Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Swissotel Chicago

Phone: (312) 565-0565 Fax: (312) 268-8012 323 E. Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.swissotelchicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Swissotel Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Swissotel Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Swissotel Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 1991 Business started: 08/01/1988 in IL Business started locally: 08/01/1988 Business incorporated 12/04/1984 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronen Aviram, Hotel Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronen Aviram, Hotel Manager
Business Category

Hotels Incentive Programs Sales Promotion Service Tourists Attractions Wedding Consultants Business Services - General Event Planners Event Planners - Corporate Hospitality Gift Certificates/Cards Beverages Food Products Gourmet Corporate Gifts Concierge Services Business Promotions - General Food & Beverage Services Caterers Food - Sales & Delivery Party Planning Party Facilities Restaurants Wedding Supplies & Services Bed & Breakfast Conference Centers Convention Services & Facilities Food & Beverage Consultants Hotels (except Casino Hotels) and Motels (NAICS: 721110)

Alternate Business Names
Swissotel Chicago, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 323 E. Wacker Drive

    Chicago, IL 60601

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a hotel stay at the hotel thru hotels .com confirmation *********** for a 2 night stay at swissotel hotel for Nov Nov 26-27. On Nov 24 while watching CNN we saw that they were rioting on michigan Ave where we were going they were to root all of the thankgiving weekend blocking streets and store in which we didn't want to be in the action. I called the hotel to cancel s the receptionist said they would only give me one day back since I was a day late in calling to cancel but we weren't planning on cancelling until we saw the riots we are in our 60's and didn't want to be involved she said their hotel was away from the riots but we weren't going to sit in the hotel room we were going for the holiday shopping we. Called hotels.com and they were going to call the hotel to get our money back. Because of the rioting and haven't gotten anything settled.all I want is the 121.50 back for. The hotel charge. We feel a rioting is a unexpected reason to cancel and they did riot and block people from stores all weekend.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund not just one day but both considering the circumstances.

Business Response:

Dear BBB Customer Relations Advocate,

 

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention. We have thoroughly reviewed Mr. ****’s complaint and continue to stand by our initial decision to charge him for his stay based upon the booking conditions of Hotels.com. However, as a gesture of goodwill we have made an exception and we have refunded the one night’s room and tax. Since Mr. **** booked through Hotels.com, his credit card was charged by Hotels.com for two nights and not Swissotel. We have contacted Hotels.com so they are fully aware of the refund from our side.

 

Please feel free to contact me should you need any additional information.

 

Obeddie *******

Director of Revenue Management

Swissôtel Chicago


323 E. Wacker Drive | Chicago IL 60601 | USA

Phone: +1 *** *** **** | Fax: +1 *** *** ****
obeddie.*******@swissotel.com | www.swissotel.com/chicago

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10984444, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Richard ****

1/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good afternoon. My husband and I visited your hotel arriving on November 21, 2014, and checking out November 23, 2014. For your reference, we stayed in room 3901. We have stayed in many hotels for a variety of reasons. Never can I recall being treated so second-class by a 4-star hotel! The ONLY compliment I can give your hotel is toward the staff at Geneva where we had an overpriced breakfast buffet on Saturday, November 22, 2014. I would be wasting my time if I wrote about my displeasure with our hotel room: the belt/tie rack which was coming out of the wall, the TV that would constantly display a "no signal" error message, the tissue box with 3 tissues left in it. These are all inconsequential (although rather disappointing). The real issue I have with your hotel is your semantics and the fact that you double charged us for incidentals during our stay. On the front of your hotel and at the valet stand, your valet prices are listed. My husband and I both read the rates upon our arrival. The rates are plainly stated: Overnight $65. Hotel guests $65 with in/out. To us, that meant that hotel guests paid $65 during their stay (as we have in the past at various other downtown hotels). I mean, otherwise, what's the benefit to being a hotel guest if we don't get a flat valet rate? In/out "rights?" Imagine our surprise when we saw not one, but 2 charges for $65 on our invoice upon check out! When we asked about this, the woman working check out VERY condescendingly asked my husband to follow her so they could read the sign together. How very inappropriate. Again, it states that hotel guests pay $65, so they pay the same as anyone else. This, in my opinion, doesn't do anything to attract guests to your hotel. Of course, there was no chance of our getting our money back regardless of your faulty advertising. We noticed a door hanger in our room stating that if we put the hanger on our door prior to 2am, we could receive a $5 credit each night that we chose to NOT have our room attended by housekeeping. The "fine print" stated that we needed a minimum of a 2-night stay. Please keep in mind that we stayed Friday night (night 1) and Saturday night (night 2). This is 2 nights. However, upon check out, we weren't even credited with ONE night! When we asked about it, we were told that we didn't meet the criteria for a 2 night say. This is odd to me because Friday and Saturday are 2 days. But because Saturday was the only morning we were there, we only qualified for 1 night? This makes NO sense and blatantly goes against what your hang tag stated. Finally, upon check out, we presented our invoice which showed a charge of $214, and a $0 balance. Imagine our surprise when the girl working check out told my husband that our card wouldn't go through. Keep in mind our invoice showed a $0 balance. Perhaps we should have been more vigilant, but we trusted her and handed over our debit card with the thought that we would check our bank account upon our return home. Well, we checked all of our accounts. Not only was our initial credit card charged the $214 on our invoice, there was a $100 hold for incidentals (this was NOT explained to us at check-in) and an additional $30 that we couldn't account for. I called the hotel Sunday night, November 23, and I was assured that our credit card (the initial card) was the only one that had been charged, but the additional $30 couldn't be explained, that I'd have to call back in the morning. However, Mary assured me that our debit card (the second card presented upon request of your hotel) was not charged. I called my bank this morning to double check, and sure enough: our debit card was charged. So now, Monday, November 24, 2014, my credit card has been charged $344.95 ($214 for our incidentals, the $100 fee which will be returned, and $30 random charge) AND a charge of $209.95 (the $214 minus the generous $5 for the ONE night we stayed and didn't require housekeeping services) on our debit card.

Desired Settlement: I would like the valet fee of one day refunded, the entire amount removed from my debit card and charged to my credit card as originally intended.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/01/02) */ First and foremost please allow me to apologize for the late reply regarding this matter. We had a change in leadership due to the retirement of our General Manager earlier this year and thus I only received your communication today. We would like to take this opportunity to thank Mrs.******************* for taking the time to provide feedback regarding her and her husband's stay end of November. I would like to apologize for any inconvenienced caused during their visit to our hotel. I am certainly concerned about the descriptions and negative perceptions and thus would like to answer all points in the same sequence as provided in Mrs. *********** report. I am very sorry to hear about Mrs. *********** perception being treated second-class during her stay. We at Swissotel Chicago take pride in customer service, which indeed includes making our guests feel comfortable and welcome. Therefore, I am glad to read in her report that she commented positively on our service staff at the Geneva breakfast restaurant. On the same note I am sorry to learn that Mrs.********** perceived our breakfast buffet fees as overpriced. However, we are conducting frequently competitive checks regarding quality of product and services offered in our hotel. Hence, we know that we are providing a greater variety of breakfast spread than most of our competitors since we are serving both European and local American favorites and thus are confident that we are providing a great value for the actual breakfast buffet charges. I personally checked room **** regarding the shortfalls mentioned in Mrs. *********** report. I was not able to find anything that would support her indications regarding TV signal or issues with the belt/tie rack. We are operating high standards regarding the quality of our room product, which includes constant preventive maintenance programs. I wish Mrs.********** would have notified us about any issues in her room during her stay to enable us attending to it right away. I have also difficulties to understand how an overnight rate could be possibly perceived as a flat rate for an entire stay. It is indeed correct that our overnight rate includes in & out privileges, which basically means that a car can be dropped-off and picked-up throughout a day without any additional charges. However, we neither advertise a plural of "overnight" nor advertise packages for multiple nights or mention in any way that we treat in-house guests differently than guests who just want to park their car overnight without occupying a hotel room. We are indicating various parking charges such as short term, half-day and overnight parking fees at various prominent places on the driveway to avoid misperceptions of our valued guests. I can appreciate that Mrs.********** believes that this is not attractive to guests staying in our hotel, but again know from competitive analyzes that this is a common procedure within downtown hotels. It is also correct that we offer a sustainable green room program called "Earth Day - Every Day", which allows our guests to regret housekeeping services during their stay. The program offers our guests a F&B credit if they opt-out of housekeeping room services. However, the credit is not applicable for the arrival and the departure day. Hence, Mrs.********** was entitled to a $5.00 credit after opting to participate in the program, which has been applied upon check-out. Details of the program are outlined in our guest service directories, which are available in all guest rooms as well as online at our hotel website. I have attached a copy of our guest service directory insert for clarification. I had also the opportunity to look into the billing issue and found that the hotel did not charge twice for Mrs. *********** stay. It is indeed correct that there was a misunderstanding regarding authorizations and actual charges. However this has been resolved on November 24th, 2014 when Mrs.********** was talking to our Front Office management team. Our Front office management even adjusted occurred internet usage fees ($14.95) of the invoice and offered Mrs.********** a complimentary upgrade to the next higher room category, a welcome amenity and personal attention during her next visit as a gesture of apology for the actual billing issue. Our accounting records only show the initial charge upon check-out on November 23rd, 2014 as well as the adjustment that included the credit of $14.95 to her account on November 24th, 2014. We would require supporting documents such as bank and/or credit card statements that support the multiple charge allegations in order to take further actions. Mrs. ******** nothing is more important to us than regaining the trust of our guests and their confidence in our service delivery. I sincerely hope that Mrs.********** may give us another opportunity showcasing the best in Swiss hospitality. Therefore, please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance that may be required. We hope for Mrs. *********** continuous support and would be glad having the pleasure welcoming her back to our hotel soon. I remain with kind regards from Swissotel Chicago - Happy New Year and all the best for 2015. Warm regards, *********** Director Operations Swissôtel Chicago ************************************** USA Phone:*************************************** **************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Swissotel Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)