This business is not BBB accredited.

University of Illinois Medical Center at Chicago

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 996-3900 Fax: (312) 996-7049 View Additional Phone Numbers 1740 W Taylor Street  MC 693, Chicago, IL 60612 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.uillinoismedcenter.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for University of Illinois Medical Center at Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on University of Illinois Medical Center at Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 23, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Loretta Montalbano, Senior Manager Mr. Michael B ZENN, CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER
Contact Information
Principal: Loretta Montalbano, Senior Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael B ZENN, CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER
Business Category

Hospitals Health & Medical - General Clinics General Medical and Surgical Hospitals (NAICS: 622110)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1740 W Taylor Street
    Hospital Administration Rm: 1400

    Chicago, IL 60612

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1740 W Taylor Street
    MC 693

    Chicago, IL 60612 (312) 996-3900 (312) 996-1000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1740 W. Taylor

    Chicago, IL 60612

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1740 W. Taylor St

    Chicago, IL 60612

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    809 S. Marshfield, flr 9

    Chicago, IL 60612

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 12199

    Chicago, IL 60612

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As an inpatient March-April 2013(3 separate stays only a couple days apart), I encountered a ton of problems and was treated with lack of care. Due to them neglecting to listen to my complaint of breathing problems and neglecting to address that concern, they discharged me and I returned a day and a half later with a pulmonary embolism! I could have died due to their negligence. Because of all of the problems I wrote a letter in May 2013. I asked if they would consider writing off my portion of the bills. After no response and multiple calls to multiple people, I was told in June that I would not be responsible for any charges. I was also told I was never in and would not be going to collections. I asked for a zero balance statement for all accounts and/or a letter stating I am not responsible and have a zero balance. Again after multiple requests and multiple calls, I received a letter in July. The letter stated nothing about my not being responsible and actually implied that I WAS in collections. Since then I have made multiple requests by letter, email and phone and no one replies. They clearly say one thing and lie about it and do another. In addition to the charges I am asking to be written off (which amount to under $2,000) they are committing fraud by trying to charge me for about $1800 in charges that they are legally NOT allowed to charge me for per their contract with my insurance. My insurance has spoken with them multiple times and yet they still won't write that balance off. That is fraud! I have 2 serious illnesses in addition the complication they caused me of a pulmonary embolism resulting from the surgery their that they neglected to address. Stress makes my illness flair up at an extreme level. If I was told, which I was, that I am not responsible for any charges, I see absolutely no reason why they cannot mail me a zero balance statement for each account. This has been going on unresolved with no response from anyone at that hospital for almost 5 months. I don't think this hospital should even be in business as they are first putting patients lives at risk and then causing unnecessary stress by promising something they have no intent to follow through on. Almost all I have experienced from them is neglect and lies.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot provide zero balance statements for each account with a letter clearly stating I am not responsible for any charges incurred in March and April 2013 and have a zero balance, then I will take this to court where I will request a much larger settlement than this couple thousand they need to write off.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@uic.edu "Due to HIPPA and patient privacy reasons we cannot provide a direct response to the Better Business Bureau. We have responded to the complainant as it relates to this complaint". Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received the letter today, so no further action will be necessary. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/19) */ DUE TO HIPPA AND PATIENT PRIVACY REASONS WE CANNOT PROVIDE A DIRECT RESPONSE TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU. WE HAVE RESPONDED TO THE COMPLAINANT AS IT RELATES TO THIS COMPLAINT. AS PER THE COMPLAINTANT'S REQUEST, WRITTEN RESPONSE WAS PLACED IN THE MAIL ON SEPTEMBER 17TH TO THE COMPLAINTANT'S ADDRESS. PLEASE ALLOW 72 HOURS FOR RECEIPT OF LETTER.

4/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues