This business is not BBB accredited.

Swedish Covenant Hospital

Phone: (773) 878-8200 Fax: (773) 989-3984 View Additional Phone Numbers 5145 N. California Ave.  Suite M280, Chicago, IL 60625 http://www.swedishcovenant.org/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Swedish Covenant Hospital include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Swedish Covenant Hospital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Swedish Covenant Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Business Management
Lisa Klein, Administration Tom Carr, Online Strategy & Communications Mngr Dr. James B. Mccormick, M.D., President Mr. Donald Ronin, Mgr. Patient Financial Serv. Ms. Mary Shehan, RN, MSN, Vice President-Nursing
Contact Information
Principal: Lisa Klein, Administration
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Shehan, RN, MSN, Vice President-Nursing
Business Category

Hospitals Outpatient Surgery Centers Nutritionists Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Physicians & Surgeons - Cardiology Services Physicians & Surgeons - OB/GYN Physicians & Surgeons - Dermatology Physicians & Surgeons - Ophthalmology Physicians & Surgeons - Orthopedic Surgery Physicians & Surgeons - Pediatrics Physicians & Surgeons - Radiology Physicians - Specialists Physicians - Surgeons & Neurosurgeons Health & Medical - General Physicians & Surgeons - Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism Clinics General Medical and Surgical Hospitals (NAICS: 622110)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5145 N. California Ave.
    Suite M280

    Chicago, IL 60625 (773) 878-8200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swedish Covenant keeps sending me statements for a bill I have already sent a check to pay. They have not cashed the check for over a month. I have also faxed proof that I sent a check. They were also calling everyday and my husband called and told them to stop.

Desired Settlement: Cash the check and stop contacting me in anyway including but not exclusive to phone calls, letters, and email.

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with a DV staff person sent by a Chicago hotline who was 3 hours late and spent emergency funds on herself. Then while waiting for an exam I decided another 3 hours was long enough, asked for my clothes and was forced by five men in uniform to take off my clothes and put onto a bed with straps and verbally abused by security. Before their AP2 doctor even saw me I was given Gasoline which I refused and read the "court order".for me to be admitted and complained that I was not even given an option by the doctor for voluntary treatment, it was an indicating and unprofessional experience and I have gained weight and stressed about safety issues because of this.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking an apology and a $500 settlement $100 for every day I was afraid there without adequate medical treatment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@schosp.org Swedish Covenant Hospital has been in direct contact with the consumer and is working to resolve the issues.

3/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was admitted in there E.R on the 27th . this hospital lost all my credit cards and noone is cooperating to help resolve this . i had to pay my rent but i couldn't because someone misplaced my belongings . Annnnddddd when i was called a b**** in front of my son . when the worker came to talk to me he grabbed my purse disrespectfully and acted like he put it in my wallet . this hospital is the worst hospital i have ever been in.

Desired Settlement: none

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Admin Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@schosp.org Swedish Covenant Hospital received notice of this complaint from BBB on 3/11/14. We are looking into Ms. *******'s concern and will respond when more information is available. 3/20/14 At time of discharge patient and case worker reviewed valuables and belongings list. Patient acknowledged all correct and signed discharge documents. For more information and details please contact Swedish Covenant Hospital Administration.

2/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December of 2012 my husband was at the Hospital (saw a blood specialist)and insurance has paid for the service date to a doctor. We have never received any hospital bills until November of this year. There is two accounts in his name and total amount of 510 dollars. My husband has health coverage thru me. I called the insurance and they confirmed that they never received the claims. After I made call to the Swedish credit department and asked why we never received any bills until now they responded that they were billing the insurance PHCS and they refused to pay.Where did this insurance came from I asked?? We have a BCBSIL in 2012 we had PPO plan and in 2013 we had HMO plan.I gave the insurance information and they never sent the claims but send bills to me again, so I spoke with the PPO rep. ******* and she had made a call directly to them she left a massage on 12-16-2013. And then on 12/19/2013 ******* called me back and left a massage to me that she has spoken to ****** ( from Swedish credit department) and that she apologized and they will submit claims within the 7- 10 business days. And today on 1/2/2014 I received a Collection Notice they transferred the accounts to the collection.I could not reach them today but I called the insurance and they did not see the claims submitted but told me if they had spoken to the PPO rep. on 12/19/2013 it could be too early to see.I have heard from my HR benefits analyist that Swedish Hospital billing department is very difficult and they do the claims very poorly and the Hospital has 12 months to submit the claim to the insurance if not the insurance does not have to pay. So my feeling is that they really do not care to submit the claim to the insurance any way they would get half the money after provider discount so they will put their patient on the collection . This is horrible business and they cheat their patients.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like from them to take the money from insurance if they did not do their job at the right time and did not care to contact me before November of 2013 ( 11 months after service date ) I SHOULD NOT BE PUNISHED FOR IT.PATIENT Ramo ******* account: XXXXXXXX- amount due $170account : XXXXXXXX-amount due $340by the way there is no information what are these charges for..

1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After paying my medical bill Swedish has done nothing to help me remove my name from collections. They reported me to Armor Systems and I have paid the bill. Armor systems is telling me that they will remove me from collections if Swedish tells them to. I have always paid my bills and I was getting phone calls to a number that I do not use. They were calling my parents house to collect a bill when I informed Swedish and Armor to call me on my cell phone as I was finishing my Masters in Ohio. So they were reaching me on a line I do not always have access to. I paid my bill and the item is still marked as not paid and after speaking with multiple staff members they have done nothing to rectify my problem. I also requested that Swedish remove my name from collections and I have not heard anything in response. After being a customer for 20 years I am disappointed with this hospital and will take my business somewhere else. I also have informed my coworkers and people I know not to go to Swedish because they do nothing to help you out after a bill is paid. I also have left messages and none were returned when trying to pay the bill. I even asked to speak with upper management and never got a response.

Desired Settlement: Remove my name from collections. Tell Armor systems to remove me from collections. I paid my medical bill please remove me from collections. I want someone at Swedish to call me and help me out to resolve the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/13) */ In order to share patient information, we would need a release from the patient per HIPAA regulations. I can report, however, that the claim has been finally settled by his attorney after several months delay. We have attempted to leave several messages for the complainant but he has not returned our phone calls. The file has been removed from the credit bureau. If there are any questions, please call*************** (XXX) XXX XXXX******.

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues