Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Palmer House Hilton

Phone: (312) 726-7500 17 E. Monroe St., Chicago, IL 60603 http://www.palmerhousehiltonhotel.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Palmer House Hilton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Palmer House Hilton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Palmer House Hilton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1929 Business started: 01/01/1872 Business started locally: 01/01/1872
Business Management
Mr. Dean E. Lane, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean E. Lane, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels Incentive Programs Resorts Sales Promotion Service Tourists Attractions Business Services - General Event Planners Event Planners - Corporate Gift Certificates/Cards Beverages Business Promotions - General Food & Beverage Services Banquet Facilities Party Planning Restaurants Wedding Supplies & Services Bed & Breakfast Hotels (except Casino Hotels) and Motels (NAICS: 721110)

Alternate Business Names
Palmer House Hilton - The

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Palmer House Hilton has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arrived at the hotel at 410pm on 7/7. I was asked two provide two forms of identification. The clerk notifies me that the transaction was declined.I notified the clerk that I wasn't using that card for paymemt. I presented another card and received my door keys. Immediately I noticed that the first transaction was charged to my debit card for 830.94 and my credit card was charged the same 830.94. I spent over an hour trying to get a refund /credit back to account. I spoke to 3 different members of management before finally getting a portion of the refund. The hotel refunded me $500 and later charged me $500. The error wiped out most of my funds and caused other transactions to become insufficient. This was my family trip. Hilton has ruined my visit. I would never stay here again or recommend to family, friends,or clients.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of all fees associated with error and written apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: Andy **** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ********************** Good afternoon Ms.******* Thank you for choosing the Palmer House for your visit to Chicago. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us is not enjoyable. I understand that you handed your debit card at check in to the agent when we inquired about a form of payment required for check in. We did authorized the debit card you provided for the required amount of $830.94 but due to a system glitch the authorization showed initially as pending which prompted us to inquire about an alternate form of payment. The credit card you provided as alternative was then authorized for $830.94. Moments later our system caught up and the debit card that you had initially provided for payment showed an authorized approval. We did contact your bank to resolve the issue but unfortunately the bank confirmed it would take about 24 hours to release the funds on your debit card and I understand that wasn't an option as you needed funds available immediately. We agreed to a $500.00 cash paid out on your debit card and our Manager on Duty Ishawa ******** and our Supervisor Alhaji ******** escorted you to an ATM nearby to deposit the cash. It is my understanding that the funds were needed, however, this was the card you initially provided for authorization and if it wouldn't have been for the system glitch the card would have been authorized immediately. The error on our end was that the credit card was swiped and authorized as we thought your initial card would not go though. We did provide dinner in our Lockwood restaurant, breakfast for all days and guest room internet for the inconvenience. Unfortunately the debit card re-authorized when we posted the $500.00 cash paid out to your room making it necessary to issue you another $500.00 in cash. We certainly apologize for the stress we have caused and did credit one night room and tax for the inconvenience. Should you have incurred any fees due to the authorization we were holding on your debit card please forward us your bank statement that shows the fees due to our authorization and we will be more than happy to reimburse you. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused and hope you are enjoying Chicago. Best regards, Andy **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response from the hotel however The Palmer House Hilton still has a hold of 830.94 on my Capital One credit card. I've already satisfied my fees with my bank card.

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Palmer House Hilton
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart