Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Northwestern Memorial Hospital

Phone: (312) 926-2000 View Additional Phone Numbers 251 E Huron St, Chicago, IL 60611 http://www.nmh.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Northwestern Memorial Hospital include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Northwestern Memorial Hospital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Susana Castro, Manager Ms. Betsy Finkelmeier, Division of Public Relations Mr. Benjamin Hill, Marketing Director Ms. Carol Jones-Mclnnis, Division of Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susana Castro, Manager
Customer Contact: Sandra Klein, Patient Representative Department
Business Category

Hospitals Clinics General Medical and Surgical Hospitals (NAICS: 622110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northwestern Memorial Hospital has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    251 E Huron St

    Chicago, IL 60611 (312) 926-3112 (312) 926-2000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NMH has fraudulently billed me on approximately 13 occasions. 12 times they incorrectly charged my copay, only to seek more copay approximately 9 months after the services were rendered. When I disputed the charges, as I had no choice in cost at the time of service, they submitted the charges to collection which adversely affected my credit and has cost me significant sums of money in credit fees and lost opportunities. More recently, they billed me and **** ***** **** ****** for a sleep study that never occurred. **** ***** **** ****** has paid them 1,757.27 for this sleep study, that never occurred. And I have paid $25.00 to date. I have called them and asked them to return the money for this service and to stop harassing me with their bill collections. But they have not returned the money nor stopped their collections for this non-existent procedure.

Desired Settlement: I would ask that Northwestern Memorial pay back the fraudulently obtained 1,757.27 from **** ***** **** ****** and also the $25.00 dollars I have paid to date. Also, please stop harassing me with bill collection mail and phone calls. This is really disconcerting, it's no wonder health insurance is so costly. Also please correct my credit report.

12/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2015, I participated in “TWO” different Human Research Studies at Northwestern University, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, *** N. Lake Shore Drive, room 1020, Chicago, IL 60611 with *** ***** RN, phone number (312) ******** as the contact person. Each study required me to have an x-rays done at a hospital. The day in question for this Hospital Service date is approx. 08-04-2015 in the Radiology Department @ (Northwestern Medicine) and/or Northwestern Memorial Hospital, *** E Huron Street, Chicago, IL, 60611, Phone 312-********, and the original amount 592.80, dated 08-04-2014. Unfortunately, the last x-ray procedure or registration procedure has taken a turn for the worst. Currently, I am upset because during the reregistration, I heard Ms. *** *****, RN tell the intake clerk (while the clerk was looking up my name in the Hospital’s database), that I was in a “Research Study Program.” It appears that the intake clerk coded the registration (before I took the x-ray), incorrectly, causing a bill to generate in ERROR against my account at Northwestern Medicine. Since the registration for the x-ray, I have received a bill for $592.80 - $136.80 credit (uninsured Discount) posted dated 08-09-2015, account number ********* / Guarantor ID *******. After 08-09-2015 posting date and my compliant to the billing department, 1-************, dated 10-19-2015 about the bill; someone went back into the Hospital’s database system on 10-20-2015 and REVERSED the $136.80 credit (Uninsured Discount). The Hospital sent me a second (Northwestern medicine) bill posted date 11-09-2015 same account number and Guarantor ID number, same amount, for which I received on 11-17-2015 through the USPS. Ms. *** *****, RN, told me by being a participant in the Research Studies, my insurance would not be bill. The investigator, institution, and people who sponsor the study will pay for all activities, which includes doctors, nurse, and hospitals fees. It is my understanding that the above Hospital allow only 90 days to be in their patient’s database and to make complete payments. After the 90 days, patients’ records automatically move into the collection database causing a negative impact on patient’s credit report or history.

Desired Settlement: If the $456.00 Hospital bill go to a collection agency, I will experience undue emotional distress because of (Northwestern Medicine) the intake clerk’s ERROR. To prevent future civil court activities related to the billing error situation, I am asking BBB to intercede by forwarding this matter because I cannot get in contact with the Day Administration or someone of Authority to make my complaint.

11/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/13/2014 (approximately 4:25 P.M.) Northwestern Memorial Hospital agreed to a time payment plan for the hospitalization bill resulting from an emergency room visit and subsequent admission to the hospital for severe chest pain. The date of the hospitalization was 6/23--6/24/2014. The terms of the time payment plan, per Northwestern (the epmployee I spoke with is named Sarah at 312-926-6900), are that I am to pay $50 each month by the last day of each month until the balance is paid off. The original balance was $915.21. Northwestern sent me a letter dated 10/14/2014. I made my first payment of $50 on 10/30/2014. I have continued to make monthly payments and in some months more than the required one payment. In addition, I have frequently paid more than the required $50 per month. In addition, all payments I have made have been on time for the due date or early to the monthly due date. During the spring of 2015 Northwestern sent me a notice telling me I wasn't making any payments on the bill. I responded to Northwestern with a written letter dated 3/10/2015 which I mailed via Certified Mail Return Receipt Requested. I received the signed confirmation the letter was delivered and received. Then in July 2015 I received a "Delinquency Notification" from a collection agency. I called Northwestern on 7/28, 7/30, and 8/21. I spoke with "supervisor" "Vanessa" who informed me that she needed time to look through Northwestern's billings. She also acknowledged that Northwestern had reorganized its billing systems. She stated she would get back with me within 48 hours of my first call. I made the subsequent calls when "supervisor Vanessa" did not get back with me. Then in September 2015 I received another "Delinquency Notification" from the same collection agency (Harris & Harris). I sent a Certified Mail Return Receipt to the collection agency on 10/1/2015 and received the Return receipt that the letter was delivered. My letter enumerates all payments I've made Product_Or_Service: The hospital agreed to a time payment plan for bil Account_Number: ACCT# ************-0

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Contacat Northwestern, reprimand Northwestern for sending my account to a collection agency. Contact the collection agency. Make the collection agency stop it's mail and phone contact at me. Get Northwestern to organize itself and recognize I am in compliance with their time payment plan. Northwestern needs to write a letter of apology and needs to notify the collection agency of it's error. My credit report needs to be noted that the collection action was in error by Northwestern.

11/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NMH has fraudulently billed me on approximately 13 occasions. 12 times they incorrectly charged my copay, only to seek more copay approximately 9 months after the services were rendered. When I disputed the charges, as I had no choice in cost at the time of service, they submitted the charges to collection which adversely affected my credit and has cost me significant sums of money in credit fees and lost opportunities. More recently, they billed me and **** ***** **** ****** for a sleep study that never occurred. **** ***** **** ****** has paid them 1,757.27 for this sleep study, that never occurred. And I have paid $25.00 to date. I have called them and asked them to return the money for this service and to stop harassing me with their bill collections. But they have not returned the money nor stopped their collections for this non-existent procedure.

Desired Settlement: I would ask that Northwestern Memorial pay back the fraudulently obtained 1,757.27 from **** ***** **** ****** and also the $25.00 dollars I have paid to date. Also, please stop harassing me with bill collection mail and phone calls. This is really disconcerting, it's no wonder health insurance is so costly.

6/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/29/14, I was charged $150.00 by Northwestern Memorial Physicians Group for a HPV Lab Test performed by my OB/GYN Dr. ******* on 12/19/2013. I was pregnant during this time and my OB performed this lab, I had no idea I would be charged for something that should be covered. The account number for this bill is ************. After an inquiry I found that there was an issue with the CPT Code *****(which relates to billing). This issue was brought up several times by me to the billing office. My insurance company ******* North was willing to pay the bill if the CPT Code was entered correctly. However, nothing has been changed so far. I made contact several times with an ********* from the Lake Forrest office. She is a supervisor and point of contact for issues like this. Since I have not had any updates on this situation or if is even being resolved. I have been receiving letters and phone calls from a debt collection agency (***************, Ltd.). The account # for the debt collection agency is ********. My husband serves in the Military and works very hard to provide for me and our children. I feel that what is happening right now is a disservice to him and the sacrifices he has to make everyday.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting the bill of $150.00 is paid by either Northwestern Memorial Physicians Group or CPT code corrected so ******* North is able to pay for the lab. Additionally I want Northwestern Memorial Physicians Group to make sure that my credit is not negatively effected by this issue. If this is the case I'm requesting that they amend this charge to restore my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/03) */ Thank you for forwarding this issue to us. We cannot release the details of our review, but we will contact the patient directly to resolve.

6/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had waht was referred to as Hyperthermia treatments along with radiation at NMH. ***** received th bill and refused to pay it (7,372.00) because they stated to me that it was coded wrong/was "experiental" and had no physical benefit/known to be a beneficial treatment for cancer. Northwestern hospital never made me aware that this treatment was experimental. NMH did try and appeal it and to my knowledge ***** upheld their decision not to cover the treatement. I feel this issue is between ***** and NMH and not me. NMH should have sent ***** a bill early on and found out it would not be covered and assumed that an experimantal procedure would not be covered. I was put in the middle of this and am currently still addressing my cancer.

Desired Settlement: i have the expectation that NMH and ***** will settle this between them. It is NMH's fault that they did an experimental procedure they whould have known would not be covered and if they billed ***** early on ***** should have explained this issue to NMH early on, not waited for months to address it and tthen not pay it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/05/13) */ Casse #XXXXXXXX Thank you for forwarding this issue to us. We cannot release the details of our review, but we will contact the patient directly to resolve.

4/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been appealing this incorrect healthcare bill for about a year and a half now, & no one has taken this seriously. No one emailed me, returned my calls in a timely manner (3 weeks to several months would elapse before I would get a call back), & no one would provide a last name so that I could even follow-up with the same person. Medical Record #: XXXXXXXXX The situation is as follows: On August 27th, 2013, I went to Northwestern Memorial Hospital for an ultra-sound ordered by my doctor. The ultra sound that was ordered was for a ************ ultra-sound to check for a fetal heartbeat. (I have a copy of the doctor's order & all bills & will be happy to email or fax them). At that point I was 9 weeks pregnant. Unfortunately, the pregnancy was not going well. I had been pregnant with twins, & lost the first one, at 6 weeks. My husband & I still hoped that the other baby would be ok, but at our 8 week appointment, the fetal heartbeat was only 65, so the doctor ordered a ************ ultra-sound for week 9 & let us know that this pregnancy might not be viable. When we arrived at the hospital that morning, I was nervous & scared, but still hopeful; I've wanted to be a mother for years & had already grown attached to this baby. Once we were in the ultra-sound room, the technician put a gel on my belly, to my surprise, & I asked why; she told me just to relax & wouldn't explain anything. However, within a minute, she said that she couldn't see anything & informed me that we needed to do the ************ u/s, to which I replied, yes, that's what my doctor told me she had ordered. Once that was done, the technician gave my husband & me the devastating news that there was no longer a fetal heart beat. To add insult to injury, we then received a bill that listed abdominal ultra sound, early dating, & ************ ultra sound, totaling $700. The cost of the ************ ultrasound, which was the only one that my doctor ordered, was $236. I have been questioning why we are being charged for early dating & the ********** ultrasound, both of which were not necessary & not ordered by my doctor. Either the technician made a mistake, which we are now being asked to pay for, or Northwestern Hospital decided to take advantage of a situation & rack-up unnecessary charges. When I contested these charges, instead of listening, the billing department just sent a new bill that removed the itemized charges, & instead bundled everything together & termed it "radiology" & had the same $700 total charge. Either way, we are disgusted because in both scenarios, the Northwestern Hospital is acting very irresponsibly with complete disregard for following doctor's orders, & instead is just trying to increase a patient's bill, arbitrarily, for their own financial gain. I have had this conversation numerous times & had to retell this story in both writing & verbally. Each time I do this, I have to relive a tragic event from which I am still trying to heal. Also, I have now been put into collection TWICE as I've been waiting for a response & have been trying to resolve this issue. I will gladly pay the $236 for the ultra-sound that was ordered, but since there was absolutely no medical reason for the other elements of the bill, I am contesting those remaining items.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that the bill be corrected to reflect only the procedure that was necessary & ordered by my doctor: the ************ ultrasound which was supposed to be $236, not $700.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4001, 14, 2015/04/08) */ The opinions and views of our patients are important to us at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. While we regret when our best efforts fall short of expectations, know that our clinicians follow strict protocols such that patients can trust that their care is delivered under the guidance, awareness and leadership of their attending physicians. Patients are always welcome and advised to make grievances known to our Patient Care Representatives who strive for thoughtful and satisfactory complaint resolution.

7/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've contacted Northwestern about 8 times now, regarding this. I had to go to the emergency room 12/24/23 and didn't have my insurancecard ***** ***** **** ******* with me. The following week, I called and provided Northwestern with my insurance information. I've been billed like 10 times now for the bill, and keep on calling to get a correction made. The last time I called, they said it showed the bill paid in full, but then yesterday I received a letter from a collection agency, ******* ******* Group, demanding $1,871.45.

Desired Settlement: Correction of billing mistake


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart