Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Zoro, Inc

Phone: (855) 289-9676 Fax: (855) 484-0406 View Additional Phone Numbers 909 Asbury Dr, Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 View Additional Email Addresses http://zoro.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Zoro, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Zoro, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

22 Customer Reviews on Zoro, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 12
Total Customer Reviews 22

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2011 Business started: 12/13/2010 Business started locally: 12/13/2010 Business incorporated 12/13/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer Schloesser Mrs. Jennifer Schloesser, Customer Service Supervisor Mr. Seth Erickson, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Jennifer Schloesser, Customer Service Supervisor
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Schloesser
Business Category

Industrial Equipment & Supplies Machine Tools Cleaning Supplies by Internet Industrial Machinery and Equipment Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423830)

Alternate Business Names
Zoro Tools, Inc.
Products & Services

This business offers: Industrial Equipment.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Zoro, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 909 Asbury Dr

    Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 (847) 247-7660 (847) 484-0400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2 saw horses from ******* **** on internet it says pk of 2 for the price listed other saw horses are around 29.99 each to 41.000 each this said 59,00 pk of 2..when I got it only one I call ******* they said they cant do anything because it came from ****** but they will notify them of my situation ,,,well they did notifie them they took it off the internet but they dis nothing for me blaming each orther for mistake I called up they wanted proff it stated that but mt receipt online you can not send so I had ******* contack them ...they basically said to bad will give 10 off or said it back wich takes 10 days to see refund ,,,the shifty thing was they took the price off line and acted like it never happened,, I offered to take it back to ******* but they wont take back in store so I can replace it with another order from the interet home depo 29.99 each...I feel this is not right if anything I saved the company from more problems but there not doing anything for me,,,

Desired Settlement: I think they should make good with there mistake and give me another one or make it easy for me not make it so I have to wait whats gona happen when the sale go off at **** ******

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:no one wants to take responsiblity..all this responce does is hold my money for return i am still waiting with no call from either i had to finally call back and ask for shipping label to get my money back.they are not customer friendly as they say..im still waiting on there mistake 10 percent off is a joke..they still have my money...

Sincerely,

******* ********

3/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased items from Zoro.com in the past and their prices are great for many of their items. However, it seems as though they sacrifice customer service for their low prices. If it is the customer service representative that was the only issue it may be a problem that the company can fix immediately but management at that company is equally if not worse than the customer service representatives. Which begs the question, how far and deep is this issue within this company? Will I ever be able to get any sort of help in a manner that seems common amongst industry standards? On January 20, 2016 I purchased an item from zoro.com as typically done in the past. The purchasing process is not as user friendly as I would have liked but that is not the issue here. I received a confirmation email on January 21, 2016 that stated that the order has been fulfilled and shipped. I click on the tracking link and I find that a label has been created for shipment. February 3, 2016 I still have not received the item 13 days after they create the shipping label. The item was supposed to heat the recreation room at a RETIREMENT HOME that needed to be done before February. However, because of this company's inability to properly ship an item I not only am losing business but also credibility. I respectfully asked for a refund or credit towards a future purchase on their website but they refused 3 times and also refused to let me talk to the manager to better explain the situation. I wonder if the manager's grandparents or parents were freezing in their home the manager would have acted the way they did. They disrespected not only my credibility but made it seem as if it was my fault for their inability to ship an item and as if they were doing a service for ME by shipping the item that most likely will not arrive for another week or two. Unbelievable customer service and unbelievable treatment of customers.

Desired Settlement: Either refund a portion of the final cost of the item ( I still want the item to be shipped) or credit towards a future purchase. I also want the customer service representative and manager reprimanded for the way they treated me and I want proof that proper actions have been taken. No person should be treated the way I did for the company's mistake.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for your feedback regarding order **********  Zoro takes all feedback from our customers seriously.

We were able to verify that your purchase on ********* did experience some issues with the shipping carrier and the item was returned to our warehouse.  This is by no means a normal process and we do apologize for the inconvenience. 

On 02/03/16 we did process no charge replacement order ********** which was shipped on 02/04/16 and delivered to Philadelphia, PA address on 02/08/16 and was signed for by *******  In addition to this no charge replacement, we have authorized a $50.00 credit to the credit card that was used on the original order.  Please allow 7-10 business days for this transaction to fully process.

Again we apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused you.  We also apologize for any poor customer service you experienced.  Zoro prides itself on providing its customers with the best service possible.  We will be using your feedback for future training/coaching purposes.

If there are any questions or concerns regarding this order or any future orders, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Thank you,

Zoro Customer Service

2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an electronic device from Zoro that did not work as specified. I requested a Return Authorization number and was provide one to return the merchandise, which included the address the product was to be delivered as a return. The tracking # on the label Zoro provided proves that the product was returned as well as Zoro's representative admission in writing via email. I have communicated this with multiple individuals at Zoro in writing and I have still received notice that I am not eligible for a refund. Please keep this complaint open until I receive a full refund. Thank you!

Desired Settlement: Please keep this complaint open until I receive a full refund. Thank you!

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for contacting Zoro regarding this issue.  We appreciate the feedback and will do our best to assist in the manner.

We have reviewed the complaint and our records and we do show that Mr. ******* did make a purchase with us on 9/22/15.  We also see that a return request was made by the customer via email on 10/4/15 for a refund due to the item being damaged.  In accordance with our return policy or agent created return authorization #123387 and also sent UPS label #****************** to the customer’s email (t*******7@att.net) for the item to be returned.  As of 1/26/16, the UPS label has not been used and no item has been returned to our Buffalo Grove, IL location.

We also reviewed the correspondence that Mr. ******* had with us directly.  In his most recent correspondence, Mr. ******* provided us with proof of delivery via USPS #**********************.  This is not a valid POD for several reasons:  1) Zoro does not utilize USPS for return shipments, so this was not issued to the customer by Zoro, 2) The packaged was delivered to a location in San Antonio, TX where Zoro does not currently have a physical presence, 3) The total shipment of USPS #********************** takes place between 9/21/15 and 9/30/15, which is actually before the original purchase date of the item on 9/22/15.  It is due to these 3 criteria that we have denied a refund to the customer at this time.  We have agreed to refund the customer once the item is returned to us in our Buffalo Grove location, which is possible by using the UPS label we have provided.

Once again, thank you for contacting us and please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

1/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ship directly to the US Government in DC, FL, and NJ. We have ordered from toro.com in the past either directly or through Amazon.com. We recently requested a tax-exempt account and provided our tax certificate. Zoro CS responded that they couldn't sell to us, because the US Government would send the supplies to US embassies and US military bases and this was against Zoro's policy -- no Zoro products were allowed outside of the US. This seems incorrect since Zoro has an office in Canada. I need clarification on this policy so I can advise the US Departments of State and Defense.

Desired Settlement: I need Zoro to clarify their policy regarding shipments to the US Government.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

All of us at Zoro would like to thank you for your feedback about Zoro.com.

According to the Shipping Policy Exceptions listed on our website, Zoro only accepts order for shipments within the continental US, Alaska, and Hawaii.  Orders to international destinations will not be processed.  This includes any orders that may be intended for international destinations as the final user.

For any shipments within Canada, customers may place the order through zorocanada.com.  All orders placed on this website are imported from the US and the customer is responsible for any applicable custom duties, taxes, and import fees upon delivery of the items purchased.  These amounts are not currently included in the total amount presented at checkout.  While zorocanada.com does cater to our Canadian customers, it does remain an US website.  Zoro currently holds no physical presence within Canada.

Also, for any federal customers, Zoro products are not offered through a GSA scheduled contract.

Based on the criteria listed above, Zoro would not process an order that was intended for an end destination outside the continental US, Alaska, and Hawaii.  This would include end destinations comprising of all foreign US embassies, US military bases, and US territories at this time.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback.  If there are any questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us again.

12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a tool from the website ******************. I paid for the tool in Canadian dollars, and was told it would be delivered via *** Canada. *** arrived with the consignment and we had to pay $132.6 in import fees. I am very aware of import fees and that is the reason I purchased the item on what I thought was a Canadian website. I understand they want to sell more product, but purposely doing that at the detriment of your customer is not acceptable and underhanded. They refused to refund me any money as they stated that somewhere in the purchase agreement it states that may happen, but I did not notice or see that. $132 in fees for a $350 tool is something that should be in big bold letters so the customer is given a choice.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund my $132.46 that I paid in import fees.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:
We have reviewed the complaint submitted by *** ***** and have verified that he placed order ********* on 10/22/2015.  ************** does cater to our Canadian customers, however it does remain an American website and all product ships from the USA via *** Standard Ground, *** Saver, *** ********* *********, or *** ********* ******* shipping, depending on the items purchased and the customer’s preference.  This information is stated clearly on our homepage ******************** just above the quick links at the bottom of the page) as well as on our Shipping Info page (http://******************/shipping/).
Also, the following Terms and Conditions must be accepted by the customer prior to any purchase from ***************
I am, or am acting on behalf of, a business customer that is purchasing products for business use and consumption and not for export, resale or for personal, family or household use.
I acknowledge that for products shipped to Canada:
a) manufacturer warranties may not be valid and certain manufacturer service options may not be available;
b) product documentation (including instructions and product safety warnings) may not be in both French and English; and
c) such products may not be designed in accordance with Canadian standards, specifications, and labeling requirements or comply with Canadian voltage and other electrical standards (requiring use of an adapter or converter if appropriate).
I acknowledge that I, the Customer, as the importer of record, am responsible for assuring that the product can be lawfully imported into Canada and must comply with all applicable Canadian laws and regulations. Orders shipped to Canada may be subject to taxes, duties, import and other fees collected upon delivery. Customs clearance procedures may cause shipping delays.
Customers are also given the opportunity to refuse the order and charges upon delivery and a full refund for the order would be processed at that point.
Based on the Terms and Conditions, which are view-able by all customers, Zoro has elected not to refund *** ***** the $132.46 he incurred in import fees.
We realize that the current experience of placing orders on ************** is not completely ideal and we are working to create a better solution.  We appreciate and encourage the feedback from our customers on this matter.
If there are any further questions regarding this particular issue, please feel free to reach out to us at any time.
Sincerely,
******** * **************

10/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed online order, entered Credit Card information, order was accepted and order #692-SOXXXXXXX was generated. My credit card account was billed. My order was then cancelled by Zoro with no indication as to why. I contacted Zoro via there customer service link and generated #CASEXXXXXX. The response is as follows "I do apologize for the inconvenience. I show that your order was cancelled due to the credit card information being declined. Either the expiration date or the security code was entered incorrectly." My Bank does show the Credit Card Charge hitting my account. It was not denied because of any of the stated reasons by Zoro CS personnel. In fact, the credit card info was correct and the Bank did NOT refuse the charge. This is not the 1st BBB complaint of this nature. There is a fundamental issue that Zoro is NOT addressing. Obviously Zoro is using low advertised prices to acquire customer information and credit card information for other purposes. The term PHISING comes to mind. They have NO INTENTION of DELIVERING PRODUCT AT THE LOW ADVERTISED PRICE.

Desired Settlement: Request Zoro certify that none of my business or personal information be disseminated in any form or way, by any and all affiliated company or persons with Zoro. If my information has already distributed, sold, or disseminated prior to this complaint being resolved, I request that Zoro provide me, in writing, a list of all known entities which Zoro provided my information to

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/09/24) */ To Whom It May Concern: We have reviewed the complaint file by the customer from order SOXXXXXXX and have verified that the credit card ending in **** was not charged for this order by Zoro. As a part of our fraud security protocol our system uses multiple criteria to verify credit cards used on our website. Order SOXXXXXXX was place via our website by the customer on August 25th, 2015 at 5:01pm CT. When the order was submitted through our system the credit card received a verification rejection. The CSC code/Expiration date combo was found to be incorrect. When this occurs the system automatically takes the following measures: 1. The order is cancelled immediately. 2. Once the order is cancelled, an order cancellation email is sent to the customer via the email address on file. 3. The credit card is not charged, however the initial hold for funds that is created while verifying the credit card may remain on the account for 7-10 business days before dropping off automatically. It is possible that the "charge" seen on the credit card account is the initial hold for funds. This pending transaction should release within 7-10 business days. Also, as a part of our security protocol, Zoro does not distribute, sell, or disseminate customer information to any entities. We would like to thank the customer for bringing this issue to our attention. Input from our customers helps us to improve our service and standards as a company and we take all customer correspondence very seriously. Thank you for your time and please feel free to reach out to us again if there are further questions or concerns. Sincerely, The Zoro Team

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased one service wrench from Zoro on 5/14/2015 in the amount of $27.62. order no. ***-SOXXXXXXX. Received the wrench on 5/18/2015, but realized I had ordered the wrong size. Emailed Zoro on 5/18 for a return authorization. Zoro emailed back on 5/18: "We will not trouble you with sending the item back to us. Please keep, donate or dispose of it. Your refund in the amount of $22.62 will be reflected back onto the card used for payment within 5-7 business days." ( Zoro CASEXXXXXX ) I NEVER RECEIVED A REFUND!!

Desired Settlement: I expect to receive the $22.62 refund as the Zoro company promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/15) */ To Whom It May Concern: We have investigated the issue and do acknowledge that the customer placed order SO254XXXX on 5/13/15. We also see that an email request for a return was received from the customer on 5/18/15 and Return Authorization #96XXX was created the same day. The customer was informed that we did not require the item to be returned and a request for a refund was promptly sent to our accounting offices. However, we do see that there has been a breakdown in communication after that point and the refund was never processed. We do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and our accounting office has since issued Refund #652XX on 6/15/15. The transaction should clear into the customer's account within 7-10 business days. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and if there are any further concerns regarding this refund, please feel free to contact our customer service at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email us at *******@zoro.com. Sincerely, Zoro Customer Service

5/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a dishwasher for my daughter based on a picture listed on Zoro's webite. When I went to her home, I saw that the dishwasher was completely different looking than the one pictured. I contacted Zoro, the rep told me that the one I ordered had been discontinued. I asked why I was not contacted, she did not know. I looked online and realized that I was sent a less expensive model. I called back and was told to check the model number, I was then told that the manufacturer had sent them the wrong picture. The agreed to give my money back and have the dishwasher picked up and I had the option to pay for more for the one pictured. I feel that this is false advertisement and misrepresentation.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I am entitled to the pictured dishwasher for the original price that it was listed at, or a full refund on the one I have for my inconvenience. This is holding up the renovation of the kitchen and I feel that I have been misled by this company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/28) */ To Whom It May Concern: This message is in response to BBB Case # ********. We have reviewed our records and found that the customer did contact us on 4/20/15 regarding her order # *********. There was a discrepancy between the product that was shipped to her and the stock photos, from the manufacturer, presented on our site. We apologized to the customer for the error and inconvenience and offered to discount the unit she received or to have the unit returned for a full refund. The customer agreed to have the item discounted and partial refund # 59XXX was requested the same day, 4/20/15. This credit request was then expedited on 4/21/15. Zoro appreciates the feedback we receive from our customers, as it is a valuable tool for the development and growth of our customer service and company as a whole. Please let us know if there are any further questions or concerns. Sincerely, Zoro Customer Service ************ ***************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke to the manufacturer, and they indicated that they did not give the wrong photos. I did not want this model dishwasher, nor do I like it. I feel that I was tricked into making a purchase by Zoro offering a more expensive dishwasher, then sending a cheaper model. Who would think that they were not getting an item that was pictured? I took the $36 discount, because that was all that they offered me, besides taking a refund and having to pay them more money for the other dishwasher. I feel that as a consumer I have been misled by this company and that this is not good business practice. I would not want them to represent my product.

4/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Don't buy from this site when you can buy from more serious sites that don't lie to get your business. I purchased an item, good brand, for a good price. As soon as I ordered it the sells person advised me that it will take 10 for me to received it. I told her I had no problem wattling 10 days. An hr later I received a e-mail saying that my product was not going to be available until a month later and as soon as zoro will receive it they will ship it. From what I heard they will sell you products that they don't have but to compensate they will offer you to buy a more expensive product witch "they do have in stuck"! Their excuse is that the manufacture never tells them if they have the product available?? So if you call to buy a tape measure they call the manufacture to purchase it and sell it to you!?? If the manufacture does't have it they have to wait until the manufacture makes them and than they ship it to you! Really!??? Trust me, buy from a more serious site and save on head aches and frustration.

Desired Settlement: My product in 10 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/10) */ In response to complaint # XXXXXXXX we have examined our records and have verified the following: Our customer did call our customer service line on 4/8/15 and placed an order over the phone with one our customer service agent. At the time of purchase, the item ***** ******** was not in stock in any of our warehouses and our agent informed him that the estimated wait time for back ordered items is usually 10 business days. Typically most of our supplier can deliver back-ordered items within this time frame. After the order was placed, an inquiry was sent to the manufacturer for an updated lead time and we were informed that this item would not be available until at least 5/6/15. An email, containing this updated information, was sent to our customer the same day, 4/8/15. The customer then called our customer service line twice the next day, 4/9/15, to verify the updated lead time. The call was escalated to a Team Lead, who verified the information and offered alternative items as an option. At the request of the customer, the order was cancelled in our system. With regard to charging the customer's credit card, when orders are placed, an authorization/hold is placed on the buyer's credit card. Credit cards are not charged until items actually ship. No funds were ever processed and the customer was alerted that this authorization should be reversed by the customer's bank within the next 7-10 business days. Zoro makes every effort to provide up to date inventory and ship date information. It is not our practice, nor has it ever been, to mislead our customers. We strive to provide proper communication when initial delivery dates cannot be met and offer customers alternative to fulfill the order. Please not that Zoro takes feedback such as this very seriously and finds it to be a valuable tool to help us improve our service to our customers. Thank you so much for the feedback and if there are any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As Zoro mentioned, they cancelled my purchase but now I am with out the money and with out the product that I purchase until the bank release my funds. I could of buy the same item at another company with better reputation for few dollars more and I could of have my tool in a couple of days! Is it fear that I am forced to wait for the next 7-10 business days until my funds are release even if I didn't get their product?? If they would of told me that the item was not available until a month or a month and a week later, I would never ordered it on the first place! I believe this is their strategy to bring customers to their website. Good brand item for a great price and as soon as you purchase the item the product is not available until a month or so but they will offer regular prices, no good deals any more, for items that they have in stock! What a great way to do business! If they care about these problems and their customers as they say, It will be fear if they offer me a similar bran product or better for the same price. I would appreciate if Zoro ships it in the next 7-10 business days. Thank you in advance. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/15) */ Our customer did call our customer service line on 4/8/15 and placed an order over the phone with one our customer service agent. At the time of purchase, the item ***** ******** was not in stock in any of our warehouses and our agent informed him that the estimated wait time for back ordered items is usually 10 business days. Typically most of our supplier can deliver back-ordered items within this time frame. After the order was placed, an inquiry was sent to the manufacturer for an updated lead time and we were informed that this item would not be available until at least 5/6/15. An email, containing this updated information, was sent to our customer the same day, 4/8/15. The customer then called our customer service line twice the next day, 4/9/15, to verify the updated lead time. The call was escalated to a Team Lead, who verified the information and offered alternative items as an option. At the request of the customer, the order was cancelled in our system. With regard to charging the customer's credit card, when orders are placed, an authorization/hold is placed on the buyer's credit card. Credit cards are not charged until items actually ship. No funds were ever processed and the customer was alerted that this authorization should be reversed by the customer's bank within the next 7-10 business days. Zoro makes every effort to provide up to date inventory and ship date information. It is not our practice, nor has it ever been, to mislead our customers. We strive to provide proper communication when initial delivery dates cannot be met and offer customers alternative to fulfill the order. Please not that Zoro takes feedback such as this very seriously and finds it to be a valuable tool to help us improve our service to our customers. Thank you so much for the feedback and if there are any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Don't buy from this site when you can buy from more serious sites that don't lie to get your business. I purchased an item, good brand, for a good price. As soon as I ordered it the sells person advised me that it will take 10 for me to received it. I told her I had no problem wattling 10 days. An hr later I received a e-mail saying that my product was not going to be available until a month later and as soon as zoro will receive it they will ship it. From what I heard they will sell you products that they don't have but to compensate they will offer you to buy a more expensive product witch "they do have in stuck"! Their excuse is that the manufacture never tells them if they have the product available?? So if you call to buy a tape measure they call the manufacture to purchase it and sell it to you!?? If the manufacture does't have it they have to wait until the manufacture makes them and than they ship it to you! Really!??? Trust me, buy from a more serious site and save on head aches and frustration.

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE REFUND E-MAIL; SAID ZORO WOULD PAY THRU *** **** ! PAID THEM,- DEBIT CARD PAYMENT! THE LIES THAT COME FROM OFFERS TO PAY ARE MANIFOLD1 WARNING TO ALL SENIORS; THIS IS A COMPANY THAT CANT DO THE JOB RIGHT PERIOD! THE E-MAIL DID NOT SAY WHEN THEY WOULD PAY, USED A FORM OF ACCOUNT-REFUND, THAT I DIDN'T USE TO PAY THEM! SO BE AWARE THAT ZORO DOESN'T USE ANY REGARD FOR ON-LINE ORDERS!

Desired Settlement: REFUND THE 18.77 TO THE ACCOUNT GIVEN DEBIT CARD NOW!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/10) */ In response to BBB case # XXXXXXXX, we have reviewed our records and have found that Mr. ******* did call our customer service help line on 2/27/15 and requested a return for an incorrect item from his order SO19XXXXX. We subsequently created return authorization #8XXXX and told the customer that the item did not need to be returned. We then forwarded the necessary information to our accounting department for the refund. Refund # 5XXXX was processed on 3/2/15 and the amount of $18.77 was credited to the Master Card used on the order and an email confirmation was sent to the customer's email address. We contacted the customer directly on 3/9/15 and received verification that the credit did post correctly to his account. If there are any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: zoro agreed to send me a code book to arrive in 3 days time. zoro then emailed saying that they could not email me the product for nearly a month. i cancelled the order by email, and made other arrangements to get the book. zoro then decided to ship the book they "didn't have" after the cancellation. when they told me, i again demanded that they cancel the order. they shipped it anyway. i called them up, and they agreed to return my money, but only after 3-5 days wait time, and intercepting the shipment with UPS. they intercepted the shipment, and eventually returned the cost of the book, but not the shipping charges. i emailed them demanding the return of the shipping fees and got no response. i phoned them and the acquiesced to return the fees to my bank, but have not.

Desired Settlement: $16.17 in shipping fees for a product they told me they could not provide on time. $100.00 in compensation for the hassle that dealing with them has become.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/11) */ To whom it may concern, This message is in response to BBB case #XXXXXX30, filed on 11/07/2014. I apologize for the delay in the processing of your refund. I have verified that a cash refund request was process on 10/30/2014 for the full amount of the order (including shipping). It does appear as though there was a breakdown in communication with our accounting department, as only the cost of the items was refunded. I have personally contacted our accounting team and cash refund #XXX89 was successfully processed today, 11/10/2014, for the disputed shipping amount ($16.17). Depending on your individual bank's process, you should see the credit applied to your account within 7-10 business days. If you do not see your refund in that timeframe, we are more than happy to work with you and your bank to provide the necessary information we have on file so that your bank can credit your account properly. Again I apologize for the delay on processing this refund and I thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve this matter. Sincerely, Zoro Customer Service NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response until you have confirmed the credit with your bank. Please advise us in any event of the status of the credit. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

10/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/29/2014 Order # SOXXXXXXX This order was canceled by Zoro the next day. My credit card was charged for the sale. I contacted Zoro and their email states I should contact the credit card company. My credit card company advises the pending charge was created by Zoro and I should contact Zoro. I request that Zoro correct the pending charge they submitted. Email response from Zoro ( no contact name given) Good Morning, Thank you for contacting Zoro. I do apologize for the inconvenience. Typically our system will not verify funds once the card has been declined due to verification rejection. I would contact your bank to ensure it is not something on their end. At this time I only see the one cancellation of the order. If there are any other questions please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday through Friday 7 am to 7 pm CST. Regards,

Desired Settlement: 8/29/2014 Order # SOXXXXXXX This order was canceled by Zoro the next day. My credit card was charged for the sale. I contacted Zoro and their email states I should contact the credit card company. My credit card company advises the pending charge was created by Zoro and I should contact Zoro. I request that Zoro correct the pending charge they submitted. Email response from Zoro ( no contact name given) Good Morning, Thank you for contacting Zoro. I do apologize for the inconvenience. Typically our system will not verify funds once the card has been declined due to verification rejection. I would contact your bank to ensure it is not something on their end. At this time I only see the one cancellation of the order. If there are any other questions please feel free to contact our Customer Service Team at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday through Friday 7 am to 7 pm CST. Regards, Zoro

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/30) */ To whom it may concern, This message is in response to BBB case #XXXXXXXX, filed on 9/11/14. I have verified that the order in question, SOxxxx457, was cancelled the same day of purchase, 8/29/14. Invalid credit card information was provided at the time of purchase, causing the order to be cancelled automatically as a part of our system's anti-theft protocol. As with all orders placed on our website, a pre-authorization (pending) charge is placed against credit card accounts for the sale amount. These pre-authorizations are not actual charges and eventually expire from the account after a period of time, unless the order is fulfilled at which time the pending authorization is then billed. We have reached out to our customer to apologize for the inconvenience and have verified that, in the time since the case was opened, the pending charge has expired from his credit card account. This information was verified on 9/30/14. I hope that the information and resolution provided is acceptable. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there are any further questions or concerns.

6/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Zoro had listed on it's website a description for a cassette heat pump system that clearly stated that the item included the indoor unit AND outdoor unit for $923.00. We called twice to confirm this, and were told that the item definitely included the outdoor compressor unit. We ordered the item in good faith that the company had knowledge of the specs of their inventory. When the item came, it was just the indoor cassette unit. After calling Zoro and talking to both a rep. and supervisor, they said that their online description of the product was incorrect, and we could return it for a refund if we wished. This is clearly false advertising, and misrepresentation of a product. They are out of integrity in their business practices, and should have made good on their representation of their product listing. At the very least, they should have offered us a discount on the grossly overpriced indoor cassette unit. Date ordered: 5/20/14 Order No. 909-SO1147162 Item No. G5374616 Cassette System Heat Pump 12000 BTuh 230V Company Description of product clearly stating inclusion and specs of outdoor unit: Description: Line Size Suction O.D.: 3/8"; Line Size Discharge O.D.: 1/4"; Dehumidification: 6.4 pph; Green Environmental Attribute: Product Contributes to Reducing Energy Consumption; Outdoor Sound Level dB: 53; Requires: Refrigerant Line Set for New Installation; Standards: AHRI, ETL, CETL; Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor; Voltage: 230/208; Operation Mode: Cool/Heat/Fan; Hz: 60; HSPF: 8.5; Filter Type: Washable; Connection: Flare; SEER: 21.0; Phase: 1; Item: Cassette System Heat Pump; Includes: Indoor Unit, Outdoor Unit, Remote Control Product Description : Cassette System Heat Pump, Indoor/Outdoor Indoor, Mounting Type Ceiling, BtuH Cooling 12,000, Reverse Cycle Heat BtuH 13,300, Voltage 230/208, SEER 21.0, Hz 60, Phase 1, Min. Circuit Amps 10, Max. Time Delay Fuse Amps 15, HSPF 8.5, Dehumidification 6.4 pph, Operation Mode Cool/Heat/Fan, CFM High 335, CFM Medium 283, CFM Low 247, Indoor Sound Level dB 38/35/32, Outdoor Sound Level dB 53, Filter Type Washable, Indoor Width 22-7/16 In., Indoor Depth 22-7/16 In., Indoor Height 8-7/16 In.

Desired Settlement: We request that Zoro stand by their advertising and include the outdoor unit, as represented on their website description, and also verbally confirmed twice via phone conversation with their reps.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* CS Director Contact Email: *************@zoro.com BBB Case #: XXXXXXXX To whom it may concern, Zoro.com makes every effort to provide the most accurate and up to date information for the product listed on our site. We rely heavily on manufacturer and supplier data regarding the products descriptions on our site. On occasion this data may have inadvertent errors and omission. Once we are aware of such issues we immediately work with our business partners to correct information on our site. This is typically completed within 24 hours. Regarding the case above, information supplied to the customer was based on the information available from our supplier. Once we were aware of the error, we did offer numerous concessions in the way of full refund or substantial discounting of the original item and the additional unit required to complete the system the customer desired. We were informed the customer would contact us with their decision. As of the time and date of this response we are still awaiting a replay on the resolution we presented to the customer. We will do our best to work towards a fair resolution once we have had the opportunity to discuss our offers with our customer. We will continue to monitor the BBB site for any addition correspondence regarding this case. Best regards, Zoro.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The motto of the BBC is "Start With Trust." As the consumer who twice called Zoro to verify the validity of the descriptive information and price confirmation given about the ductless air conditioner system we were ordering, the spirit of the BBC's motto was all we had to go on prior to placing the order. Given full assurance that the unit was to include everything needed to have a fully functional air conditioning system, we placed the order. Yes, Zoro has offered a discount on the what we have received and what we now have to additionally purchase to have a complete system. The bottom line is that we would have to pay out about $1,000 more to have a complete system. That's unacceptable. The reason we went with Zoro over the many other online providers of air conditioning systems was the Zoro price and the assurance that the price was correct for the described items. Even with Zoro's offered discount on the remaining component, we can find a comparable system elsewhere for much less. The real issue here is, can an online merchant be able to say that their suppliers/providers are at fault with descriptions that do not match the products offered. That borders on deceptive advertising. Maybe somewhat "once removed" so to speak, but none the less deceptive and misleading. As the consumer I want to trust that when I decide to make an online purchase, it is a good faith agreement that will result receiving a product that matches what is advertised. Just because a merchant is a "middle man" of sorts between a supplier and a consumer, it should not provide them the cover of saying that the incorrect description is really not their fault, especially if a good faith effort is made on the part of the consumer to verify the correctness of the information. When we twice contacted Zoro, that was their opportunity to contact their supplier and verify the accuracy of the description. Just re-reading a product description and not verifying its accuracy is poor business practice. What kind of precedent is this setting up for consumer reliance on product descriptions? For example, say I buy a car, and the description from the auto manufacturer says that the vehicle MSRP includes an engine, and the dealership assures me that it does. When vehicle is ready to be picked up, I cannot drive it off the lot, because there is no engine. The dealership says too bad because we got the wrong description from the manufacturer, but we'll give you a discount on the engine! If we all begin with and live from the BBC's motto of "Start With Trust", then when a error is made, we would stand behind what we said we would do but correct any inaccuracies so that problem would be eliminated in the future. Anything less from a consumers standpoint feels like you've been had! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/18) */ To whom it may concern; On June 5th, 2014 we spoke with our customer and reiterated that we would be happy to accept the return and refund the purchase price of the unit. Our customer expressed that he may seek alternate resolution to the issue and indicated he would contact us for the possible return once other options were considered. Zoro makes every reasonable effort to assist our customers in a fair and equitable manner. The error on the site was not willful and we have made offers and concessions to aid our customer in resolving the matter. As of the date of this response we are awaiting our customers reply. We will wait for our customer's reply directly to us and continue to try and resolve the issues amicably. Regards, ***** ******* Director, Customer Service

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned their product. They keep telling me that the refund was made. My Bank and I see that the refund wasn't attempt at all. The product was return with proof of delivery. They keep telling us that the refund was issued and it wasn't. They just won't give me back my $80.13. Keep giving me the run a round.

Desired Settlement: I just want my $80.13 back credited to my card. They have my card information and still won't obey their refund polices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ Dear Customer, We apologize for the delay you are experiencing in the processing of your refund. We have researched with our accounting department and confirmed that the request for refund was successfully transmitted to your card issuer's bank as of 3/21/14. Depending on your bank's process, you should see the credit to the card used for your purchase in 7-10 day from that date. If you do not see your refund in that timeframe, we will be happy to work with you and your bank to provide the confirmation and transaction numbers we have on file so they may research the delay in processing your refund and credit your account properly. Please feel free to reach out to me directly between the hours of 8 AM and 5 PM CT at XXX-XXX-XXXX if your refund has not been processed by your card issuing bank by 3/31/14. Regards, ***** ******* Director, Zoro Tools Customer Service

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BUYER BEWARE OF ZORO TOOLS. They use unethical means of deception to complete orders. Take my word for it! dont waist your time as I am now spending over the phone and here, hopelessly trying to get results. Just go to eBay and buy from someone else and save you the headache. My advice. I had purchased 3 items from them that were all badly damaged. Called them to let them know and they said they would allow me to have a 15% discount for my inconvience and to send them the items back. Now 7 days later I called due to the fact they emailed me stating they were not going to honor the 15% discount and the items were on the way. I called and they said since the items were on the way. "They Could not do it". Well I sent them emails reminding them of their "PROMISE" of 15% discount. And they sent out the items knowing their company "POLICY" (or so they say) of not honoring what was discussed. You cant just offer hard working people money back and when the time is right, pull the rug out from underneathe us and say, "No were not going to do that now, we changed our minds..." Well in California, an over the phone promise from a company is California Law. and they seem to dance right over it. Laughing as they do. NOT COOL. Order nO. SO961169

Desired Settlement: I wish to get my offer of 15% discount off the itmes that were promised to me. If I would of known that they were going to do this. I would of used the emailed discount of 15% to repurchase the items using code "MADNESS15" to buy them and forego this headache. The discount would of saved me around $120.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ Dear Customer, Thank you for your recent posting on the BBB site. Though we do not like to receive negative feedback, we feel it is a valuable training tool. I have reviewed your complaint and your account. It appears that the option of either keeping the merchandise in the condition received with a 15% discount or sending replacements were the options presented by our Customer Service Agents. I apologize that this was not communicated clearly to you. I see that 2 replacement units are on route to you and scheduled for delivery today. I have also instructed our accounting department to apply the 15% discount to your account used for the original purchase as a courtesy to make up for the miscommunication and inconvenience. We hope you find this to be a suitable resolution to the matter. I can assure you that how your order was handled is not the standard of service our customers have come to expect from our company. The miscommunication of our initial offer for resolution will be addressed with the Customer Service Agents involved so that this type of issue can be avoided in the future. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve the matter. Regards, ************* Director, Zoro Tools Customer Service Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They offered the desired resolution.

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to return an item, I called the number provided on their return form. I was told that I could not return the item due to being past 30 days (it has been 36 days). This is not stated any where on their paperwork. I was not happy; however I asked if I could get a store/catalog credit and again I was told they did not do this. I told them I was disappointed and was going to file a complaint with BBC and was told ok and have a nice day. I have a copy of the paperwork if you need to see it.

Desired Settlement: All I am requesting is a full refund of purchased price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** 5, 2014/01/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@Zorotools.com I spoke to our customer and apologized for the bad experience she had when calling for a return. She explained the item was given as a gift and hadnt been opened until after the 30 days. I offered a full refund which she was very pleased with.

2/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website advertises 3M VHB 4991 tape as five tape rolls per case for a price of $35.75. After placing the order I received only one roll of that tape. I have a video of opening all boxes as evidence. Prior to placing an order, I wrote an email to ZoroTools to clarify how many rolls of the tape I would receive: I asked via email: "The price for this adhesive tape GXXXXXXX is $35.75/EA. According to your information provided in the table it says that there are 5 rolls per case. http://www.zorotools.com/g/XXXXXXXX/k-GXXXXXXX/ Does it mean that I get a case that includes 5 rolls of that tape for $35.75? Or does it mean that I will get one roll only?" Zoro Tools responded: "Thank you for contacting Zoro Tools. You would receive 5 rolls of GXXXXXXX for $35.75. I hope this clarifies any questions you may have! If you need further assistance, please contact our customer service department at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Our team is available Monday-Friday 7am-7pm CST. Have a great day, Zoro Tools" I made my purchase decision solely based on their reply. I could have bought wider and cheaper tape on Amazon. In order to qualify for free shipping I spent $57 in their store buying other items that I wouldn't buy from them otherwise.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive four remaining rolls of that tape as I was told via email by ZoroTools.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********,Supervisor Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **************@zorotools.com Dear Customer, Thank you for contacting Zoro Tools. I apologize for the incorrect information we provided you and we are more than happy to provide you with the other four rolls of tape. At this time an order has been entered for the other four rolls. The order number for your reference is SXXXXXXX. You will receive a shipping confirmation with the tracking number by email once the order has shipped. Again, I apologize for the information we provided you in the first place. For future orders, the case or pack quantity is listed on our website to provide general information.The sell pack information is listed after the price, letting you know if the item is sold as an each, as a pack or as a case. For example, item GXXXXXXX shows a "Package Qty" of two and the price is listed as $10.49/pk so a customer ordering this would receive one package of two. Whereas, with the tape you ordered, item GXXXXXXX, states "Rolls/Case" as 5, meaning a full case would be 5 rolls, however the price is listed as $35.75/EA meaning each roll is priced at $35.75. I hope this information is helpful to you for future purchases. If there is anything else we can help you with, our Customer Service department can be reached by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday-Friday from 7:00am-7:00pm CST and we are generally able to respond to all emails within 24-48 business hours. I hope that you'll find the resolution and the information I provided acceptable. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else I can help you with. Thank you, ***** ******** Zoro Tools Customer Service Supervisor

11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased cups on ****, was told sales tax would be refunded with documentation, no refund has been provided.

Desired Settlement: refund the sales tax

Business Response: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I did not ask for a full refund, only the sales tax since the documentation was submitted. I will accept the full refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/17) */ Thank you for providing the requested additional information. Our accounting team will process the refund of taxes paid on your order. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service. ********************

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order some bins from Zorro Tools and I never received them. I called and they told me that they had sent them and after that they don't follow the product. I called ***, which they told me they use, *** advised that Zoro Tools had to be the one initiating the investigation. I called Zoro and told them, they reply that they didn't care nor were going to do anything. They told me that they already send the product and were paid for it. I was at the address on the day it was supposed be delivered, all day waiting and the product never arrived. All they gave was a tracking number that I could not do anything with because I was not the one who shipped the product.

Desired Settlement: Give me my money back or send me the product that I paid for.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Thank you for contacting Zoro Tools. We apologize that you are having issues with your order. We have attempted to contact you via phone on 10/4/13 at the number we have on record to discuss your dispute. As of the date of this letter we have received no response. Please contact our Customer Service Department at************* so we may assist you in resolving this matter. Our representatives are available between the hours of 7 AM and 7PM CST. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to assist you in this matter. Regards, **************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

22 Customer Reviews on Zoro, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart