Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Warranty Group is a warranty policy company that provides warranty solutions for individuals as well as commercial businesses. This company is located in Chicago, IL, and serves the entire United States. This business offers individuals warranty plans for electronics, vehicles, and appliances, while providing integration, underwriting, and administration services for businesses who require warranty plans for their products as well as their own equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Warranty Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Warranty Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 142 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

142 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 32 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 23
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 16
Problems with Product/Service 98
Total Closed Complaints 142

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on The Warranty Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 12
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1988 Business started: 08/01/1964 Business started locally: 08/01/1964 Business incorporated 09/28/2009 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Alina Muresan, Paralegal Mr. Thomas W Warsop, III, President and CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: The Warranty Group, Business Officer
Principal: Alina Muresan, Paralegal
Business Category

Home Warranty Plans Auto Warranty Processing Service Auto Warranty Service Auto Warranty Plans Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies Other Direct Insurance (except Life, Health, and Medical) Carriers (NAICS: 524128)

Alternate Business Names
Alabama Warranty Services, Inc. Automotive Insurance Purchasing Group Automotive Warranty Services of Florida Inc. Automotive Warranty Services, Inc Consumer Program Administrators, Inc. CPA/Consumer Program Administrators, Inc. Dealer Performance, Inc. First Extended Service Corp. First Extended Service Corporation First Extended Service Corporation of Florida Member's Choice Auto Care Motor Warranty Services of North America, Inc. National Product Care Co. National Product Care Company NPCC/National Product Care Company Protection Place ProtectionPlace.com Resource Autmotive, Inc. Service Plan of Florida Service Plan of Florida, Inc Service Plan, Inc. Service Plans of Florida, Inc. Service Saver Incorporated Service Saver, Inc. Texas National Product Care Company The Administrators of Consumer Programs TWG Holdings, Inc. TWG Home Warranty Services, Inc. TWG Innovative Solutions, Inc. Virginia Surety Company, Inc. Vizio Extended Service Plans West Virginia Warranty Services, Inc.
Products & Services

Provider of extended service plans, product warranties.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Warranty Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 175 W Jackson Blvd Fl 11

    Chicago, IL 60604 (312) 356-2592 (312) 356-2510 (312) 356-3000 (312) 356-2510

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/1/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/28/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/24/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/17/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/27/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an extended warranty through First Extended, I took my vehicle to a shop to have a fuel pump replaced, which is covered by my contract and it has been 4 days total, but 2 business days (more than 48 hours), and First Extended keeps telling me my claim is still under review. Not sure why it is under review when it clearly states what I need repaired is covered by my warranty. I have called them several times on 4/7/16, 4/8/16, 4/11/16 with no resolution. I have left 3 messages on supervisor voice mails requesting calls back and have not received any calls back. Just looking for the company to honor their contract in a timely manner. Should not take this much time, calls and frustration to get my vehicle repaired when the contract clearly covers the needed repair.

Desired Settlement: Immediate repair of covered issue.

Business Response: This response was also mailed to the Better Business Bureau via certified U.S. Mail.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
**** ********

4/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/30/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 5-year protection plan (the obligator is the company I'm filing this complaint against) for the dining set I purchased from a local furniture store. One chair broke. I contacted the insurance company and filed a claim according to their instructions in the protection agreement. The claim was approved for the chair replacement. Several days later, the company's representative called me saying that the chair couldn't be replaced as it had been discontinued by the manufacturer. I paid $65.98 + taxes for that chair, and the representative offered me $32 (!) in cash to settle this claim. I can't even hire a handyman for this amount of money to try and fix the chair on my own. When I pointed to the associate that there was nothing I could buy or fix for this amount of settlement ($32) to restore my dining set to somewhat usable condition, she offered a store credit of about $60 as an option. The problem with this is that the store doesn't carry anything even remotely close to my dining chair; therefore, the store credit would be completely useless. According to the protection plan agreement, the company is obligated to cover at least the initial cost of the broken furniture, and nowhere in the agreement it says the settlement of the claim has to be in a store credit form.

Desired Settlement: Since the company is unable to repair the broken chair, and there is no option to replace it with a new one, I'm asking for a full original price + taxes in cash (no store credit).

Business Response:

From: ****** ****
Sent: Monday, December 28, 2015 4:20 PM
To* ***********************************
Subject: *** ********* *********

 

December 28, 2015

 

**** *******

Customer Relations Advocate

Better Business Bureau of Chicago and Northern Illinois

Email: ***********************************

 

Complaint ID#:  ********

Consumer:  ***** *********

**** ******** ***

********* ** *****

Furniture Protection service plan

 

Response letter – Third party administrator ******* ********* ******** (“***”) has contacted the consumers and they have accepted a cash settlement in the amount of $65.98 for the damaged dining chair this is the full retail price of the furniture item before taxes.  Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact our office.  

 

****** **** * *********

*** ******** *****

*** ** ******* ****** ******** ** ***** **** ************ **** ************

****** ********************************

 

 

This message is intended only for the addressee and may contain information that is confidential or privileged. Unauthorized use is strictly prohibited and may be unlawful. If you are not the intended recipient, or the person responsible for delivering to the intended recipient, you should not read, copy, disclose or otherwise use this message, except for the purpose of delivery to the addressee. If you have received this email in error, please delete and advise the IT Security department at infosec@thewarrantygroup.com immediately.

1/3/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 1, 2015 I purchased a 60" LED Vizio HDTV from ******** for $798.00, with an extended protection plan for $79.00. After only 5 months, the tv went out. We called the warranty company on Saturday October 10,2015. We were told that someone would get back to us in 5-6 days. I was given Vizio's number along with a case#*******. The warranty company gave us a reference #**********.We were told at first the warranty company could not find a tech in our area, then on Monday Oct 19,2015 we got a message that they were ordering a part and would be in touch when it came in, but yet no one had actually looked at our tv yet. We keep getting the run around from Vizio and the warranty company and have been without our tv now since the 10th of October. No one has called us, we are the ones that have to call them for updates and still don't seen to get any answers about how or when this will be resolved. I feel I purchased a warranty and it should be upheld swiftly and should not take 2 weeks, and still have no idea what is going to happen. Vizio's number is 1-************/warranty company number is 1-*************

Desired Settlement: We tried everything to resolve the issue ourselves. Different electrical plug, unplugging the wires and plugging them back in, the usual things you try to get your tv to work, but when we took off all the wires and tried to just plug it straight into the wall, it didn't even come on. We expect, at the very least, a replacement tv exactly like the one we have, and it would be great if we didn't have to wait a month to get it. This whole process and been inadequate and totally uncalled for.

Business Response: Complaint ID#: ********
Consumer: ****** *****

We acknowledge the receipt of the above-listed complaint filed with the BBB of Chicago.

This contract is not administered by TWG. We have nothing in the system related to the customer name. We do not have any claim records.

****** **** - Paralegal
The Warranty Group
175 W. Jackson Blvd., Chicago, IL 60604
Tel: 3*********** **** ************
Email: ***********@thewarrantygroup.com

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They don't want to pay the claim on time.

Desired Settlement: For them to pay claim!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/21) */ Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX Consumer: ******* ******** We acknowledge the receipt of the above mentioned complaint filed with the BBB of Chicago. The Warranty Group has many extended warranty programs and service contract programs that cover a wide range of consumer products including, mobile phones, domestic computers and other everyday consumer electronics and appliances. Additional information is needed to search our records and locate the consumer's specific extended warranty or service contract plan. Please answer the following questions. Name of insured person: ______________ Date of Service or Date of Loss: ____________ Policy or Claim Number: __________________ Type of Coverage: __________________ What company is listed in the extended warranty or service contract? ______________________ (For example: Automotive Warranty Services, Inc., Consumer Program Administrators, Inc., or TWG Innovative Solutions, Inc.) Upon our receipt of this information, we will further review our records. Thank you for your cooperation. *********** - Paralegal The Warranty Group ********************************************************************************************************************

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2015 Delivery Issues
8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2015 Delivery Issues
7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2015 Delivery Issues
7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2015 Delivery Issues
3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2015 Delivery Issues
3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2015 Delivery Issues
3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2014 Delivery Issues
11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2014 we filed claim# PMXXXXXX with ******* ********* ******** ****** Because our couch was discontinued, we were offered a pay out or store credits towards a replacement. Because the store credit offer was higher than the cash payout, we opted to go that route. We paid in full the balance due after the store credits wee applied to the purchase of another couch to ***** ******* ********** We were told for a few months that our couch was on the way. After that we were told by **** (manager) at ***** ******* ********* that they were not able to get the funds released to pay the supplier to fulfill the order. For 8 months now it has gone back and forth that the funds were released and the couch was on the way, back to they were not able to pay the supplier to get the couch. We are tired of waiting for a couch that will never arrive. I spoke with a supervisor at **** ******* today. She stated that they had paid the claim to ***** ******* ********* and there was nothing *** can do to help, that we would have to take it up with ***** ******* ********** I aksed her what ****** policy was on paying out a claim to a store that does not fulfill the order. She stated clearly that *** does not pay out claims unless the furniture store provides proper documentation that the replacement order was placed and DELIVERED. I explained that ***** ******* ********* may have placed an order for another couch, but they never paid the supplier and its definitely never delivered. She said they would not have paid the claim unless they fulfilled the order. I asked her for documentation that our replacement couch was delivered. She could not provide that. I asked her for a date this supposed delivery occurred, she could not provide that. She stated that *** would not provide any information unlessI hired a lawyer and they made the request. REALLY?! I am the customer, I paid for the warranty, I should get answers. She said *** could not help me even though she said they would not have paid the claim to ***** ******* ********* unless the replacement couch order was fulfilled. That never happened. According to what ******* stated was ****** policy, the claim should not have been paid to ***** ******* ********** We just want the 250.00 cash pay out that the warranty offered.

Desired Settlement: We want the 250.00 payout that was offered when we filed the claim

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/29) */ Case # XXXXXXXX Customer: **** ************ *** ******** ***** ******* ********* ********** Plan Claim Number: PMXXXXXX Furniture Item: Couch. To: ****** **** - BBB of Chicago Email address: *****@chicago.bbb.org ******* ********* ******** ("MFS") contacted the customer on October 24th and offered her the cash settlement, which she accepted. *** sent her the signed cash settlement letter for her to complete and return. *** received the letter back on October 28th, via fax, and it was sent for processing. Payment should be issued to the customer in approximately 2 weeks. We trust this satisfies your request for a response. Should you have any questions, please contact our office. ****** **** - Paralegal Virginia Surety Company, Inc. 175 W. Jackson Blvd., Chicago, IL XXXXX Tel: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Email: ***********@thewarrantygroup.com

10/21/2014 Delivery Issues
10/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/26/2014 Delivery Issues
9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From: ****** **** (mailto:*********@yahoo.com) Sent: Friday, August 01, 2014 5:22 PMTo: drteamSubject: Car Warranty Scam, being sold at *** *** My name is ****** ****, and I purchased a car from Car Max, April 26, 2013. The car was a 2012 Nissan Altima, with 22,301 miles on it. I also purchased a Car Warranty at the *** *** dealership, located at XXXXX ***** ******** ******** ***** XXXXX, and paid 1, 399.00 for it. The Company calls the Warranty, the Maxcare Service Contract. It covers the Electrical, as well, as all the mechanical parts. The Company address on my service contract is *** **** ******* ***** **** flr, Chicago, Illinois XXXXX. Before, and on July 29, I called the ******* company about a Battery Terminal assembly problem that was causing the car to not start, which after careful examination came apart through no fault of my own. I called a X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, and talked to a man by the name of ****** *** and I asked him if that part was covered under the warranty? He stated yes, have the car brought in to car max, as you know we take care of a 100.00 dollars worth, of towing, and as you know their is a $50.00 deductible at CarMax, and a 100.00 deductible, at the Nissan dealer. The part is covered as long as the ****** technician verifies the damage was not your fault. I called ****** towing contractor, and since I was 11.8 miles, from ******* that I wouldn't be charged for towing because the warranty covered me. My repairs were done, and the car was ready, but I was told I would have to pay for the towing and the repair which added up to $171.45, not the $50.00 deductible, according to my warranty. My car only had 38,151 miles on it, and I was told since I just was past factory warranty that the part should have still been good. But the warranty company refused to pay for it. On 7/31/14, I talked to a Mrs. *****, and a Mr. ***** who refused to honor my warranty. He stated he was from Chicago, and that the warranty has a bell-out clause stating if the part is damaged by rust or corrosion, the warranty does not have to pay. I told him I was from Ohio, and where were from it snows, and the city, and the state puts salt on the ground, which will cause rust and corrosion, and I was not told that when I called in, and that is too vague; and all I should pay is the $50.00 deductible. He stated they will use that bell-out not to pay my claim. I call this a scam, because anytime the warranty company does not want to pay for something, all they have to allege is rust and corrosion, and anybody living in cold weather areas especially won't ever have a warranty, and I stay in ******** I want to be reimbursed $1,399.00 dollars because this is my first claim on my warranty, and I was treated, as if I didn't have a warranty, and since I paid for towing and repairs, I want all my money back. This is a scam not a warranty, because they can always allege rust or corrosion to not pay a claim. Sincerely, ****** **** P.S. Please call me and let me know you received this claim. My number is XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my 1,399.00 dollars returned to me, since I was treated like I didn't have a warranty, and never used the warranty before this incident, and it came out of my pocket anyway. I paid for something I never had, so it seems. I have been defrauded of my money, therefore it should be returned to me since the warranty company never paid for anything. It's like they held my 1,399.00 dollars, and decided they would not honor it, and since they didn't I want the whole amount returned to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ August 21, 2014 Ms. ****, Please see our attached response. Thank you, ***** ****** Complaint Resolution Specialist Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They're using a broad based technicality to avoid giving me my money back in full.

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this warranty plan to cover new appliances that were installed into a newly built home. I have had a couple of techs sent out for repairs but did not repair the appliances.The warranty company was contacted, each time after the tech supposedly had repaired the appliance and it was still not working properly. I am being told by managers at the company that once they've paid out $500.00 for repairs, I get no other repair service for that item. I tried to explain to several of the supervisors or managers that they are treating the follow-up call for service as an additional service call when it is for the original problem. I am being informed that no other service can be provided for the refrigerator, because they don't return after reaching a certain $$ limit on that item. I paid @ $456.00 for this service, and have requested a full refund, which they say, I will not get. Please assist me on how to get proper service or a total refund, since no repair was completed. Product_Or_Service: 02/03/2014 Order_Number: ID# ****** Account_Number: Platinum

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am a disabled veteran in need of all my in home appliances and need this company to repair these items, as they advertise daily on TV about their great service. A total refund of all monies paid to them is requested, since repairs were never fulfilled. Please be aware that I don't know the exact dates that repairs were requested, so I will give the month. I was informed that certain techs had to work on these Samsung appliances, and apparently the techs were not qualified. These items were new

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ September 9, 2014 ****** **** Assistant Manager BBB of Chicago & Northern IL. 330 North Wabash Ave, Suite 3120 Chicago, IL 60611 RE: ******** ****** BBB # XXXXXXXX Dear ****** ****, This will acknowledge receipt, by TWG Home Warranty Services, Inc., of the BBB complaint dated August 25, 2014, regarding the above case number. We administered this consumer's home service agreement. Our apologies for any frustration the consumer has experienced in obtaining satisfactory resolution. Upon review, the consumer cancelled his agreement on August 22, 2014 and will be issued a prorated refund in the amount of $118.95 credited back to Visa card. The consumer placed two claims under his agreement for a microwave wall oven combination unit and a refrigerator. We approved to replace two parts for the microwave wall oven combination unit in the amount of $389.99. The service provider was contacted on September 4, 2014 and has received the part for the oven but still waiting for the microwave part. The servicer will contact the customer once the second part is received to complete this repair. On July 17, 2014, we paid $283.99 to Cube Appliance to replace the fan motor, sensor and controller on the consumer's Samsung refrigerator. The provider installed these parts and also instructed the consumer he would need to do a complete defrost of unit by removing all food and turning unit off. The customer initially refused to complete this defrost step however on July 18, 2014 stated that he did and refrigerator was not cooling. We dispatched another provider, BRS Appliance and on August 5, 2014 they reported the main control board, defrost board and power inverter board burned out and need to be replaced at a cost of $436.21. Unfortunately, the cost of the repairs would exceed the $500 limit allowed per 12 month period for this appliance as stated in the terms and conditions per section VI, number 2 which states; "APPLIANCES AND OTHER SYSTEMS: We will cover up to $500 per appliance or system per 12 month period listed below. The $500 limit includes any costs for access, diagnosis, repair/replacement and installation." We offered the consumer a check for $156.01 which is the remaining balance of the $500 limit less the previous repair of $283.99 and the $60.00 service call we authorized to BRS Appliance to provide their diagnosis. A check for $156.01 was mailed to the consumer on August 21, 2014. We trust this satisfies your request for a response. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. Thank You, **** ******** The Warranty Group Customer Service Supervisor 175 W. Jackson, Chicago, IL 60604 Tel: XXX XXX XXXX Fax: XXX XXX XXXX *************@thewarrantygroup.com

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 I purchased a vehicle from ****** with an extended warranty ********* that is administered by *** ******** ****** Late last year and earlier this year my vehicle had several repairs done through ****** in ****** ********* using my ******* car warranty. Rental cars are covered by the warranty if authorized by the repair shop (at least when using ********* shop). During all of my rental's ****** authorized and even arranged for my car rentals. Shortly after the repairs I moved and my mail has take a while to catch up with my new location. Two weeks ago I recieved a sevearl months old letter from ***** Car Rental that two of my rental's, authorized by ****** to be covered by my ******* Warranty Policy had been unpaid. In the letter from ***** I was notified that in the even that ******* did not pay my rental car bill, (as is now the case) it would be my responsibility to pay them. Last week I recieved a new letter from ***** notifying me that my rental privilages and existing account with the company have been terminated due to lack of payment. This week I recieved two letters (one for each car rental bill not paid by ******** from a collection agency. One bill is for $83.97 and the ***** contract number is AXXXXXXXX and the other is $119.93 and the ***** contract number is AXXXXXXXX for a total of $203.90 owed to Hertz or the Collection Agency. I have attempted to contact ****** and The ******** ***** on several occasions but I have been unable to recieve the neecessary help to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I need the $203.90 owed to Hertz so that I can pay the money owed before they put it on my credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ September 12, 2014 BBB service Chicago & Northern Illinois Attention: ****** **** **Sent Via the BBB's website** Re: Contract Number: ******** Contract Holder: **** ****** Claim Number: XXXXXXXX & XXXXXXXX Ms. ****, This will acknowledge Virginia Surety Company, Inc. (VSC), receipt of your email correspondence on September 5, 2014, which was forwarded to the office of Consumer Program Administrators, Inc. the same day for review and response. In Mr. ******' complaint, he states that there are two bills from****** Rental that should have been paid by us. One bill was for $83.97 and the other was for $119.93. Upon review of our claim history under Mr. ******' Service Contract, we found that our office did in fact pay the proper amounts to******. Under claim number XXXXXXXX, on March 21, 2013, our office issued****** a payment in the amount of $83.97, which represents the amount on******' invoice number AXXXXXXXX. Our payment reference number is XXXXXXXXX. Under claim number XXXXXXXX, on March 12, 2013, our office issued****** a payment in the amount of $160.00, which represents the amount on******' invoice number AXXXXXXXX. Our payment reference number is XXXXXXXXX. In addition, these charges and payments were reviewed by our in-house****** representative. It was confirmed that their records reflect both rental charges as paid. In Mr. ******' complaint, he states he has attempted to "contact The WArranty (sic) Group on several occasions but I have been unable to receive the neecessary (sic) help to resolve the issue." In regards to that, I reviewed all the claim history under Mr. ******' Contract and was unable to find any record of him contacting our claims center regarding rental reimbursement. In fact, the last documented call we received from Mr. ****** was back on February 12, 2012, which was prior to these rental charges. Finally, Mr. ******' Service Contract provides rental reimbursement for up to 7-days of rental at a maximum of $40.00 per day. Benefits apply if the vehicle is held overnight and is considered inoperative or unsafe to drive. Benefits also only apply for days while the vehicle is being repaired. Any rental extending past the date the repairs were complete is not covered. Both payments mentioned above reflect the coverable and authorized rental charges. Any charges above the amounts authorized by CPA are Mr. ******' responsibility. As explained above, CPA has acted appropriately in its adjudication of Mr. ******' claims and issuing payments to****** for the authorized rental charges. If you have any further questions, I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****** Complaint Resolution Specialist Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate your response. I only selected that I do not accept your resoltuion because the case is closed as soon as I select yes. Is it possible to get somee type of reciept or something that I can show to****** that these were paid already. They have turned the case over to collection agency for non-payment and without something to take to them I have no way to prove my case. Thank you again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/19) */ September 18, 2014 BBB service Chicago & Northern Illinois Attention: ****** **** **Sent Via the BBB's website** Re: Contract Number: OWP7ZC7P Contract Holder: **** ****** Claim Number: XXXXXXXX & XXXXXXXX Ms. ****, This will acknowledge CPA's receipt of Mr. ******' rebuttal. As previously explained the Service Contract provides rental reimbursement for up to 7-days of rental at a maximum of $40.00 per day. Benefits only apply for days while the vehicle is being repaired. Any rental not authorized, extending past the date the repairs were complete, or charges exceeding $40 per day are not covered. Both payments issued by CPA reflect the coverable and authorized rental charges. Any charges above the amounts authorized by CPA are Mr. ******' responsibility. After further review, it was found that the amounts****** is demanding payment for are the charges above and beyond the covered amounts. In regards to******' invoice AXXXXXXXX, our records indicate the vehicle was brought into CarMax on or about January 29, 2013 for repairs, which were authorized on January 31, 2013. CarMax requested payment on February 1, 2013, indicating the repairs were complete. This means the repair period was for four days, which was the maximum eligible for coverage. However,******' invoice indicates that the Customer rented the vehicle for a total of 7-days at $30.00 per day. Furthermore, despite the charge of only $30.00 per day, our adjuster issued payment for a total of four days at $40.00 per day, equaling $160.00. This amount was actually over paid by $10.00 per day above the charged daily fee. Our payment of $160 left a balance of $119.93. Again, these were charges above and beyond the covered portion and are the renter's responsibility. In regards to******' invoice AXXXXXXXX, our records indicate the vehicle was brought into CarMax on February 20, 2013 for repairs, which were authorized the same day. The total labor required to perform the job was only 2.3-hours. Therefore, repairs should have been completed in one day. CarMax requested payment for the repairs on February 22, 2013, indicating the repairs were completed on or before that day. Therefore, coverage of the rental was extended to 3-days, February 20, 21 and 22, which were the coverable days during the repair period. ****** charged the Customer for 6-days at $27.99 per day, totaling $167.94. As noted above, CPA covered three days totaling $83.97, leaving a non-covered balance of $83.97. Again, this balance is the renter's responsibility. It will also be pointed out that there are no notes in either claim indicating that the Customer or CarMax requested authorization for extended rental benefits. Therefore, CPA issued reimbursement for the "eligible" days. Additional rental would need to be requested, justified and authorized for eligibility. As explained above, CPA has acted appropriately in its adjudication of Mr. ******' claims and issuing payments to****** for the covered rental charges. The amounts Mr. ****** is disputing were correctly billed to him and must be addressed directly with the bill collector and/or****** Rental Company. CPA is unable to provide any further assistance in regards to this matter. If you have any further questions, I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****** Complaint Resolution Specialist

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Delivery Issues
9/1/2014 Delivery Issues
9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***************** I purchased my warranty coverage on 5/30/2013 for VIN#*************XXXX. In mid June 2014 my vehicle suddenly broke down while driving down the highway. I had the vehicle towed to a performance shop in ****** ******* to assess the damage. I contacted the above warranty company to initiate a mechanic repair claim. The performance shop informed me that there was a catastrophic engine failure which would require a replacement engine. After sending one of their assessors for the first time to the shop it was determined that the claim would be denied due to an "overrev" which is unable to be proven. I contacted the supervisor with ******* ****** to discuss this with him and was told that further diagnostics would have to be authorized by me to find out specifically what caused the engine failure. This was asked only after the claim had already been denied. After waiting another week the shop had come up with the same results. The push rods were bent, valve and piston destroyed causing complete engine failure. The warranty company was then informed and sent another assessor to inspect the findings. The shop told the assessor that with the amount of damage the determining factor that caused the failure could not be pin pointed but an over-rev could not be proven either. Members Choice proceeded to uphold the denial because the cause of the failure could not be determined. I disputed this and my claim was sent to the complaint department on july 15. I received a call back from ****** ****** and was told that the claim would continue as a denial. They have given no legitimate justification as to why my claim should not be paid. There was no abuse or misuse noted in the findings. I believe this is a scam and should be addressed immediately. I will take litigation action is needed but this is step one for now.

Desired Settlement: I want my claim processed according the coverage contract I purchased which includes repair/replacement of the specific engine components damaged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ Ms. ****, This will acknowledge Virginia Surety Company, Inc. (VSC), receipt of your email correspondence on July 17th, which was forwarded to the claims center of ******** ******* *************** Inc. the same day for review and response. Please be advised that due to the nature and extent of the Customer's claim, CPA is respectfully requesting an extension of time before responding to the Customer's concerns. Therefore, CPA will be unable to provide a complete response by the requested July 27 response date, but will provide a response by July 31, 2014 at the latest. Thank you for your consideration. Sincerely, **** ******** Complaint Resolution Specialist

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Purchased the Truck March 28,2014 & the Warranty @ the same time.May 19,2014 the truck was put in the shop to replace radiator & engine. I got it out of the shop June 14,2014 the transmission Leaked ALL the fluid out & the truck had to be Towed (it Wouldnt Pull) i towed it to a Preferred Ford Dealer they repaired the radiator but Not the Transmission. i got the vehicle back & the next day the Transmission light was Flashing. i called the dealer & left a message,my call Wasnt returned. the next day the truck did the same thing i called the dealer again,they returned my call & said bring it back.My truck has been in the shop since that day.

Desired Settlement: repair the transmission or get me Completely out of this loan so i can purchase a Better vehicle. im paying for a car payment, a warranty & insurance on a vehicle that i Cant use & they Wont Repair...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/22) */ July 22, 2014 Ms. ****, This will acknowledge Virginia Surety Company, Inc. (VSC), receipt of your email correspondence on July 22, 2014 which was forwarded to the claims center the same for review and response. After a thorough search in our computer database, we are unable to locate an Agreement for Mr. ****** *******. However, this does not necessarily mean that he does not have an Agreement with us. There is simply not enough information provided to complete our search. Therefore, Mr. ******* will need to provide us with a copy of the Agreement. He may fax a copy directly to me at XXX-XXX-XXXXX to expedite this matter or attach it to the BBB complaint. Once received, we will promptly resume our review his concerns. If Mr. ******* has any questions or would like to provide some additional information over the phone, he can call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****** Complaint Resolution Specialist

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called on a Friday 11 July 2014, that a repair was needed. After mechanic orders part and receives it 14 July 2014, company refused to pay saying they could buy a cheaper part. After arguing and asking where in the contract it said that they said well it was implied even though it wasn't lined in writing. SO they said they would ship the part delaying my family an additional day even though the mechanic had one in hand. Finally, part came in 15 July 2014 that was ordered buy the warranty. Repair was made by mechanic shop and the credit card and payment authorization department have been giving the run around with the shop and then us. Resulting in them "accidentally" disconnecting several times over several hours until their office closed. Now here we are another day going into 16 July 2014, stuck 1600 miles from home almost a week after the fact paying living out of pocket without a vehicle and no guarantee of being resolved. ********* so he said his name was, placed us on hold while he went and checked for the credit card and after several minutes the phone hung up and now the business is officially closed. Very unsatisfied with the customer service, the warranty, the claims, and the authorization departments.

Desired Settlement: I want the money I paid for the Extended Warranty, since I feel they have not only broken the consumer trust they have also failed to provide their end of the contract in a timely manner to a satisfactory standard.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/21) */ July 21, 2014 Ms. ****, This will acknowledge Virginia Surety Company, Inc. (VSC), receipt of your email correspondence on July 16th, which was forwarded to the claims center the same day for review and response. After a thorough search in our computer database, we are unable to locate an Agreement for Mr. ***** *******. However, this does not necessarily mean that he does not have an Agreement with us. There is simply not enough information provided to complete our search. On July 17, I called Mr. ******* at the number he provided in the BBB complaint. However, there was no answer and a voice message was left requesting that he contact me with additional information to locate his Agreement. As of the date of this letter, I have not received a call back from Mr. ******** Therefore, in order to assist Mr. ******** he will need to provide us with a copy of the Agreement. He may fax a copy directly to me at XXX-XXX-XXXXX or attach it to the BBB complaint file. Once received, we will continue our review his concern. If Mr. Wardean has any questions or would like to provide some additional information over the phone, he can call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****** Complaint Resolution Specialist

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gap insurance claim number is is XXXXXXXX and agreement #ZXXXXXXX The company is refusing to pay our gap claim.

Desired Settlement: Payment of the gap claim in full

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ See Attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) See the attached letter Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/12) */ See attached.

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle taken to lexus is *** They call for approval for repairs and were denied. I called the company and talked with supervisor. I was advise to go to lexus and have them call the company why I was there because they had two different stories. Went there Monday call was made. Lexus explained that the part the company stated cause the problem did not. Company was sending inspector on Tuesday. Inspector came out and look at the vehicle and took pictures. Lexus and I both have called and left messages for the company to call for approval for reapirs to the vehicle. The vehicle is still located at the Lexus dealer repair shop. Lexus have let me used one of their vehicles to get around.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company go ahead and approved the request for repairs. I am not asking for them to pay for a battery, tires, oil change or alinment. But they should pay for the other repairs that are covered under the warranty. The Lexus dealer tech has stated that the ******** velocity boots did not cause the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/18) */ Ms. ****, Please see the attached response. Thank you, ***** ****** Complaint Resolution Specialist Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/04/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First everything in their response is not accurate. First I did not continue to disagree with what what they were saying. I advise them that I was getting two different stories. One from them and a different story from Lexus. I ask the supervisor if I could go to Lexus on Monday and call him so we could get the story straight. He said yes and I asked if we could talke with him and stated that any tech could receive the call. Monday I went to Lexus and was Listening on the call when *** and the Lexus Tech spoke with the Tech from the company. I don't what the problem is with the Company and Lexus is but they stated that I need to replace the axle and the CV boots and clamp did not create the problem. So they are my repair company and they stated thta the axle need to be replace and it is under warranty then it should be paided for by the company. I should not have to suffer because Lexus and the company have a different of opinion. In this case the company should pay for what is needed and address their differents with Lexus. I have made all my payment for extended warranty and now it come a time when I should be able to use what I have been paying for and it appears the Company is trying to back out on it obiligations. I will be going to Lexus on Monday to have *** and the tech write statement on this issue and will submit them later. I don't if the inspector was independent or not. I believe in all fairness we should have agreed on an independent inspector. In so many words if appears that you are saying that *** and the Tech from Lexus is lieing. I don't see a reason for them to that because they are going to get paid anyway this go. What about the company.

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a generator for $592 during an ice storm. I paid with a Visa credit card. That same night it was stolen off my front porch. I called Visa and they said I was covered up to $500 (for lost or stolen items). I gathered police report, receipts and claim forms. I mailed these within 48 hours to TWG Innovative Solutions. TWG denied my claim because they said I left it "unattended". I was home all night. I called them and was not allowed to speak to the claim adjuster personally. I tried to reason with the company spokesperson but to no avail. I do not understand how much more "attending to a generator" I could be. This area was declared a federal emergency disaster area. The only thing worse than being victimized by thieves is being victimized by the company that suppose to be insuring you during this hard time. Product_Or_Service: Generator Account_Number: Claim # XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am requesting my claim be approved for $500. My claim # is XXXXXX. **** said I was covered per my credit card terms and agreement. TWG is being unreasonable in this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/25) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Supervisor Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Please allow this letter to serve as TWG Innovative Solutions, Inc.'s (TWGIS) response to the above referenced complaint. TWGIS is the administrator the Purchase Replacement credit card benefit program. This program will repair or replace covered purchases which are stolen, damaged, or lost at a known location, within 90 days of the date of purchase. Attached is a copy of the coverage description. Purchase Replacement coverage is provided under a group policy issued by Virginia Surety Company, Inc. (VSC) to ******** **** ********* We have reviewed the claim file and determined the claim will not be payable for the following reason: The claim submitted was for a generator that was left unsecured on the front porch per the police report. We do agree this is an unfortunate incident. Yet, we believe we have properly adjudicated this matter based on the Terms and conditions that govern the Purchase Replacement program. Under the contract provision entitled: "What is NOT covered" you will find the following benefit exclusion: "Unlocked or unattended items (left in public sight, out of reach, lacking care, custody or control by You or the responsible party)". We feel the claim was properly adjudicated based on this exclusion. We trust that this satisfies your request for a response. If you should have any questions, please feel free to contact me. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm sorry I do not agree with your reasoning. I was home at the time. It was stolen off my front porch while I was home. I believe that meets the common sense definition of attending. Under your "reasoning" nothing would be covered... because everything should be attended at all times. Doesn't make a lot sense. Obviously you are doing all you can to avoid paying.. even at the expense of your company's reputation. I will be forwarding a copy of our correspondence, along with the case documentation to **** and **** of ******** This will help explain why I will be ending my 14 year business arrangement with them. I know **** and *** spend millions attracting new customers. It's a shame that they will lose a loyal customer over a $500 claim. Credit card, home mortgage and future retirement account will be lost because of your company's poor decision. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/02) */ Please allow this letter to serve as our response to your rebuttal. Your claim denial was based off of the statement you provided to ******** ****** ********** ****** police department; which you provided to our office with your claim submission. Per the narrative listed on the police report, "Mr. ******* stated some unknown person/persons took the listed generator without permission. Mr. ******* further stated the generator was left unsecured on his front porch." Per the Terms and Conditions, "Unlocked or unattended items (left in public sight, out of reach, lacking care, custody or control by you or the responsible party)" are not eligible for coverage. As the generator was left unsecured on the front porch of your home, this would constitute an unlocked and unattended item. Based on the County Sheriff's incident report, and the policy exclusion, we believe the loss is not covered under the policy. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The generator may have been left unlocked but it was not unattended. I was home all night. That is attending to the generator; especially during an ice storm/ federal disaster area! It looks like we are disputing whether being inside your home is attending to something on your porch. I believe it is. Common sense says you can't watch everything in your home at all time. I was home when it happened. Therefore I met the Terms and Conditions of our agreement. I request that you approve my claim per the policy intent.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife ******** and I are placing this complaint with your office because we feel we were the victims of automobile extended warranty fraud. On June 9th of 2012 we purchased a 2007 Dodge Durango VIN# ******XXXXfXXXXXX for the sum of XXXXX.00 plus tax, title and service charges plus an additional $2175.00 for the ********* ******** (PUAXXXXXXX) from ****** ****** *** ******* ******* ******* ** XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX. We were pressured during the sale to purchase the extended warranty because we were informed the vehicle could be expensive to complete repairs; we finally agreed to purchase the warranty after continued prodding about how expensive it could be in the need of a repair. Shortly after our vehicle purchase, basically overnight one evening ****** ***** changed hands and became *********** ******* I believe this was less than 30 days after our vehicle purchase as I recall. I was reasonably concerned about our warranty and called the ********* ******** ******* (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) who assured me we could have all our work done at *********** ****** since that is the building where the warranty was purchased when we purchased our vehicle. I asked that my ********* ******** be transferred to ****** ****** which is a Chrysler dealership with technical Chrysler staff on duty which is also close by to which my request was flatly denied. The warranty person I spoke with initially told me we could not take the vehicle to another location unless we were 40+ miles from *********** ****** which is a Nissan dealership and does nearly nothing substantial with Chrysler vehicles and has no real technical staff on hand with Chrysler experience.On several occasions we have had small problems (less than $200) with the vehicle that were paid out of our pocket because ?they weren?t covered? under their guidelines of the warranty which has a $100 deductible, the aggravation of calling and getting a ?sorry that?s not covered? standard response every time we called was bothersome to say the least and when we took it to Destination they had to fight to get someone on the phone in a reasonable amount of time so we took it to a certified Chrysler dealer to get the small problems resolved as needed because of the hassle for both us and the Nissan dealer. On March 28th, 2014 however I dropped our Durango off to *********** ****** for a problem that we thought might be more costly, as it turned out, there was a need for a new fuel pump, the estimated cost of repair was $750 - $800 so my thinking was this was the perfect time to utilize my extended warranty and fuel pump is clearly listed on the warranty as a covered item, no arguments over exact verbiage on coverage was my thinking. Our claim was called in and denied, I called the Portfolio Company directly multiple times as did the Service Manager, ******* ********* (XXX) XXX-XXXX x1207 at *********** ****** with no positive response or clear reason for the denial, they just said they were not covering the repair. On one instance I spoke to ***, no last name provided, on another ******* again no last name, and also a woman but her name escapes me.My wife and I are both outraged that we have spent an addition $2175 on an extended vehicle warranty for our vehicle expecting to be able to utilize it as needed for warranty work, the $100 deductible seemed reasonable at the time of purchase especially if the problem was major as the ****** ***** sales manager relayed to us the cost of repairs for a four wheel drive vehicle were in fact expensive so this warranty in his words was ?it was a no brainer?. To date the warranty company has done nothing for us but taken our money and denied our claims, for this reason we are asking for complete reimbursement of the price of the extended warranty which was $2175. We purchased a 3 year/36,000 mile warranty which is in effect until June 2015 or 70,920 miles, whatever comes first, our vehicle has exceptionally low miles, we purchased it with 34,920 miles on it and the odometer is currently at 50,000 miles and spends most of the time garaged at our home. I have no desire to continue a warranty with a company that has not been a credible participant in the warranty process from the beginning of its inception to date. At this point we are fairly certain nothing will change with future claims with this warranty company and believe their practices to be of a fraudulent nature.Our purchase of the ********* ******** was Plan F HI-TECH COMPONENT COVERAGE which also includes in full PLAN D and PLAN E, I also added coverage of FOUR-WHEEL DRIVE/ALL-WHEEL DRIVE (section 5 of 1st page of warranty). I was told by the sales manager ?this was the absolute best warranty I could purchase and I wouldn?t be sorry? yet to date it appears that is not the case.Throughout all of this the ending result is Destination Nissan will be repairing our vehicle, I have authorized them to complete this repair as this is in no way an issue with them directly and it is a needed repair, the service manager and service receiver have gone above and beyond to help with my warranty issue without resolution. My vehicle has been sitting at *********** ****** since March 28th because of the waste of time going back and forth with the ********* ******** ******** I will have to come up with roughly $800 to have the vehicle repaired even though we purchased a warranty when the vehicle was purchased from ****** ***** which is now out of business. I am also forwarding this letter to Chrysler Customer Care and the NYS Attorney General. Product_Or_Service: ********* ******** ******** Order_Number: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Account_Number: PUAXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Full refund of warranty in the total amount of $2175Documents are available upon request

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ Ms. ****, Please see the attached response. Thank you, ***** ****** Complaint Resolution Specialist Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The selling dealer was out of business ******* ****** 30 days after the warranty was purchased with the vehicle, ever since then all requests for service have been denied. Quote - "On April 16, FE was advised by PGM that the matter was reviewed directly with the Selling Dealer who offered to provide coverage for the fuel sending unit/pump repair. However, FESC was further advised that Mr. ******** refused this offer and demanded a full refund of the Agreement cost." I was never contacted by the Selling Dealer because the selling Dealer ******* ****** is no longer in business, I was also never contacted by *********** ******* furthermore I was only briefly contacted by a ***** ****** at my place of employment who offered to pay the total bill of nearly $800. I never refused payment however I did voice my disgust and did request a full refund since I really want nothing further to do with the games this company plays, I sent my receipt forward at his request and told him about what I had endured as a customer I also told him I had forwarded my complaint to the NYS Attorney General. I have not since heard from him however at my time of speaking with him he was very apologetic so I find it odd that this total turnaround is now the outcome. I did in fact speak to my attorney who told me to handle my dispute in this manner as this is why these entities are in place. The insurance company clearly plays games with wording to deny claims. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/04/21) */ Ms. ****, Today we received some additional information. FE was advised that the Selling Dealer has agreed to provide Mr. ******** a full refund of the Agreement cost. Therefore, FESC considers this matter resolved to Mr. ********'s benefit and no further action will be required by First Extended Service Corporation. Thank you, ***** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have accepted the resolution of a full refund of the purchase price of the warranty of $2175 as outlined in the agreement. I have signed and returned the agreement (see attached) on 4/22/2014. If the agreement is not adhered to within a reasonable amount of time I will reopen this case. I will also close the claim with the NYS Attorney Genral upon receipt of full payment.

4/18/2014 Delivery Issues
4/18/2014 Delivery Issues
4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/7/2014 Delivery Issues
3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought car in with concerns of oil retention, blue/gray/white smoke, check engine lights, erratic driveability, while under warranty (twice). Car was misdiagnosed, service manager provided horrible customer service, was discriminated against being female, and wasn't provided claim notes from warranty company, as ******** corporate office, **** ************ advise warranty company not to provide any information and that ****** had no claim information. Was asked by ****** ******** on behalf of **** *********** if I needed any other documentation, I advised only warranty claim notes, at this time. I have contacted dealer in writing requesting repair, and they have not responded in over 30 days.

Desired Settlement: All claim notes, car repair

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/18) */ ***** *** 2014 Ms. ****, Please see the attached response. Thank you, ***** ******

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2014 Delivery Issues
3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid this for about a year and a half. Our water heater ruptured and flooded the house. We called to file a claim. They wound up giving us the names of four contract plumbers. Three said they no longer did business with this company. The other one came out and charged 55 dollars for an estimate of 1280 to replace the water heater. The insurance company said they would only pay 300 dollars toward the repair. That was too much. I bought a new heater and had it installed for 750 dollars by another individual. Called the company to try to get 300 dollars and they told me they would pay nothing. I want my 300 dollars for the repair. We were out of any water at all in the house from a Sunday to Thursday. Product_Or_Service: 40 gal water heater LP gas

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Send me 300 dollars for the prorated cost of the water heater, which we wound up having to replace ourselves. I work in law enforcement and have to shower each day. Couldn't.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@thewarrantygroup.com ******** 2014 ****** **** Assistant Manager BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois 330 North Wabash Avenue, Suite 3120 Chicago, IL 60611 Re: ***** ** ****** BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Dear ****** ****, This will acknowledge receipt, by *** **** ******** ********* Inc. of the BBB complaint dated ******** 25, 2014 and received on ***** 4, 2014, regarding the above case number. *** **** ******** ********* **** is the administrator for this consumer's home warranty agreement. Upon review of our records and the consumer's complaint, we processed a check for $300 payable to the consumer on ******** 2014. The check has been sent *** ** with tracking #: XXXXXXXXXXXX. Our apologies for any frustration Mr. ****** has experienced. We trust this satisfies your request for a response. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX, ****************@us.thewg.com or by fax XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank You, **** ******** *** ******** ***** Customer Service Supervisor *** **********, Chicago, IL XXXXX Tel: XXX XXX XXXX Fax: XXX XXX XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As long as I get my check, I will accept their response, although I was told that as long as I had paid on the policy for a year and a half they would pay 350.00. But after the rig-a-marole we went through, I will take anything. I will never again take out any policy like this. They say one thing and wiggle around and do another. BBB has come through for me. Thank you.

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2014 Delivery Issues
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Evading and avoiding honoring and the payment of legal contractual obligations concerning the GAP claims for policy #ZXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Payment of GAP Benefits

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/20) */ See Attached Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Negative GAP is due ***** Nissan unrefunded portion of Mechanical Repair Warranty and not the fault of Automotive Warranty. ***** Nissan now processing claims now

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased on 05/2012 from ********* **** **** ****** *** contract with ******** ******* **** ******* purchased at same time. On ******** 24th 2013 noticed a part of the sofa pushing against the leather in the back of the sofa. On ******** 26th call ********* **** and was referred to ******** ******* ***** Call the company and was told they would e-mail me a claim form, never received the form. Called back and a recording advised me to submit a claim on line. When I went to the web site I received an error message the web site was not available. Called ********* **** on ******* 10th to register a complaint against the *** company. ********* **** will check into the complaint and send someone out to check the sofa

Desired Settlement: Honor contract and repair sofa.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/16) */ Virgina Surety acknowledges the receipt of the customer's claim involving a sofa which is covered under a furniture protection Service contract admnistered by ******** Inc. Status: The administrator is waiting for the customer to return a complated Service Request Form (claim form) to proceed with the claim. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The furniture store I purchased the sofa from is going to inspect the sofa and notify the Service as to what needs to be done to insure the problem is corrected

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my sofas and warranty in 2009. I called the 800 number on warranty and was asked for my personal information and how long damage to the sofas has been. Customer service waited for my response then stated because it had been over the 30 days they would not honor the warranty. Nowhere does it state this on the warranty or certificate I recieved. I only recieved one paper stapled to my original reciept with very general information and the 800 number where they can be reached. Product_Or_Service: ****** Furniture Home Store Order_Number: ******* XXXXXXXX Account_Number: *****XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: ******dSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to honor the warranty I purchased. Either repairs or replacement of my sofas.

I hope this additional information is
helpful ********** ******* **** Company, *** West ******* Blvd., ********
Illinois XXXXX. I purchased the sofas @ Ashleys Furniture Homestore
1340 Tapteal Drive, Richland, WA XXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/11) */ BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Consumer: ****** ****** 1 message ***********@thewarrantygroup.com <***********@thewarrantygroup.com> Wed, Dec 11, 2013 at 12:01 PM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org BBB Case # XXXXXXXX Consumer: ****** ****** Date: 12/11/2013 Email: *******@chicago.bbb.org To: ******* ****** - BBB of Chicago We contacted the third-party administrator ******* Furniture Services and their office provided the following claim summary. The consumer contacted ******* Furniture Services on 11/25/2013 and stated the damage to the furniture was noticed five (5) months ago. According to the terms of the consumer's Premium Fabric 5-Year Protection Plan section two (2) "Repair Plan" number four (4) "What to do if a covered problem occurs" states, "Claims must be reported to the Administrator within thirty (30) days of noticing the stain, damage or breakdown in Your Covered Product." Unfortunately, the consumer did not report the claim within the time reporting period required by the Protection Plan. ******* Furniture Services is willing to offer the consumer a technician referral. If the consumer is interested in this information, please have them contact the service center at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. The consumer's original selling retailer, ****** Furniture Home Store, ********* *** was responsible for providing the consumer their Protection Plan documentation. We trust this satisfies your request for a response. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact our office. ****** **** - Paralegal ******** ******* **** Company *** W. Jackson Blvd., ******** IL XXXXX Tel: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Fax: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Email: ***********@thewarrantygroup.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/01/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) A technician was sent out and repaired my sofa. I was told my second sofa needed new cushion installed, but was told warranty didn't cover the repair. I am done dealing with this company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/23) */ The administrator ********* needs to send a technician to the consumer's home to see if the furniture is repairable or not. Today, ******* set up the technician and has left a phone message with the consumer regarding the matter.

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Spring of **** we received military/diplomatic orders to move from ***** ******** to ******** ******** We worked closely with the dealership to make sure that all warranties and policies we were purchasing would be valid overseas while on orders. The GAP insurance policy was sold to us knowing we would be moving overseas. While traveling in ******* our car was totaled during a sever hail storm. Although our insurance policy covered total loss, it could only cover the value of the vehicle at that time, and not the additional money we owed on the loan. We then turned to ***** ******** ******* and initiated a claim on our GAP coverage. Our claim was declined because we are overseas. When we asked why they would sell us a policy knowing we would be living overseas, they said that was not their problem. We informed them that we would be making an appeal and a formal complaint, but repeated that it was not their problem. I would like to ask the BBB to assist us in asking this company why they knowingly sell insurance policies to military members who at any time may be forced to move overseas. ******** and other US car companies state in their manuals that they do not honor their warranty when their cars leave North America UNLESS the owner is on military or diplomatic orders and working for the US Government. We are both military and diplomats on orders. Why doesn't ***** ******** ******* have the same policy? Instead, they are misleading consumers and taking advantage of military and US Government employees by selling these policies knowing their customers will be taking their vehicles overseas. Is there anything BBB can do to officially notify ***** ******** ******* that they are unfairly taking advantage of military and US Government employees? They either need to adopt the same US Government Employee-friendly policies as the car companies they work with, or they need to stop selling GAP insurance policies to us. We'd be very appreciative if there was anything BBB can do to assist us with this effort as well. My policy number is: IRXXXXX ******* ** ****** Unit **** Box **** DPO, AE, XXXXX *******@hotmail.com

Desired Settlement: We request that ***** ******** ******* honor their contract with us. They sold it to us knowing we were moving overseas. We also request that the BBB convince this company to change their policy and cover US Government employees who are required to move overseas, just as the auto manufacturers stand by their warranty policies for those who move due to military or diplomatic orders.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/18) */ See attached. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We are satisfied with the ******** ****** ********** response and decision, and we thank them for their efforts to resolve this issue. They went above and beyond to assist us.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2013 Delivery Issues
12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/19/2013 Delivery Issues
11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased SUV X-X-XXXX with warranty. XX-XX-XXXX SUV drive change broke. required repairs. repair facility submitted claim. I provided *** with documents of maintenance of SUV. *** is denying claim.

Desired Settlement: Honor the Warranty Provided. and pay to have the repairs done as stated in warranty agreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/04) */ Ms. ****, Today, we responded to an email from Mr. ****** regarding the same situation. I have pasted a copy of our response to Mr. ****** below. We trust that this will satisfy your request for a review of Mr. ******'s claim. Sincerely, ***** ****** Automotive Technician Complaint Resolution Specialist ****************************************** Mr. ******, In regards to maintenance, your "Power Train Limited Warranty" states the following: "In order to keep your Power Train Limited Warranty valid, you must follow the maintenance procedures listed below. Your vehicle must be serviced receiving all scheduled maintenance as recommended by the manufacturer in the Owners Manual. You must keep copies of all repair orders. Copies must indicate; customer name, repair order number, repair order date, Vehicle Identification Number, a description of your vehicle, repair order mileage and a complete description of services performed. We may require you to furnish us with proof that the specified services have been performed. Failure to show proof that all scheduled maintenance and repairs have been performed may void coverage under this Power Train Limited Warranty. We recommend you return to the Selling Dealer or affiliate for all scheduled maintenance. They are committed to ensuring your vehicle is properly maintained and they will also retain copies of your maintenance records in order to assure your compliance with maintenance record retention. Most repair facilities will not retain copies of your maintenance records for more than a couple of years." (Underline emphasis added.) Also, under the section entitled: "YOUR RESPONSIBILITIES," the Limited Warranty states: If you experience a breakdown, you agree to" "Authorize the repair facility to perform necessary diagnostic work and provide "teardown authorization" so that the repair facility can provide an accurate diagnosis and estimate of repairs. IMPORTANT: WE WILL NOT PAY FOR DIAGNOSIS CHARGES FOR REPAIRS NOT COVERED UNDER THIS POWER TRAIN LIMITED WARRANTY." "Furnish the Administrator with such information as the Administrator may reasonably require, and if requested provide proof of your vehicle's regular maintenance during the Power Train Limited Warranty Period as defined in the Maintenance Requirements section." As you know, the engine in your vehicle experienced an internal failure. Because all internal engine components rely on proper maintenance to ensure longevity and prevent premature failure, our Claims Department requested that you provide proof of the regular maintenance to the engine in your vehicle. However, the documents you provided do not meet the warranty guidelines nor do they support that the proper maintenance has been performed. Therefore, per the terms and conditions of the Limited Warranty, coverage could be denied. However, despite that, at this time, coverage is not denied. Rather, in order to provide you with every benefit of the doubt, we have asked that you "Authorize the repair facility to perform necessary diagnostic work and provide "teardown authorization" so that the repair facility can provide an accurate diagnosis and estimate of repairs." Diagnosis and disassembly of the engine will show the cause of failure and whether or not the failure was related to a lack of proper maintenance. In most cases, partial disassembly of the engine is all that is needed. (i.e. removal of the engine oil pan and/or valve cover and/or timing cover). If you have performed the proper maintenance as required by the Limited Warranty, it should be evident once disassembly has been done. If it is determined that the failure was the result of a covered breakdown and the repairs are authorized, then we will also authorize the reasonable diagnosis time. However, if the repair is not covered, then diagnosis would not be covered. Once the necessary diagnosis has been performed, the shop must contact our claims center with their findings. We will then request that an independent inspector be sent to verify the technician's findings and diagnosis. This information will be reported to our claims center for our review. If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, you can call our claims center at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email ********@thewarrantygroup.com. Sincerely, ***** ****** Complaint Resolution Specialist Resource Automotive  *** ** *******-12th Floor ******** IL XXXXX

11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/11/2013 Delivery Issues
11/4/2013 Delivery Issues
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

12 Customer Reviews on The Warranty Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart