learned the Go Health representatives were Hellen Stevens and **** *********** respectively. For your information, we have no record of entering into any Insurance contract with this company. However, coincidentally, during July 2012 we had inquired about health insurance through a broker, but never followed through with any contract, due to *****'s offer for employment with included benefits. In an attempt to seek an explanation for this unauthorized policy, we contacted Go Health at the number above. But to our surprise this number only allows leaving a message (which in itself is suspicious). We as the consumer, Time Insurance and CO Bankers Life have clearly been victims of a scam, which serves to tarnish the confidence in major insurance underwriters, which I trust take great pride in serving their customers with honesty and integrity. I hope you will recognize this complaint as a serious violation of business ethics which Go Health seems to encourage. After an internet search to establish a pattern of complaints; I found numerous negative reviews without any corresponding positive reviews. I am seeking full reimbursement for premiums from August 2012 and overdraft fees incurred as a direct result of these unauthorized charges. Please do not hesitate to contact myself; or my husband Paul Espy, should you need further information regarding this dispute.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the following charges: Time Insurance @ $26.50 x 18 = $461.88 CO Bankers Life @ $36.55 x 18 = $477.00 Chase NSF @ $34 x 3 = $102.00 Chase Extended NSF @ $15 x 2 = $30.00 TOTAL = $1,250.88

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** - C.S. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************** GoHealth is a free service to gather insurance quotes for consumers. Unfortunately this claim is out of the Purview of the BBB, as the complainant has lodged a complaint against a free service, so they will have to lodge a complaint against the companies they listed in their complaint above. As those are the companies they did business with, and those are the companies they were charged by, as they specifically listed on their complaint. The complaint shows that the consumers were charged by different companies that are unrelated to GoHealth and our Free service. NO ONE at GoHealth is a representative of those companies listed, as again, we are a free quoting service that matches consumers with quotes and potential options/companies. Desired resolution is out of the purview of the BBB and should be filed against Time Insurance and CO Bankers life. We are not those companies. Sorry we could not help.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on GoHealth
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart