BBB Accredited Business since

Kinzie Hotel

Phone: (877) 262-5341 Fax: (312) 395-9001 20 W. Kinzie St., Chicago, IL 60654 http://www.kinziehotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kinzie Hotel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kinzie Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kinzie Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 09, 2006 Business started: 09/01/1989 Business started locally: 09/01/1989
Business Management
Ms. Patti Koehn, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patti Koehn, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels Incentive Programs Sales Promotion Service Tourists Attractions Wedding Consultants Business Services - General Dinner Theatres Event Planners Event Planners - Corporate Hospitality Gift Certificates/Cards Beverages Food Products Gourmet Corporate Gifts Concierge Services Business Promotions - General Food & Beverage Services Banquet Facilities Caterers Food - Sales & Delivery Party Planning Party Facilities Restaurants Wedding Supplies & Services Bed & Breakfast Conference Centers Convention Services & Facilities Food & Beverage Consultants Hotels (except Casino Hotels) and Motels (NAICS: 721110)

Alternate Business Names
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Additional Locations

  • 20 W. Kinzie St.

    Chicago, IL 60654 (877) 262-5341

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a one-night stay at the Kinzie Hotel at a charity event for approximately $200.00. I thought it was a win-win, because my in-laws periodically stay in the city and I could give this to them as a gift and give to charity. Unfortunately after my father-in law tried to book a room several times with several different dates, the Kinzie Hotel has not honored the gift certificate claiming that there were no rooms available on each occasion. This was a patent lie, as I called separately to book a room and they reported having rooms available. It is apparent that this hotel just uses their charitable gifts as IRS write-offs with no intention of honoring them. What makes the situation even more flagrant is I spent time on the phone with a manager to try and resolve this issue, and she informed me that she would look into the matter further, but never bothered to call me back. I asked around and the hotel has an awful reputation. My personal conclusion is that they are dishonest and disrespectful...stay away.

Desired Settlement: I feel that they should honor the date requested or provide a refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 8, 2015/10/13) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@kinziehotel.com The hotel donated a complimentary gift certificate to a charity. The weekend that the gentleman wanted to use the certificate was over Chicago Marathon, at that time we were not accepting any comp rates, therefore we asked him to choose another date, which he declined. The gift certificate clearly states that requested dates are based on availablity. I can not refund his money becuase he did not pay for the certificate it was donated to the charity. I was very disappointed when I saw he had gone on *********** and gave us a one star review without staying at the hotel. He also states that we have an awful repuation, however we are 17 of 178 Chicago hotels on ************ we would not be in that postion if we were awful. We will be happy to honor another date.

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service