This business is not BBB accredited.

Mile North Hotel

Phone: (312) 787-6000 Fax: (312) 787-6133 166 E. Superior, Chicago, IL 60611 http://www.affiniahotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mile North Hotel include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mile North Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mile North Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Business Management
Mr. Steven Ellingson, GM Mr. Brooke Barrett, Co-CEO Mr. Patrick Denihan, Co-CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Ellingson, GM
Business Category

Hotels Tours - Operators & Promoters Hotels (except Casino Hotels) and Motels (NAICS: 721110)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    166 E. Superior

    Chicago, IL 60611 (312) 787-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently stayed at the Mile North Hotel on the night of April 26th, 2016. Later, on review of my credit card statement, I noticed an additional charge of $150 from the hotel had been made. When I called to inquire about the additional charge I was told that they needed to look into the matter and would call me back. When they called back they said the charge was for damages to the room because the bathtub had been left running and that the drain in the tub had been closed or otherwise blocked, causing the tub to overflow. I was told that the bathroom floor spilling out into the room was covered in bubble bath. I don't remember the room number I was in but was told it was room 802. I absolutely did not leave the bathtub running when I left the morning of April 27th and I certainly did not plug the tub in any way that would cause it to overflow. No baths had been taken during my stay. Due to what appears to be the intentional nature of the damage, I feel that it must have been another room than the one that I had stayed in that night. I've had several email communications with the hotel but haven't come to a resolution and have stopped receiving responses.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $150 of damages credited back to my ******** card because I did not cause the damages in question.

6/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 19, 2014, we made a pre-paid reservation at MileNorth Hotel for the period of April 25-29, 2014 (Friday night to Tuesday morning). When we arrived at the hotel on Friday, April 25th, to check in, we were told by the hotel staff that they had overbooked, and did not have a room for us for the first two nights. They told us that we had to stay in another hotel that was a block away for two nights (that is, Friday and Saturday), and then we had to check out of that hotel on Sunday, and come back to their hotel for the remaining two nights. I told them that it would be inconvenient for us to check out and check in again in the middle of a short vacation, particularly, since we had to attend a family function at noon on Sunday. Hence, I asked them to let us just stay in the other hotel for the entire four nights; they refused. (Ironically, the room rates for both hotels were almost identical.) They told us that they would make our multiple check in's and check out's as easy as possible, and would have a room ready for us on Sunday morning as soon as we check out from the hotel and come to their hotel. On Sunday, April 27th, we came back to MileNorth Hotel to check in. They told us that the room was not available, and we had to come back later that evening. I told them that I needed the room to put my laptop computer, which contained sensitive personal and work-related information, in the safe of my own room instead of carrying it all they long. They offered to keep my laptop. I told them that due to the nature of my work and the type of data that were in my laptop, it is unlawful for me to leave the laptop with them or even inside the trunk of a car; the laptop has/had to be with me or in a lock that only I could control. Moreover, they had already violated our trust twice, and I could not trust them with anything valuable/critical. As a result, I had to carry my laptop that weighs over 9 pounds with me until we came back to the hotel to check in around 8 PM. After I woke up the next day, I felt pain in my lower back and numbness on the surface of my left thigh. After coming back home, I saw my doctor to check these symptoms. He told me that carrying the laptop for many hours was the source of my pain and numbness. He told me that the numbness might gradually go away; however, the pain could stay and get worse in time.

Desired Settlement: I ask our payment of $537.9 to be fully refunded. Moreover, the hotel should pay $10,000 for the physical injury that I have suffered.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mile North Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)